Rating:
6.0
Behemoth - The Satanist
3 February 2014


Disc I
01. Blow Your Trumpets Gabriel
02. Furor Divinus
03. Messe Noire
04. Ora Pro Nobis Lucifer
05. Amen
06. The Satanist
07. Ben Sahar
08. In The Absence Ov Light
09. O Father O Satan O Sun!
10. Ludzie Wschodu [Siekiera cover] [Australian bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [deluxe box set version]
01. Live Barbarossa
    1 - Intro
    2 - Ov Fire And The Void
    3 - Demigod
    4 - Moonspell Rites
    5 - Conquer All
    6 - Christians To The Lions
    7 - The Seed Ov I
    8 - Alas, Lord Is Upon Me
    9 - Decade Of ΘΕΡΙΟΝ
    10 - At The Left Hand Ov God
    11 - Slaves Shall Serve
    12 - Chant For ΕΣΧΗΑΤΟΝ 2000
    13 - 23 (The Youth Manifesto)
    14 - Lucifer
02. The Satanist: Oblivion


Not too many bands could throw a spoken-word, Kenny G sax muzak thing into the middle of a song called "In The Absence Ov Light" and not get laughed away into obscurity. Behemoth can get away with shit like that. They're just too cool to be dismissed. They sound cool and, with a theatrical sense that rivals well over half a Lady Gaga, they LOOK cool. I mean, I'm not gay, but I'd let Nergal and Orion double team me if they still want to.

The Satanist hasn't changed any of that. The already slightly precarious balance between their style and the substance of their music has changed. Since Thelema they've been making some of the most vicious and furious blackened, anti-Christian death metal around, all with an extravagant dramatic flair. With Evangelion they started emphasizing the evil mood creation bits and the ambient bits of their tunes more than they had before. And that wasn't necessarily a bad thing when it came down to it, but the sheer testosterone of what they'd done on their earlier discs did feel a little watered down.

They did what they do and made it work on Evangelion. "Lucifer" is boring, but goddamn is "Shemhamforash" a neck breaker. That balance is almost completely gone here. The Satanist feels a lot like a bunch of "Lucifer"s. Sure, there's still some DM fury, but it seems to come secondary to all the build-ups. And while the build-ups can sound juicy, they never lead to any kind of exploding that's to be expected from the band that gave us The Apostasy not too long ago.

The extreme bits on this get boring quick. Every time you think, "shit, this is about to get good," songs will peter out and fall back into "just wait for it" mode. It either goes back to what feels a lot like filler, or the faster riffs are bland and melodramatic enough that you'll pine for any of their earlier albums, even the overrated ones like Demigod.

None of this is to say these guys are sounding bad necessarily. The mix is robust and the guys still play tightly; Inferno is still distractingly good at what he does and now the bass gets accented more, so Orion's chops are more audible, Nergal's voice is as powerful as ever, and so on. What they've put together here is tedious enough to surprise even their casual fans, in other words. It sounds like the kind of stuff made for expensive music videos, not the other way around.

Highlight: "Amen"


Band profile: Behemoth
Album: The Satanist


 



Written on 12.02.2014 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he's an American.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5
Comments: 214  
Users visited: 816  
Search this topic:  


Hex_Omega - 12.02.2014 at 13:23  
Let the storm begin.
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.02.2014 at 13:26  
Spot on.
Lokaeda - 12.02.2014 at 13:45  
Blow my trumpet, Gabriel.
Daniell - 12.02.2014 at 13:46  
Written by Hex_Omega on 12.02.2014 at 13:23

Let the storm begin.


What storm?
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.02.2014 at 13:49  
Written by Daniell on 12.02.2014 at 13:46

What storm?

Give it a few hours.
MechanisT - 12.02.2014 at 13:56  
Spot on review. Nailed it for me exactly, even the highlighted track, being the only consistently good one in the entire album. Good ideas mean for nothing if the execution is a little more than amateur.
boo-boo - 12.02.2014 at 13:58  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 12.02.2014 at 13:49

Give it a few hours.

I think the real storm began (and hopefully ended) in the album page, it won't be so long or hard in here I guess.
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.02.2014 at 14:00  
Written by boo-boo on 12.02.2014 at 13:58

I think the real storm began (and hopefully ended) in the album page, it won't be so long or hard in here I guess.

