Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.0
An Autumn For Crippled Children - Try Not To Destroy Everything You Love
11 November 2013


01. Autumn Again
02. The Woods Are On Fire
03. Never Complete
04. Try Not To Destroy Everything You Love
05. Hearts Of Light
06. Sepia Mountains For Her Lament
07. Closer
08. Avoiding Winter
09. Starlit Spirits


I don't know if you guys have been paying attention, but in case you haven't noticed around here, An Autumn For Crippled Children is becoming quite the household name. They aren't exactly the most renowned band on the planet, but they are certainly making strides.

It helps that the music doesn't suck. Man that would... suck.

As is typical of the "blackgaze" movement, Try Not to Destroy Everything You Love is an album filled with atmosphere. Its dreamy shoegaze passages dominate the mix, seamlessly steering each song into the next, blending an entire collection of stories together to make up one beautiful mosaic of sorts.

While these Dutchmen have aimed to create some of the most melancholic sounds known to the genre, this release also manages to exude an uplifting vibe. The melodies are not drastically different than those found on their debut, yet they instill a more noticeable warmth in the listener, as if welcoming them to partake in the emotional journey.

The traditional fuzzy production encompasses the songs with a sweltering blanket, wrapping up every nuance from head to toe. This soothing texture makes for a relaxing, almost energizing listen. It may lean towards the more depressive side of things at face value, but there is an inviting quality to the music that slowly draws you in with a hint of optimism - starting from the delicate cover art. Muffled, just like everything else, are the tormented shrieks of a passionate black metal vocalist, which take on their own welcoming role due to the oven-like production.

This album is designed for those who primarily enjoy their extreme metal not so extreme, or more specifically, those who appreciate non-abrasive, atmospheric forms of black metal.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 10


Band profile: An Autumn For Crippled Children
Album: Try Not To Destroy Everything You Love


 



Written on 22.11.2013 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 47  
Users visited: 304  
Search this topic:  


Fritillaria - 22.11.2013 at 18:05  
Quote:
but there is an inviting quality to the music that slowly draws you in with a hint of optimism - starting from the delicate cover art

and of course the album title : Try Not To Destroy Everything You Love
Troy Killjoy - 22.11.2013 at 18:08  
Written by Fritillaria on 22.11.2013 at 18:05
and of course the album title : Try Not To Destroy Everything You Love

The song titles are just as bittersweet. There are a lot of things this band does that come across as simultaneously depressive and hopeful.
Fritillaria - 22.11.2013 at 18:11  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.11.2013 at 18:08

The song titles are just as bittersweet. There are a lot of things this band does that come across as simultaneously depressive and hopeful.

Definitely as you said my first impression on their sound was : bittersweet tone. And it was actually the first one by them that I heard.
Troy Killjoy - 22.11.2013 at 18:15  
Written by Fritillaria on 22.11.2013 at 18:11
And it was actually the first one by them that I heard.

Not to discredit this album in any way, but I'd highly recommend their first two albums as well. I think they offer a bit more variation and originality since the band members were just experimenting with a new(ish) style.
Mercy Seller - 22.11.2013 at 18:17  
Good review. I should get around to checking these guys out, from what you've described they're right up my alley.
Fritillaria - 22.11.2013 at 18:19  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.11.2013 at 18:15

Not to discredit this album in any way, but I'd highly recommend their first two albums as well. I think they offer a bit more variation and originality since the band members were just experimenting with a new(ish) style.


their song titles and artworks had already attracted me to them, and by what you said, I would surely check them out.
Monolithic - 22.11.2013 at 18:47  
Sounds a little more accessible than their previous efforts. I do miss their experimental works but this album will do the job for me.
Apothecary - 22.11.2013 at 19:04  
I'm not really much of a fan of blackgaze, sometimes it feels as though it's pussifying the genre of black metal and taking the ballz out of it
I do trust your recs though, I'm checking out this album now and it actually does have enough of a balance between melodic and harsh to keep me satisfied. This track in particular is pretty win.
Troy Killjoy - 22.11.2013 at 19:06  
Written by Apothecary on 22.11.2013 at 19:04
I'm not really much of a fan of blackgaze, sometimes it feels as though it's pussifying the genre of black metal and taking the ballz out of it

