Rating:
8.0
Tool - 10,000 Days
2 May 2006


01. Vicarious
02. Jambi
03. Wings For Marie (Pt 1)
04. 10,000 Days (Wings Pt 2)
05. The Pot
06. Lipan Conjuring
07. Lost Keys (Blame Hofmann)
08. Rosetta Stoned
09. Intension
10. Right In Two
11. Viginti Tres


We had to wait 5 years for a new release from Tool. Is 10,000 Days worth the wait? Well, the answer is a definitive yes, although this album is not actually Tool's best.

10,000 Days starts misleadingly with two quite accessible numbers in the form of "Vicarious" and "Jambi". The first is pure gold single material with its superb riff, phenomenal buildup and clever lyrics. "Jambi" is more meandering but still very memorable. Sadly, this is when it all falls apart. Halfway through the "Wings" duo, we realize that the band has absolutely no intention of being on the same page as the listener. The album becomes a meandering mess that requires very careful listening and even then doesn't gel into a very cohesive whole. It seems that Tool took their progressive leanings way too far this time around and committed the crime of self-indulgence, sacrificing the very important element of flow. I would be willing to overlook this lack of cohesion if closer listening resulted in the discovery of some really phenomenal things; however, this is not the case here. "The Pot" and "Rosetta Stoned" are very good and the rest of the tracks are acceptable. This is a far cry from Tool's previous, nearly flawless album Lateralus and is a bit of a disappointment.

Still, with all this said, 10,000 Days really isn't such a bad album. The good moments are definitely worth waging through all the murk for. This release wont be remembered as Tool's best but it is still a solid album and some of the best music you can hear this year.


Band profile: Tool
Album: 10,000 Days


 



Written on 28.04.2006 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 38  
Users visited: 261  
Search this topic:  


bangladesh - 28.05.2006 at 02:27  
Great album, takes a relative diferent direction. The voice is diferent but better (for my taste) and the gittar riffs are better than never.
The drums are great as always
Introspekrieg - 28.05.2006 at 11:04  
Good review, has really grown on me. From utter despair to pleasant familiarity, I've experienced a wave of emotions about this album. Hopefully the bad vibes toward 10,000 days will deter people from listening for all the wrong reasons. It's not about easy accessibility. It's about developing a "relationship" with the music, like listening to the album in two years and remembering how you were feeling at that exact moment.
So, i'd buy this album for the artwork alone but otherwise just burn it from someone. Not a masterpiece, but solid nonetheless.
Doc Godin - 30.05.2006 at 03:58  
50/50
I agree with the review, the good parts are amazing, but after the 4th song it all seems to go down hill, and alot of the songs you have to be on drugs to be able to enjoy.
fire101 - 31.05.2006 at 10:07  
Well, I had been wondering about this album. I may or may not get it now. I still dont know.
Freezer - 05.06.2006 at 00:56  
maybe 8 is a bit low, isn't it? i can say i'm really satisfied with the work done for this disc, another great one from Tool!
+{Jonas}+ - 13.08.2006 at 18:43  
I have to disagree with this review, I love all the album. It's pretty similar to Lateralus, And I love Lateralus. I'¿ve listened non-stopping since friday, I've only listened this. Over and over and over again. Another great Tool album. But hey, it's a matter of taste, and that is completely subjective.
Stone - 16.08.2006 at 17:43  
The song " 10,000 Days " is just fuckin incredible.
Somniferous - 10.09.2006 at 07:41  
It's not their best album that's for sure. I was kind of disappointed when I first listened to it. Compared to Lateralus and Aenima (even Opiate and Undertow) they seemed to have lost their feel at first. If I knew of someone who wanted to get into Tool, I probably wouldn't suggest '10,000 Days' to them. I'd choose Lateralus as that was the album that really got me hooked.
Dangerboner - 10.09.2006 at 08:12  
I was very disappointed with this album. It's really slow and the songs really don't go anywhere. The first two songs are pretty good, but the rest are boring.
Talvi - 28.10.2006 at 03:05  
This album may be better than Lateralus. It takes a lot of time to catch the songs. And the Wings duo are the best songs Tool has ever done.
Muskot - 22.12.2006 at 16:49  
Come on, you have to let them vary themselves. I think their philosophical tracks are just great, Right In Two and 10,000 Days easily become favourites when you get used to them.
Another great piece of plastic from Maynard Keenan and friends!
Talvi - 24.12.2006 at 01:25  
What do you people think of Intension?
Wilbur_Whateley - 21.03.2007 at 10:06  
I actually think Intension is the best track on this album. Rosetta Stoned is good but problematic, it reminds me of Die Eier Von Satan but RS goes too long and becomes kinda self indulgent. Which is the problem with most of the album actually, it's self indulgent. Vicarious and Jambi are cool but the Wings combo is pretentious. Right in Two reminds me of Kubrick's 2001 though, you know, the bit at the start with the apes beating the shit out of each other.
+{Jonas}+ - 12.02.2008 at 00:01  
Musically it's very similar to LAteralus, but it's certaonly harder to catch. I ahd to lñisten it a couple times before getting used... And I'm a big Tool fan.
Hamird - 02.07.2008 at 12:19  
Written by +{Jonas}+ on 13.08.2006 at 18:43

