Rating:
8.0
Katalepsy - Autopsychosis
8 January 2013


01. Lurking In The Depth
02. Evidence Of Near Death (E.N.D.)
03. Body Bags For The Gods
04. Cold Flesh Citadel
05. The Pulse Of Somnambulist
06. Unearthly Urge To Supremacy
07. Gore Conspiracy
08. Amongst Phantom Worlds
09. Needles Of Hypocrisy (Interlude) [feat. Denis Akulshin]
10. Knifed Humility
11. Taedium Vitae


Hey. This is one of 2013's best brutal death metal albums. That is all.

"But what about Devourment? Suffocation? Deeds Of Flesh?!"

Don't get me wrong, there are some incredible albums out this year for those who appreciate this extreme subgenre, but these Russians just seem to tick all the right boxes. Their songwriting has improved drastically since they debuted with Musick Brings Injuries, the result of a stabilized lineup and a more focused approach.

Autopsychosis boasts a highly technical, slam-tinged roster of fast-paced and hard-hitting tracks, which admittedly aren't traits that lend themselves to originality, but the flow and execution stand out compared to the band's contemporaries. Not only can these guys play their instruments, as evidenced by a wide range of guitar techniques and varying drum patterns, but they manage to incorporate some extremely catchy hooks to latch on to without losing their brutal edge. That brutal edge is established primarily by an audible bass that, even in all its technical proficiency, also plays around and has some fun of its own.

The production is top notch, with each band member getting to put their skills on display, especially vocalist Igor Filimontsev. His depth and pitch add even more weight to an album that already sounds heavy enough to collapse a small city, but where he excels is the "melodic" sections leading into breakdowns where he's able to show off some much-appreciated range.

And what would a brutal death metal album be without seemingly mechanical, almost otherworldly drumming? If you're a drum aficionado then you're in luck: Autopsychosis is your wet dream come true. It's fast, heavy, rhythmic, varied, technical - everything your little heart desires.

So there you have it: a brutal death metal album with some technical bits and slam influence, simultaneously merciless and fun, executed with supreme precision, and masterfully produced. Plus, that cover art ain't too shabby either.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 9


Band profile: Katalepsy
Album: Autopsychosis


 



Written on 09.12.2013 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 129  
Search this topic:  


Malphas - 10.12.2013 at 00:51  
Amen to that. Great review, you hit the nail right on the head there

and to be honest, this is my personal fav bdm album so far this year
MetalDoomMaster - 10.12.2013 at 05:10  
Well, I guess I should take a break from Portals To Canaan to give this a listen.
Troy Killjoy - 10.12.2013 at 05:22  
Written by MetalDoomMaster on 10.12.2013 at 05:10
Well, I guess I should take a break from Portals To Canaan to give this a listen.

My guess is you won't be disappointed with this. Especially if you give it a shot right after listening to DoF.
Misfit74 - 10.12.2013 at 06:01  
My #1 album of 2013 and there are some seriously good releases this year. I wrote a review over on MA several months back I was so excited to express myself after instantly falling in love with this album. The guitars hit you with a sledgehammer. Devastating album through and through. Great review, too, Troy. Thanks.
Troy Killjoy - 10.12.2013 at 06:04  
Written by Misfit74 on 10.12.2013 at 06:01
Great review, too, Troy. Thanks.

Thanks, it's my pleasure. Always nice to be able to spread some love for the more guttural/primal/extreme death metal like this when I can.
MetalDoomMaster - 10.12.2013 at 06:22  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.12.2013 at 05:22

My guess is you won't be disappointed with this. Especially if you give it a shot right after listening to DoF.

Well, after watching those Putrid Pile vids I've had Blood Fetish stuck in my head all day, so this should cure that haha.
MetalDoomMaster - 10.12.2013 at 08:41  
Oh yeah, that album definitely did it for me. Thanks for the review haha
theFIST - 10.12.2013 at 14:15  
Nice, but that doesn"t change that Exodromos by Wormed is my favourite Death Metal album of the year, although there is much competition
Skl3ros - 11.12.2013 at 03:03  
Had already found out about it, but nice to see more ppl seem to enjoy this one. btw you have a really great taste troy. always looking forward to your reviews.
I_Die_Often - 14.12.2013 at 00:04  
First line says it all!

Hey. This is one of 2013's best brutal death metal albums. That is all.
Troy Killjoy - 14.12.2013 at 00:23  
Written by I_Die_Often on 14.12.2013 at 00:04
First line says it all!

Unfortunately I had to elaborate on that. The rest of the words that follow that opening are pretty unnecessary.
Metalsteelman - 15.12.2013 at 15:40  
I absolutely love this album, One of the best this year.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews The Haunted - Unseen 4.5 30.11.2011 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Wilds Forlorn - We, The Damned 4.5 15.01.2012 by Ag Fox
Reviews Abigail Williams - Becoming 4.5 13.04.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Mortifera - Bleüu De Morte 4.5 27.11.2013 by Daniell
Reviews Scar Symmetry - The Unseen Empire 4.5 14.11.2011 by J. N.



Hits total: 2007 | This month: 79