Rating:
9.8
The SLoT - Шестой
31 October 2013


01. Побег / Escape
02. Бой! / Fight!
03. Если / If
04. Сочи / Sochi
05. Old School
06. Поколено / Knee-deep
07. Три сестры / Three Sisters
08. Хиромантия / Chiromanсy
09. Tру / True
10. Качели / The Swing
11. Ракета Для Поэта / A Rocket For A Poet
12. Скачать Бесплатно / Free Download
13. Просточеловек / Justhuman
14. Ангел Или Демон / Angel Or Demon [bonus]


It would take me four or five reviews to explain everything I think about Шестой, so I shall try to keep it simple. Ladies and gentlemen, I know what my album of the year is.

Шестой sounds to me like a cross-section of The SLoT's last three albums (not counting Break The Code). "Сочи" and "Три сестры" sound like dance remixes of songs from Тринити, "Скачать бесплатно" would fit comfortably on the second half of F5, and "Old School" was practically lifted from 4ever. It is wonderful to hear a band explore so many sounds and then wrap them up in this sort of overview - though of course they bring some new tricks, as always. The guitars, bass, and drums are all heavy, crunchy, and driving, but are not afraid to exercise some spacey-ness on songs like "Три сестры" or scale back for the cool, calm "Качели"; as usual, keyboards help drive the melodies, and the songs collect many different influences from the world of metal and beyond.

Without a doubt, the most remarkable aspect of Шестой are the vocals. Nookie has always been one of my favorite singers, but her style on 2 Wars sticks out in my mind as her best work. She began her career in The SLoT with a gritty, raw, and aggressive approach that brought a lot of heaviness to the band. Over the next few albums, she developed a cleaner, more operatic style that certainly worked better for the different material and still places her head-and-shoulders above nearly everyone else - but when "Бой!" started up I practically fell out of my seat. The harshness is back, and what a glorious return to this style Nookie has made. Not everywhere, of course, but any resurgence is long overdue and very welcome. Cache does not get enough credit for his vocals, which are a vital part of The SLoT; his performance here is also his best in ages.

Шестой is what would happen if Christmas, freshly-baked cookies, finding $100 on the ground, and warm, toasty socks all got together to make an album. In other words, wondrous. It raps, it rasps, it rocks, it rolls, it raves, it rules. For about 40 seconds towards the end of "Old School," it becomes Sepultura in a totally unprecedented left turn that practically threw me out of my chair. Again. This is easily The SLoT's best album since Тринити and easily my favorite release of 2013. I tried to devise a list of highlights, but I ended up naming half the album and recommending the other half anyway. "Бой!" and "Скачать бесплатно" are the two best, but the entire album is well worth a listen.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10


Band profile: The SLoT
Album: Шестой


 



Written on 27.12.2013 by
ScreamingSteelUS
I'm only in this for the money, fame, glory, power, and personal satisfaction.

In my spare time, I fight dragon-pig-C.H.U.D.s in space.

I feel obligated to use up all of my allotted space, so... nah, I'm out of stuff to say.
More reviews by ScreamingSteelUS ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 45  
Users visited: 320  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 27.12.2013 at 01:55  
If you search for music by "The Slot" on Google, you're going to have a bad time. Once I realized they actually go by "Слот" I had a much easier time.

Only listened to this track on YouTube, and I think it's safe to say based on your rating and how you describe the album that we have a vastly different taste in music.
ScreamingSteelUS - 27.12.2013 at 02:18  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 27.12.2013 at 01:55

If you search for music by "The Slot" on Google, you're going to have a bad time. Once I realized they actually go by "Слот" I had a much easier time.

Only listened to this track on YouTube, and I think it's safe to say based on your rating and how you describe the album that we have a vastly different taste in music.

Yes, I'd say that we do. There are a couple of other bands out there called Slot or something similar, so it does make finding their music a bit difficult, on top of the fact that I can't read Russian.
Rulatore - 27.12.2013 at 03:54  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 27.12.2013 at 01:55

If you search for music by "The Slot" on Google, you're going to have a bad time. Once I realized they actually go by "Слот" I had a much easier time.

Only listened to this track on YouTube, and I think it's safe to say based on your rating and how you describe the album that we have a vastly different taste in music.

Exactly the same here, you just read my mind.
SilentScream - 27.12.2013 at 04:27  
Isn't it a bit too early for April Fool's jokes?
PocketMetal - 27.12.2013 at 09:55  
Well I'm not close-minded about the whole Core thing but I doubt I'll end-up understanding such a high score, although I have a soft spot for female vocals. let's see how this turns out.
Dinruth - 27.12.2013 at 10:41  
I really don't get the rating .. tried acouple of songs, following TroyKilljoys link and it really doesn't sound special to me
Mr. Doctor - 27.12.2013 at 10:59  
Listened to the whole album just to get the whole idea of what it was about. Well... They say that if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all.