I don't think anything in the album bit approached "storm" status. There wasn't much moaning from people. However when the highest rated album on MS in years gets a 6 from an official review I suspect people are going to act up.
boo-boo - 12.02.2014 at 14:03  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 12.02.2014 at 14:00

I don't think anything in the album bit approached "storm" status. There wasn't much moaning from people. However when the highest rated album on MS in years gets a 6 from an official review I suspect people are going to act up.

Ah, you mean posts directly criticizing the staff and people who dislike the album generally?
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.02.2014 at 14:04  
Written by boo-boo on 12.02.2014 at 14:03

Ah, you mean posts directly criticizing the staff and people who dislike the album generally?

People acting like ass-hats, basically.
boo-boo - 12.02.2014 at 14:08  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 12.02.2014 at 14:04

People acting like ass-hats, basically.

There's not much to argue about in this case, so I find it difficult to imagine.
Skl3ros - 12.02.2014 at 15:02  
When trolling reached a new level. so basically every song that doesn't have insane speed like amen is automatically bad. why don't you just listen to a drum computer if that turns you people on so much?
Karlabos - 12.02.2014 at 15:08  
Written by Skl3ros on 12.02.2014 at 15:02

When trolling reached a new level. so basically every song that doesn't have insane speed like amen is automatically bad. why don't you just listen to a drum computer if that turns you people on so much?

Or cybergrind
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.02.2014 at 15:11  
Written by Karlabos on 12.02.2014 at 15:08

Or cybergrind

Cybergrind can be pretty awesome though
Unhealer - 12.02.2014 at 15:16  
So this is definitely Daniell + users vs. the rest of the MS staff, alright
Karlabos - 12.02.2014 at 15:16  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 12.02.2014 at 15:11

Cybergrind can be pretty awesome though

Sometimes it is. And if the fake drums sound very artificial it's even better xD
Rulatore - 12.02.2014 at 15:23  
Apart from this

Quote:
I'm not gay, but I'd let Nergal and Orion double team me if they still want to.


It couldn't be more accurate. Hell, Lucifer is one of the most borings songs I've heard from them. These new elements, if done well, would sound better, but it just don't work here.

Some people complained about the sound of the guitars, but I don't think you'ld be happy hearing better those bland riffs.

The only good thing about this album is the vocals, Nergal put out his best performance on this one.

Also
Written by Lokaeda on 12.02.2014 at 13:45

Blow my trumpet, Gabriel.

!J.O.O.E.! - 12.02.2014 at 15:28  
Is Nergal considered sexy? I mean, come on, you could land a helicopter on that forehead.
s_t_s - 12.02.2014 at 15:45  
I agree with this review except for the first boring and brainless paragraph...

I mean, I only discovered Behemoth with Evangelion but it sounded so ear blasting and powerful ! I love Demigod and The Apostasy for these same reasons but it just doesn't work with The Satanist. The first 2 tracks are good enough but the rest makes me feel like I'm in back metal retirement house ^^ Not saying this album is any bad, just that it doesn't work for me.
Apothecary - 12.02.2014 at 15:52  
Written by Skl3ros on 12.02.2014 at 15:02

So basically every song that doesn't have insane speed like amen is automatically bad. why don't you just listen to a drum computer if that turns you people on so much?

I smell butthurt. So people aren't allowed to have their own opinions? Remember reviews are not objective, it's the reviewer's thoughts on the album. Just because the album may have 229 votes for an 8.9 average doesn't mean we're just going to go with it. As I'm sure you saw in the review since you're paraphrasing it, George here isn't so much complaining about a lack of speed as much as he is saying that when the speed does does come, it feels anticlimactic compared to all the time it took building up to it. Which I agree with.
Cynic Metalhead - 12.02.2014 at 16:13  
Well, Worm you could have added one line to your review.

