Rating:
6.0
Behemoth - The Satanist
3 February 2014


Disc I
01. Blow Your Trumpets Gabriel
02. Furor Divinus
03. Messe Noire
04. Ora Pro Nobis Lucifer
05. Amen
06. The Satanist
07. Ben Sahar
08. In The Absence Ov Light
09. O Father O Satan O Sun!
10. Ludzie Wschodu [Siekiera cover] [Australian bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [deluxe box set version]
01. Live Barbarossa
    1 - Intro
    2 - Ov Fire And The Void
    3 - Demigod
    4 - Moonspell Rites
    5 - Conquer All
    6 - Christians To The Lions
    7 - The Seed Ov I
    8 - Alas, Lord Is Upon Me
    9 - Decade Of ΘΕΡΙΟΝ
    10 - At The Left Hand Ov God
    11 - Slaves Shall Serve
    12 - Chant For ΕΣΧΗΑΤΟΝ 2000
    13 - 23 (The Youth Manifesto)
    14 - Lucifer
02. The Satanist: Oblivion


Not too many bands could throw a spoken-word, Kenny G sax muzak thing into the middle of a song called "In The Absence Ov Light" and not get laughed away into obscurity. Behemoth can get away with shit like that. They're just too cool to be dismissed. They sound cool and, with a theatrical sense that rivals well over half a Lady Gaga, they LOOK cool. I mean, I'm not gay, but I'd let Nergal and Orion double team me if they still want to.

The Satanist hasn't changed any of that. The already slightly precarious balance between their style and the substance of their music has changed. Since Thelema they've been making some of the most vicious and furious blackened, anti-Christian death metal around, all with an extravagant dramatic flair. With Evangelion they started emphasizing the evil mood creation bits and the ambient bits of their tunes more than they had before. And that wasn't necessarily a bad thing when it came down to it, but the sheer testosterone of what they'd done on their earlier discs did feel a little watered down.

They did what they do and made it work on Evangelion. "Lucifer" is boring, but goddamn is "Shemhamforash" a neck breaker. That balance is almost completely gone here. The Satanist feels a lot like a bunch of "Lucifer"s. Sure, there's still some DM fury, but it seems to come secondary to all the build-ups. And while the build-ups can sound juicy, they never lead to any kind of exploding that's to be expected from the band that gave us The Apostasy not too long ago.

The extreme bits on this get boring quick. Every time you think, "shit, this is about to get good," songs will peter out and fall back into "just wait for it" mode. It either goes back to what feels a lot like filler, or the faster riffs are bland and melodramatic enough that you'll pine for any of their earlier albums, even the overrated ones like Demigod.

None of this is to say these guys are sounding bad necessarily. The mix is robust and the guys still play tightly; Inferno is still distractingly good at what he does and now the bass gets accented more, so Orion's chops are more audible, Nergal's voice is as powerful as ever, and so on. What they've put together here is tedious enough to surprise even their casual fans, in other words. It sounds like the kind of stuff made for expensive music videos, not the other way around.

Highlight: "Amen"


Band profile: Behemoth
Album: The Satanist


 



Written on 12.02.2014 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he's an American.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments page 2 of 5

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5
Comments: 214  
Users visited: 820  
Search this topic:  


Hex_Omega - 12.02.2014 at 21:40  
Written by Daniell on 12.02.2014 at 21:10

But to some people it'll suck, because the songs aren't fast enough.

Evangelion is also quite slow, slower than The Apostasy or Demigod. And Zos Kia Cultus also contains few slower songs. I completely don't care if something is very fast or very slow. I can listen to Necrophagist and than to Ahab. What I don't like about The Satanist is songwriting and lack of originality. 'Hey lets put some random riffs together' thats what I feel (or rather hear) when I am listening to some of the songs on this album. Songwriting is just too random for me, thats why this is not my favourite Behemoth album. Of course production is cool, Nergal vocals are also cool, but everything that is on this album was on previous albums.
wormdrink414 - 12.02.2014 at 22:33  
Written by Fallen Ghost on 12.02.2014 at 20:36

I'm not agreeing with this review. Just out of curiosity: Is the reviewer a Behemoth fan? I have never liked them actually, but this album is ridiculously good! (IMO). Is this more likable for people who aren't that used to the older material?

The only reason I ccan think of that would prompt me to listen to this ever again is the fact that I am a fan of theirs.

