Tool - 10,000 Days review



Reviewer:
8.0

834 users:
8.61
Band: Tool
Album: 10,000 Days
Release date: May 2006


01. Vicarious
02. Jambi
03. Wings For Marie (Pt 1)
04. 10,000 Days (Wings Pt 2)
05. The Pot
06. Lipan Conjuring
07. Lost Keys (Blame Hofmann)
08. Rosetta Stoned
09. Intension
10. Right In Two
11. Viginti Tres


We had to wait 5 years for a new release from Tool. Is 10,000 Days worth the wait? Well, the answer is a definitive yes, although this album is not actually Tool's best.

10,000 Days starts misleadingly with two quite accessible numbers in the form of "Vicarious" and "Jambi". The first is pure gold single material with its superb riff, phenomenal buildup and clever lyrics. "Jambi" is more meandering but still very memorable. Sadly, this is when it all falls apart. Halfway through the "Wings" duo, we realize that the band has absolutely no intention of being on the same page as the listener. The album becomes a meandering mess that requires very careful listening and even then doesn't gel into a very cohesive whole. It seems that Tool took their progressive leanings way too far this time around and committed the crime of self-indulgence, sacrificing the very important element of flow. I would be willing to overlook this lack of cohesion if closer listening resulted in the discovery of some really phenomenal things; however, this is not the case here. "The Pot" and "Rosetta Stoned" are very good and the rest of the tracks are acceptable. This is a far cry from Tool's previous, nearly flawless album Lateralus and is a bit of a disappointment.

Still, with all this said, 10,000 Days really isn't such a bad album. The good moments are definitely worth waging through all the murk for. This release wont be remembered as Tool's best but it is still a solid album and some of the best music you can hear this year.


 



Written on 28.04.2006 by With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. He lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he does his best to avoid prosecution for being so cool.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 38   Visited by: 317 users
18.10.2013 - 23:20
mz
Just wanted to say that I 100% agree with review. Maybe overlooking band name can help me enjoy this album more
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...
18.11.2013 - 01:59
Jiri
Yeah, it has some great tracks (Vicarious, Jambi, & The Pot), but the rest was a little lacking for Tool.
Loading...
03.01.2014 - 04:32
Andresopeth
Written by 1Yossarian1 on 24.11.2011 at 14:41

Written by ThisIsEndgame on 28.08.2011 at 02:18

Another album that i seem to disagree with most people on. i honestly love 10,000 days (wings part 2). Every single song on this album is great in my opinion, same with every tool song


i completely agree. 10, 000 days is definitely one of my favorite Tool songs, it takes some time to fully appreciate it, but ones you get it its awesome.

Totally agree, you can just listen to this song waiting it likes you, you have to expect this song finds you, once that happens your mind blows....

It is a very hard song to listen to, but i am sure that was the purpose.
Loading...
03.01.2014 - 04:41
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Andresopeth on 03.01.2014 at 04:32
It is a very hard song to listen to, but i am sure that was the purpose.

Hard to listen to? It's a pretty mellow track, predominantly atmosphere-based, and not a complex song at all. It isn't extreme or abrasive or off-putting in any way, features enough variation and melody to engage the listener... in fact I think it's very accessible for a 10-minute song. Why do you think it's hard to listen to?
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
03.01.2014 - 16:15
Daniell
_爱情_
This song, and I assume you know its lyrics, may be hard to listen to for personal reasons. It tells quite a sad story about dying, based on real events.
----
Now loving:
Hour of Penance - Cast the First Stone
Hate - Indestructible Pillar
Cradle of Filth - Heartbreak and Seance
Dark Tranquillity - Nothing To No One
Immolation - Swarm of Terror
Loading...
03.01.2014 - 20:04
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Daniell on 03.01.2014 at 16:15
This song, and I assume you know its lyrics, may be hard to listen to for personal reasons. It tells quite a sad story about dying, based on real events.

Hm, I guess I just don't think of it as challenging at all. I prefer lyrics like this when stories are told (especially when inspired by real life events) since I can make more of a personal connection. Although I suppose I'm the kind of person who's generally attracted to the more depressive side of things, to me it makes music more approachable. But I can understand how some might find it challenging. At first I didn't even think of the lyrics, I figured he was simply referring to the way it sounded.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
04.01.2014 - 02:54
Andresopeth
Written by Troy Killjoy on 03.01.2014 at 04:41

Written by Andresopeth on 03.01.2014 at 04:32
It is a very hard song to listen to, but i am sure that was the purpose.

Hard to listen to? It's a pretty mellow track, predominantly atmosphere-based, and not a complex song at all. It isn't extreme or abrasive or off-putting in any way, features enough variation and melody to engage the listener... in fact I think it's very accessible for a 10-minute song. Why do you think it's hard to listen to?

I guess is for how sensitive is the song, and how deep inside it can reach, i am not saying it is hard to listen the song and say: "oh what a good Tool song". I try to say that it is hard that the song fits you in a way your mind blows. Like Right In Two.
Loading...
26.09.2017 - 00:34
et tal y cual
Written by Introspekrieg on 28.05.2006 at 11:04

Good review, has really grown on me. From utter despair to pleasant familiarity, I've experienced a wave of emotions about this album. Hopefully the bad vibes toward 10,000 days will deter people from listening for all the wrong reasons. It's not about easy accessibility. It's about developing a "relationship" with the music, like listening to the album in two years and remembering how you were feeling at that exact moment.
So, i'd buy this album for the artwork alone but otherwise just burn it from someone. Not a masterpiece, but solid nonetheless.

"listening to the album (any album) years later and remembering how you were feeling at that exact moment."
it often happened to me, with quite many albums. like living again a context, situation and possibly emotion.
Loading...

Hits total: 6992 | This month: 17