The Satanist is groovy.
Daniell - 12.02.2014 at 16:24  
Written by Unhealer on 12.02.2014 at 15:16

So this is definitely Daniell + users vs. the rest of the MS staff, alright


Not really interested in siding with any factions, thank you.
Slyfang - 12.02.2014 at 16:41  
What a lame review
Daniell - 12.02.2014 at 16:52  
Written by Apothecary on 12.02.2014 at 15:52

As I'm sure you saw in the review since you're paraphrasing it, George here isn't so much complaining about a lack of speed


To be honest, I had the same impression while reading the review: "boring 'cause slow". So he's not the only one.
Or I need to improve my reading comprehension.
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.02.2014 at 17:09  
Written by Slyfang on 12.02.2014 at 16:41

What a lame review

I found it perfectly depicted my feelings of the album, so clearly can't be that bad.
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.02.2014 at 17:11  
R.E. "slow" comments. Maybe people don't bother to read the whole thing:

Quote:
Sure, there's still some DM fury, but it seems to come secondary to all the build-ups. And while the build-ups can sound juicy, they never lead to any kind of exploding... every time you think, "shit, this is about to get good," songs will peter out and fall back into "just wait for it" mode. It either goes back to what feels a lot like filler, or the faster riffs are bland and melodramatic enough that you'll pine for any of their earlier albums, even the overrated ones like Demigod.


My interpretation is that the album is boring because it's filled with a bunch of build ups that never go anywhere. Not that the album is "slow."
Daniell - 12.02.2014 at 17:16  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 12.02.2014 at 17:09

I found it perfectly depicted my feelings of the album, so clearly can't be that bad.


People tend to call reviews lame when they disagree with the ratings. No clue what one has to do with the other, but here we are.
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.02.2014 at 17:18  
Written by Daniell on 12.02.2014 at 17:16

People tend to call reviews lame when they disagree with the ratings. No clue what one has to do with the other, but here we are.

Pretty much axiomatic of metalstorm / any metal review with a strong score either way.
Apothecary - 12.02.2014 at 17:28  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 12.02.2014 at 17:11

My interpretation is that the album is boring because it's filled with a bunch of build ups that never go anywhere. Not that the album is "slow."

What I pretty much said
Monolithic - 12.02.2014 at 17:31  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 12.02.2014 at 15:28

Is Nergal considered sexy? I mean, come on, you could land a helicopter on that forehead.

+1
ROFLCOPTER all around the floor. That was priceless.
With Satanist being my first impression of Behemoth's music, I'm kinda left with the impression that it's something.
tea[m]ster - 12.02.2014 at 17:31  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 12.02.2014 at 15:28

you could land a helicopter on that forehead.


You, young man just won the internet.
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.02.2014 at 17:33  
Wow, double-barrelled compliment on my comment there
tea[m]ster - 12.02.2014 at 17:36  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 12.02.2014 at 17:33

Wow, double-barrelled compliment on my comment there


Yea I noticed that too, lol.
boo-boo - 12.02.2014 at 17:43  
Now I see what was meant by "storm" and "ass-hats".
Apothecary - 12.02.2014 at 17:45  
Also, I'm betting that relatively shortly there'll be another guest review of this album up lavishly praising it and giving it something like a 9.5
pkillerjp - 12.02.2014 at 17:53  
I never understood the overwhelming embracing of these guys at all. Always sounded forced, overblown, and boring to me, with a really cheesy evil gimmick that just doesn't work for them.
Troy Killjoy - 12.02.2014 at 17:59  
Even though I personally really like "Lucifer" and welcomed an album that seemingly took on that style throughout, and would even rate this a full point higher, I still agree with this review. It points out exactly what's wrong with this album that so many people apparently either aren't aware of or just don't care about: finish.

As others have already stated, the build-up and establishing of momentum is obvious (and well-executed), but from there the songs tend to trail off. Rather than wrapping up an idea with a strong closing segment, they just nod off listlessly. It's pretty annoying because most of the opening sections are enticing and powerful. Oh well.
LascaillesShroud - 12.02.2014 at 18:05  
For some reason I couldn't help but laugh when I saw the score
Rupert - 12.02.2014 at 18:22  
I really like this album, and I like Demigod even more. I found the ones in between to be seriously lacking inspiration, just a shitfest of powerful production.

So obviously your review is completely wrong because your opinion is not aligned with mine.
Rulatore - 12.02.2014 at 18:34  
Written by Rupert on 12.02.2014 at 18:22

So obviously your review is completely wrong because your opinion is not aligned with mine.

