The Ruins Of Beverast - Blood Vaults (The Blazing Gospel Of Heinrich Kramer) review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.5

110 users:
8.13
Band: The Ruins Of Beverast
Album: Blood Vaults (The Blazing Gospel Of Heinrich Kramer)
Release date: September 2013


01. Apologia
02. Daemon
03. Malefica
04. Ornaments On Malice
05. Spires, The Wailing City
06. A Failed Exorcism
07. Trial
08. Ordeal
09. Monument


For devout fans of black metal, Alexander Von Meilenwald truly needs no introduction. The former drummer of Nagelfar has achieved underground prestige not only with his previous band, but is now well on the way to building up quite the worthy legacy with his one man project The Ruins Of Beverast as well. 2013 sees Meilenwald putting out the monstrous Blood Vaults - The Blazing Gospel Of Heinrich Kramer, a nearly 80-minute odyssey of black metal and melancholic doom fusion, that takes his creative vision to heights it has arguably never seen before.

The Heinrich Kramer of the album title was a German Inquisitor in the Middle Ages who wrote a treatise on how to identify, interrogate, and torture witches, and Meilenwald sketches a well thought out portrait of his life with his new album. Like any good concept album then, Blood Vaults contains many twists and turns in its music that reflect those set by the narrative of the lyrics. On the one hand, there's a ton of dark, mesmerizing doom ("Malefica," "Spires, The Wailing City," "A Failed Exorcism"), making the album seem like a natural continuation of Foulest Semen Of A Sheltered Elite. The occasional organ breaks, like in the middle of "Malefica" or "Ornaments On Malice" help to accentuate this mood, and in many ways even give the album a bit of an (dare I say it?) epic doom vibe.

But don't let that fool you, because although they may not be as prevalent as the doom side of the album, Blood Vaults also contains a good deal of black metal elements as well, sure to please some more of the kvlt pvrists out there. Tracks such as "Ordeal," "Spires, The Wailing City," and "Daemon," especially, see Meilenwald getting into some faster and more aggressive emotion, at times even reminiscent of some moments from Unlock the Shrine. And at other points, Meilenwald also returns to some of his former Nagelfar drumming glory with clever and well-delivered percussive patterns (check out the middle of "Spires, The Wailing City"). The trick to the composition, however, really lies in the brilliant approach to the production. Despite the fact that some tracks have these harsher, more black metal-ish parts, the music still retains that crunchy, bass-heavy guitar tone to it, which makes Blood Vaults feel a lot more like a full-fledged blackened doom album than Foulest did.

And lastly, Blood Vaults also maintains Meilenwald's trademark hauntingly classical signature. The album follows upon that melancholic sound Alex often employs akin to dark, medieval church hymns, and is shrouded almost entirely in this haunting cloak throughout, perhaps more than ever before. The spoken Latin at the beginning of "Malefica," the outro to "Monument," the entire "Trial" track and more help to really bring out the whole Heinrich Kramer/church theme, and are the proverbial icing on the cake.

Ladies and gentlemen, Alex Von Meilenwald has done it yet again, proving once more his sheer genius as both a composer and a lyricist. Reviewers should always maintain a sense of objectivity in the music they cover, but we also need to recognize raw talent when it smacks us in the face, and Blood Vaults is, quite simply, a wrecking ball. Whether nominated for black metal or extreme doom, this album will definitely be getting my vote in this year's awards. Crank it loud, my friends


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 9


 



Written on 30.08.2013 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 107   Visited by: 554 users
30.08.2013 - 17:17
Daniell
No, you don't
That good? I can't wait to hear it. Loved Nagelfar, love Ruins. Looks like Lychgate will finally have some competition this year. With Oranssi Pazuzu coming soon as well, this autumn might turn out to be great black metal-wise.
----
Now loving:
Avatarium - Pearls and Coffins
Iron Maiden - Empire of the Clouds
Ahab - The Weedmen
Finsterforst - Mach dich frei!
My Dying Bride - Feel the Misery
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 17:17
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Sounds nice.
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 17:29
Apothecary
Drone Strike
Written by Daniell on 30.08.2013 at 17:17

That good? I can't wait to hear it. Loved Nagelfar, love Ruins. Looks like Lychgate will finally have some competition this year. With Oranssi Pazuzu coming soon as well, this autumn might turn out to be great black metal-wise.

