Rating:
6.0
Behemoth - The Satanist
3 February 2014


Disc I
01. Blow Your Trumpets Gabriel
02. Furor Divinus
03. Messe Noire
04. Ora Pro Nobis Lucifer
05. Amen
06. The Satanist
07. Ben Sahar
08. In The Absence Ov Light
09. O Father O Satan O Sun!
10. Ludzie Wschodu [Siekiera cover] [Australian bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [deluxe box set version]
01. Live Barbarossa
    1 - Intro
    2 - Ov Fire And The Void
    3 - Demigod
    4 - Moonspell Rites
    5 - Conquer All
    6 - Christians To The Lions
    7 - The Seed Ov I
    8 - Alas, Lord Is Upon Me
    9 - Decade Of ΘΕΡΙΟΝ
    10 - At The Left Hand Ov God
    11 - Slaves Shall Serve
    12 - Chant For ΕΣΧΗΑΤΟΝ 2000
    13 - 23 (The Youth Manifesto)
    14 - Lucifer
02. The Satanist: Oblivion


Not too many bands could throw a spoken-word, Kenny G sax muzak thing into the middle of a song called "In The Absence Ov Light" and not get laughed away into obscurity. Behemoth can get away with shit like that. They're just too cool to be dismissed. They sound cool and, with a theatrical sense that rivals well over half a Lady Gaga, they LOOK cool. I mean, I'm not gay, but I'd let Nergal and Orion double team me if they still want to.

The Satanist hasn't changed any of that. The already slightly precarious balance between their style and the substance of their music has changed. Since Thelema they've been making some of the most vicious and furious blackened, anti-Christian death metal around, all with an extravagant dramatic flair. With Evangelion they started emphasizing the evil mood creation bits and the ambient bits of their tunes more than they had before. And that wasn't necessarily a bad thing when it came down to it, but the sheer testosterone of what they'd done on their earlier discs did feel a little watered down.

They did what they do and made it work on Evangelion. "Lucifer" is boring, but goddamn is "Shemhamforash" a neck breaker. That balance is almost completely gone here. The Satanist feels a lot like a bunch of "Lucifer"s. Sure, there's still some DM fury, but it seems to come secondary to all the build-ups. And while the build-ups can sound juicy, they never lead to any kind of exploding that's to be expected from the band that gave us The Apostasy not too long ago.

The extreme bits on this get boring quick. Every time you think, "shit, this is about to get good," songs will peter out and fall back into "just wait for it" mode. It either goes back to what feels a lot like filler, or the faster riffs are bland and melodramatic enough that you'll pine for any of their earlier albums, even the overrated ones like Demigod.

None of this is to say these guys are sounding bad necessarily. The mix is robust and the guys still play tightly; Inferno is still distractingly good at what he does and now the bass gets accented more, so Orion's chops are more audible, Nergal's voice is as powerful as ever, and so on. What they've put together here is tedious enough to surprise even their casual fans, in other words. It sounds like the kind of stuff made for expensive music videos, not the other way around.

Highlight: "Amen"


Band profile: Behemoth
Album: The Satanist


 



Written on 12.02.2014 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he's an American.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments page 3 of 5

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5
Comments: 214  
Users visited: 822  
Search this topic:  


Apothecary - 13.02.2014 at 22:20  
Well this exploded
Mattybu - 13.02.2014 at 22:23  
Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 20:08

"Lucifer is boring" - that's a subjective appreciation.


Duh. What you are having trouble understanding is that (revelation here) different people like different things. Saying someone has "bad taste" is a subjective opinion on your own part, and an opinion which holds no merit because it is founded on you getting your panties in a bunch because someone else doesn't like your favourite album. Talking smack about an experienced reviewer on top just makes you look like a douchebag.
Apothecary - 13.02.2014 at 22:34  
Written by Hex_Omega on 12.02.2014 at 21:40

Everything that is on this album was on previous albums.

Which is why I really don't understand why people are fellating it so much, but different strokes I guess.
Himedal - 13.02.2014 at 23:20  
For Satan's sake... 6?
Ozman - 13.02.2014 at 23:23  
Written by Himedal on 13.02.2014 at 23:20

For Satan's sake... 6?


Yeah, I know, too high
GonzaloNeoxx - 13.02.2014 at 23:37  
Some people like their black metal days, other the blackened days, and the actual days. i like the actual albums more, is far better and more interesting to hear.

if i wanna listen blackened stuff, i have belphegor and his sadistic/evil works, that blows behemoth discography any day.
HumanSpirit - 14.02.2014 at 07:24  
This is why I dont write reviews, I may end up looking like an idiot and pretencious to others.

