Rating:
9.5
The Ruins Of Beverast - Blood Vaults (The Blazing Gospel Of Heinrich Kramer)
6 September 2013


01. Apologia
02. Daemon
03. Malefica
04. Ornaments On Malice
05. Spires, The Wailing City
06. A Failed Exorcism
07. Trial
08. Ordeal
09. Monument


For devout fans of black metal, Alexander Von Meilenwald truly needs no introduction. The former drummer of Nagelfar has achieved underground prestige not only with his previous band, but is now well on the way to building up quite the worthy legacy with his one man project The Ruins Of Beverast as well. 2013 sees Meilenwald putting out the monstrous Blood Vaults - The Blazing Gospel Of Heinrich Kramer, a nearly 80-minute odyssey of black metal and melancholic doom fusion, that takes his creative vision to heights it has arguably never seen before.

The Heinrich Kramer of the album title was a German Inquisitor in the Middle Ages who wrote a treatise on how to identify, interrogate, and torture witches, and Meilenwald sketches a well thought out portrait of his life with his new album. Like any good concept album then, Blood Vaults contains many twists and turns in its music that reflect those set by the narrative of the lyrics. On the one hand, there's a ton of dark, mesmerizing doom ("Malefica," "Spires, The Wailing City," "A Failed Exorcism"), making the album seem like a natural continuation of Foulest Semen Of A Sheltered Elite. The occasional organ breaks, like in the middle of "Malefica" or "Ornaments On Malice" help to accentuate this mood, and in many ways even give the album a bit of an (dare I say it?) epic doom vibe.

But don't let that fool you, because although they may not be as prevalent as the doom side of the album, Blood Vaults also contains a good deal of black metal elements as well, sure to please some more of the kvlt pvrists out there. Tracks such as "Ordeal," "Spires, The Wailing City," and "Daemon," especially, see Meilenwald getting into some faster and more aggressive emotion, at times even reminiscent of some moments from Unlock the Shrine. And at other points, Meilenwald also returns to some of his former Nagelfar drumming glory with clever and well-delivered percussive patterns (check out the middle of "Spires, The Wailing City"). The trick to the composition, however, really lies in the brilliant approach to the production. Despite the fact that some tracks have these harsher, more black metal-ish parts, the music still retains that crunchy, bass-heavy guitar tone to it, which makes Blood Vaults feel a lot more like a full-fledged blackened doom album than Foulest did.

And lastly, Blood Vaults also maintains Meilenwald's trademark hauntingly classical signature. The album follows upon that melancholic sound Alex often employs akin to dark, medieval church hymns, and is shrouded almost entirely in this haunting cloak throughout, perhaps more than ever before. The spoken Latin at the beginning of "Malefica," the outro to "Monument," the entire "Trial" track and more help to really bring out the whole Heinrich Kramer/church theme, and are the proverbial icing on the cake.

Ladies and gentlemen, Alex Von Meilenwald has done it yet again, proving once more his sheer genius as both a composer and a lyricist. Reviewers should always maintain a sense of objectivity in the music they cover, but we also need to recognize raw talent when it smacks us in the face, and Blood Vaults is, quite simply, a wrecking ball. Whether nominated for black metal or extreme doom, this album will definitely be getting my vote in this year's awards. Crank it loud, my friends

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: The Ruins Of Beverast
Album: Blood Vaults (The Blazing Gospel Of Heinrich Kramer)


 



Written on 30.08.2013 by
Apothecary
"Without tradition, art is a flock of sheep without a master. But without innovation, it is a corpse."
-Winston Churchill
More reviews by Apothecary ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 99  
Users visited: 525  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 02.09.2013 at 22:05  
Written by Apothecary on 02.09.2013 at 21:57

It feels like a little of both to me, like you can hear each instrument individually as itself, but you can also hear them all in relation to the tracks as whole. Got some serious Atman/Brahman shit going on
As far as "very much a doom album"... Rodrigo and I were talking about this the other day, as to whether or not this album would be nominated (if it gets a nomination, which it probably will) in the black metal or extreme doom category. When you put it the way you did, it seems like the latter. Which would really suck because to me, even now, The Ruins Of Beverast isn't an extreme doom band, and if it was nominated in that category it'd probably be easily beaten out by a more experienced master of the craft

Yeah I couldn't see this really appearing in the black category. TRoB has never really been truly black metal (apart from maybe the demo) even though I've always regarded the entity as a whole as black metal.. Come to think of it I'm wondering where Foulest Semen went in the awards.