I've been listening to this genre far less than before, and pretty much for the same reasons. I'm all for a little bite but when the extremity is completely taken out of the mix I just can't focus. Even if the balance isn't a perfect 50-50, there still needs to be a significant amount of abrasion for me to enjoy what I'm hearing.
Fritillaria - 22.11.2013 at 19:09  
Written by Apothecary on 22.11.2013 at 19:04

I'm not really much of a fan of blackgaze, sometimes it feels as though it's pussifying the genre of black metal and taking the ballz out of it
I do trust your recs though, I'm checking out this album now and it actually does have enough of a balance between melodic and harsh to keep me satisfied. This track in particular is pretty win.


yeah that's a great pick from that album, I'm not into so called pussified side of the genre of black metal either, for example I don't enjoy Alcest at all, but regardless of the tags and genres, this one stands out, pussified, shoegaze, or plain black metal with ball crushing sound it's quite enjoyable record anyway
Apothecary - 22.11.2013 at 19:16  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.11.2013 at 19:06

I'm all for a little bite but when the extremity is completely taken out of the mix I just can't focus. Even if the balance isn't a perfect 50-50, there still needs to be a significant amount of abrasion for me to enjoy what I'm hearing.

I think it's just important as far as sticking to the aesthetic of the genre is concerned. Black metal to me began as something of a challenge to convention, I think the core ideology behind it is flipping prevailing norms on their head and then celebrating doing so. It should be more about challenging people with new ideas and knocking them out of their comfort zones, not making the music more accessible and relatable. But that's just my two cents
Troy Killjoy - 22.11.2013 at 19:20  
Written by Apothecary on 22.11.2013 at 19:16
But that's just my two cents

A worthy two cents, if you ask me. I think we have the same philosophy in regards to black metal, which sometimes makes it challenging for me to simply look at the more dainty black metal releases without that bias.
Array - 22.11.2013 at 19:23  
Did you, Troy, tried not to destroy your love for reviewing?
Troy Killjoy - 22.11.2013 at 19:24  
Written by Array on 22.11.2013 at 19:23
Did you, Troy, tried not to destroy your love for reviewing?

I'm still trying not to.
InnerSelf - 22.11.2013 at 19:24  
Listening to this album a lot, and I think I love it as much as Everything, they do great stuff with the subtle melodies and the pop-y piano/keyboards. track 2 is probably my favorite from the album.
nice review, and welcome back again
Troy Killjoy - 22.11.2013 at 19:28  
Written by InnerSelf on 22.11.2013 at 19:24
track 2 is probably my favorite from the album.
nice review, and welcome back again

I've listened to this album about half-a-dozen times and still haven't managed to pick a favorite track. Maybe "Avoiding Winter", I dunno.

And thanks! It's nice to be back.
euronymous - 22.11.2013 at 19:53  
Troy bigboy welcome back to review..
I listened some times this album. I have no opinion yet. The track who i distinctive is ''the woods are on fire''. Albums like this need minimum 7-10 listens. Keep listening and discovering boy
Tristus Scriptor - 22.11.2013 at 20:07  
Great, informative, and refreshing review, Troy. I actually kinda expected the new material from this class act to sound quite like you described. So I will be looking into this. I especially like how you described that seemingly paradoxical uplifting/depressive atmosphere and vibe. I have this on my list of newies to get into now.
Troy Killjoy - 22.11.2013 at 20:26  
Written by Tristus Scriptor on 22.11.2013 at 20:07
I have this on my list of newies to get into now.

