Rating:
6.5
Dissection - Reinkaos
30 April 2006


01. Nexion 218
02. Beyond The Horizon
03. Starless Aeon
04. Black Dragon
05. Dark Mother Divine
06. Xeper-I-Set
07. Chaosophia
08. God Of Forbidden Light
09. Reinkaos
10. Internal Fire
11. Maha Kali
+ Starless Aeon [video] [bonus]


How do you make a comeback after nearly a decade of absence from the scene? And how do you do it if you're one of the 'savant' Scandinavian bands and one of your members has been spending this time in jail? Well, let me tell you, the way Dissection does it on Reinkaos is not the way to do it. The old fans will eat them alive. With this said, the new Dissection release is actually a pretty decent melodeath album when evaluated on its own terms.

First of all it must be said that all traces of black metal are gone from Dissection's sound. The frantic paces known from their early 90s releases are also out of the window. What we are left with is very melodic, mid paced death metal. Maha Kali was a pretty good sign of things to come and it has even been included on this album. Of course, by now the melodeath scene itself has also changed significantly and bands either favor a super-speedy yet traditional approach or experimenting with alternative metal. Reinkaos fits neither of these conventions and instead sounds like old In Flames or At The Gates. If you miss that seminal approach to the style, you might find Reinkaos to your liking. Very melodic leads and hooks dominate the album and songs like "Starless Aeon" and "Xeper-I-Set" are the most memorable in this respect. Still, none of the songs are anything to write home about. They are merely listenable and mildly enjoyable.

So there you have it. Is this the downfall of one of metal's legends? Probably not. It's not much of a comeback either, though. Only check it out if you really have nothing else to listen to at the moment.


Band profile: Dissection
Album: Reinkaos


 



Written on 19.04.2006 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 29  
Users visited: 277  
Search this topic:  


CyGuy6587 - 19.01.2007 at 15:21  
I downloaded it and I think it's a pretty good album
Cthulhu - 22.01.2007 at 07:10  
As an old Dissection fan I was extremely dissapointed with this album. They have followed countless other Swedish black or death bands (In Flames is the best example) down the path of playing uninspired and unoriginal Iron Maiden-style riffs making for a generally uninteresting listen. Dissection used to have their own original sound, a mixture of black metal and slow melodic death metal, that was great. I am a fan of bands diversifying their sound if they do it well (think Satyricon, Mayhem, Emperor, Death). Unfortunately, Dissection have failed. If you think crap like In Flames is great, then check this out, if like me you prefer quality don't waste your time.
Sunioj - 22.01.2007 at 19:00  
I would give a 6, theres only three songs that are ok on the album, so yes, its a huge dissappointment, yet the style is dramatically changed, I dont see how people who like melodeth can even like this album, its just really weak. Well, thats life...
.:Jux:. - 31.03.2007 at 21:18  
I'm note old Dissection fan. For me this album was the first one to listen from that band, and I must say it is damn good. Melodic death as it supposed to be, not that cliche-ish gottenburg metal stuff. Now when I have listened their early stuff, the change really is dramatic. But still it is a superb album. I gave 10
Mental_Orgasm - 05.04.2007 at 12:12  
i loved their older stuff, i agree with the review, this album was pretty dissapointing
Agaatho - 07.04.2007 at 13:30  
Reinkaos is not very good(despite the guitar is very good).Most of the songs have pretty much the same rythm and it's not pleasant to hear the all album through.
To compare The Somberlain and Storm of The Lights Bane -Reinkaos is bullshit ,but 6,5 is acceptable for this album.
Sunioj - 07.04.2007 at 19:04  
Written by Agaatho on 07.04.2007 at 13:30

Reinkaos is not very good(despite the guitar is very good).


I see someone noticed that too, even the album overall is pretty terrible, it sounds like Jon has been practicing his solos.
Warman - 27.06.2007 at 23:54  
I agree with the rating.
This is one of my biggest dissapointments, some great songs but even more awful songs! This really is the downfall of an awesome band!
magatouve - 14.03.2008 at 19:11  
Starless Aeon is the only song I heard from this album. It's pretty damn great. I liked the video clip so much and the lyrics too. It's so catchy. I find nothing wrong about Melodeath. It may not be as complex as other genres but still music is not only about complexity. Sometimes simple things can be really great, especially when they come from a talented person. Anyway, I haven't listened to anything from Dissection before and I understand that when a good band changes its style, the fans will be so harsh and subjective in their judgements, always comparing to older stuff. If it was a work by another band, they may appreciate it more.... this is the way it always is!
Eternal Flames - 15.03.2008 at 06:56  
In comparison to Dissection's earlier material, the album was rather average. But nevertheless as a melodic death album itself it's not too bad. I have to admit that I did enjoy listening to it and I'm a huge Dissection fan. I wasn't expecting a masterpiece from them anyway but I'd probably rated I would agree with the rating, maybe I'd given it a 7 or so though.
Metal Addicted - 30.12.2008 at 16:03  
Fantastic Albume, Just Listen To Stareless Aeon or God Of Forbidden Light ...
Hail Jon ...
Metalbound7 - 13.01.2009 at 00:49  
I love every Dissection album including this one, R.I.P Jon
terrorist - 03.03.2009 at 02:26  
This album is so great!!!!Ok,probably it doesn't sounds like their older albums but for its self the album is great!!!It has influence of thrash i must say a little bit,and solos are fantastic!
ms68 - 05.03.2009 at 19:00  
Why when some black bands change their style, all of blackmetalers rise against them? this matter happened when burzum released Hlidskjalf too.
if an album hasn't distortion blackmetalers hate that. do u think style is more important than music?? i don't think and i rate it 10.
Lord_Regnier - 13.04.2009 at 08:34  
I like "The Somberlain" and "Storm Of The Light's Bane". Both are excellent albums. But I don't like "Reinkaos" at all.
Vitriolic Hate - 30.06.2009 at 19:37  
It's just good one.....
Builtforsin88 - 13.03.2010 at 07:59  
Not great, but deff worth at least checking out.
In_tallica - 08.05.2010 at 03:53  
Everyone keeps saying "Melodeath Album". It does'nt matter what people call it. It's still 100 % Black Metal, since it's satanic and has a dark, sinister and evil approach to it. Even though Light's Bane is better, I still consider this a masterpiece, and a true testament of the chaotic hellraising that represented Dissection!
Hail Jon!
Spanishkiller - 25.07.2010 at 18:53  
Have you just heard the lyrics? THE WHOLE DISC IS AN INVOCATION OF LUCIFER! If that is not Black Metal, I don´t know what is Black metal then. Jon didn´t care at all the sound of this disc, he just wanted to express his knowledge about satanism.
RavenKing - 26.07.2010 at 01:23  
To those who label the album as Black Metal only because of satanic lyrics: it's music that defines a genre, not lyrics. And you can find very satanic lyrics in Thrash and Death Metal too.

