Ministry - Rio Grande Blood review



Reviewer:
9.5

129 users:
8.33
Band: Ministry
Album: Rio Grande Blood
Release date: May 2006


01. Rio Grande Blood
02. Señor Peligro
03. Gangreen [ft. Sgt. Major]
04. Fear (Is Big Business)
05. Lieslieslies
06. The Great Satan Remix
07. Yellow Cake
08. Palestina
09. Ass Clown [ft. Jello Biafra]
10. Khyber Pass


In retrospect I feel a bit embarrassed for giving Ministry's previous effort a 10. It's not that Houses Of The Mole was bad, oh no! It was actually a refreshingly concise and consistent release after over a decade of interesting and experimental, yet far too obscure and self-indulgent albums. Thus, it seemed to me at the time that Houses was as good as it gets. Well, its not - it was merely a warm up. Rio Grande Blood is better than the previous album in almost every way and is the true return to form from these industrial metal veterans that we have all been waiting for.

One look at the explicit cover art and we can be sure that this album is not about dragons and/or black-clad maidens thinking about suicide. No - this is protest music. It's a convention. You either appreciate it or you don't. If you do, then you'll be happy to hear that actually, this is as good as it gets - insanely angry and sloganeering, yet musically intelligent. Whether they are out-playing Slayer ("Fear Is Big Business"), blasting ahead like a black-metal band ("The Great Satan"), playing dynamic and smart alterna-metal ("Ass-Clown", "Khyber Pass") or.. simply being Ministry ("Rio Grande Blood", "Palestina", "LiesLiesLies"), the band shows everybody who's boss. The production is great also, as are the individual performances by the all-star lineup (Tommy Victor, Paul Raven, Mark Baker and of course, Uncle Al). It's all fast and aggressive and very powerful; the single weak point of this album is "Gangreen", the obligatory joke-track, which simply isn't funny. Don't worry though, since the thrashy riffing of "Senor Peligro" (Bush's alter ego…) and the pure destruction of "Fear Is Big Business" will totally make you forget that small misstep.

Don't let that 0.5 fool you. This is possibly the best album of the year and an absolute must-have for any self-respecting fan of aggressive metal.


 



Written on 13.04.2006 by With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. He lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he does his best to avoid prosecution for being so cool.


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 92 users
22.05.2006 - 03:30
__Az__
I love this album... The lyrical theme is brilliant as is the song Lies Lies Lies...
Loading...
22.05.2006 - 07:37
Dangerboner
:D
This is by far the best Ministry cd. Every song is consistently good throughout, unlike their other releases. This album is actually more metal than industrial, and they should continue with this style.
Loading...
24.05.2006 - 16:55
__Az__
Definately... If they continue with this... Theyre onto a winner...
Loading...
22.06.2006 - 05:47
LethargyMan
This really is one damn fine album. I love listening to politically driven music (even if I disagree some of the points being asserted on this album) and this is the grittiest of them all.

... Though I thought track Gangreen was a pretty good song.

The legacy of The Ministry lives on!
----
Ense petit placidam sub libertate quietem.
By the sword we seek peace, but peace only under liberty.
Loading...
03.07.2006 - 21:25
Megadeth88
Rio Grande Blood is one of my favorite albums by Ministry. Every song is just so great in my opinion. My favorite song on here is 'Gangreen'.
Loading...
06.08.2006 - 16:48
Legacy_Of_Kings
Account deleted
I saw them live yesterday on Gates Of Metal, and.. I just hate them.. I had never heard them before.. This is the worst band ever.
Loading...
08.08.2006 - 20:53
jupitreas
hi-fi / lo-life
Instead of spamming, you should specify what is it about them that you dont like... Preferably in a proper forum thread and not in the comments of a review.
Loading...
08.08.2006 - 22:05
Lucas
Mr. Noise
I like this stuff. Industrial is not something I know a lot about, but I do ove his anger.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
05.12.2007 - 22:24
Introspekrieg
Totemic Lust
I think "Gangreen" is a pretty good song and a brave endeavour. It takes balls to criticize the troops, although I don't agree with equating US marines to unaware tools of the government. I'm sure most soldiers understand when they sign up what they are in for and feel the rewards outweigh the risks. "You syphillitic Siberian sonofabitch!"
Overall, I think this is the best Ministry album, just 50 minutes of pure intensity.
Loading...
20.09.2008 - 20:06
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
why does this album have the name of my home-town?
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
14.03.2009 - 08:20
infernus006
Account deleted
Haha, I like 'Gangreen', and I'm a former-Marine ;P

I like the "Kiss Me Goodnight" remix better though.
Loading...
01.12.2009 - 08:35
BudDa
I love this album. I absolutely love this album. Ministry RULES!!
----
Freeze! Step away from the hubris.
Loading...
31.05.2011 - 16:23
Tetravirulence
The movie Hurt Locker used this album intensively!!
----
Metal News Community!! http://head-metal-bangers.blogspot.com

RIP Juhani Palomaki (1977-2010)
Loading...
02.09.2011 - 03:08
Lit.
Account deleted
This album fills me with a mix of fear and euphoria. Quickly becoming one of my all time fav albums.
Loading...

Hits total: 4257 | This month: 14