I have to disagree with this review, I love all the album. It's pretty similar to Lateralus, And I love Lateralus. I'¿ve listened non-stopping since friday, I've only listened this. Over and over and over again. Another great Tool album. But hey, it's a matter of taste, and that is completely subjective.


I think Anima is more similar to Lateralus than this album.
It's a good album but not as powerful as previous albums. I like those work which were done before.
But the 2econd part of 10000 days' song is amazing!
THEE ORAKLE - 03.07.2008 at 04:50  
I just loved this album...it´s really great!Vicarious, Jambi...Right in Two...almos allsongs are amazing!!For me just like all their albuns...fantastic!Dreamless...a quite unique marterpiece!
Wakanaboo - 10.08.2008 at 09:32  
amazing album....its a trip
Spyroid - 15.01.2009 at 21:10  
I've only heard the first two, Rosetta Stoned and The Pot... so if thoose are the only memorable tracks maybe I shouldn't buy this album, as planned...
Dreamwar_86 - 16.02.2009 at 19:36  
The pot is great one of the best songs by tool
Uirapuru - 03.07.2009 at 03:13  
Quote:
The Pot" and "Rosetta Stoned" are very good and the rest of the tracks are acceptable. This is a far cry from Tool's previous, nearly flawless album Lateralus and is a bit of a disappointment.


Agree with all written in the box up here
Array - 10.11.2009 at 18:25  
There were some good sections, but i wasn't hypnotized or anything via music. So should i check the previous albums for different approaching or not?
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.10.2010 at 03:21  
Written by Jupisafag on 10.10.2010 at 02:00

Written by Doc Godin on 30.05.2006 at 03:58

50/50
I agree with the review, the good parts are amazing, but after the 4th song it all seems to go down hill, and alot of the songs you have to be on drugs to be able to enjoy. AND jupitreas IS A FAG

I AGREE LAST PART STUPID VIRGIN


hey daddy's cock sucking motherfucking closet homosexual Diminished ass rimmimg poor excuse for a human being get a life.
.Nemesis. - 05.11.2010 at 02:51  
Maynard is the second best (melodic) vocalist out there.

#1 is I.C.S. Vortex of Dimmu Borgir
Pathosray - 15.12.2010 at 04:55  
If this band's notoriety's been growing so fast the most obvious reason is just that they're tanted. This is not the usual manner of aproach to prog metal I like, nonotheless I was amazed by its syncopathic percussions, graced vocals and intriguing, mysterious lyrics. I deemed them as too eccentric but that was before I actualy listened to this album, which amazione case has those lens which function I didn't immediately understand, and when I did, the artwork and illustrations took life!! pretty amazing
godisdead - 12.06.2011 at 04:57  
Great album I loved it should be around an 8.5ish
ThisIsEndgame - 28.08.2011 at 02:18  
Another album that i seem to disagree with most people on. i honestly love 10,000 days (wings part 2). Every single song on this album is great in my opinion, same with every tool song
1Yossarian1 - 24.11.2011 at 14:41  
Written by ThisIsEndgame on 28.08.2011 at 02:18