This album is awesome, in everyway. I dont think it deserves a mere "6" and lot of shit comments, I totally understand that everyone is entitled to their opinion but come on...


On the other hand, they are Behemoth and they can (and will) be the target of mixed comments and manage to keep making awesome music.
HumanSpirit - 14.02.2014 at 07:26  
Written by GonzaloNeoxx on 13.02.2014 at 23:37

Some people like their black metal days, other the blackened days, and the actual days. i like the actual albums more, is far better and more interesting to hear.

if i wanna listen blackened stuff, i have belphegor and his sadistic/evil works, that blows behemoth discography any day.



Truth spoken.


My favorite album is Pandemonic, so this one actually made me happy
NikolaFranquelli - 14.02.2014 at 09:15  
Have a listen to the album again after a week or two. It looks to me that you haven't heard the album at all, otherwise you would talk about it, not about older material. I respect other peoples oppinions, but The Satanist is a very good album. Verzy far from what you wrote here.
wormdrink414 - 14.02.2014 at 09:40  
Written by HumanSpirit on 14.02.2014 at 07:24

This is why I dont write reviews, I may end up looking like an idiot and pretencious to others.

This album is awesome, in everyway. I dont think it deserves a mere "6" and lot of shit comments, I totally understand that everyone is entitled to their opinion but come on...

Basically everyone is entitled to their opinions but, come on, no they aren't.
Big-Al - 14.02.2014 at 10:04  
Written by HumanSpirit on 14.02.2014 at 07:24

This is why I dont write reviews, I may end up looking like an idiot and pretencious to others.

This album is awesome, in everyway. I dont think it deserves a mere "6" and lot of shit comments, I totally understand that everyone is entitled to their opinion but come on...


On the other hand, they are Behemoth and they can (and will) be the target of mixed comments and manage to keep making awesome music.

^yip.

I rate it 10.
Loathera - 14.02.2014 at 10:36  
This is certainly a Behemoth review from a death metal fan. I like that this album is more varied in tempo. There are plenty of bands who just unleash blast beats for 45 minutes and can make it work. I don't think that Behemoth is that band.

I personally enjoy all of Behemoth's albums and while some are definitely better than others, it doesn't make this one less enjoyable to me in anyway. It is a highlight in Behemoth's history, not a black mark.
Cynic Metalhead - 14.02.2014 at 10:58  
Written by HumanSpirit on 14.02.2014 at 07:24

This is why I dont write reviews, I may end up looking like idiot and pretencious to others.

This album is awesome, in everyway. I dont think it deserves a mere "6" and lot of shit comments, I totally understand that everyone is entitled to their opinion but come on...


On the other hand, they are Behemoth and they can (and will) be the target of mixed comments and manage to keep making awesome music.


That's your hypocrisy, man. No one forcing you to write reviews and becoming an idiot. Matter of fact if you're an idiot, we welcome that.

Anyway, you just one of flying-fuck blind fanboys who wants to escalates the score neglecting the level of drowsiness this record went in.

Oh, that's my opinion. I'm entitled to do that.
Nick_3f - 14.02.2014 at 12:03  
After the rating I didn't even tried to read the review. You must be a special one.
Anyone giving less than 10 on this album should be crucified backwards or remake the ''Blow your trumpets Gabriel'' video clip as the victim.
Lethrokai - 14.02.2014 at 13:14  
Written by Nick_3f on 14.02.2014 at 12:03

After the rating I didn't even tried to read the review. You must be a special one.
Anyone giving less than 10 on this album should be crucified backwards or remake the ''Blow your trumpets Gabriel'' video clip as the victim.

Wow... you're really something.

How is it that so many people don't seem to get the idea that "subjectivity" is a thing? There is no such thing as an objectively rated album. Even "legendary" albums may not be for everyone; I definitely know a few that I largely dislike.
Nick_3f - 14.02.2014 at 13:24  
Written by Lethrokai on 14.02.2014 at 13:14

Written by Nick_3f on 14.02.2014 at 12:03

After the rating I didn't even tried to read the review. You must be a special one.
Anyone giving less than 10 on this album should be crucified backwards or remake the ''Blow your trumpets Gabriel'' video clip as the victim.

Wow... you're really something.

How is it that so many people don't seem to get the idea that "subjectivity" is a thing? There is no such thing as an objectively rated album. Even "legendary" albums may not be for everyone; I definitely know a few that I largely dislike.


When you make a review, you should not care about your taste or how positive or negative you are with a band. You should give the general idea to the people if the album worths buying.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.02.2014 at 13:31  
Written by Nick_3f on 14.02.2014 at 13:24

When you make a review, you should not care about your taste or how positive or negative you are with a band. You should give the general idea to the people if the album worths buying.