And this does have some solid moments (I shit on In the Absence ov Light, but when it bangs back into gear after the spoken-word stuff it's not bad at all), but it just doesn't do anything close to what The Apostasy and Zos Kia did and do for me. Not consistently at least. It's tedious.
ArianUndead - 12.02.2014 at 22:40  
Poor review. this is so bad that i still think it's a troll bait.
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.02.2014 at 22:44  
Written by ArianUndead on 12.02.2014 at 22:40

Poor review. this is so bad that i still think it's a troll bait.

What's wrong with it?
Butters49 - 12.02.2014 at 22:45  
I loved the song Lucifer, much more so than Shemhamforash.... which is probably why I disagree with this review so much.
Coolingsrock - 12.02.2014 at 22:46  
This won't come close to passing Aenaon on my 2014 list.
LascaillesShroud - 12.02.2014 at 23:24  
Written by Coolingsrock on 12.02.2014 at 22:46

This won't come close to passing Aenaon on my 2014 list.


It did for me, by 3%. The Aenaon release is wicked as hell though
Papa_Ray - 13.02.2014 at 00:03  
I think this is a great album. That said, it took several listens to grow on me. Nergal sounds better than he has in years. I'm so glad he scaled back the overproduced vocal layering horseshit he's been up to for the last several albums.
blackmamba - 13.02.2014 at 01:07  
6??? hahahaha. Get yourself a new set of ears pal, maybe then you'll be able to write a decent review
Troy Killjoy - 13.02.2014 at 01:08  
Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 01:07
6??? hahahaha. Get yourself a new set of ears pal, maybe then you'll be able to write a decent review

I think the review is actually well-written, but given your views on this album I can see why you dislike the rating here.
strade - 13.02.2014 at 01:15  
Always entertaining when people find a review objectively false when it doesn't align with their subjective opinion regarding the art in question. To object to the technical merit of a written piece is one thing, but to reject it merely on the basis of a rating that is too high/low doesn't reflect well on the intelligence of its reader.
blackmamba - 13.02.2014 at 01:50  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.02.2014 at 01:08

Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 01:07
6??? hahahaha. Get yourself a new set of ears pal, maybe then you'll be able to write a decent review

I think the review is actually well-written, but given your views on this album I can see why you dislike the rating here.



It doesn't matter if it's well written or not. When you rate an album, the purpose of the review is to justify that rating, and if the reviewer happens to have a poor taste in music, the least important thing is how well he writes. You can have the best writing ability in the world, but if you rate an album like The Satanist a 6.0, maybe you shouldn't be writing reviews.
Unhealer - 13.02.2014 at 02:04  
Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 01:50

It doesn't matter if it's well written or not. When you rate an album, the purpose of the review is to justify that rating, and if the reviewer happens to have a poor taste in music, the least important thing is how well he writes. You can have the best writing ability in the world, but if you rate an album like The Satanist a 6.0, maybe you shouldn't be writing reviews.


Can't believe I just read that. Do you understand that both the quality of a reviewer's writing and the taste for music are completely subjective? There's no such thing as poor taste in music.
deadone - 13.02.2014 at 02:12  
Written by pkillerjp on 12.02.2014 at 17:53

I never understood the overwhelming embracing of these guys at all. Always sounded forced, overblown, and boring to me, with a really cheesy evil gimmick that just doesn't work for them.



Same here.

Good live band but I al;ways found them boring to listen to. A lot of the more extreme stuff is like that (Psycroptic anyone?).
blackmamba - 13.02.2014 at 02:39  
Written by Unhealer on 13.02.2014 at 02:04

Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 01:50

It doesn't matter if it's well written or not. When you rate an album, the purpose of the review is to justify that rating, and if the reviewer happens to have a poor taste in music, the least important thing is how well he writes. You can have the best writing ability in the world, but if you rate an album like The Satanist a 6.0, maybe you shouldn't be writing reviews.


Can't believe I just read that. Do you understand that both the quality of a reviewer's writing and the taste for music are completely subjective? There's no such thing as poor taste in music.



Then don't rate the albums, describe the songs, give opinions about the production values, compare the album to the artist's older material, do what you want, but don't rate it, don't give it a number, because like you said it's all subjective. However, there are some albums that are praised by most, and that is the case here, so when you find a guy who rates an album a 6 and practically every other serious reviewer and the majority of fans rate it from 8 to 9.5, you definitely can see something is not clicking.
deadone - 13.02.2014 at 02:57  
Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 02:39


Then don't rate the albums, describe the songs, give opinions about the production values, compare the album to the artist's older material, do what you want, but don't rate it, don't give it a number, because like you said it's all subjective. However, there are some albums that are praised by most, and that is the case here, so when you find a guy who rates an album a 6 and practically every other serious reviewer and the majority of fans rate it from 8 to 9.5, you definitely can see something is not clicking.