Just realised I complain about Rain Upon The Impure as being underproduced a lot, and I imagine I'll moan about this one being slightly overproduced a bit in the future. Clearly I'm more sensitive than usual to ambience and production values where TRoB are concerned.
psykometal - 02.09.2013 at 22:09  
Written by Apothecary on 02.09.2013 at 21:57

Which would really suck because to me, even now, The Ruins Of Beverast isn't an extreme doom band, and if it was nominated in that category it'd probably be easily beaten out by a more experienced master of the craft

But that's just it, we don't base nominee categorization on whether the band is generally regarded as Genre X, we base the nominee categorization on what that specific album sounds like. So TRoB may be generally considered a black metal BAND, but if it's decided that the ALBUM is more an Extreme Doom album than a Black album, then it will go into Extreme Doom.
Apothecary - 02.09.2013 at 22:27  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.09.2013 at 22:05

Clearly I'm more sensitive than usual to ambience and production values where TRoB are concerned.

That's another thing I can see you being disappointed with about this album (and I was a bit myself, honestly): there aren't any of those short ambient tracks that Meilenwald usually sticks in between the longer ones, to help give some interesting little interludes that help to tie everything together. This is actually the first album where that hasn't happened, unless you wanna count "Apologia" and "Trial."
Mr. Doctor - 02.09.2013 at 22:37  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.09.2013 at 22:05
Come to think of it I'm wondering where Foulest Semen went in the awards.

To the black metal category.
!J.O.O.E.! - 02.09.2013 at 22:40  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 02.09.2013 at 22:37

To the black metal category.

That's so wrong.
Konrad - 03.09.2013 at 15:23  
The best mixture of black and doom, and definitely the closest thing TRoB has ever done to mix the two perfectly, is on Foulest Semen. Specifically, the song "Arcane Pharmakon Messiah."

To add to the rest of the discussion, all of Meilenwald's works are departures. One of the highlights of Unlock the Shrine is right at the opening -- at the end of Between Bronze Walls there is a distinct gothic sound to the track. The album is also very far from being "predictable," as song like "Euphoria When the Bombs Fell," with all its fury and lust for carnage, sound absolutely nothing like "The Mine." The album is one of the most claustrophobic, schizophrenic pieces of music I've ever heard; And what makes the project so interesting is that he followed up the debut with something quite the opposite. Where Unlock the Shrine reflects a self-hating mind, Rain Upon the Impure appreciates it. Just think about all the lyrics in "Soil of the Incestuous," for example. As a result, the album is expansive as anything I've ever heard. And because of the recording or mastering quality (which was mixed that way for a reason, even though the drums should be louder,) you have to stretch your mind extra hard to grasp every note and terrifying sound that drips from each second of the album. But to say that there's more doom in the debut than in Rain... Really? Of course... I treat all of these albums as black metal because I also treat Diamanda Galas as black metal. It's more about the overall effect than dissecting each individual aspect of each track. But songs like "Soliloquy" and "Blood Vaults I" are pretty fucking doom sounding. Any asshole black metal "elitist" I've ever run into hates this project entirely, including the debut album.

Of course this new album is a departure. ALL of Meilenwald's albums are departures. That's the entire point. There are always new themes, and with those new themes come lyrics, notes and production that all paint an enormous picture in the mind's eye. Some moments of this new one are far removed from even what doom metal is. But at least he's always trying new things and not getting caught in a rut. Either way, this is the most important music project in the last 10 or so years (to me, anyway.) But Rain Upon the Impure will always be the masterpiece in my mind.
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.09.2013 at 15:36  
Diamanda Galas treated as black metal?
How can she be treated as black metal when she has never recorded a single note of metal (except when she does some guest vocals). That's like treating Beethoven or Bach as metal.
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.09.2013 at 15:39  
Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 15:23

And because of the recording or mastering quality (which was mixed that way for a reason)

This is not entirely correct. Meilenwald has stated in an interview that even he was not happy with the final outcome of this, and he used the word "pressed" in that the production was more pressed than he intended. I'll attempt to hunt down the interview were he stated this, which at this point seems to have vanished.
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.09.2013 at 15:40  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.09.2013 at 15:36

Diamanda Galas treated as black metal?
How can she be treated as black metal when she has never recorded a single note of metal (except when she does some guest vocals). That's like treating Beethoven or Bach as metal.

