Rating:
N/A
James LaBrie - Impermanent Resonance
29 July 2013


01. Agony
02. Undertow
03. Slight Of Hand
04. Back On The Ground
05. I Got You
06. Holding On
07. Lost In The Fire
08. Letting Go
09. Destined To Burn
10. Say You're Still Mine
11. Amnesia
12. I Will Not Break
13. Unraveling [European limited edition bonus]
14. Why [European limited edition bonus]


I'll be honest, I wasn't expecting much from this album. I've not been exactly high on James LaBrie's solo stuff, nor have I been much satisfied with Dream Theater for that matter, but that's another story. So, I approached Impermanent Resonance with enough bias to confirm my doubts and thus it didn't disappoint me, if I can express it like this. My initial impression was of an album that is quite OK music-wise, but totally inaccessible due to its sound and production.

So, given the introduction above, I expect you to expect me to say that "it turns out this album is a great piece of music." Well... yeah, it sort of is, but for all the wrong - or unexpected, if you prefer - reasons. It so happens, that while this album is hardly progressive, easy-natured, somewhat sappy in lyrical content, light on thought calories, and with a kind of flat, wall of sound production that makes it hard to crack, it is actually a catchy album that can draw you in.

When I say it's hardly progressive, I mean it's hard to call this album prog metal at all. It has more in common, music-wise, with Amaranthe than, let's say, Dream Theater; which says a lot considering it's the voice of Dream Theater on vocals. But don't get me wrong, that works in its favour. The keyboards, which made me draw parallels with Amaranthe, are one aspect that give this album a catchy and poppy feeling, alongside the lyrical content. In contrast however, this album makes quite a show of good riffing and powerful drumming. It's got some seriously cool stuff right there.

As you can guess, the biggest gripe I have with this album is the compressed production. The music on the album comes with a lot of power, and would rock your socks off if given the chance. However, it feels like looking through a key-hole. You see light on the other side of the door, lots and lots of it, but it will hardly do a good job illuminating your side. Same with this album, you can feel there's a lot hidden there but it just doesn't come through. That said, crank up the volume and it kind of starts to open up; that's how it got to me.


Band profile: James LaBrie
Album: Impermanent Resonance


 



Written on 30.09.2013 by
Ivor
I shoot people.

Sometimes, I also write about it.
More reviews by Ivor ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 23  
Users visited: 260  
Search this topic:  


K†ulu - 30.09.2013 at 18:54  
Ok, it must be even worse than the previous one. Will not waste my time with another pseudo-metal pop album from LaBrie.
Daniell - 30.09.2013 at 18:55  
This is pop dressed as metal. Stay away.
BloodTears - 30.09.2013 at 19:14  
I don't even care, I like it "Static Impulse" was superior but this one isn't that much different from it in terms of musical elements.

Yes, it's very easy on the ear and catchy and does what it's supposed to do. It will not be a groundbreaking album, but it's a fun listen.
Teravolt_Danny - 30.09.2013 at 19:38  
Any time something isn't black metal or death metal: "This isn't metal, it's pop." Gotta love it...

Anyway, this album is pretty good. The first track is by far the best, after that it's mostly downhill, with a highlight here or there. I'd probably give it a 7.
Daniell - 30.09.2013 at 20:14  
Let me rephrase for those who misunderstand. This is weak pop dressed as metal, and it fails as pop as it does as metal. Better now?
K†ulu - 30.09.2013 at 20:55  
Written by Daniell on 30.09.2013 at 20:14

Let me rephrase for those who misunderstand. This is weak pop dressed as metal, and it fails as pop as it does as metal. Better now?

That's exactly how I felt about Static Impulse, and I sincerely believe, so it's no surprise to hear this album described like that.
qlacs - 30.09.2013 at 21:13  
Checked out some weeks ago on Youtube. First song is good, the rest was boring... Couldn't get to the end of it. Might try it later

Also ... funny thing and does not relates here... As a video recommendation on Youtube from Labrie to Sieges Even, then from SE to a band called 7for4. THEY ARE AWESOME. Like, in capital.
Ivor - 30.09.2013 at 22:13  
Written by qlacs on 30.09.2013 at 21:13

7for4

Haven't heard about them in a loooong, long time. Checked their website. Apparently a new album is in the works. Though, if we're talking that kind of stuff, I'll take Karcius.

