Five Finger Death Punch - The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell - Volume 1 review



Reviewer:
6.0

109 users:
6.95
Band: Five Finger Death Punch
Album: The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell - Volume 1
Release date: July 2013


Disc I
01. Lift Me Up [Feat. Rob Halford]
02. Watch You Bleed
03. You
04. Wrong Side Of Heaven
05. Burn MF
06. I.M.Sin
07. Anywhere But Here [Feat. Maria Brink]
08. Dot Your Eyes
09. M.I.N.E (End This Way)
10. Mama Said Knock You Out [Feat. Tech N9ne] [LL Cool J cover]
11. Diary Of A Deadman
12. I.M.Sin [Feat. Max Cavalera]
13. Anywhere But Here [Duet With Maria Brink]
14. Dot Your Eyes [Feat. Jamey Jasta]

Disc II
01. Intro [live]
02. Under And Over It [live]
03. Burn It Down [live]
04. American Capitalist [live]
05. Hard To See [live]
06. Coming Down [live]
07. Bad Company [live]
08. White Knuckles [live]
09. Drum Solo [live]
10. Far From Home [live]
11. Never Enough [live]
12. War Is The Answer [live]
13. Remember Everything [live]
14. No One Gets Left Behind [live]
15. The Bleeding [live]


I used to like Five Finger Death Punch.

Their first three albums, until American Capitalist, were seriously fun to listen too, enriched by some features that had become their trademarks: easy but effective riffing, traditional hard rock song structure, non-exactly Shakespearian lyrics and Moody's iconic mix of clean and harsh vocals.

The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell - Volume 1 continues in that way; or, at least, tries to do that. The problem is not that this album lacks the features that have made Five Finger Death Punch famous, on the contrary, these are shamelessly exaggerated and distorted. To better understand what happened, let's make a brief example.


Imagine a group of teenagers, chatting:
"Hey, I really like that group, 5FDP"
"Hey, me too"
"Me too!"
"What about if we make a bunch of songs using their style?"
"That's a great idea, man! Let's do it"

And so they did since they are somewhat talented. The guitarist writes down a couple of good solos, some songs are actually enjoyable and they ask some friends of theirs to help them diversifying the album. But in the end the result is so below the usual standards of the band they admire that the album turns out sounding like a parody of the original band.

One of the band members also asks his 14 years old emo brother to write down the lyrics for the album, but they turn out so childish and uselessly vulgar that using them is almost impossible.

Alright, some friends of theirs are asking about news of the album, promising that they would pay to have it. And so, all the brutality and rebellion which the band once displayed, suddenly disappears. They decide to turn to a more radio friendly sound and to water down the good songs with a sea of fillers, just to record two albums instead of one, just to please their friends and to make a buck.

If you managed to figure out how that album would sound, then you already know what to expect from The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell - Volume 1.

I have no doubt that Five Finger Death Punch diehards will enjoy this album, but the risk for the band to sell its soul is now not so unimaginable.


 



Written on 02.12.2013 by Hopefully you won't agree with me, diversity of opinions is what makes metal so beautiful and varied.

So... critics and advices absolutely welcome.


Comments

Comments: 23   Visited by: 269 users
02.12.2013 - 09:06
R Lewis
That Useless Guy
Let's now start counting the people hating this review
----
We could be so much more than we are. Stop.
Loading...
02.12.2013 - 14:26
Monolithic
♠♠♠
Written by R Lewis on 02.12.2013 at 09:06

Let's now start counting the people hating this review

I hate you, I hate this review, I hate this band and I definitely hate this album.