Unfortunately what happens when people run away with their own fandom; trying to ascribe foreign sounds into black metal culture. Black metal is not as all-encompassing as many try to make out, certainly Diamanda Galas. Her sounds are far removed from metal and probably closer to the avant-garde aesthetic.
Konrad - 03.09.2013 at 16:24  
Here is what Ihsahn has to say about Diamanda Galas:

http://www.terrorizer.com/news/background/terrorizer-s-top-200-ihsahn-on-diamanda-galas/
Konrad - 03.09.2013 at 16:27  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 03.09.2013 at 15:39

Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 15:23

And because of the recording or mastering quality (which was mixed that way for a reason)

This is not entirely correct. Meilenwald has stated in an interview that even he was not happy with the final outcome of this, and he used the word "pressed" in that the production was more pressed than he intended. I'll attempt to hunt down the interview were he stated this, which at this point seems to have vanished.


Meilenwald: I guess "Unlock The Shrine" was a lot more "audible" than "Rain Upon The Impure" is. The sound was more familiar, it was closer to the "usual" BM-productions and the songs were not that long, consisting of passably (!) comprehensible structures. It was my full intent to make "Rain..." sound uglier, more uncomfortable and heavier. "Unlock The Shrine" was a rather spontaneous recording, although it might not sound like that. However, I worked on more unique and independent sound characteristics for "Rain...". I wanted the album to sound "deeper" in all respects, darker and with less tendency to the high frequencies. I think this goal has been achieved. There are still some aspects I'll have to improve on future recordings though, but I am rather satisfied with the current result.
Apothecary - 03.09.2013 at 16:38  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 03.09.2013 at 15:39

Meilenwald has stated in an interview that even he was not happy with the final outcome of this, and he used the word "pressed" in that the production was more pressed than he intended. I'll attempt to hunt down the interview were he stated this, which at this point seems to have vanished.

Please do, I'd love to read it
Apothecary - 03.09.2013 at 16:43  
Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 15:23

But songs like "Soliloquy" and "Blood Vaults I" are pretty fucking doom sounding. Any asshole black metal "elitist" I've ever run into hates this project entirely, including the debut album.

Exactly, that's why I think it's really kind of silly for people to be surprised with Blood Vaults now for not being blackened enough, when Meilenwald has really put a good degree of doom elements into every RoB album thus far. Even "The Clockhand's Groaning Circle" and "The Mine" from Unlock the Shrine are pretty doom-y.
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.09.2013 at 16:49  
Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 16:27


Meilenwald: I guess "Unlock The Shrine" was a lot more "audible" than "Rain Upon The Impure" is. The sound was more familiar, it was closer to the "usual" BM-productions and the songs were not that long, consisting of passably (!) comprehensible structures. It was my full intent to make "Rain..." sound uglier, more uncomfortable and heavier. "Unlock The Shrine" was a rather spontaneous recording, although it might not sound like that. However, I worked on more unique and independent sound characteristics for "Rain...". I wanted the album to sound "deeper" in all respects, darker and with less tendency to the high frequencies. I think this goal has been achieved. There are still some aspects I'll have to improve on future recordings though, but I am rather satisfied with the current result.

Nah, it was one he made after that. It genuinely seems to have disappeared which is annoying as I've quoted it to people many times over the years.
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.09.2013 at 16:52  
Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 16:24

Here is what Ihsahn has to say about Diamanda Galas:

http://www.terrorizer.com/news/background/terrorizer-s-top-200-ihsahn-on-diamanda-galas/


nowhere does het call it black metal, only that it inspired young black metal musicians at the time. Which is ture, because many black metal artists at the time will call Diamanda Galas an influence on them. But that does not make her black metal. Many black metal artists were also influenced by Kiss and that also isn't black metal as we know. Diamanda Galas was an influence from outside metal.
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.09.2013 at 16:54  
Hundreds upon hundreds of artists from industrial, musique concrete, no wave, noise etc. have made attacks on the establishments, norms and religions. Doesn't make it black metal. If you want to incorporate that into your personal ethos then fine, but it doesn't make it black metal from a general standpoint.
Konrad - 03.09.2013 at 16:58  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 03.09.2013 at 16:54

Hundreds upon hundreds of artists from industrial, musique concrete, no wave, noise etc. have made attacks on the establishments, norms and religions. Doesn't make it black metal. If you want to incorporate that into your personal ethos then fine, but it doesn't make it black metal from a general standpoint.


