Rating:
6.0
Behemoth - The Satanist
3 February 2014


Disc I
01. Blow Your Trumpets Gabriel
02. Furor Divinus
03. Messe Noire
04. Ora Pro Nobis Lucifer
05. Amen
06. The Satanist
07. Ben Sahar
08. In The Absence Ov Light
09. O Father O Satan O Sun!
10. Ludzie Wschodu [Siekiera cover] [Australian bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [deluxe box set version]
01. Live Barbarossa
    1 - Intro
    2 - Ov Fire And The Void
    3 - Demigod
    4 - Moonspell Rites
    5 - Conquer All
    6 - Christians To The Lions
    7 - The Seed Ov I
    8 - Alas, Lord Is Upon Me
    9 - Decade Of ΘΕΡΙΟΝ
    10 - At The Left Hand Ov God
    11 - Slaves Shall Serve
    12 - Chant For ΕΣΧΗΑΤΟΝ 2000
    13 - 23 (The Youth Manifesto)
    14 - Lucifer
02. The Satanist: Oblivion


Not too many bands could throw a spoken-word, Kenny G sax muzak thing into the middle of a song called "In The Absence Ov Light" and not get laughed away into obscurity. Behemoth can get away with shit like that. They're just too cool to be dismissed. They sound cool and, with a theatrical sense that rivals well over half a Lady Gaga, they LOOK cool. I mean, I'm not gay, but I'd let Nergal and Orion double team me if they still want to.

The Satanist hasn't changed any of that. The already slightly precarious balance between their style and the substance of their music has changed. Since Thelema they've been making some of the most vicious and furious blackened, anti-Christian death metal around, all with an extravagant dramatic flair. With Evangelion they started emphasizing the evil mood creation bits and the ambient bits of their tunes more than they had before. And that wasn't necessarily a bad thing when it came down to it, but the sheer testosterone of what they'd done on their earlier discs did feel a little watered down.

They did what they do and made it work on Evangelion. "Lucifer" is boring, but goddamn is "Shemhamforash" a neck breaker. That balance is almost completely gone here. The Satanist feels a lot like a bunch of "Lucifer"s. Sure, there's still some DM fury, but it seems to come secondary to all the build-ups. And while the build-ups can sound juicy, they never lead to any kind of exploding that's to be expected from the band that gave us The Apostasy not too long ago.

The extreme bits on this get boring quick. Every time you think, "shit, this is about to get good," songs will peter out and fall back into "just wait for it" mode. It either goes back to what feels a lot like filler, or the faster riffs are bland and melodramatic enough that you'll pine for any of their earlier albums, even the overrated ones like Demigod.

None of this is to say these guys are sounding bad necessarily. The mix is robust and the guys still play tightly; Inferno is still distractingly good at what he does and now the bass gets accented more, so Orion's chops are more audible, Nergal's voice is as powerful as ever, and so on. What they've put together here is tedious enough to surprise even their casual fans, in other words. It sounds like the kind of stuff made for expensive music videos, not the other way around.

Highlight: "Amen"


Band profile: Behemoth
Album: The Satanist


 



Written on 12.02.2014 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments page 5 of 5

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 2 3 4 [5]
Comments: 212  
Users visited: 758  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 25.02.2014 at 17:26  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.02.2014 at 15:35

Written by Daniell on 24.02.2014 at 19:31
The staff don't meet and decide on ratings.

Could you imagine what that process would be like?


We already call each other names during the MSA nominations. Deciding on ratings would be a straight up massacre.
Apothecary - 26.02.2014 at 05:19  
Just figured I'd drop this here as a sort of appendix to what everyone's said already. Part of (not only, though) the reason I wrote it was in response to the unbelievably ignorant shitstorm this review conjured.
Darth Revan - 26.02.2014 at 05:47  
Written by Daniell on 24.02.2014 at 19:31

Written by Darth Revan on 24.02.2014 at 06:19

If it bothers you so much that the staff didn't like it,


The staff don't meet and decide on ratings. The rating is what the reviewer thinks.