Wow, that was harsh
Lit. - 12.02.2014 at 19:09  
Written by Slyfang on 12.02.2014 at 16:41

What a lame review

Doesn't make it any less true.
R Lewis - 12.02.2014 at 19:24  
This was the first Behemoth album I really liked. It was to be expected that the Staff would have bashed it. Oh well.
Hex_Omega - 12.02.2014 at 19:31  
Written by Unhealer on 12.02.2014 at 15:16

So this is definitely Daniell + users vs. the rest of the MS staff + elite users

Fixed

Written by Daniell on 12.02.2014 at 13:46

What storm?

Just read some comments
Daniell - 12.02.2014 at 19:46  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 12.02.2014 at 17:59

As others have already stated, the build-up and establishing of momentum is obvious (and well-executed), but from there the songs tend to trail off. Rather than wrapping up an idea with a strong closing segment, they just nod off listlessly. It's pretty annoying because most of the opening sections are enticing and powerful. Oh well.


I thought the opposite. I welcomed the general slow pace of the album. As brilliant as Behemoth are when they're at warp speed, a slow album for a change is very welcome.
Daniell - 12.02.2014 at 19:48  
Quote:
Written by Daniell on 12.02.2014 at 13:46

What storm?

Just read some comments


I got your point immediately. My intention was to emphasize that I'm going to weather the storm without getting caught in it.

I have absolutely no problem with opinions that are different than mine, as long as those opinions aren't biased.
Fallen Ghost - 12.02.2014 at 20:36  
I'm not agreeing with this review. Just out of curiosity: Is the reviewer a Behemoth fan? I have never liked them actually, but this album is ridiculously good! (IMO). Is this more likable for people who aren't that used to the older material?
LascaillesShroud - 12.02.2014 at 20:46  
Written by Fallen Ghost on 12.02.2014 at 20:36

I'm not agreeing with this review. Just out of curiosity: Is the reviewer a Behemoth fan? I have never liked them actually, but this album is ridiculously good! (IMO). Is this more likable for people who aren't that used to the older material?


It seems to make non-Behemoth listeners fans of the album, and is pretty polarizing otherwise between current Behemoth fans.
Carrion Misery - 12.02.2014 at 20:55  
I like every song on the album. After listening to the CD more than 10 times, each song absolutely has it's own personality. Anyone who says all the songs sound like the first track or Lucifer, clearly didn't listen to the CD. I appreciate The Satanist in it's entirety due to actual song writing, the dark as fuck atmosphere and musical execution.
Fallen Ghost - 12.02.2014 at 21:00  
Written by LascaillesShroud on 12.02.2014 at 20:46

Written by Fallen Ghost on 12.02.2014 at 20:36

I'm not agreeing with this review. Just out of curiosity: Is the reviewer a Behemoth fan? I have never liked them actually, but this album is ridiculously good! (IMO). Is this more likable for people who aren't that used to the older material?


It seems to make non-Behemoth listeners fans of the album, and is pretty polarizing otherwise between current Behemoth fans.


Yeah that's what I had an impression of as well.
Daniell - 12.02.2014 at 21:10  
Written by Carrion Misery on 12.02.2014 at 20:55

I like every song on the album. After listening to the CD more than 10 times, each song absolutely has it's own personality. Anyone who says all the songs sound like the first track or Lucifer, clearly didn't listen to the CD. I appreciate The Satanist in it's entirety due to actual song writing, the dark as fuck atmosphere and musical execution.


Well said. Your words pretty much sum up what I think.

But to some people it'll suck, because the songs aren't fast enough. I remember people complaining about Slayer's South of Heaven in a similar way.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Behemoth - The Satanist 6 31.05.2013 by Cronomaster
Reviews Behemoth - The Apostasy 5.5 21.12.2008 by Uirapuru
Articles USA, Portland, OR - Behemoth + Watain: The Decibel Magazine Tour 2012 5 28.04.2012 by BlueMobius
Reviews Posthumous Blasphemer - Fracture The Worship 4.5 05.06.2011 by Maxx666
Reviews Tonic Breed - On The Brink Of Destruction 4.5 22.06.2011 by ruffio



Hits total: 11349 | This month: 237