When did I say it was black metal? I said I treat it as black metal... meaning I try and listen to it the way I listen to black metal. For me, a lot of the emotions given-off are very similar... so no, musically it's far from anything metal, but emotionally it is very similar; and emotion is what matters most for me when it comes to music.
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.09.2013 at 17:00  
Written by Apothecary on 03.09.2013 at 16:43

Exactly, that's why I think it's really kind of silly for people to be surprised with Blood Vaults now for not being blackened enough, when Meilenwald has really put a good degree of doom elements into every RoB album thus far. Even "The Clockhand's Groaning Circle" and "The Mine" from Unlock the Shrine are pretty doom-y.

But as you yourself have said, you find yourself considering the project a black metal one overall. I too have felt this, even with the largely doom-oriented Foulest. This one has stricken most of the aesthetics of black, as well as most of the technical details. I don't see anyone here being "surprised" as such, in fact it seems to be just me that is disappointed in the lack of bite and grain to the record, which is something very important to me in quite a large subset of metal and music.
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.09.2013 at 17:02  
Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 16:58


When did I say it was black metal? I said I treat it as black metal... meaning I try and listen to it the way I listen to black metal. For me, a lot of the emotions given-off are very similar... so no, musically it's far from anything metal, but emotionally it is very similar; and emotion is what matters most for me when it comes to music.

But it makes your general points about what is and is black metal regarding TRoB difficult to substantiate if you regard Diamanda Galas black metal (in your mind), because to most it clearly isn't. You're adopting elements into black metal which don't really belong; Diamanda Galas is an artist I could never associate with black metal.
Apothecary - 03.09.2013 at 17:10  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 03.09.2013 at 17:00

But as you yourself have said, you find yourself considering the project a black metal one overall

But still with a good degree of doom elements. It's just always been a matter of which side of the equation takes precedence in Meilenwald's work. On this release, it seems like he decided to go full left field into the other direction, so as we've said, it's a lot more doom than it is BM. I agree with you about the dirty, grainy texture, it is missing from this release. But again, like that other guy said, with one man projects each album is (theoretically) supposed to sound different, a unique creation unto itself. Maybe Meilenwald just wanted to try something completely different from his previous formulas this time, you never know.
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.09.2013 at 17:13  
Written by Apothecary on 03.09.2013 at 17:10

But still with a good degree of doom elements. It's just always been a matter of which side of the equation takes precedence in Meilenwald's work. On this release, it seems like he decided to go full left field into the other direction, so as we've said, it's a lot more doom than it is BM. I agree with you about the dirty, grainy texture, it is missing from this release. But again, like that other guy said, with one man projects each album is (theoretically) supposed to sound different, a unique creation unto itself. Maybe Meilenwald just wanted to try something completely different from his previous formulas this time, you never know.

Well I'm still eagerly awaiting the next one (already), but I'm hoping for something more revolutionary rather than evolutionary. Maybe some kind of lo-fi death metal or something I'm sure I'll visit this from time to time. I really like the wobby, creepy synths and tribal-esque drumming of 'Spires, The Wailing City' and of course the 'Ordea' track. This is probably between 7.5 and 8 at the moment, probably rounding up to 8.
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.09.2013 at 17:14  
Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 16:58

I said I treat it as black metal... meaning I try and listen to it the way I listen to black metal. For me, a lot of the emotions given-off are very similar... so no, musically it's far from anything metal, but emotionally it is very similar; and emotion is what matters most for me when it comes to music.



So you also treat the first four Danzig albums as such? And also The Devil's Blood, Jex Thoth, Sabbath Assembly, Blood Ceremony?
Konrad - 03.09.2013 at 17:23  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.09.2013 at 17:14

Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 16:58

I said I treat it as black metal... meaning I try and listen to it the way I listen to black metal. For me, a lot of the emotions given-off are very similar... so no, musically it's far from anything metal, but emotionally it is very similar; and emotion is what matters most for me when it comes to music.



So you also treat the first four Danzig albums as such? And also The Devil's Blood, Jex Thoth, Sabbath Assembly, Blood Ceremony?


Even some of Rome's early albums!

Is that any less absurd than people treating Les Discrets as such? Your own website has it listed as Black Metal.