If you think satanism automatically = Black Metal, sorry but you fucking don't know anything about Black Metal.

Also, many BM bands sing about nature, landscapes, etc. According to your false logic, they would not even be BM.
Spanishkiller - 29.07.2010 at 03:21  
Written by RavenKing on 26.07.2010 at 01:23

To those who label the album as Black Metal only because of satanic lyrics: it's music that defines a genre, not lyrics. And you can find very satanic lyrics in Thrash and Death Metal too.

If you think satanism automatically = Black Metal, sorry but you fucking don't know anything about Black Metal.

Also, many BM bands sing about nature, landscapes, etc. According to your false logic, they would not even be BM.


So, without listening to the lyrics you can distinguish between Black Metal and other extreme metal genres. Then Cradle Of Filth, Dimmu Borgir or Primordial shouldn´t be clasified as Black Metal... and albums of melodeath such as With Oden On Our Side wolud be Black Metal, because it sounds like the typical Black Metal.
RavenKing - 29.07.2010 at 05:03  
Written by Spanishkiller on 29.07.2010 at 03:21

So, without listening to the lyrics you can distinguish between Black Metal and other extreme metal genres. Then Cradle Of Filth, Dimmu Borgir or Primordial shouldn´t be clasified as Black Metal... and albums of melodeath such as With Oden On Our Side wolud be Black Metal, because it sounds like the typical Black Metal.


One question: do you know anything about metal? Because, sorry, but you sound like a noob.
Amon Amarth sounds like typical Black Metal??? Wow, I was right. You don't have a clue at what Black Metal is.

By the way, Cradle of Filth and Dimmu Borgir are NOT Black Metal in their current form. Just some kind of melodic extreme metal targeted at the mainstream.

Yes, I can distinguish Black Metal from other extreme genres by the sound, the riffs, etc... Lots of people can do the same. But you obviously lack the knowledge to do it.
Destructhor - 12.12.2010 at 19:23  
THIS IS THE BEST ALBUM EVER, THIS IS THE BEST 11 AUDIO FILES IN THE UNIVERSE!!! HAIL THE DARK GODS AND THE WRATHFULL CHAOS!!! :banger2::banger2::banger2::banger2::banger2::banger2::banger2::banger2:
BloodFireDeath - 19.12.2010 at 20:42  
Yeah I love their first two albums dearly and have a very special place in my heart. But this one I love quite a bit as well. Its got a very dark (mildly) atmosphere and has a slightly melancholic edge which I enjoy. It blends cutesy popish metal with something genuinely artistic and sad. I also love the lyrics. Good piece of metal in my opinion.
RavenKing - 19.12.2010 at 22:20  
I consider this album as utter crap.
Kuroboshi - 25.07.2011 at 08:14  
The drumwork is so boring, that's what drag this album into the mud. But Maha Kali and Starless Aeon are still awesome, so I have to give it a 7... I'm to generous.
Daniell - 25.07.2011 at 14:40  
No you're not. It's not sucha bad album, and about 3 tracks are really good. I wouldn't rate it higher than 7 though.
beyondtehdarksun - 25.07.2011 at 16:50  
I agree, it could be so much better with some varied and faster drumming. Starless Aeon is my favorite too, been listening to it over and over in the past.
MétalNoir - 06.12.2011 at 19:19  
Why stain "Storm of the Light's Bane" 's memory with such bullshit? Some dead bands are much better off dead. I think they did re-die after this catastrophe, right?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Dissection - Reinkaos 4.5 24.11.2010 by Destructhor
Reviews Mechina - Empyrean 3 28.01.2013 by R'Vannith
News Dissection Frontman Shot Himself In Head As Part Of Ritual Suicide 3 19.08.2006 by Syk
Reviews Ministry - Rio Grande Blood 3 22.05.2006 by __Az__
Reviews Encoffination - Ritual Ascension Beyond Flesh 3 23.01.2011 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 6527 | This month: 46