I've heard the new Oranssi album too, and even though it's excellent as well, and they and RoB are probably my two favorite BM bands, I'm leaning way more towards Blood Vaults. It's just so well written, I don't see how anything this year is really going to have the balls to compete with it. I've learned to never underestimate the power of one man bands, this is pretty much like the 2013 equivalent of Blood Geometry. Not as long, but just as monumentally powerful.
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 17:30
Draugen
I'm planning on listening through all of his full-length albums as soon as I get a hold of this one. I'm prepared for an immense experience.
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 17:35
Alex F
Absolute unbridled excitement for this one. Nice review, gave me a good idea of what to expect.
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 17:40
Apothecary
Drone Strike
Written by Draugen on 30.08.2013 at 17:30

I'm planning on listening through all of his full-length albums as soon as I get a hold of this one. I'm prepared for an immense experience.

I just listened to Foulest, but I'm sure there's no doubt that taking all of his albums in that context would be quite the immense experience indeed.
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 17:43
Merchant of Doom
I'm still "digesting" this... I'll report back...
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 17:47
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Consider me sold.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 17:49
Paz
.--. .- --..
There is no chance of beating one of my favorite albums of all time which is 'Rain Upon The Impure' but should be interesting judging by your review.
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 17:56
Apothecary
Drone Strike
Written by Paz on 30.08.2013 at 17:49

There is no chance of beating one of my favorite albums of all time which is 'Rain Upon The Impure' but should be interesting judging by your review.

Interesting that you take that one as your favorite, that's usually the one RoB album I see most people not liking because of the dirty as fuck production
But of course, that's just part of the beauty of it. You know a composer is talented when all of their releases are more or less excellent, and all have a distinct sound that can attract different tastes in people.
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 18:18
Merchant of Doom
Written by Daniell on 30.08.2013 at 17:17

That good?


I can only tell you one thing at the moment. It's not that good, but pretty good indeed... it's an 8 for me.
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 18:25
mz
Time to revisit RoB
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 18:42
Apothecary
Drone Strike
Written by Merchant of Doom on 30.08.2013 at 18:18

It's not that good, but pretty good indeed...

How have you listened to the whole thing already?
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 19:07
Merchant of Doom
Written by Apothecary on 30.08.2013 at 18:42

Written by Merchant of Doom on 30.08.2013 at 18:18

It's not that good, but pretty good indeed...

How have you listened to the whole thing already?


I have my contacts...
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 20:28
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
I'm not really a RoB fan, but I suppose I'll heck it out. Hopefully all the hype is accurate.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 21:13
Apothecary
Drone Strike
Written by Boxcar Willy on 30.08.2013 at 20:28

I'm not really a RoB fan, but I suppose I'll heck it out. Hopefully all the hype is accurate.

Yeah, unlike the hype for Deafheaven right?
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 21:15
theembryo
Have only been able to experience "Daemon"; "Malefica"; and "Ordeal" thus far. However; it seemed to only take the briefest of auditioning to clearly see how the release is so much anticipated! Well done here, Apothecary, and thanks!
I believe BoxCar Willy should not be disappointed.......
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 21:15
Apothecary
Drone Strike
Written by Merchant of Doom on 30.08.2013 at 19:07

I have my contacts...

Indeed, those in the MS hierarchy aren't the only ones with connections. An 8 is still very good though, glad you enjoy it. It's one of those albums that definitely grows on you though, and where you find things you didn't before on each listen, so maybe you'll want to reconsider that rating after a few more listens
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 21:47
psykometal
A staff guy...
All you fuckers and your RoB obsession, guess I'm gona have to check his stuff out to see what all the damn fuss is about...
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
30.08.2013 - 22:23
Apothecary
Drone Strike
Written by psykometal on 30.08.2013 at 21:47

All you fuckers and your RoB obsession, guess I'm gona have to check his stuff out to see what all the damn fuss is about...