Another album that i seem to disagree with most people on. i honestly love 10,000 days (wings part 2). Every single song on this album is great in my opinion, same with every tool song


i completely agree. 10, 000 days is definitely one of my favorite Tool songs, it takes some time to fully appreciate it, but ones you get it its awesome.
Troy Killjoy - 24.11.2011 at 20:53  
I only really liked the first two songs...the rest seemed rather bland and directionless. Although it's probably the closest I've come to liking a Tool album. I'd give it an average rating, but if the first two songs were an EP I'd give it a 9/10.
Sonic MrSumo - 08.03.2012 at 00:10  
Whilst I don't enjoy this album as much as Lateralus, I believe it's still very, very strong, and Tool are walking a good path. The tedium of Undertow and Ænima is seemingly banished, and it has me looking forward to the next release later this year with great anticipation.
Baz Anderson - 29.05.2012 at 00:36  
I'm only listening to this album for the first time today... I've listened to it almost three times and I'd tend to agree with this review. It starts very well, but does go off on a tangent. I do like some parts of the title track very much though.
JD - 26.09.2012 at 12:10  
I agree with the reveiw as well. The Pot is one of the highlights of this album. 7/10
mz - 18.10.2013 at 23:20  
Just wanted to say that I 100% agree with review. Maybe overlooking band name can help me enjoy this album more
Jiri - 18.11.2013 at 01:59  
Yeah, it has some great tracks (Vicarious, Jambi, & The Pot), but the rest was a little lacking for Tool.
Andresopeth - 03.01.2014 at 04:32  
Written by 1Yossarian1 on 24.11.2011 at 14:41

Written by ThisIsEndgame on 28.08.2011 at 02:18

Another album that i seem to disagree with most people on. i honestly love 10,000 days (wings part 2). Every single song on this album is great in my opinion, same with every tool song


i completely agree. 10, 000 days is definitely one of my favorite Tool songs, it takes some time to fully appreciate it, but ones you get it its awesome.

Totally agree, you can just listen to this song waiting it likes you, you have to expect this song finds you, once that happens your mind blows....

It is a very hard song to listen to, but i am sure that was the purpose.
Troy Killjoy - 03.01.2014 at 04:41  
Written by Andresopeth on 03.01.2014 at 04:32
It is a very hard song to listen to, but i am sure that was the purpose.

Hard to listen to? It's a pretty mellow track, predominantly atmosphere-based, and not a complex song at all. It isn't extreme or abrasive or off-putting in any way, features enough variation and melody to engage the listener... in fact I think it's very accessible for a 10-minute song. Why do you think it's hard to listen to?
Daniell - 03.01.2014 at 16:15  
This song, and I assume you know its lyrics, may be hard to listen to for personal reasons. It tells quite a sad story about dying, based on real events.
Troy Killjoy - 03.01.2014 at 20:04  
Written by Daniell on 03.01.2014 at 16:15
This song, and I assume you know its lyrics, may be hard to listen to for personal reasons. It tells quite a sad story about dying, based on real events.

Hm, I guess I just don't think of it as challenging at all. I prefer lyrics like this when stories are told (especially when inspired by real life events) since I can make more of a personal connection. Although I suppose I'm the kind of person who's generally attracted to the more depressive side of things, to me it makes music more approachable. But I can understand how some might find it challenging. At first I didn't even think of the lyrics, I figured he was simply referring to the way it sounded.
Andresopeth - 04.01.2014 at 02:54  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 03.01.2014 at 04:41

Written by Andresopeth on 03.01.2014 at 04:32
It is a very hard song to listen to, but i am sure that was the purpose.

Hard to listen to? It's a pretty mellow track, predominantly atmosphere-based, and not a complex song at all. It isn't extreme or abrasive or off-putting in any way, features enough variation and melody to engage the listener... in fact I think it's very accessible for a 10-minute song. Why do you think it's hard to listen to?

I guess is for how sensitive is the song, and how deep inside it can reach, i am not saying it is hard to listen the song and say: "oh what a good Tool song". I try to say that it is hard that the song fits you in a way your mind blows. Like Right In Two.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Tool - 10,000 Days 6 28.11.2011 by Fade To Black
Reviews Omniavatar - United Earth 3 01.03.2011 by !J.O.O.E.!
Alternative metal forum Tool 3 17.05.2006 by Avenant
Reviews Brain Drill - Quantum Catastrophe 3 10.06.2010 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Antigua & Barbuda - Try Future 3 05.05.2009 by Fhuesc



Hits total: 5158 | This month: 60