"Majority of fans" would include all the fanboys/girls who pick up the album at release.

This happens to all bands (e.g. I picked up new Iced Earth as soon as I could cause I'm an IE fanboy).

Fanboys/girls also tend to rate everything highly at release - the excitement of new album by their favourite band obscures any objective assessment of the album.


Next you'll get the people who are into Behemoth to lesser degrees and then casual listeners. The votes will then settle down.

Also once initial hype comes down, the fanboys/girls will also reevaluate their own experience of the album and re-rate it accordingly.

IMO a quality of an album can only truly be assessed about a year after you first heard it:

a.) Initial hype or even initial negative hype has been exhausted.
b.) One should've discovered and explorted all nuances of an album to find their true opinion of album.
c.) Album will prove itself as either a repeat listen or something that was just a fad at the time.
Coolingsrock - 13.02.2014 at 03:07  
Well there you have it. Case Closed.
Xnoybis - 13.02.2014 at 03:43  
Frankly, I'll take his six over the MS score.

By taking the time to write multiple reviews it's easier to get an idea where the author comes from.

People just clicking 1->10 means nothing to me. The ratings you cite are garbage. As noted, it's fanbois overrating it, which will be countered by those who don't immediately swoon at anything associated with Nergal rating it more rationally when they've bothered to check it out.

Finally, the forgotten step in deadone's plan... if it is still at the top, it'll get tanked by a bunch of people who'll score it 1 to sandbag it's score in the annual rank.


As for the album, I'll be sure to check it out, but whenever. no burning desire. I think Pyroleprechaun said it best a couple years ago somewhere 'round here. Behemoth is like the Chinese food of DM. You listen to it, enjoy it, and 30 minutes later forget all about it.
Crucifux - 13.02.2014 at 03:46  
Quote:
The Satanist feels a lot like a bunch of "Lucifer"s.

That's disappointing. If this is true it'll probably be in the 5-7 range for me.
R'Vannith - 13.02.2014 at 04:26  
Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 02:39

Written by Unhealer on 13.02.2014 at 02:04

Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 01:50

It doesn't matter if it's well written or not. When you rate an album, the purpose of the review is to justify that rating, and if the reviewer happens to have a poor taste in music, the least important thing is how well he writes. You can have the best writing ability in the world, but if you rate an album like The Satanist a 6.0, maybe you shouldn't be writing reviews.


Can't believe I just read that. Do you understand that both the quality of a reviewer's writing and the taste for music are completely subjective? There's no such thing as poor taste in music.



Then don't rate the albums, describe the songs, give opinions about the production values, compare the album to the artist's older material, do what you want, but don't rate it, don't give it a number, because like you said it's all subjective. However, there are some albums that are praised by most, and that is the case here, so when you find a guy who rates an album a 6 and practically every other serious reviewer and the majority of fans rate it from 8 to 9.5, you definitely can see something is not clicking.


You seem to be distinguishing the number and rating given here as an objective statement, as opposed to and something distinct from the subjective written assessment of the music. This is inaccurate. The number 6 is a initial indicator of where the reviewer stands with their assessment of a particular piece of music on a scale from 1 to 10 based upon the ample explanation given in writing. The latter leads to the former; the review itself seeks to justify the number or rating given.

This review is serious because it makes a personal and clearly well reasoned assessment of the music in question, and applies a rating to such an assessment accordingly.
deadone - 13.02.2014 at 04:30  
Written by Xnoybis on 13.02.2014 at 03:43

Behemoth is like the Chinese food of DM. You listen to it, enjoy it, and 30 minutes later forget all about it.



One of those 1 line reviews that fits like a glove.
Mattybu - 13.02.2014 at 05:09  
Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 01:50

It doesn't matter if it's well written or not. When you rate an album, the purpose of the review is to justify that rating, and if the reviewer happens to have a poor taste in music, the least important thing is how well he writes. You can have the best writing ability in the world, but if you rate an album like The Satanist a 6.0, maybe you shouldn't be writing reviews.


Who are you to decide who has a good or bad taste in music?