The best part about this is that it's streaming in full on Bandcamp.
Erik M. - 22.11.2013 at 20:48  
Good review. Never heard of these guys, but this seems like my cup of tea.
Zaphod - 22.11.2013 at 22:25  
I like this band, but I hate their name.
Didn't know they had a new one out, will check it out asap.
Tristus Scriptor - 22.11.2013 at 22:31  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.11.2013 at 20:26

Written by Tristus Scriptor on 22.11.2013 at 20:07
I have this on my list of newies to get into now.

The best part about this is that it's streaming in full on Bandcamp.

Excellent!
Fritillaria - 22.11.2013 at 23:40  
Written by Zaphod on 22.11.2013 at 22:25

I like this band, but I hate their name.
Didn't know they had a new one out, will check it out asap.

nothing is wrong with their name.
no one - 23.11.2013 at 01:01  
Only heard "only the oceans know" which was good, but didn't really keep my attention the whole way through. This sounds interesting but much of the same.
Kuroboshi - 23.11.2013 at 01:34  
Welcome back Troy. I was really disappointed by their last year effort. Hope this one is better.
Draugen - 23.11.2013 at 02:01  
Huh, I totally missed that this album was released. Seeing as I found Only the Ocean Knows highly enjoyable last year, I will definatively check this out.

Welcome back Troy!
no one - 23.11.2013 at 03:30  
Written by Kuroboshi on 23.11.2013 at 01:34

Welcome back Troy. I was really disappointed by their last year effort. Hope this one is better.

so you would say "Only the Ocean Knows" is the worst album?
Kuroboshi - 23.11.2013 at 11:24  
Written by no one on 23.11.2013 at 03:30

Written by Kuroboshi on 23.11.2013 at 01:34

Welcome back Troy. I was really disappointed by their last year effort. Hope this one is better.

so you would say "Only the Ocean Knows" is the worst album?

Well, it's okay musically, but it didn't "say" anything to me, if you know what you mean. Their first two are better, songs like "Rain," hell yeah! I rarely listen to them anymore though.
Zaphod - 23.11.2013 at 12:22  
Written by Fritillaria on 22.11.2013 at 23:40

nothing is wrong with their name.

Maybe, but I still hate it
no one - 23.11.2013 at 20:01  
Quote:
Written by Kuroboshi on 23.11.2013 at 11:24


so you would say "Only the Ocean Knows" is the worst album?

Well, it's okay musically, but it didn't "say" anything to me, if you know what you mean. Their first two are better, songs like "Rain," hell yeah! I rarely listen to them anymore though.

Well ill better check the first albums out before this one anyway
Dark†SymphonY - 23.11.2013 at 22:00  
The review has got me interested, gonna listen to this right away.
Masonics - 24.11.2013 at 11:08  
Very Keen to hear this, Been listening to Cold body radiation lately but AAFCC had that harsher Blackgaze vibe I loved with their previous records.
Fallen Ghost - 24.11.2013 at 13:41  
I've heard this a couple of times, and I think that it sounds pretty the same as the other records, only more positive. The vocals are a little more audible this time? I got that impression, which is pretty cool. Maybe I should give it one more shot or two, dig the first albums!
no one - 24.11.2013 at 19:21  
Written by Masonics on 24.11.2013 at 11:08

Very Keen to hear this, Been listening to Cold body radiation lately but AAFCC had that harsher Blackgaze vibe I loved with their previous records.

is Cold body radiation a side project or something ?
Masonics - 25.11.2013 at 10:57  
Written by no one on 24.11.2013 at 19:21

Written by Masonics on 24.11.2013 at 11:08

Very Keen to hear this, Been listening to Cold body radiation lately but AAFCC had that harsher Blackgaze vibe I loved with their previous records.

is Cold body radiation a side project or something ?



Wouldnt suprise me tbh, both are Dutch, the vocalist is called "M" from CBR, and have the same raspy vocals.
Shmyt - 26.11.2013 at 19:11  
It's not my usual style but after only 2 spins I'm really starting to like it, haven't checked out any of their earlier albums, are they worth the money or should i look at other bands for similar sounding albums?
Troy Killjoy - 26.11.2013 at 19:14  
Written by Shmyt on 26.11.2013 at 19:11
...are they worth the money or should i look at other bands for similar sounding albums?