But... who cares, really?
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.09.2013 at 17:31  
Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 17:23

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.09.2013 at 17:14

Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 16:58

I said I treat it as black metal... meaning I try and listen to it the way I listen to black metal. For me, a lot of the emotions given-off are very similar... so no, musically it's far from anything metal, but emotionally it is very similar; and emotion is what matters most for me when it comes to music.



So you also treat the first four Danzig albums as such? And also The Devil's Blood, Jex Thoth, Sabbath Assembly, Blood Ceremony?


Even some of Rome's early albums!

Is that any less absurd than people treating Les Discrets as such? Your own website has it listed as Black Metal.

But... who cares, really?


yes, it is absurd because musically all those bands have shit all to do with black metal. It's the sort of music played that determines oif something is black metal or not (or any tother kind of subgenre) and not its lyrical content or aesthetics. If that were the case loads of blues artists should also be treated as black metal.

I for one care because that mindset pollutes the discussion on music.
Konrad - 03.09.2013 at 17:36  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.09.2013 at 17:31

Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 17:23

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.09.2013 at 17:14

Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 16:58

I said I treat it as black metal... meaning I try and listen to it the way I listen to black metal. For me, a lot of the emotions given-off are very similar... so no, musically it's far from anything metal, but emotionally it is very similar; and emotion is what matters most for me when it comes to music.



So you also treat the first four Danzig albums as such? And also The Devil's Blood, Jex Thoth, Sabbath Assembly, Blood Ceremony?


Even some of Rome's early albums!

Is that any less absurd than people treating Les Discrets as such? Your own website has it listed as Black Metal.

But... who cares, really?


yes, it is absurd because musically all those bands have shit all to do with black metal. It's the sort of music played that determines oif something is black metal or not (or any tother kind of subgenre) and not its lyrical content or aesthetics. If that were the case loads of blues artists should also be treated as black metal.

I for one care because that mindset pollutes the discussion on music.


I think obsessing over catagorization and genres can pollute musical discussion as well. What matters most is the individuality of each artist.
Apothecary - 03.09.2013 at 17:57  
Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 17:36

I think obsessing over catagorization and genres can pollute musical discussion as well. What matters most is the individuality of each artist.

It's really not over categorizing. Over categorizing would be calling Blood Vaults something like "Atmospheric Gothic Dark Classical Doom Black Metal," which is fucking stupid and I agree that when labels get that specific they lose all validity. Marcel is only saying that a genre is always more defined by the music than the actual lyrical themes. Which is true, because lyrical themes are always a broader category. For example, how many genres can you think of that make use of lyrics about the devil and Satanism? Probably a lot, right? Now how many can you think of that do that with a dirty, grainy production, blast beats, lo frequency guitar, and shrieked vocals? Probably just black metal, correct? That's basically the point. Musical delivery trumps lyrical aesthetics as far as the classification of genres are concerned.
Mr. Doctor - 03.09.2013 at 18:02  
I won't call it obsessing... I simply see it as not describing pears when you say you are talking about apples.
The individuality of the artists sometimes is useless... Like the dude from Children Of Bodom saying at some point they were BM. Or the dude from Bring Me The Horizon saying Napalm Death wasn't grindcore. That sort of individuality is poison.
Konrad - 03.09.2013 at 18:05  
Written by Apothecary on 03.09.2013 at 17:57

Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 17:36

I think obsessing over catagorization and genres can pollute musical discussion as well. What matters most is the individuality of each artist.

It's really not over categorizing. Over categorizing would be calling Blood Vaults something like "Atmospheric Gothic Dark Classical Doom Black Metal," which is fucking stupid and I agree that when labels get that specific they lose all validity.


I didn't say over-categorizing. I said obsessing OVER categorizing. Meaning, to obsess over something to the point that it eats up your entire conversation. I love that we all love TRoB, but this conversation is fucking pedantic.

This very website has Kveldssanger listed as FOLK BLACK METAL and Les Discrets as Black Metal. I don't see a problem with that, but you guys are doing the exact same thing to me for grouping things together that you don't think should be.
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.09.2013 at 18:15  
Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 18:05

I didn't say over-categorizing. I said obsessing OVER categorizing. Meaning, to obsess over something to the point that it eats up your entire conversation. I love that we all love TRoB, but this conversation is fucking pedantic.

This very website has Kveldssanger listed as FOLK BLACK METAL and Les Discrets as Black Metal. I don't see a problem with that, but you guys are doing the exact same thing to me for grouping things together that you don't think should be.