On another note, threads like this are what make me lean towards no numbers... Even if people read a negative review they disagree with (I would bargain a good bunch of the whiners got to whining straight after seeing the score though) if there's no number to disagree with I would think it would foster more interesting conversation about the album itself rather than just "wow only a 6 i would have giveing this album like 10 million points of score reviewer u are dumb and have bad tastes". People would still bitch though don't get me wrong.
Ocean Sage - 13.02.2014 at 06:19  
Worst review ever. Metalstorm please remove this troll trash. It's disgraceful and I'd hate it if someone saw this review and decided not to give this amazing album a chance.
Ace Frawley - 13.02.2014 at 06:37  
No, not the worst review ever. There have been many a lot worse than this. The review is okay, regardless of whether you agree with the wording or the score given. Personally, I think the album deserves a bit better score than 6.0 but if the reviewer only rates it as that, fair enough then. The overall rating by those who have voted has it much higher. I've only listened to the album about four times, so still trying to make my mind up on a score. I think it will be closer to an 8 for me.
wormdrink414 - 13.02.2014 at 07:09  
Written by Ocean Sage on 13.02.2014 at 06:19

Worst review ever. Metalstorm please remove this troll trash. It's disgraceful and I'd hate it if someone saw this review and decided not to give this amazing album a chance.

ooh yeah, tell me more about your feelings, mmmmmmmmmm


Maybe try elaborating on those strong opinions of yours. Otherwise, chances are HIGH no one will care what you think here.
Ace Frawley - 13.02.2014 at 07:16  
Written by wormdrink414 on 13.02.2014 at 07:09

Written by Ocean Sage on 13.02.2014 at 06:19

Worst review ever. Metalstorm please remove this troll trash. It's disgraceful and I'd hate it if someone saw this review and decided not to give this amazing album a chance.

ooh yeah, tell me more about your feelings, mmmmmmmmmm


Maybe try elaborating on those strong opinions of yours. Otherwise, chances are HIGH no one will care what you think here.


hey, where did you get a pic of my g/friend from?
wormdrink414 - 13.02.2014 at 07:18  
Written by Ace Frawley on 13.02.2014 at 07:16

hey, where did you get a pic of my g/friend from?

You mean my girlfriend?
Monolithic - 13.02.2014 at 08:17  
Seriously, if anyone is ever pissed off on any review, just write down your own review or post your opinion in details and present your own impression of the album without getting too comfortable with words like "u suck because you gave the album a 6.0". Not only you're contributing to the discussion in a better, more reliable way, you're also paving the way for self-expression, for heaven's sake.
Daniell - 13.02.2014 at 08:48  
Written by wormdrink414 on 12.02.2014 at 22:33

(I shit on In the Absence ov Light, but when it bangs back into gear after the spoken-word stuff it's not bad at all),


Quote:
"Lucifer" is boring, but goddamn is "Shemhamforash" a neck breaker


Oh well.

"boring 'cause slow"
Yojimbo - 13.02.2014 at 09:12  
I disagree with the review. I enjoyed this album much more than their other recent albums. I don't consider myself a huge fan of Behemoth. I was into Satanica and Thelema6 quite a bit for a few months, but outside of that it's really only been sporadically that I listen to them. They're not one of those bands that I can go back to at anytime. The Satanist is an album that's on a different level from their recent sound (meaning the albums after and including Demigod). They stopped doing that annoying guitar technique, I can't remember what it's called, but it's that high pitched squeal at the end of many riffs. That always bothered me and thankfully I don't recall hearing it on this one. In many songs here there's just the slightest bit of melody, not enough to change their genre, but it shows a higher quality of song writing, imo. This album's not an earth shaker but it's a lot better than a six out of ten. I've went through it now close to ten times. Favorite song is Ora Pro Nobis Lucifer.
wormdrink414 - 13.02.2014 at 09:23  
Written by Daniell on 13.02.2014 at 08:48

Oh well.

"boring 'cause slow"

Yeah, kinda. I'd go with "boring 'cause it's slow Behemoth " though. Not getting where the rewards are for patience with this thing. The more moody and slowed down bits just sound like Behemoth playing Behemoth riffs slowly to me, haven't clicked. Sounds more plasticky and corny than it does evil, been a pain to sit through.
wormdrink414 - 13.02.2014 at 09:35  
Written by Yojimbo on 13.02.2014 at 09:12

They stopped doing that annoying guitar technique, I can't remember what it's called, but it's that high pitched squeal at the end of many riffs. That always bothered me and thankfully I don't recall hearing it on this one. In many songs here there's just the slightest bit of melody, not enough to change their genre, but it shows a higher quality of song writing, imo. This album's not an earth shaker but it's a lot better than a six out of ten. I've went through it now close to ten times. Favorite song is Ora Pro Nobis Lucifer.