What a load of bollocks. Whether or not he thinks the album is worth people buying is precisely to do with his taste. Seriously, stop being a crybaby and trying to rationalise this review to mend your bruised ego.
NikolaFranquelli - 14.02.2014 at 13:37  
Http://mulj.net/index.php/recenzije/3520-behemoth-the-satanist

Use google translate, but be ready at a shitty translation.
Nick_3f - 14.02.2014 at 14:26  
BEHEMOTH U.S. Chart Numbers:
Billboard Top 200 - #34
Top Overall Albums - #34
Independent Albums - #6
Current Hard Music - #4
Overall Hard Music - #4
Overall Core Rock - #8
Top Current Rock - #9
iTunes Metal - #3
iTunes Rock - #4
iTunes Top Albums - #24

AND YOU F***ERS RATE IT 6! YOU F***IN KIDDING ME!? AND YOU STILL SUPPORT THIS F***IN REVIEW?
Ozman - 14.02.2014 at 14:47  
Written by Nick_3f on 14.02.2014 at 14:26

BEHEMOTH U.S. Chart Numbers:
Billboard Top 200 - #34
Top Overall Albums - #34
Independent Albums - #6
Current Hard Music - #4
Overall Hard Music - #4
Overall Core Rock - #8
Top Current Rock - #9
iTunes Metal - #3
iTunes Rock - #4
iTunes Top Albums - #24

AND YOU F***ERS RATE IT 6! YOU F***IN KIDDING ME!? AND YOU STILL SUPPORT THIS F***IN REVIEW?


Justin Bieber and Britney SPears has topped many charts, so US chart positions, or position on any other chart form any other country doesn't say a thing. It doesn't say how good an album is, just how well it sold. That's it.

And tbh I don't support this review for imo this review is way too positive about this Behemoth album.
Cynic Metalhead - 14.02.2014 at 14:49  
Please give some unadulterated milk to Nick to bring down his blood pressure.
Alex Fenger - 14.02.2014 at 14:52  
Written by Nick_3f on 14.02.2014 at 14:26

BEHEMOTH U.S. Chart Numbers:
Billboard Top 200 - #34
Top Overall Albums - #34
Independent Albums - #6
Current Hard Music - #4
Overall Hard Music - #4
Overall Core Rock - #8
Top Current Rock - #9
iTunes Metal - #3
iTunes Rock - #4
iTunes Top Albums - #24

AND YOU F***ERS RATE IT 6! YOU F***IN KIDDING ME!? AND YOU STILL SUPPORT THIS F***IN REVIEW?

If we use your methodology for rating albums then every Justin Bieber album should be getting a 10 on Metal Storm. Seriously, when are people going to learn that reviews are basically the equivalent of an opinion-based article. If you don't like the score, explain why and move on.
Nick_3f - 14.02.2014 at 15:07  
Never mind. I found the reason of this review.
http://www.metalinjection.net/latest-news/behemoths-nergal-thinks-the-majority-of-u-s-death-metal-bands-are-boring-and-generic

No need to complain anymore. You can support US bands with more effort and leave the Polish guy sell in Europe.
Sorry for being cruel. Business is business. I didnt know.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.02.2014 at 15:23  
Written by Nick_3f on 14.02.2014 at 15:07

Never mind. I found the reason of this review.
http://www.metalinjection.net/latest-news/behemoths-nergal-thinks-the-majority-of-u-s-death-metal-bands-are-boring-and-generic

No need to complain anymore. You can support US bands with more effort and leave the Polish guy sell in Europe.
Sorry for being cruel. Business is business. I didnt know.

all the article is is a giant pile of irony because Behemoth fall under the "boring and generic" notion that Nergal was himself taking about.
Karlabos - 14.02.2014 at 15:26  
I agree with Nergal on that thought. And add his band to the set of bands in concern :p
Carrion Misery - 14.02.2014 at 17:15  
Written by Daniell on 12.02.2014 at 21:10

Written by Carrion Misery on 12.02.2014 at 20:55

I like every song on the album. After listening to the CD more than 10 times, each song absolutely has it's own personality. Anyone who says all the songs sound like the first track or Lucifer, clearly didn't listen to the CD. I appreciate The Satanist in it's entirety due to actual song writing, the dark as fuck atmosphere and musical execution.


Well said. Your words pretty much sum up what I think.

But to some people it'll suck, because the songs aren't fast enough. I remember people complaining about Slayer's South of Heaven in a similar way.