Oh, sorry. Got a bit carried away. Well I agree with the ratings and all that. Definitely an average album with a few good songs.
Loading...
02.12.2013 - 15:05
Lit.
Account deleted
I'm counting down when Willy shows up to flame the band.
Loading...
02.12.2013 - 15:21
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Jesus Christ that LL cover was fucking awful. I'll never understand how these guys made it into the mainstream. They remind me of high school when all the ninth graders would circlejerk over the latest Avenged Sevenfold album.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
02.12.2013 - 16:12
Silent Creeper
Veteran Spammer
I tried to listen one of their songs and there was a sudden drop in my IQ. Lyrically and musically offensive to homo sapiens sapiens species.
Loading...
02.12.2013 - 16:52
NorthernDickhead
Written by Guest on 02.12.2013 at 09:47

I believe this album is one of the most disappointing of the year, alongside Amon Amarth's Deceiver of the Gods

They didn't even try

Amon Amarth's album is disapointting,this record is shit,but normal for the band.
----
Olen täys idiootti jätkä.
Loading...
02.12.2013 - 17:00
R Lewis
That Useless Guy
Written by Guest on 02.12.2013 at 15:05

I'm counting down when Willy shows up to flame the band.

Soon. Trust me. Soon
----
We could be so much more than we are. Stop.
Loading...
02.12.2013 - 18:12
Korah
Top 5 worst cover EVER!
----
Don't cry for my English
Loading...
02.12.2013 - 20:25
Mattybu
The reputation this band has, the audience this is catering to, the cover art, the tracklist, the fact that there's so much "featuring" in the track list, the negative review, the fact that this band apparently plays a generally bad genre of music not that I would know because I have never listened to them, the name of the album, the fact that it's one of two albums they released in the same year, and the fact that nobody here seems to like it all adds up to me continuing to stay very far away from this band...

Nice review though, don't see why anyone would hate it.
Loading...
02.12.2013 - 20:48
R Lewis
That Useless Guy
Written by Mattybu on 02.12.2013 at 20:25

Nice review though, don't see why anyone would hate it.

Because it's, simply put, different. Sometimes I get bored with the usual reviews and feel the need to try something new. But this isn't always well accepted here
Anyway, thanks! (And yes, stay away from this band. But if you're curious to try sth of theirs, try War Is The Answer, their best work. A brief comment here)
----
We could be so much more than we are. Stop.
Loading...
02.12.2013 - 23:27
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Guest on 02.12.2013 at 15:05

I'm counting down when Willy shows up to flame the band.

Stop the timer now.


The worst album of the year. Listening to Lift Me up 12908236 times while driving through Iowa probably didn't help this albums case.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
03.12.2013 - 23:51
wintress
I used to like them as well. Now, whenever they come up, I start laughing like a maniac....Sooo bad.
Loading...
04.12.2013 - 00:38
batusay
I usually keep away from comments, but I just can't say something here.

Willi please listen to whatever song you said will make you shoot yourself when you are going to hear it, do this great thing for the whole world, but before killing yourself leave a note to your mom and tell her to send me a picture of you when youre dead so i can wipe my ass with it .

I love this band, tough this is not their best album they are still fukin awesome.
----
Come inside and be afraid
Of this impressive mess I've made
If you take a look now you will find
PERFECT INSANITY
___________________________________
In the end we're all just chalk lines on the concrete
Drawn only to be washed away
Loading...
04.12.2013 - 00:51
FelixtheMetalcat
Blah, just blah.....juvenile is what this band has always come across to me & this review seems to summarize that perfectly.
Loading...
04.12.2013 - 02:07
Shmyt
I'm kinda really disappointed but the live album is nice, oh hey, its none of the new stuff from this album... its all the old stuff, chuck disk 1, keep 2, thats it, its the only tolerable bit. They're circling the drain and it really saddens me. I adored Way of the Fist, War is the Answer is excellent, American Capitalist has some trash but it is still a good album on its own. I cannot listen to disk 1 without hearing the same sort of metallica-esque bullshit, if you love them youll still like this album, if ou hate them oh god you will loathe this album. If you dont know them or are on the fence, this will push you far far away if its not just the live album.
Loading...
04.12.2013 - 03:12
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by batusay on 04.12.2013 at 00:38

Willi please listen to whatever song you said will make you shoot yourself when you are going to hear it, do this great thing for the whole world, but before killing yourself leave a note to your mom and tell her to send me a picture of you when youre dead so i can wipe my ass with it .