So I'm going to shut the fuck up.
Ivor - 27.12.2013 at 11:09  
This is seriously a fun album. Knew about the band before but only actually listened to this release, so I can't compare it to their previous albums. But while I was not blown away as our reviewer here, I was hooked for quite a while and I still love this album for reasons that I probably can't explain properly. It's not special or groundbreaking but it's varied and interesting. The change in pace and style across the album as well as female vocals are what likely keep me attached. Understanding lyrics as well as the context probably helps in no small amount. However, it's not a masterpiece the review makes it out to be. It's good, it's fun and can get to you, but not everything that does is a masterpiece. It's worth checking out but it's also worth approaching with reserve, especially in view of this particular review.

I.
theFIST - 27.12.2013 at 13:52  
This combines everything i dislike about nu rock
CrowKiller - 27.12.2013 at 15:00  
So basically you are saying this is the greatest album of all time with those perfect 10's? Hmmm....excuse me if I'm a tad skeptical. Also, I've never been amazing at math, but do perfect 10's average a 9.8? I don't think so.
Unhealer - 27.12.2013 at 16:10  
Written by CrowKiller on 27.12.2013 at 15:00

Also, I've never been amazing at math, but do perfect 10's average a 9.8? I don't think so.


Nobody is forced to make an exact average of the score you gave to each aspect of the album, personal taste input comes into play as well. Look for other reviews and you'll see that is the case in most of them.
Mr. Doctor - 27.12.2013 at 16:45  
Exactly.... I don't know who started the idea that the overall rating has to be a simple average of the other 4 ratings but I can only say that it's completely wrong.
Overall score has nothing to do with the other ratings.
koob - 27.12.2013 at 16:46  
Well, I just wasted 30min of my life trying to get what's good about this band... Didn't find anything.
Zaphod - 27.12.2013 at 17:13  
Might have gone a bit overboard with the 10s there...
Mattybu - 27.12.2013 at 20:05  
Wait a minute metal storm! 10 + 10 + 10 + 10 = 40... 40 / 4 = 10... SO WHAT'S WITH THE 9.8?? THE BLASPHEMY!! surely 1000's of people haven't already brought up the important issue of the individual scores' exact average not equaling the overall score?

really though, people put too much weight on the numbers, from the review it seems like the reviewer has a strong personal connection to this album and it probably isn't for everyone, but he enjoyed it immensely. No reason to freak out over one person's personal views on the albums, and the numbers which are ultimately pointless in any review without the words to support them.
LeKiwi - 27.12.2013 at 20:21  
She's like a damned female Russell Allen!
Ivor - 27.12.2013 at 22:28  
Written by Mattybu on 27.12.2013 at 20:05

and the numbers which are ultimately pointless in any review without the words to support them.

Trust me, the numbers are pointless even with the review to support them. No numbers means you have got to read to find out what it's about. As soon as there's a number, the text is rendered meaningless in most cases.

I.
Mattybu - 27.12.2013 at 23:03  
Written by Ivor on 27.12.2013 at 22:28

Written by Mattybu on 27.12.2013 at 20:05

and the numbers which are ultimately pointless in any review without the words to support them.

Trust me, the numbers are pointless even with the review to support them. No numbers means you have got to read to find out what it's about. As soon as there's a number, the text is rendered meaningless in most cases.

I.


That's what I'm talking about. Instead of interpreting the text in the review, most people rely solely on the numbers to explain the album. I think the review made it clear that the reviewer had a very personal experience with the album and the number can only reflect the positivity, not the unique nature of that experience. So when people see the immense positivity they get confused/upset about the rating, ignoring the fact that the text explains it pretty well.
Skl3ros - 28.12.2013 at 02:40  
Lol this is terrible
and aren't reviews supposed to be at least the most objective possible?
theembryo - 28.12.2013 at 04:25  
I think it not very likely that one will give a review based soley on a set of objective criteria, otherwise it would seem that we would all be reading some very general text. Some personal preference is an intrinsic part of the best reviews, IMO, as well as the public comment following. The rave is as welcome as well the raze!!
Mattybu - 28.12.2013 at 06:59  
Written by Skl3ros on 28.12.2013 at 02:40

Lol this is terrible
and aren't reviews supposed to be at least the most objective possible?