Think you mean pinch harmonics. Yeah, agreed about those. Annoying when done a bunch, but they did that style that's xeroxed like hell now really well. Seems like there's less double-bassing and tripleting on this too, but if more of that stuff means less emphasis on build-ups, I'd have probably liked this more.
Yojimbo - 13.02.2014 at 09:44  
Written by wormdrink414 on 13.02.2014 at 09:35

Written by Yojimbo on 13.02.2014 at 09:12

They stopped doing that annoying guitar technique, I can't remember what it's called, but it's that high pitched squeal at the end of many riffs. That always bothered me and thankfully I don't recall hearing it on this one. In many songs here there's just the slightest bit of melody, not enough to change their genre, but it shows a higher quality of song writing, imo. This album's not an earth shaker but it's a lot better than a six out of ten. I've went through it now close to ten times. Favorite song is Ora Pro Nobis Lucifer.

Think you mean pinch harmonics. Yeah, agreed about those. Annoying when done a bunch, but they did that style that's xeroxed like hell now really well. Seems like there's less double-bassing and tripleting on this too, but if more of that stuff means less emphasis on build-ups, I'd have probably liked this more.

You know, I think I like build-ups. It just makes for an epic feeling while listening. Nobody does it better than Primordial. That stir of emotion is important to me. I don't notice it when it's not there but appreciate it when it is. If we mean the same thing, that is.
Ace Frawley - 13.02.2014 at 10:15  
Written by Monolithic on 13.02.2014 at 08:17

Seriously, if anyone is ever pissed off on any review, just write down your own review or post your opinion in details and present your own impression of the album without getting too comfortable with words like "u suck because you gave the album a 6.0". Not only you're contributing to the discussion in a better, more reliable way, you're also paving the way for self-expression, for heaven's sake.


Good point. I did that when I thought the Lamb of God Resolution review was giving a one-sided view of the album.
boo-boo - 13.02.2014 at 10:59  
Written by Yojimbo on 13.02.2014 at 09:12

This album's not an earth shaker but it's a lot better than a six out of ten. I've went through it now close to ten times. Favorite song is Ora Pro Nobis Lucifer.

Finally, someone with an opinion similar to mine (able to sum it up reasonably).
Daniell - 13.02.2014 at 11:33  
Written by Ace Frawley on 13.02.2014 at 07:16

hey, where did you get a pic of my g/friend from?


Sorry you have such an ugly girlfriend

/endtroll
immortal78 - 13.02.2014 at 15:10  
Very good review! Behemoth Anno 2014 is moody and .....funny with its satanistic imaginery. There is a lot of things not discovered yet except that. The Satanist dosnt deserve for the highest rate..
Cynic Metalhead - 13.02.2014 at 15:58  
Written by wormdrink414 on 13.02.2014 at 07:18

Written by Ace Frawley on 13.02.2014 at 07:16

hey, where did you get a pic of my g/friend from?

You mean my girlfriend?


Seriously?

You guys have bad taste in choosing girlfriends.
ParisDimitropoulos - 13.02.2014 at 17:28  
The reviewer is just ingorant...your oppinion is like shit!!!The album is FUCKING great!!!!
!J.O.O.E.! - 13.02.2014 at 17:47  
Written by ParisDimitropoulos on 13.02.2014 at 17:28

The reviewer is just ingorant...your oppinion is like shit!!!The album is FUCKING great!!!!

LEL.
Mr. Doctor - 13.02.2014 at 17:56  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 13.02.2014 at 17:47

Written by ParisDimitropoulos on 13.02.2014 at 17:28

The reviewer is just ingorant...your oppinion is like shit!!!The album is FUCKING great!!!!

LEL.

RAFL.
!J.O.O.E.! - 13.02.2014 at 18:14  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 13.02.2014 at 17:56

RAFL.

https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/2511217550/ralph_wiggum.gif

etc.
Mr. Doctor - 13.02.2014 at 18:15  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 13.02.2014 at 18:14

Written by Mr. Doctor on 13.02.2014 at 17:56

RAFL.

https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/2511217550/ralph_wiggum.gif

etc.