Personally I think these guys are better than the horde of shoegaze/black metal bands, but you might wanna consider looking into Deafheaven or Lantlôs.
no one - 26.11.2013 at 19:38  
I'm sure there would be more similar bands than "Deafheaven"
Troy Killjoy - 26.11.2013 at 20:22  
Written by no one on 26.11.2013 at 19:38
I'm sure there would be more similar bands than "Deafheaven"

There are, but I'm not in the mood to provide an encyclopedic list of similar bands.
no one - 27.11.2013 at 05:46  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.11.2013 at 20:22

Written by no one on 26.11.2013 at 19:38
I'm sure there would be more similar bands than "Deafheaven"

There are, but I'm not in the mood to provide an encyclopedic list of similar bands.

ya don't have to provide an encyclopedic list, just a band that actually sounds similar might help him out more...i'm sure he'll sort it though
Troy Killjoy - 27.11.2013 at 07:09  
Written by no one on 27.11.2013 at 05:46
a band that actually sounds similar might help him out more

Which other bands would you recommend?
no one - 27.11.2013 at 07:15  
Cheerful depression or coldworld maybe
Troy Killjoy - 27.11.2013 at 07:25  
Written by no one on 27.11.2013 at 07:15
Cheerful depression or coldworld maybe

I think we're hearing different things. AAFCC sound to me a lot less raw and abrasive than Cheerful Depression, and they don't incorporate the same kind of classical elements as ColdWorld - not to mention the difference in atmosphere. I think of these guys as being more on the ethereal and accessible side of depressive black metal.
no one - 27.11.2013 at 07:48  
i knew you would pick the shit out of any band i mention, i suppose i was asking for it though.

Your right on that last sentence, but i still don't think they sound like Deafheaven.
Troy Killjoy - 27.11.2013 at 07:52  
Written by no one on 27.11.2013 at 07:48
:lol: i knew you would pick the shit out of any band i mention, i suppose i was asking for it though.
Your right on that last sentence, but i still don't think they sound like Deafheaven.

I'm glad I lived up to my reputation.

And I do actually agree that Deafheaven isn't the most similar sounding band. I only mentioned them because they also play a more accessible form of depressive/shoegaze black metal. Wistful and Heretoir (even though I dislike both) also come to mind but in all honesty there aren't any bands I can think of that sound extremely similar to AAFCC.
no one - 27.11.2013 at 08:05  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 27.11.2013 at 07:52

Written by no one on 27.11.2013 at 07:48
:lol: i knew you would pick the shit out of any band i mention, i suppose i was asking for it though.
Your right on that last sentence, but i still don't think they sound like Deafheaven.

I'm glad I lived up to my reputation.

And I do actually agree that Deafheaven isn't the most similar sounding band. I only mentioned them because they also play a more accessible form of depressive/shoegaze black metal. Wistful and Heretoir (even though I dislike both) also come to mind but in all honesty there aren't any bands I can think of that sound extremely similar to AAFCC.


Yeah they are pretty unique. I just looked on 'metal archives' for recommended similar artists and both your rec 'Lantlos' and myn 'coldworld' both came up...whatever that means
Troy Killjoy - 27.11.2013 at 15:20  
Written by no one on 27.11.2013 at 08:05
whatever that means

It means by our powers combined we are just as dumb as the rest of the users at Metal-Archives.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums An Autumn For Crippled Children - Try Not To Destroy Everything You Love 16.5 16.11.2013 by Fallen Ghost
Reviews An Autumn For Crippled Children - Everything 10 01.09.2011 by Fat & Sassy!
Albums An Autumn For Crippled Children - Everything 9 01.09.2011 by Prometheus
Reviews An Autumn For Crippled Chidren - Lost 8.5 19.07.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Albums An Autumn For Crippled Children - Only The Ocean Knows 7.5 29.07.2012 by Warman



Hits total: 4329 | This month: 122