Huh, I figured it was sort of like a loose joint decision kinda deal. Sort of like how reviews on game review sites work, except with less game publishers shoving money in the site's pocket for a good rating.
Reverend X - 26.02.2014 at 07:28  
Does anyone have a better review?

I might accept the review but I can't accept the rating.
Troy Killjoy - 26.02.2014 at 07:37  
Written by Reverend X on 26.02.2014 at 07:28
I might accept the review but I can't accept the rating.

Do you normally have issues accepting someone else's opinion?
Reverend X - 26.02.2014 at 07:47  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.02.2014 at 07:37

Written by Reverend X on 26.02.2014 at 07:28
I might accept the review but I can't accept the rating.

Do you normally have issues accepting someone else's opinion?



No. Not really. Sometimes when it comes to your favorite bands. It's hard to accept when you differ in opinion.
anekgh - 26.02.2014 at 14:45  
Written by Reverend X on 26.02.2014 at 07:28

Does anyone have a better review?

I might accept the review but I can't accept the rating.

I do agree, somehow it seems like this guy expects BEHEMOTH to offer exactly the whole same kind of musics that HE adores, that's why he dismisses the musical evolution of Behemoth which is they offer by each of their albums. He calls the Dark atmosphere of this album as Boring...I guess it's not really fair! Anyways, I believe that from technical and musical point of view this is never Behemoth's album, but it's their darkest for sure and I love it! So I'd have problems with any rating below 8!
deadone - 28.02.2014 at 01:09  
Written by Reverend X on 26.02.2014 at 07:28

Does anyone have a better review?

I might accept the review but I can't accept the rating.


Why don't you write your own?

MS is good at posting up reviews.
Ace Frawley - 28.02.2014 at 03:52  
I'd write my own review if I had more time. Working and having a two-year-old doesn't leave much time for writing reviews of metal albums.
Reverend X - 28.02.2014 at 08:11  
Written by deadone on 28.02.2014 at 01:09

Written by Reverend X on 26.02.2014 at 07:28

Does anyone have a better review?

I might accept the review but I can't accept the rating.


Why don't you write your own?

MS is good at posting up reviews.

You're right. MS does post good reviews. Of course the reviewer is entitled to his own point of view. Well there are fans who can't take "No" for an answer. We're just upset that the review didn't go our way.
boo-boo - 10.03.2014 at 22:39  
Written by Reverend X on 28.02.2014 at 08:11


You're right. MS does post good reviews. Of course the reviewer is entitled to his own point of view. Well there are fans who can't take "No" for an answer. We're just upset that the review didn't go our way.


I'm with you, man. I listened to the album about five times in a row when I finally got the chance to. Though I respect the review and its author, I can hardly agree.
But hey - nobody cares what we (the fans) think, since being a fan kind of implies you might be a lot less critical perhaps.
AngelofDeth - 11.03.2014 at 00:12  
Jeese, a lot of fanboys upset here! Everyone is just bashing the review without giving valid points as to why the album should get a better rating(other than "musical evolution", "they're my favorite band" or.. my fave "everyone else thinks its good, why dont you?)

While not flawless, I think the review is for the most part very well written and a 6.0 is not a terrible marking to throw on a band, it's about the nicest "I dont like it rating" one can give.

Personally. I hold a similar opinion about the album and agree with the too much build up with no payoff critique. But furthermore the album comes off as sloppy and boring to me. Song structure and riffing is far too simplistic and there are parts that just feel off imo, such as the saxophone part. This is an album I wouldnt mind listening to in a friends car but not something I will go out of my way for.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 2 3 4 [5]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Behemoth - The Satanist 6 31.05.2013 by Cronomaster
Reviews Behemoth - The Apostasy 5.5 21.12.2008 by Uirapuru
Articles USA, Portland, OR - Behemoth + Watain: The Decibel Magazine Tour 2012 5 28.04.2012 by BlueMobius
Reviews SSS - Problems To The Answer 4.5 04.08.2011 by K†ulu
Reviews Rhyme - The Seed And Sewage 4.5 12.12.2012 by BoxCar Willy



Hits total: 8586 | This month: 401