I blew it though, only after 10 mins I thought that the Jurasic Park laughter represented my reaction way better.
Mad Arab666 - 13.02.2014 at 20:01  
93 comments. What this all about then?
blackmamba - 13.02.2014 at 20:08  
Written by Mattybu on 13.02.2014 at 05:09

Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 01:50

It doesn't matter if it's well written or not. When you rate an album, the purpose of the review is to justify that rating, and if the reviewer happens to have a poor taste in music, the least important thing is how well he writes. You can have the best writing ability in the world, but if you rate an album like The Satanist a 6.0, maybe you shouldn't be writing reviews.


Who are you to decide who has a good or bad taste in music?

On another note, threads like this are what make me lean towards no numbers... Even if people read a negative review they disagree with (I would bargain a good bunch of the whiners got to whining straight after seeing the score though) if there's no number to disagree with I would think it would foster more interesting conversation about the album itself rather than just "wow only a 6 i would have giveing this album like 10 million points of score reviewer u are dumb and have bad tastes". People would still bitch though don't get me wrong.



And who is the reviewer to state: "Lucifer is boring" It's the same thing, that's a subjective appreciation.
blackmamba - 13.02.2014 at 20:09  
Written by deadone on 13.02.2014 at 02:57

Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 02:39


Then don't rate the albums, describe the songs, give opinions about the production values, compare the album to the artist's older material, do what you want, but don't rate it, don't give it a number, because like you said it's all subjective. However, there are some albums that are praised by most, and that is the case here, so when you find a guy who rates an album a 6 and practically every other serious reviewer and the majority of fans rate it from 8 to 9.5, you definitely can see something is not clicking.



"Majority of fans" would include all the fanboys/girls who pick up the album at release.

This happens to all bands (e.g. I picked up new Iced Earth as soon as I could cause I'm an IE fanboy).

Fanboys/girls also tend to rate everything highly at release - the excitement of new album by their favourite band obscures any objective assessment of the album.


Next you'll get the people who are into Behemoth to lesser degrees and then casual listeners. The votes will then settle down.

Also once initial hype comes down, the fanboys/girls will also reevaluate their own experience of the album and re-rate it accordingly.

IMO a quality of an album can only truly be assessed about a year after you first heard it:

a.) Initial hype or even initial negative hype has been exhausted.
b.) One should've discovered and explorted all nuances of an album to find their true opinion of album.
c.) Album will prove itself as either a repeat listen or something that was just a fad at the time.



OK they should post the reviews a year later then.
!J.O.O.E.! - 13.02.2014 at 21:02  
We all know that blackmamba wouldn't be having a hissy fit if the album got a good score, just like we all know that if this album was reviewed a year from now he'd whine about it all the same.
Monolithic - 13.02.2014 at 21:03  
Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 20:09

OK they should post the reviews a year later then.

1 year from now and there will be people who would prefer to forget it and there will be people who prefer it over everything released this year so that won't be much of a change.

I'm sorry but I fail to comprehend why all people should think the same about something OR take something too seriously without even knowing what it's all about. If you're going to let media, reviews, people or even the band decide for you to choose your music, you'd pretty much end up without a grip on what you really yearn for in music. I'm not implying it's wrong to follow external sources but it's clearly different from what the people or at least the reviewer thinks here. The principle of reviewing isn't just to wrap up an objective point of view and feed it into anyone's mind, but the presentation of a perspective which is more or less shared or opposed by fellow MSers, occasionally ending up in heated discussions and "u suck" chants to no avail.
Schnabeltier 24 - 13.02.2014 at 21:42  
Everyone (excepted blackmamba maybe) knows that a review is necessarily subjective...
I mean, the reviewer doesn't have to write "in my opinion" at the end of each sentence !

That's the opinion of a person about an album, nobody will kill you if you don't have the same opinion
mz - 13.02.2014 at 21:51  
Jup's review for My Dying Bride is happening all over again.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Behemoth - The Satanist 6 31.05.2013 by Cronomaster
Reviews Behemoth - The Apostasy 5.5 21.12.2008 by Uirapuru
Articles USA, Portland, OR - Behemoth + Watain: The Decibel Magazine Tour 2012 5 28.04.2012 by BlueMobius
Reviews Septycal Gorge - Erase The Insignificant 4.5 30.04.2011 by (((O)))
News Behemoth - Frontman Gives Leukemia The Finger, Released From Hospital 4.5 20.01.2011 by Vombatus



Hits total: 11582 | This month: 214