I.
3rdWorld - 30.09.2013 at 22:56  
Does what it does decently. Very pop and cheesy? yes, but i enjoyed it as a one-off.

And you wont find any prog here for sure, this was more like melodic groove metal honestly.
mz - 30.09.2013 at 23:49  
Well I hate the guy's vocal. I guess I should stay as far from this as one can get
Stabby - 01.10.2013 at 00:20  
I really like it, but yes if you've come looking for great depth and a progressive album, this will disappoint you. So what?

I'm very glad for this album because his vocals are so much more interesting than on the new Dream Theater. Is it the mixing or is it intentional? It's like night and day for me.
AeonGio - 01.10.2013 at 00:47  
Written by BloodTears on 30.09.2013 at 19:14

I don't even care, I like it "Static Impulse" was superior but this one isn't that much different from it in terms of musical elements.

Yes, it's very easy on the ear and catchy and does what it's supposed to do. It will not be a groundbreaking album, but it's a fun listen.


Totally agree with you Ana, one phrase says it all: Fun to listen!
Daniell - 01.10.2013 at 09:09  
Written by AeonGio on 01.10.2013 at 00:47

Totally agree with you Ana, one phrase says it all: Fun to listen!


Boredom isn't fun
esw1026 - 01.10.2013 at 23:26  
Written by Daniell on 30.09.2013 at 18:55

This is pop dressed as metal. Stay away.


Totally agree X 1000000
hechlok - 02.10.2013 at 14:50  
And the vocals are awful
3rdWorld - 02.10.2013 at 23:57  
Written by Daniell on 01.10.2013 at 09:09

Boredom isn't fun

Depends on what you get bored of.
Doge of Venice - 03.10.2013 at 01:23  
Written by Daniell on 30.09.2013 at 18:55

This is pop dressed as metal. Stay away.


Some pop can be decent. Sure, it won't give you much emotionally, but it may give you a good time. I haven't listened to this album yet, personally.
EDIT: Didn't see your later post, sorry!




Only decent band I like that can be defined as pop is really Moon Safari, which is technically a progressive rock band with pop leanings.
Daniell - 03.10.2013 at 10:14  
Written by Doge of Venice on 03.10.2013 at 01:23

Some pop can be decent.


Of course. There is a lot of pop music that I think is great. Saying something is pop is not a derogatory remark at all.
JohnDoe - 03.10.2013 at 10:59  
It's a decent, enjoyable album, very catchy indeed, I kinda agree it's pop dressed as metal; well, sometimes I want to listen to something catchy so I was not disappointed. Next time, LaBrie should try something different though, this sound is already too predictable.
Doge of Venice - 03.10.2013 at 15:45  
Written by Daniell on 03.10.2013 at 10:14

Written by Doge of Venice on 03.10.2013 at 01:23

Some pop can be decent.


Of course. There is a lot of pop music that I think is great. Saying something is pop is not a derogatory remark at all.


Yeah, at first it sounded like you said as much, but as I said I didn't notice your next comment.
Dane Train - 03.10.2013 at 21:51  
Personally I really love this album. Yeah it's pop. The show is so Van Halen. There is nothing wrong with pop metal or any pop music in general. Just like any genre pop can be good or bad. Both One Direction and Elton John are pop. One sucks and one is amazing. This album is an example of well constructed pop metal.
Gelati - 12.01.2014 at 16:13  
I don't really get the hate. You just need to understand what you're signing up for. My initial thought was "This is what Soilwork would sound like with James Labrie singing." It's got a lot of melo-death kinda nu metalish moments buts it's simple, clean, and catchy. Don't expect to go off the deep end with this album and it's actually quite enjoyable.
DeathSlyzer - 04.10.2014 at 15:05  
Written by Teravolt_Danny on 30.09.2013 at 19:38

Any time something isn't black metal or death metal: "This isn't metal, it's pop." Gotta love it...

Haha, in that case, I don't listen to a single metal band.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums James LaBrie - Impermanent Resonance 7.5 21.06.2013 by diamondblack
Reviews James LaBrie - Elements Of Persuasion 5.5 09.10.2007 by Dane Train
News James LaBrie - On Recording New TSR Project 4.5 23.06.2006 by Shadowthrone
News James LaBrie - North American Tour Cancelled 4.5 30.10.2010 by Dane Train
Albums James LaBrie - Mullmuzzler 2 4.5 30.09.2013 by MarioCalnSnchez



Hits total: 4699 | This month: 137