Yeah, this has crazy mixed reviews. It only proves to me that no one's opinion matters, but your own. Otherwise you'll stress yourself out over something that is supposed to take stress away. Behemoth revisited some old sounds, mixed them with the new, and made it dark & sinister. That is good fuckin metal to me.
mz - 14.02.2014 at 17:32  
Written by Nick_3f on 14.02.2014 at 15:07

Never mind. I found the reason of this review.
http://www.metalinjection.net/latest-news/behemoths-nergal-thinks-the-majority-of-u-s-death-metal-bands-are-boring-and-generic

No need to complain anymore. You can support US bands with more effort and leave the Polish guy sell in Europe.
Sorry for being cruel. Business is business. I didnt know.

what's so wrong with you? Stop acting like a crying fanboy and get your head out of your ass. All that you've said up to now is so ridiculous that I initially doubted if you are serious or not. Here is not Behemoth's fan club and people, including reviewers are allowed to have different opinion form yours. If you think that this review sucks, please explain why and do not bring up something in the vein of your popularity based logic (??) and irrelevant articles elaborated with more of your nonsense. I'd personally find this review very well written and will give this record 5.5.
Boxcar Willy - 14.02.2014 at 17:41  
I leave for two days and this is what happens.
Mork Beskytter - 14.02.2014 at 19:11  
Reading this has entertained me to no end. Its funny how people get so angry about one persons opinion as if they are speaking for the masses.
Daniell - 14.02.2014 at 22:16  
Quote:
With Evangelion they started emphasizing the evil mood creation bits and the ambient bits of their tunes more than they had before. And that wasn't necessarily a bad thing when it came down to it, but the sheer testosterone of what they'd done on their earlier discs did feel a little watered down.

Chances are, you'll grow to appreciate The Satanist, because your tastes aren't set in stone:
Written by wormdrink414 on 23.11.2009 at 06:17

I am now convinced that this is Behemoth's best. It'll be getting my vote for album of the year no doubt.
LascaillesShroud - 14.02.2014 at 23:32  
A lot sure has transpired over this review, I have a feeling this will be one to remember for awhile for sure. I knew from the moment I found this album to score a 100% in my book that others would think the opposite. Are people worried it will tarnish the reputation of the album? If so, aren't the scores of other highly-praising reviews for this album more than enough to balance this *one* bad review?
Karlabos - 14.02.2014 at 23:42  
I'm gonna vote for this review for drama of the year in the next February.
Opethian - 14.02.2014 at 23:48  
These guys got really old for me after DEMIGOD ...
Góral - 15.02.2014 at 00:43  
Written by HumanSpirit on 14.02.2014 at 07:24

This is why I dont write reviews, I may end up looking like an idiot and pretencious to others.

Come on man, this is not a beauty contest - you don't have to worry about looking good. Feel free to be yourself, but don't insult others. I think some could feel offended, especially reviewer. Everyone is entitled to their own taste, think about it.
siyah - 15.02.2014 at 03:08  
Having read that review, my honest opinion is that the reviewer did not listen this album in one take, or was doing something else and the album was playing on the background. And reviewing an album that is strongly based on the atmosphere, in a song by song or even a riff by riff manner is imo not the most prefarable way.
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.02.2014 at 10:45  
Written by siyah on 15.02.2014 at 03:08

Having read that review, my honest opinion is that the reviewer did not listen this album in one take, or was doing something else and the album was playing on the background. And reviewing an album that is strongly based on the atmosphere, in a song by song or even a riff by riff manner is imo not the most prefarable way.

More rationalisation by people who are bothered by the existence of this review and want to make themselves feel better about it by making up nonsense in their own head.
Daniell - 15.02.2014 at 11:50  
I seems that some people register on Metalstorm for the sole purpose of complaining about the rating this album got. I'm not sure whether it's funny, or crazy. Or both.
Monolithic - 15.02.2014 at 13:28  
Written by Daniell on 15.02.2014 at 11:50

I seems that some people register on Metalstorm for the sole purpose of complaining about the rating this album got. I'm not sure whether it's funny, or crazy. Or both.

Honestly, I find it both, whether the rating seems low or high to MSers.
LascaillesShroud - 15.02.2014 at 16:45  
Despite my high praise of the album I kind of wish to see what would happen if the album got like a 4
Vombatus - 15.02.2014 at 17:35  
Written by LascaillesShroud on 15.02.2014 at 16:45

Despite my high praise of the album I kind of wish to see what would happen if the album got like a 4


The same thing most likely. Those whining about the rating probably think anything under 8 = shit (a common conception on MS it seems ).
I think 6 is quite a bit for this. After all it means it is decent, though the review suggests something worse.
Cynic Metalhead - 15.02.2014 at 20:34  
Written by LascaillesShroud on 15.02.2014 at 16:45

Despite my high praise of the album I kind of wish to see what would happen if the album got like a 4


You guessed the Marcel's rating.