And here's a great response from the bands 12 year old target audience.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
04.12.2013 - 07:33
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Written by batusay on 04.12.2013 at 00:38

but before killing yourself leave a note to your mom and tell her to send me a picture of you when youre dead so i can wipe my ass with it .


Don't worry, you can't wipe your ass with as his photo would be too "thin" to cover up your ass.

Willy is awfully influenced by Lit's reaction to go for it, nothing else. Yeah, this album sounds boring, got nothing it and sadly FFDP are now in showbiz than for REAL music. I'm still keeping my hopes open if they do something terrific in future releases otherwise, its total shutdown case for me.
----
Loading...
04.12.2013 - 18:18
Silent Creeper
Veteran Spammer
Written by batusay on 04.12.2013 at 00:38

I usually keep away from comments, but I just can't say something here.

Willi please listen to whatever song you said will make you shoot yourself when you are going to hear it, do this great thing for the whole world, but before killing yourself leave a note to your mom and tell her to send me a picture of you when youre dead so i can wipe my ass with it .

I love this band, tough this is not their best album they are still fukin awesome.


Do you, by any chance, write lyrics for this band? Because I find your post quite similar to the "train of thought" and vocabulary that this band has.
Loading...
05.12.2013 - 20:59
R Lewis
That Useless Guy
Written by Silent Creeper on 04.12.2013 at 18:18

Do you, by any chance, write lyrics for this band? Because I find your post quite similar to the "train of thought" and vocabulary that this band has.

Nah. He has still to work on the F word. He has to use it a lot more, since the band formula seems to be "word+word+F+word+F+word+MF".
Anyway, well begun is half done.
----
We could be so much more than we are. Stop.
Loading...
07.12.2013 - 01:47
Silent Creeper
Veteran Spammer
Written by R Lewis on 05.12.2013 at 20:59

Written by Silent Creeper on 04.12.2013 at 18:18

Do you, by any chance, write lyrics for this band? Because I find your post quite similar to the "train of thought" and vocabulary that this band has.

Nah. He has still to work on the F word. He has to use it a lot more, since the band formula seems to be "word+word+F+word+F+word+MF".
Anyway, well begun is half done.

That's true - it is actually quite hard to be on par with FFDP verbal/lyrical diarrhea.
Loading...
09.12.2013 - 01:41
Darth Revan
Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.12.2013 at 15:21

Jesus Christ that LL cover was fucking awful. I'll never understand how these guys made it into the mainstream. They remind me of high school when all the ninth graders would circlejerk over the latest Avenged Sevenfold album.


You say that as though people don't circle jerk over Avenged Sevenfold today... You're optimism is quite misguided, unfortunately...
Loading...
09.12.2013 - 02:06
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Darth Revan on 09.12.2013 at 01:41
You say that as though people don't circle jerk over Avenged Sevenfold today... You're optimism is quite misguided, unfortunately...

Well I haven't been to high school in a few years so I have no idea what the latest craze is. It would be pretty unfortunate (although not unlikely) that this kind of stuff is what all the "cool" kids are talking about, considering what was "in" a few years ago.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
09.12.2013 - 03:23
Darth Revan
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.12.2013 at 02:06

Written by Darth Revan on 09.12.2013 at 01:41
You say that as though people don't circle jerk over Avenged Sevenfold today... You're optimism is quite misguided, unfortunately...

Well I haven't been to high school in a few years so I have no idea what the latest craze is. It would be pretty unfortunate (although not unlikely) that this kind of stuff is what all the "cool" kids are talking about, considering what was "in" a few years ago.


Just got out of it. They appeal to the most vicious, disaffected elements of my local high school... by which I mean the attention seeking slut who would have jumped on Limp Bizkit if she were born 10 years earlier, and the stoner who really liked deathcore. Edgy.
Loading...

Hits total: 8841 | This month: 39