Rating:
5.0
Children Of Bodom - Are You Dead Yet?
14 September 2005


01. Living Dead Beat
02. Are You Dead Yet?
03. If You Want Peace... Prepare For War
04. Punch Me I Bleed
05. In Your Face
06. Next In Line
07. Bastards Of Bodom
08. Trashed, Lost & Strungout
09. We're Not Gonna Fall


I'm going to show my incredible foretelling powers here and tell you right from the get-go that there's going to be like a thousand comments from kids aiming right at my neck trying to understand why the hell I gave such a low rating to the best album of the year from the best band of the world: Children Of Bodom… Yeah, sure.

I used to like this band (if you don't believe me, read my "Something Wild" review), but after their third album all went downhill for me and these Finns. I bet someone in the band realized that they were popular now and they decided to turn their sound towards the masses (i.e. kids attending Ozzfest and such).

I can't do anything else rather than ask myself, what happened with this band? Where did the madness, the amazing riffs and the awesome keyboards went? What happened with the neoclassical leads and the fierce shrieks? The only thing I found was bland vocals, lame choruses and unexciting song-writing. Truly disappointing, sure I wish I was dead after hearing this boring album.

Everything in Children Of Bodom is getting old by now, the brainless lyrics and laughable song titles were funny at first, but now they've become unbearable. The Ripper mascot is another thing that I'm tired of, and again, it was funny at first with the different colors for each album, but now the ripper is totally uninteresting and tedious!

In a nutshell, this album does nothing for me, and if it does for you, you're a trend-victim, Children Of Bodom is an over-hyped, overrated act by all means! If you like Finnish extreme metal go grab the new Norther or new Kalmah instead. Phew, that was almost therapeutic, now kids, fire away, shoot me with all you can, I can take it. And just to add some fuel to the fire, Children Of Bodom sucks!


Band profile: Children Of Bodom
Album: Are You Dead Yet?


 


written by Undercraft | 11.03.2006



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 90  
Users visited: 325  
Search this topic:  


ioannisk - 30.08.2008 at 00:40  
totally disagree. One of the best albums cob have created and the vocals in this one is just brilliant! It's a pity that lahio didn't maintain them to the next album as well.
Deadmeat - 20.10.2008 at 15:58  
I've not listened much that band but I feel this album is very good. I can't find a bad song, the production is so good and technically it is also good. 9!
Daggon - 08.11.2008 at 22:31  
Yup, I found this album boring, and by the way, it is REAPER not Ripper. Well I agree with your review.
ceekes - 03.12.2008 at 11:35  
I don't agree this 5
For me it is the second best album from Children Of Bodom after hatebreeder
I give this album a 9 !
Land Of Doom - 15.12.2008 at 05:06  
Its A bad thing to but only 5 to this album

It's a true that the album not Special but I think it Deserves 8 or 9

For me I vote 9 to it
SoundSensitiveCd - 25.12.2008 at 05:52  
I agree, COB is Metal but takes it further than a lot metal bands, for example " Oops I Did it Again" On "Are You Dead Yet" was not my favorite but funny to Listen to.
BORT - 07.08.2009 at 05:51  
Good Album
Rupert - 14.08.2009 at 17:57  
Written by Land Of Doom on 15.12.2008 at 05:06

