Rating:
7.3
Glorior Belli - Gators Rumble, Chaos Unfurls
29 October 2013


01. Blackpowder Roars
02. Wolves At My Door
03. Ain't No Pit Deep Enough
04. A Hoax, A Croc!
05. From One Rebel To Another
06. I Asked For Wine, He Gave Me Blood
07. The South Will Always Know My Name
08. Le Blackout Blues
09. Backwoods Bayou
10. Built For Discomfort
11. Gators Rumble, Chaos Unfurls


When someone brings up the South here in the U.S. they're typically referring to a clutch of states in or around our southeastern border (and Texas)—states known for their many contributions to modern civilization, their forward-thinking, and their humility. That and their music. Which, if you ignore the typical "I love my truck almost as much as I love Jesus" shit played on pop country and western channels, includes a large chunk of the best stuff made in the 20th century. Blues, early country (and Honky Tonk), a whole lot of rock, Jazz and so on.

ZZ Top. ZZ Top's from the South.

When one thinks of "southern-sounding" he or she probably doesn't think of France. Not off the bat at least, what with their fruity cars and their Eiffel Tower and their impenetrable philosophers and all. Glorior Belli wants to change that.

What they do is take a large slab of deep fried southerness and add some subtle Frenchy black metal spices. Think Crowbar with some Oranssi Pazuzu thrown in. It's like Kentucky Fried Chicken with a Michelin Star.

What ultimately prevents this from being a must listen though is the unshakeable sense that these guys are too aware of their unorthodox style being unorthodox. It's all played well and has more than enough riffs that will have you coming back for more, but the convergence of styles on this thing (and their last record) feels a bit more forced than organic and a bit more attention seeking than sincere. Or, at least that's the impression I get. Might have something to do with the vocals, which are done in a slightly breathy black metal vein. They aren't bad (they're done well), but they seem a little once-overish. They're like too thin a coat of paint and they're relentless. Not much heart to them.

It is a good album overall though. Well worth a listen. I mean, those riffs, man... fuh.


Band profile: Glorior Belli
Album: Gators Rumble, Chaos Unfurls


 



Written on 15.10.2013 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 147  
Search this topic:  


Apothecary - 15.10.2013 at 16:48  
Hmmm... I thought I claimed this in the review queue
Anyway, I actually like the direction these guys have been going in since Meet Us At The Southern Sign, and your review makes it seem like this new album goes even deeper into the Southern elements, so I should dig it. Especially if there are some of those depressing as fuck bluesy clean vocals like on the previous releases.
Rulatore - 15.10.2013 at 17:03  
Can't wait for it
BitterCOld - 15.10.2013 at 19:36  
KFC with a mich star. looking forward to checking this out.
3rdWorld - 15.10.2013 at 23:28  
I am on to this.
SmokyPeat - 16.10.2013 at 04:59  
"I love my truck almost as much as I love Jesus" hahaha. I love southern music though so I'll have to see if it works well with BM.
DrunkenFuck - 19.10.2013 at 13:00  
Just played with these guys last Saturday. They seemed alright. Not particularly my style, though.
TheBloodyNine - 27.10.2013 at 03:01  
I gave it a 7/10 on the site I review for. It's OK. Adeptly played, with some decent riffs (lots of riffs) but overall pretty forgettable and rather boring. I don't think it merits another listen (I've given it 3 already). Rehashed and safe blues-based southerny metal. Like Down with more bite. Pepper Keenan era C of C meets Vreid but not nearly as good as either band. Meh.
HitokiriNate85 - 29.10.2013 at 15:43  
I'm just going to copy my comment from the album stream news post to here.

I listened to it twice and I really enjoyed most of it. There are a couple tracks I'm not a big fan of, but that often changes after I listen to an album for a while. I love the sound and the southern rock/blues influences. From the bits and pieces I've heard off their last couple albums I don't remember them being as cohesive or as groovy.

Standout tracks off the bat are Blackpowder Roars, A Hoax, a Croc!, Backwoods Bayou(instrumental that really builds great atmosphere), The South Will Always Know My Name, and Built for Discomfort. My biggest complaint is that some songs fragment into half of it being really good and the other being a bit lacking(I Asked For Wine..., Backwoods Bayou).

I think the mix of styles works surprisingly well here and I really like that it leans more towards rock-influenced riffing and leaves the vocals to add the heavier element a lot of the time. Might have to pick this up, especially since it has such a killer cover.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Glorior Belli - Gators Rumble, Chaos Unfurls 10.5 18.08.2013 by Neachy
Reviews Glorior Belli - Manifesting The Raging Beast 5.5 09.12.2007 by Sunioj
News Glorior Belli - Recruit New Drummer 4.5 16.06.2009 by TheBigRossowski
News Glorior Belli - New Album In September 4.5 14.07.2011 by
News Glorior Belli - New Album Streaming Online 4.5 19.09.2011 by BitterCOld



Hits total: 2778 | This month: 72