Jackpot.
Ozman - 15.02.2014 at 21:27  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 15.02.2014 at 20:34

Written by LascaillesShroud on 15.02.2014 at 16:45

Despite my high praise of the album I kind of wish to see what would happen if the album got like a 4


You guessed the Marcel's rating.

Jackpot.


Nope, he didn't. I rated it 5
Ace Frawley - 15.02.2014 at 22:40  
My rating has increased to an 8. I'm now a big fan of the vocals on this album, as well as the drumming and guitars. And to think, if there wasn't all this attention, I never would have discovered Behemoth. I'm very late in discovering them. But as they say, better late than never. Favourite track is probably "Ora Pro Nobis Lucifer".
blackmamba - 17.02.2014 at 04:47  
Written by Mattybu on 13.02.2014 at 22:23

Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 20:08

"Lucifer is boring" - that's a subjective appreciation.


Duh. What you are having trouble understanding is that (revelation here) different people like different things. Saying someone has "bad taste" is a subjective opinion on your own part, and an opinion which holds no merit because it is founded on you getting your panties in a bunch because someone else doesn't like your favourite album. Talking smack about an experienced reviewer on top just makes you look like a douchebag.


I don't care if someone likes or doesn't like the album as long as what they say is reasonable, but the review is a joke, but hey you can keep kissing this guy's ass I don't give a fuck.
Troy Killjoy - 17.02.2014 at 04:53  
Written by blackmamba on 17.02.2014 at 04:47
I don't give a fuck.

Considering the amount of comments you've posted in this thread, I think at least a small part of you cares.
Boxcar Willy - 17.02.2014 at 05:23  
Written by blackmamba on 17.02.2014 at 04:47

...but hey you can keep kissing this guy's ass I don't give a fuck.

Aaaaaaaand you can keep taking Nergal's dick.


What makes your comments any different?


________


Also, I still haven't listened to this
Apothecary - 17.02.2014 at 06:25  
After reading all these comments, there's only one thing I can say to all the people who are pissed: make your own review. Seriously, if you don't agree with the 6 that George gave this, then write your own review explaining (logically, not in an immature fanboy sort of way) why this album is so good and why it stuck with you. However, I doubt this will happen, because most people who are butthurt about this seem to just want to bitch about how upset they are that the Staff didn't give their favorite album a high score, rather than taking the time to actually work towards giving a good counteropinion. If you want us to respect your opinion more, offer a worthy written explanation. When you come across as saying "this review sucks because I don't agree with it," you make yourself look like nothing more than a whiny child.
Daniell - 17.02.2014 at 09:24  
This kind of reminds me of my reviews of Kamelot and Dream Theater a few years back. Pages and pages of people angry because my rating was low
NikolaFranquelli - 17.02.2014 at 10:21  
Written by Daniell on 17.02.2014 at 09:24

This kind of reminds me of my reviews of Kamelot and Dream Theater a few years back. Pages and pages of people angry because my rating was low



The peoples voice.
zwitek - 17.02.2014 at 17:16  
Written by Apothecary on 17.02.2014 at 06:25

After reading all these comments, there's only one thing I can say to all the people who are pissed: make your own review. Seriously, if you don't agree with the 6 that George gave this, then write your own review explaining (logically, not in an immature fanboy sort of way) why this album is so good and why it stuck with you. However, I doubt this will happen, because most people who are butthurt about this seem to just want to bitch about how upset they are that the Staff didn't give their favorite album a high score, rather than taking the time to actually work towards giving a good counteropinion. If you want us to respect your opinion more, offer a worthy written explanation. When you come across as saying "this review sucks because I don't agree with it," you make yourself look like nothing more than a whiny child.

I love to spend my time with this album and I don't compare it to neither their previous work or any other present on the market. I just fully enjoy its sound without going deep into the technical bull-shit language of some reviewers. This is what music should be about. A pleasure. In terms of pleasure I am rating this album 8/10. End of story!

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Behemoth - The Satanist 6 31.05.2013 by Cronomaster
Articles USA, Portland, OR - Behemoth + Watain: The Decibel Magazine Tour 2012 5 28.04.2012 by BlueMobius
Reviews SSS - Problems To The Answer 4.5 04.08.2011 by K†ulu
Albums Behemoth - And The Forests Dream Eternally [EP] 4.5 25.10.2013 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Gama Bomb - The Terror Tapes 4.5 22.06.2013 by Rulatore



Hits total: 11618 | This month: 250