I believe there is an article to answer your question written by one of the staffers who particularly adverse to the repetitive questions and comments of that nature...

http://metalstorm.net/pub/article.php?article_id=920
-DC-002- - 28.12.2013 at 08:00  
Sounds like above average radio Hard Rock from Russia to me.
Skl3ros - 28.12.2013 at 15:39  
Well that is why I wrote "the most possible". everyone who has a brain knows that purely objective isn't possible or even wanted but reviews generally shouldn't contain fanboying or criticless praising otherwise it cannot really be viewed as a review in it's initial meaning.
Karlabos - 28.12.2013 at 23:15  
I dislike alternative metal in general, but her vocals, plus the russian make it sound rather interesting.
Guess I'll give it a chance.
Dima - 29.12.2013 at 00:20  
Written by Skl3ros on 28.12.2013 at 02:40

Lol this is terrible
and aren't reviews supposed to be at least the most objective possible?


No not really because if that were the case then there would be only be a need for one global review.
ScreamingSteelUS - 30.12.2013 at 05:45  
Gee whiz. I seem to have wondered into one heck of a pickle.
Karlabos - 30.12.2013 at 13:30  
At first glance I thought the hand on the cover was "doing the horns", but then I looked again and wut!?
xxxAtticusxxx - 30.12.2013 at 18:30  
ScreamingsteelUS is a fucking moron perfect 10 really ?????
who is this random that you get to review albums ?
Its not even metal wtf
and its not english the international language of metal
This website is amazing but your reviews/reviewers are fucked wtf
R Lewis - 30.12.2013 at 18:45  
Written by xxxAtticusxxx on 30.12.2013 at 18:30

ScreamingsteelUS is a fucking moron perfect 10 really ?????
who is this random that you get to review albums ?
Its not even metal wtf
and its not english the international language of metal
This website is amazing but your reviews/reviewers are fucked wtf

I don't agree with this review too.
I don't agree with the ratings too.
I absolutely don't like this band too.

But you have NO RIGHT to offend anyone, nor SSUS nor us other reviewers. There are many ways to express your opinion civilly, and from your attitude I must assume that you find a lot easier insulting that justifying your words.
This behavious makes YOU look a moron, not SSUS. You can't read inside his head and magically understands what he feels about this particular album. Just like I can't get inside your head - because I'd feel alone there.

Cheers.
Karlabos - 30.12.2013 at 18:46  
Written by xxxAtticusxxx on 30.12.2013 at 18:30

and its not english the international language of metal


Well... What can I say?
Troy Killjoy - 30.12.2013 at 20:36  
Written by xxxAtticusxxx on 30.12.2013 at 18:30
ScreamingsteelUS is a fucking moron perfect 10 really ?????

You've been here less than a week and have already managed to directly insult one of our reviewers. Good job!

We have a good community here and most of us are on the open-minded side. If you want to hurl insults and bitch and complain about differing opinions and help lead the true crusade against "false metal" or whatever it is you're blabbering on about I suggest you find another site as nobody here - at least in this thread - shares your mentality.

Of course, you're welcome to your opinion but keep in mind we have rules and guidelines for you to follow as a member of this community, and an old grumpy man in charge of moderating the forums who isn't afraid to use his banhammer when necessary.

Happy trails.
Marcel Hubregtse - 30.12.2013 at 20:50  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 30.12.2013 at 20:36

Written by xxxAtticusxxx on 30.12.2013 at 18:30
ScreamingsteelUS is a fucking moron perfect 10 really ?????

You've been here less than a week and have already managed to directly insult one of our reviewers. Good job!



Mmm, he registered on Christmas day 2011 Not 2013
Troy Killjoy - 30.12.2013 at 21:00  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.12.2013 at 20:50
Mmm, he registered on Christmas day 2011 Not 2013

Pffff, the rest still stands. haha

SSUS I still think this album sucks but good on ya for sticking true to your tastes.
ScreamingSteelUS - 30.12.2013 at 21:23  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 30.12.2013 at 21:00

SSUS I still think this album sucks but good on ya for sticking true to your tastes.

Ha. Thanks. I never expected to incur this much wrath, though as long as I haven't permanently damaged my credibility as a reviewer I don't mind that much.
Troy Killjoy - 30.12.2013 at 21:35  
Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 30.12.2013 at 21:23
Ha. Thanks. I never expected to incur this much wrath, though as long as I haven't permanently damaged my credibility as a reviewer I don't mind that much.