No one is saying this site has a perfect record about the genres it professes to display. You'll see myself and other staff and elite debating them on a practically daily basis. Lots of them are incorrect. Les Discrets does however have tangible links to the black metal circuit, which is probably where whoever put them down as that got the idea from. They do have the odd smattering of black metal influence too however.

According to the records it was Bad English who put them as that, so don't moan at us for it
Apothecary - 03.09.2013 at 18:22  
Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 18:05

You guys are doing the exact same thing to me for grouping things together that you don't think should be.

Not really... I think they just misinterpreted what you said. You said that you listen to some other bands THE WAY you listen to black metal, because they conjure some of the same emotions. There's nothing wrong with that, but then it had to turn into a fucking silly genre war over the fact that the bands you described aren't black metal. Believe me man, I'm not big on that shit and am a lot less keen on swooping down on people for mislabeling bands than some other users on here.
Konrad - 03.09.2013 at 18:43  
Written by Apothecary on 03.09.2013 at 18:22

Written by Konrad on 03.09.2013 at 18:05

You guys are doing the exact same thing to me for grouping things together that you don't think should be.

Not really... I think they just misinterpreted what you said. You said that you listen to some other bands THE WAY you listen to black metal, because they conjure some of the same emotions. There's nothing wrong with that, but then it had to turn into a fucking silly genre war over the fact that the bands you described aren't black metal. Believe me man, I'm not big on that shit and am a lot less keen on swooping down on people for mislabeling bands than some other users on here.


True that!

I also see you're from Lake Worth, place of my origin. I used to play in bands West Palm all the time. More hardcore music, but fun nonetheless. I'm coming to visit in September, perhaps you'll run into me terrorizing Lake Ave. with all of my friends that still live down there.
Fritillaria - 03.09.2013 at 20:58  
Amazing :O I still feel dizzy after listening to it for the first time !
Sir Thrashalot - 06.09.2013 at 23:05  
I didn't know that band since that article came up with a roaring 9.5 Rating. That picked up my curiosity big time !

Then I listened to it... Once... Twice... Never again. Not my type at all.

But a 9.5 Rating really ? That's an insanely good score. Production and Performance 9/10 ? Sound is really not that good, even if for whatever reason it was intended to sound that way, instruments gets mixed up, growls are not that good.

If you consider the genre as a factor in the rating, I could not tell since i'm not a big fan of Doom. But i'd consider a 7,5 pretty decent.

Don't get me wrong, i'm not saying it's not good, it's just not worth 9.5 in my opinion.
psykometal - 07.09.2013 at 00:10  
Written by Apothecary on 03.09.2013 at 18:22

attention grabber

So I spent a couple hours jamming it while doing some yard work the other day, and I dig this album. Quite good actually, the kind of Doom I prefer to listen to. And yes Che, I agree with Joe, this is definitely more a Doom album than a BM album, sorry bro.

I'll check out his past releases some time, but if they are more BM oriented than Doom oriented (like you guys appear to be indicating), then I probably won't care much for them. I'm probably going to jam it for another couple hours this evening in the yard again.

Oh and fuck you, Rod! I do actually quite like this, so I win.
Apothecary - 07.09.2013 at 01:20  
Written by Sir Thrashalot on 06.09.2013 at 23:05

Don't get me wrong, i'm not saying it's not good, it's just not worth 9.5 in my opinion.

Now that I rethink it I probably should've given it just a 9. Production is usually a really subjective rating, I mean I like it personally because like I said in the review, it has a really doom-y, bass heavy sound to it but the drum rhythms are also brought out wonderfully in their faster tempos as well, so the black/doom fusion feels fully completed in that regard. Songwriting-wise it is indeed pretty intense, same with performance, Meilenwald's a great musician and he knows how to properly bring out what he wants in his composing.
Apothecary - 07.09.2013 at 01:23  
Written by psykometal on 07.09.2013 at 00:10

I'll check out his past releases some time, but if they are more BM oriented than Doom oriented (like you guys appear to be indicating), then I probably won't care much for them. I