You're not a noobie to the Meilenwald, are you?
Well, if you are, start with Unlock the Shrine and just go forward in his discography. It's cool to see how his sound has evolved over the years. None of his albums are bad, and each has its own distinct sound... kinda like Devin Townsend.
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 22:38
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Honestly, I'd be surprised if he likes it.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
30.08.2013 - 22:46
psykometal
A staff guy...
Written by Mr. Doctor on 30.08.2013 at 22:38

Honestly, I'd be surprised if he likes it.

YOU DON'T KNOW ME, FOOL!!!
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
30.08.2013 - 22:50
psykometal
A staff guy...
Written by Apothecary on 30.08.2013 at 22:23

You're not a noobie to the Meilenwald, are you?
Well, if you are, start with Unlock the Shrine and just go forward in his discography. It's cool to see how his sound has evolved over the years. None of his albums are bad, and each has its own distinct sound... kinda like Devin Townsend.

Never heard any of Meilenwald's stuff before. About 5 years ago I couldn't get enough of all kinds of black metal, but in the last several years my tastes have shifted more towards death metal than black metal.

(Rod might be right, but fuck him! )
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
31.08.2013 - 00:40
Apothecary
Drone Strike
Written by psykometal on 30.08.2013 at 22:50

Never heard any of Meilenwald's stuff before.

Well, if you like black and doom metal, with some dark classical cherries on top, hop to it!
*Nagelfar is also great of course, but I'd recommend you start with RoB for a better idea of his individual personality as a musician.
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
31.08.2013 - 00:54
Merchant of Doom
Written by Apothecary on 30.08.2013 at 21:15

Written by Merchant of Doom on 30.08.2013 at 19:07

I have my contacts...

Indeed, those in the MS hierarchy aren't the only ones with connections. An 8 is still very good though, glad you enjoy it. It's one of those albums that definitely grows on you though, and where you find things you didn't before on each listen, so maybe you'll want to reconsider that rating after a few more listens


I do belong to "another site", as you know... we do get our perks too... BTW, my "8" is after a few listens. We were in fact discussing "amongst us" that the album is indeed a grower. I can't see it going that much up, though. Maybe half point.
Loading...
31.08.2013 - 01:10
psykometal
A staff guy...
Written by Apothecary on 31.08.2013 at 00:40

Well, if you like black and doom metal, with some dark classical cherries on top, hop to it!

I did quite enjoy Faal's latest album. From what I understand they fall into the category of black/doom.

Doom isn't really my thing though, so I don't generally care for the genre much, but I have found a few nice gems here and there thanks to Marcel, Craig and Erik.
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
31.08.2013 - 03:44
strade
Written by Apothecary on 30.08.2013 at 17:56

Written by Paz on 30.08.2013 at 17:49

There is no chance of beating one of my favorite albums of all time which is 'Rain Upon The Impure' but should be interesting judging by your review.

Interesting that you take that one as your favorite, that's usually the one RoB album I see most people not liking because of the dirty as fuck production


Actually, Reign upon the Impure is the most highly regarded of theirs on many websites including the Metal Archives (though that appears not to be the case here). Personally I love the sound of that record; it's utterly destructive.

Good review. Really hoping this album and the new Orannsi Pazuzu break out to be great records in what has been a rather unremarkable year for me.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
31.08.2013 - 13:51
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Haven't heard it yet, but I am sure it will be good. But I have to say the Guy's surname is Von Meilenwald NOT Meilenwald, so stop calling him Meilenwald for short
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
31.08.2013 - 15:31
Apothecary
Drone Strike
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 31.08.2013 at 13:51

But I have to say the Guy's surname is Von Meilenwald NOT Meilenwald, so stop calling him Meilenwald for short

Duly noted
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
31.08.2013 - 16:37
psykometal
A staff guy...
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 31.08.2013 at 13:51

Haven't heard it yet, but I am sure it will be good. But I have to say the Guy's surname is Von Meilenwald NOT Meilenwald, so stop calling him Meilenwald for short

But Meilenwald is so much shorter. And let's be realistic here...how many people really give a fuck about Von?
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 18904 | This month: 23