Fell Voices - Regnum Saturni review



Reviewer:
7.5

8 users:
8.38
Band: Fell Voices
Album: Regnum Saturni
Release date: March 2013


01. Flesh From Bone
02. Emergence
03. Dawn


Either Hell has frozen over or pigs are flying because Fell Voices finally released an album with song titles!

Jokes and personal biases aside, Regnum Saturni is a "next logical step" kind of release. It makes perfect sense why this trio focused more heavily on the drone elements of their sound, complementing them with a lo-fi brand of atmospheric black metal, rather than just following the path of so many "Cascadian black metal" bands before them. It makes perfect sense because they avoid trying to sound too much like their 2011 release while also avoiding that whole "been there, done that" style of black metal. Yet, they never lose their distinctive touch.

Of course, this isn't exactly what one would call avant-garde or experimental, but it definitely provides bits and pieces of ingenuity laced throughout what would otherwise be simple, minimalist music. The warm post-rock vibes of this album's predecessor have been replaced with cold, mechanical drone segments, which are stifled by a seemingly restrictive production style that further emphasizes the band's apparent indifference towards its audience.

While the album and song titles may be a welcome change, Regnum Saturni still gives fans a sense of familiarity. Three tracks are responsible for delivering over 60 minutes of music, meaning you can expect long, drawn out drone sequences and repetitive, atmospheric riffing. Unfortunately the level of repetition is on the higher side, so if you don't like how things are going after "Flesh From Bone", don't anticipate a massive change in sound that will somehow captivate you.

Even at their most accessible, Fell Voices aren't exactly renowned for producing easy-listening material. That holds true with this release, although comparatively it comes across as slightly less passionate than the band's previous works - most likely due to the more prevalent drone in their sound. So if you like challenging music, lo-fi black metal, the repetitive nature of drone, and incredibly lengthy tracks that rely on an industrial-esque atmosphere, you should familiarize yourself with this album. Don't worry if that's not your thing - you could always spend your time trying to shoot a flying pig.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 05.12.2013 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 120 users
06.12.2013 - 00:35
mz
These phrases make me interested in checking the album :"mechanical drone segments" and "ndustrial-esque atmosphere"
tnx
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...
06.12.2013 - 05:45
JÄY
Metal slave
Someone's been busy
Loading...
06.12.2013 - 06:14
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by JÄY on 06.12.2013 at 05:45
Someone's been busy

I have no life.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
06.12.2013 - 07:56
no one
Account deleted
Never heard of this band, sounds like i should give them a try
Loading...
06.12.2013 - 09:10
JēkabsFiļi
On my top list for 2013 it is on the 1st place and most likely will remain there. This album is heavily underrated. Troy's 7 for originality does not really describe it. Yes, it has been heard somewhere here or there but not the intensity and passion that is being put in Regnum Saturni.
Loading...
07.12.2013 - 05:34
Alan R
In my opinion this is their weakest release - still amazing band though
Loading...
07.12.2013 - 22:17
Skl3ros
Darkspace >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> this
----
imo.
Loading...
08.12.2013 - 02:16
no one
Account deleted
Written by Skl3ros on 07.12.2013 at 22:17

Darkspace >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> this


what does that mean ?
Loading...
08.12.2013 - 17:33
Skl3ros
Written by Guest on 08.12.2013 at 02:16

Written by Skl3ros on 07.12.2013 at 22:17

Darkspace >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> this


what does that mean ?


that Darkspace is imo a million times better at what they do (or did) then Fell Voices
and yes it is eligible to compare them
----
imo.
Loading...
10.12.2013 - 09:12
JēkabsFiļi
Written by Skl3ros on 08.12.2013 at 17:33

Written by Guest on 08.12.2013 at 02:16

Written by Skl3ros on 07.12.2013 at 22:17

Darkspace >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> this


what does that mean ?


that Darkspace is imo a million times better at what they do (or did) then Fell Voices
and yes it is eligible to compare them


Comparing Darkspace with Fell Voices is the same as comparing finger with a cock
Loading...
10.12.2013 - 10:24
Abattoir
Written by JēkabsFiļi on 10.12.2013 at 09:12

Written by Skl3ros on 08.12.2013 at 17:33


that Darkspace is imo a million times better at what they do (or did) then Fell Voices
and yes it is eligible to compare them

Comparing Darkspace with Fell Voices is the same as comparing finger with a cock


More like ginger with a cock.

Nevertheless, this album ain't bad stuff at all.
Loading...
10.12.2013 - 16:07
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by JēkabsFiļi on 10.12.2013 at 09:12
Comparing Darkspace with Fell Voices is the same as comparing finger with a cock

Ya I didn't know how to respond to his comparison but I figured someone else would. Not a bad comparison by the way.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
11.12.2013 - 02:44
Skl3ros
Written by JēkabsFiļi on 10.12.2013 at 09:12

Written by Skl3ros on 08.12.2013 at 17:33

Written by Guest on 08.12.2013 at 02:16

Written by Skl3ros on 07.12.2013 at 22:17

Darkspace >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> this


what does that mean ?


that Darkspace is imo a million times better at what they do (or did) then Fell Voices
and yes it is eligible to compare them


Comparing Darkspace with Fell Voices is the same as comparing finger with a cock

lol I knew someone would show up and do as if it was complete nonsense to compare them. but it's not: they both make ambient black metal. both have a monotonous guitar soundwall with monotonous drums and constant screaming in the background packaged in lenghty tracks with the aim of hypnotizing the listener and creating an atmosphere. so to me it's not that erroneous to compare them. the problem I have with this album is that it simply doesn't function for me. the second track is ok, but overall there is not much atmosphere and instead of hypnotizing it rather gets annoying after a while. but yeah music is subjective, so mabye it's just me.
----
imo.
Loading...
11.12.2013 - 07:53
no one
Account deleted
Written by Skl3ros on 11.12.2013 at 02:44

they both make ambient black metal. both have a monotonous guitar soundwall with monotonous drums and constant screaming in the background packaged in lenghty tracks with the aim of hypnotizing the listener and creating an atmosphere.


i haven't heard fell voices yet, but that's a pretty broad spectrum
Loading...

Hits total: 2406 | This month: 7