Like I said in one of my comments on here, all of his albums have there share of doom elements, it's just a matter of to what degree. Even Unlock the Shrine and Rain Upon The Impure have quite a doomy atmopshere even though the sound is predominantly black metal. If you like it more doom-centered though, I'd suggest you listen to Foulest Semen Of A Sheltered Elite, the previous album. That was where the RoB scale started to tip more in the doom direction than black metal, and if Blood Vaults is any hint it might stay there for a while now.
Marcel Hubregtse - 07.09.2013 at 01:59  
After having listened to this quite a few times it is safe to say that this is the weakest The Ruins Of Beverast full-length album. It is way too monotonous and the drums are way too programmed, to name the two biggest flaws. I would score this one a 7.8 or 8.0 at most.
Apothecary - 07.09.2013 at 02:28  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.09.2013 at 01:59

It is way too monotonous

As if Foulest wasn't?
!J.O.O.E.! - 07.09.2013 at 13:55  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.09.2013 at 01:59

After having listened to this quite a few times it is safe to say that this is the weakest The Ruins Of Beverast full-length album. It is way too monotonous and the drums are way too programmed, to name the two biggest flaws. I would score this one a 7.8 or 8.0 at most.

Seems we agree then. I was also surprised by the drumming; the rhythms are very repetitive and simplistic, especially odd considering Von Meilenwald's abilities as a drummer.

Che, it just feels more empty and barebones than Foulest, which feels more interesting and varied than this.
Marcel Hubregtse - 07.09.2013 at 14:57  
Written by Apothecary on 07.09.2013 at 02:28

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.09.2013 at 01:59

It is way too monotonous

As if Foulest wasn't?


Not as much as this one. at least it comes across a lot more varied. Maybe also due to the drumming which isn't as mechanical and repetititve as on here.
Apothecary - 07.09.2013 at 17:41  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.09.2013 at 14:57

Not as much as this one. at least it comes across a lot more varied. Maybe also due to the drumming which isn't as mechanical and repetititve as on here.

I can definitely agree about the drumming, and can see why that would annoy some people. Kinda surprises me, cuz at times it sounds like *Von Meilenwald (wink wink) used a drum machine, which would seem odd since he started off as a drummer, so you'd think he'd just use an actual drum set. I still do think that Blood Vaults overall has more melodies and harmonies than Foulest did though: Malefica, A Failed Exorcism, and Trial are anything but monotonous.
Apothecary - 08.09.2013 at 00:04  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 07.09.2013 at 13:55

Che, it just feels more empty and barebones than Foulest, which feels more interesting and varied than this.

Niggas gonna hate
Marcel Hubregtse - 08.09.2013 at 00:09  
Written by Apothecary on 08.09.2013 at 00:04

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 07.09.2013 at 13:55

Che, it just feels more empty and barebones than Foulest, which feels more interesting and varied than this.

Niggas gonna hate


lovers gonna love
Apothecary - 08.09.2013 at 00:13  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.09.2013 at 00:09

lovers gonna love

I'm a Meilenwald fanboy, what can I say?
Not to imply that any bias affected this review, but I really admire his work and think that all of it is genius in its own way.
Marcel Hubregtse - 08.09.2013 at 00:15  
Written by Apothecary on 08.09.2013 at 00:13


I'm a Meilenwald fanboy, what can I say?



How many more times do I have to say this... the Guy's surname is Von Meilenwald
!J.O.O.E.! - 08.09.2013 at 07:37  
Written by Apothecary on 08.09.2013 at 00:04


Niggas gonna hate

For an actual moment I thought that was Marcel's comment. Admittedly I'm pretty hammered but even the concept of that comment surprised me.
!J.O.O.E.! - 16.01.2014 at 17:19  
Che, quit editing your review and giving me notifications
Apothecary - 16.01.2014 at 17:23  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.01.2014 at 17:19

Che, quit editing your review and giving me notifications

Just trying to make the labels correct for you bby
Troy Killjoy - 16.01.2014 at 17:23  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.01.2014 at 17:19
Che, quit editing your review and giving me notifications

I was wondering why I was brought here...

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums The Ruins Of Beverast - Blood Vaults (The Blazing Gospel Of Heinrich Kramer) 15 26.04.2013 by I Like Penguins
Reviews The Ruins Of Beverast - Foulest Semen Of A Sheltered Elite 7 04.10.2009 by TheBigRossowski
Albums The Ruins Of Beverast - Echanted By Gravemould 6 25.09.2011 by Lucas
News The Ruins Of Beverast - New Song, Album Artwork Revealed 6 07.08.2013 by Daggon
Albums The Ruins Of Beverast - Foulest Semen Of A Sheltered Elite 6 06.10.2011 by Marcel Hubregtse



Hits total: 8330 | This month: 233