Its A bad thing to but only 5 to this album

It's a true that the album not Special but I think it Deserves 8 or 9

For me I vote 9 to it

9's pretty high for nothing special.
wormdrink414 - 18.08.2009 at 04:33  
This album was the biggest departure from the early Bodom sound I love. There are some cool, "Bodom on sedatives" moments but otherwise the album deserves nothing over six points. But look how famous they are now. They slowed things down, playing stuff that sounds more like metalcore than extreme power metal and they are one of the most popular metal bands around. But their fame came not without major sacrifices. Alexi's guitar work is choppier, slower, and less complicated, the keyboards are toned down, making Alexi's hideous vocals clearer and even less tolerable. The album is mediocre but sounds marvelous when played before or after Blooddrunk. Hopefully they'll put out another album like Follow the Reaper or Hatebreeder soon.
Panterica - 23.09.2009 at 21:28  
I'm not very familiar with their work, but this album sounds very good to me. Not as Hate Crew Deathroll but still very good.
slayerstone94 - 05.10.2009 at 03:44  
I personaly like this album alot. this gets me hipe and redy for any thing
I, Monarch - 24.10.2009 at 08:05  
THis is good review this album is nothing special the only good bodom cds were the old ones if want good melodeath go to norther or kalmah heck even dark tranquility or in flames would suffice.
zerobeat123 - 04.11.2009 at 02:56  
I thought this album was brilliant because it was the first I heard from them, then I listened to "Something Wild" and that turned this piece of garbage into shit. Children of Bodom, you can do better then this, stop sucking.
Boxcar Willy - 12.11.2009 at 21:22  
Decent enough.
N.V.E - 14.01.2010 at 13:32  
I agree that something wild is one of the best metal albums of all time and the "Are u dead yet" album is nothing near it but it's still an album I love! I think it's very good! it deserves more than 5...
macraigma - 25.01.2010 at 15:50  
Lol this was the first album by the band that i heard, i didnt ready any reviews before listening and i enjoyed the album. Now im WAAAY curious to hear the rest of this bands discog. Seems ill be listening to CoB for quite some time now to really get to know them!
Întunecatul - 19.05.2010 at 18:55  
The review feels to subjective.Isn't the idea of a review to be objective?
I mean "And just to add some fuel to the fire, Children Of Bodom sucks!" this is just unprofessional.
Still things are pointed out well,mainly to the album.
Now to be subjective myself,I enjoy the album,not as much as the previews albums,but still.
7.7
Panterica - 23.07.2010 at 17:41  
I don't see the big problem with Are You Dead Yet?, I find it enjoyable. I don't think you can call us "kids" while your saying that everyone who likes this album is a trend-victim, that way of thinking is suitable for a 12 years old. Some people like this album and you have no right to tell us we're childish for liking it.

P.S - The intro of punch Me I Bleed could fit perfectly to Mastodon's Crack The Skye album.
Angelic Storm - 27.07.2010 at 14:09  
Written by Întunecatul on 19.05.2010 at 18:55

The review feels to subjective.Isn't the idea of a review to be objective?
I mean "And just to add some fuel to the fire, Children Of Bodom sucks!" this is just unprofessional.
Still things are pointed out well,mainly to the album.
Now to be subjective myself,I enjoy the album,not as much as the previews albums,but still.
7.7


Yep, a professional review should be objective. As soon as a review contains lines like the one you just highlighted, I cant take it seriously, or give it any credibility whatsoever. Regardless of whether I agree with the overall rating or not. My opinion of the album is it is weak compared to stuff like "Follow The Reaper" and "Hate Crew Deathroll". The first 4 songs are actually good. Especially the title track which is awesome, and "If You Want Peace... Prepare For War" which is enough to induce whiplash. lol But the album just isnt consistent enough, and is too messy to be considered among their best IMO.
vezzy - 27.07.2010 at 15:33  
Written by Angelic Storm on 27.07.2010 at 14:09
"If You Want Peace... Prepare For War" which is enough to induce whiplash.


I find it funny how it oh so desperately tries to induce it. It comes off laughable.
Angelic Storm - 27.07.2010 at 23:50  
Written by vezzy on 27.07.2010 at 15:33
I find it funny how it oh so desperately tries to induce it. It comes off laughable.


As soon as I seen that you had replied to me in this thread, I knew your post would be something like that. lol
vezzy - 27.07.2010 at 23:56  
Written by Angelic Storm on 27.07.2010 at 23:50

Written by vezzy on 27.07.2010 at 15:33
I find it funny how it oh so desperately tries to induce it. It comes off laughable.


As soon as I seen that you had replied to me in this thread, I knew your post would be something like that. lol


You mean to tell me I'm becoming predictable?!
odammit
Angelic Storm - 27.07.2010 at 23:59  
Written by vezzy on 27.07.2010 at 23:56
You mean to tell me I'm becoming predictable?!
odammit


Yep, Im afraid so.
Gigantidild - 10.06.2011 at 01:20  
You know, I'm not gonna bother. You claim that If I like this album then I'm just a trend follower. I listen to music that none of you kids have even heard of. Are any of you musicians/composers? Have any of you written a song that was worth two pieces of scheisse on a doorstep? I doubt it. That fact alone takes away all credibility. F*cking posers.
!J.O.O.E.! - 10.06.2011 at 16:33  
Written by Gigantidild on 10.06.2011 at 01:20

Are any of you musicians/composers? Have any of you written a song that was worth two pieces of scheisse on a doorstep? I doubt it.

Please direct me to your compositions of worth.
Vikcen - 10.06.2011 at 17:11  
Written by Gigantidild on 10.06.2011 at 01:20

You know, I'm not gonna bother. You claim that If I like this album then I'm just a trend follower. I listen to music that none of you kids have even heard of. Are any of you musicians/composers? Have any of you written a song that was worth two pieces of scheisse on a doorstep? I doubt it. That fact alone takes away all credibility. F*cking posers.