Considering some of the reviews I've published and that some people apparently still care about what I have to say about new music, it'll take a lot more than a somewhat fanboyish review of a nu metal band to discredit you.
ScreamingSteelUS - 30.12.2013 at 21:38  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 30.12.2013 at 21:35

Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 30.12.2013 at 21:23
Ha. Thanks. I never expected to incur this much wrath, though as long as I haven't permanently damaged my credibility as a reviewer I don't mind that much.

Considering some of the reviews I've published and that some people apparently still care about what I have to say about new music, it'll take a lot more than a somewhat fanboyish review of a nu metal band to discredit you.

I think "somewhat fanboyish" is a bit of an understatement, but that's good to hear.
Ivor - 30.12.2013 at 22:26  
Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 30.12.2013 at 21:38

I think "somewhat fanboyish" is a bit of an understatement, but that's good to hear.

Next time omit the rating for such a review and you're in the clear.

I.
Troy Killjoy - 30.12.2013 at 22:33  
Ivor brings up a good point. Drop the rating altogether or give this less than a 9 and people will likely bitch much less about it.

Or quit reviewing. Or kill yourself.

But I'd probably just keep doing what you're doing.
ScreamingSteelUS - 30.12.2013 at 22:59  
Not a bad idea.

Dropping the rating, not the other things.
Ivor - 30.12.2013 at 23:16  
Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 30.12.2013 at 22:59

Dropping the rating, not the other things.

I've felt writing comes more naturally when you don't have to justify the number going along with it. I have to say one thing, though. This kind of review and bitching gets people to check out the album. Look at poor little Rod, went in head and heels into the stuff he now hates passionately.

I.
Kosst Amojan - 02.01.2014 at 22:06  
I just have listened to this album, and different musical tastes aside, this is surely the most biased review I had ever read on MS, and I'm here quiet a long time. Next time, especially if you're planning to review another hard rock/nu metal album, just omit the scores, and post a big warning sign: "nu metal ahead!"
All that put aside, this is well written, although biased review, and I'm glad you like russian bands (this one especially, as I can see). Russia has more than a few good bands which sings in russian, like Arkona, Comatose Vigil, or in finnish, like Kauan, or even in some extinct sumerian language (Ea, you can see now what are my musical preferences), and russian as a metal lyrics language is quite fit for that role.
All that said, I must exclaim that this is first and a last time that I have listened to this band. There's no much difference between Слот and their american nu-metal counterparts, like Slipknot, Korn, Limp Bizkit, or even Marylin Manson, so, next time, just put that warning banner ahead your nu-metal album review, and all shall be just fine...
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.01.2014 at 22:31  
ALL reviews ARE biased learn to live with it.
Mr. Doctor - 02.01.2014 at 22:55  
Written by Kosst Amojan on 02.01.2014 at 22:06
There's no much difference between Слот and their american nu-metal counterparts, like Slipknot, Korn, Limp Bizkit, or even Marylin Manson


Wow, did you even bother to listen to the album? Because anyone could tell that their style is waaaaaay different than all the bands you mentioned, no matter if you like it or not (and I hate this album).
Troy Killjoy - 02.01.2014 at 22:59  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 02.01.2014 at 22:55
Wow, did you even bother to listen to the album? Because anyone could tell that their style is waaaaaay different than all the bands you mentioned, no matter if you like it or not (and I hate this album).

My comment must not have posted but I remember quoting this post saying pretty much the same thing. Slipknot, Korn, Limp Bizkit, and Marylin Manson already sound different enough from each other, but these guys are far from being the same as them, regardless of quality.
Dinruth - 03.01.2014 at 01:15  
Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 30.12.2013 at 21:23

Written by Troy Killjoy on 30.12.2013 at 21:00

SSUS I still think this album sucks but good on ya for sticking true to your tastes.

Ha. Thanks. I never expected to incur this much wrath, though as long as I haven't permanently damaged my credibility as a reviewer I don't mind that much.


I don't think that it's really about credibility ... I for my part are grateful for every review .. I usually hit the high ones and give them a spin and thus often stumble upon gems that I wouldn't have found without metalstorm reviewers .. so even when I completely disagree with a review it has helped me deal with the music ... and I am a lazy ass who has got neither the patience nor the musical expertise to write a proper review so I should not have complained about any review in the first place

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Slot - 2 Wars V.2 6 16.06.2011 by
Reviews Savage Messiah - The Fateful Dark 4.5 01.05.2014 by Ag Fox
Reviews Karnivore - In The Halls Of The Wicked 4.5 22.07.2014 by Lit.
Reviews Dark Forest (UK) - The Awakening 4.5 21.01.2014 by theembryo
Reviews Hail Of Bullets - III: The Rommel Chronicles 4.5 10.03.2014 by LascaillesShroud



Hits total: 4179 | This month: 77