For your words, i would say you the following: you forget the tastes of people on this of the music. For example i can listen something that it is all the virtuosity and progressive that you want, that for me it will be boring, or could be boooooooring.
zmaj666 - 23.06.2011 at 14:26  
I disagree its one of the best bodom albums. It deserves at least 9. . .
zmaj666 - 23.06.2011 at 14:27  
I disagree its one of the best bodom albums. It deserves at least 9. . .
Warman - 23.06.2011 at 15:53  
Surely not a 9, but I still think this album can stand on it's own these days. For me it's the album which tipped the arrow downwards for CoB, I do though still enjoy the album. Too bad they would only keep on going downhill after this.
qlacs - 05.01.2012 at 04:27  
Don't give a shit about the fans, totally agree on the review. I've heard the album quite some times after I got a copy from a pal but never found anything particularly interesting in it.

Living Deat Beat, In Your Face (ouch) and Thrashed.. are good songs, but that's it.
Troy Killjoy - 05.01.2012 at 04:46  
I think there was a time when I liked one of these songs... but it's been a long time since I felt anything positive about CoB.
Milena - 05.01.2012 at 14:21  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.01.2012 at 04:46

I think there was a time when I liked one of these songs... but it's been a long time since I felt anything positive about CoB.

I personally adored Trashed, Lost & Strungout. It was one of "our songs" for my best female buddy and me. I think this was the only metal band with harsher vocals she ever liked, which tells you a lot about their mainstream...ness.
Troy Killjoy - 05.01.2012 at 19:59  
Written by Milena on 05.01.2012 at 14:21
I think this was the only metal band with harsher vocals she ever liked, which tells you a lot about their mainstream...ness.

CoB, LoG, and Amon Amarth were the first few bands to help me break into growled vocals.

But CoB are just... too cheesy for me to like these days. I dunno if cheesy is the right word. Maybe "sucky"...
Milena - 05.01.2012 at 20:07  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.01.2012 at 19:59

But CoB are just... too cheesy for me to like these days. I dunno if cheesy is the right word. Maybe "sucky"...

Cheesy is the right word for me still. I do still enjoy them, but I constantly think about how I should spend my time on something else.
stormchaserD - 09.08.2012 at 21:04  
I liked there older albums better but this album has some good songs but also some bad ones.
monti_84 - 05.10.2012 at 18:31  
I can´t understand why many bands fall into such low quality songwriting after creating impressive music. It feels almost impossible the same group that wrote a masterpiece such as "Children of Decadence" also wrote this very, very bad album and all the following bad music. But hell, it happened to Metallica, Megadeth, Opeth and many more. I suppose there is a set number of good albums a band has within it.
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.11.2012 at 16:21  
Written by Lustful Maid on 27.11.2012 at 16:15

I don't call this a bad album as there is no bad song. I don't call this a good album as thre is no very good song. Therefore, we called this a SAFE ALBUM.

A "safe album" is an album that makes no kind of progression of any kind and repeats past successful endeavours to ensure it maintains its fanbase. This was a distinct change in style and lots of people disliked it therefore this is not a "safe" album.
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.11.2012 at 17:18  
Written by Lustful Maid on 27.11.2012 at 17:05


Probably you are talking about the marketing direction, I am refering to the artistic direction.
Even though not the old COD (more industrial and melodic). All songs sounded familiar, a lot of typical "risk-free" melodies and riffs derived from "somewhere else".


What you call "safe" I call "uninspired."
Array - 27.11.2012 at 19:12  
Building a word train?

= global = carrot = plate = food = bingo
AngelofDeth - 31.05.2013 at 05:01  
Written by Gigantidild on 10.06.2011 at 01:20

You know, I'm not gonna bother. You claim that If I like this album then I'm just a trend follower. I listen to music that none of you kids have even heard of. Are any of you musicians/composers? Have any of you written a song that was worth two pieces of scheisse on a doorstep? I doubt it. That fact alone takes away all credibility. F*cking posers.

lol best comment ive seen in a while

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Children Of Bodom - Are You Dead Yet? 10.5 14.01.2010 by N.V.E
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Something Wild 7.5 29.04.2007 by Doc Godin
Reviews Mono - You Are There 6 17.07.2007 by
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Relentless Reckless Forever 5.5 14.03.2012 by Troy Killjoy
News Children Of Bodom - N. American Tour W/ Devin Townsend, Septicflesh, Obscura 4.5 12.04.2011 by Lit.



Hits total: 10283 | This month: 73