Behemoth - The Satanist review



Reviewer:
6.0

750 users:
8.36
Band: Behemoth
Album: The Satanist
Release date: February 2014


Disc I
01. Blow Your Trumpets Gabriel
02. Furor Divinus
03. Messe Noire
04. Ora Pro Nobis Lucifer
05. Amen
06. The Satanist
07. Ben Sahar
08. In The Absence Ov Light
09. O Father O Satan O Sun!
10. Ludzie Wschodu [Siekiera cover] [Australian bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [deluxe box set version]
01. Live Barbarossa
    1 - Intro
    2 - Ov Fire And The Void
    3 - Demigod
    4 - Moonspell Rites
    5 - Conquer All
    6 - Christians To The Lions
    7 - The Seed Ov I
    8 - Alas, Lord Is Upon Me
    9 - Decade Of ΘΕΡΙΟΝ
    10 - At The Left Hand Ov God
    11 - Slaves Shall Serve
    12 - Chant For ΕΣΧΗΑΤΟΝ 2000
    13 - 23 (The Youth Manifesto)
    14 - Lucifer
02. The Satanist: Oblivion


Not too many bands could throw a spoken-word, Kenny G sax muzak thing into the middle of a song called "In The Absence Ov Light" and not get laughed away into obscurity. Behemoth can get away with shit like that. They're just too cool to be dismissed. They sound cool and, with a theatrical sense that rivals well over half a Lady Gaga, they LOOK cool. I mean, I'm not gay, but I'd let Nergal and Orion double team me if they still want to.

The Satanist hasn't changed any of that. The already slightly precarious balance between their style and the substance of their music has changed. Since Thelema they've been making some of the most vicious and furious blackened, anti-Christian death metal around, all with an extravagant dramatic flair. With Evangelion they started emphasizing the evil mood creation bits and the ambient bits of their tunes more than they had before. And that wasn't necessarily a bad thing when it came down to it, but the sheer testosterone of what they'd done on their earlier discs did feel a little watered down.

They did what they do and made it work on Evangelion. "Lucifer" is boring, but goddamn is "Shemhamforash" a neck breaker. That balance is almost completely gone here. The Satanist feels a lot like a bunch of "Lucifer"s. Sure, there's still some DM fury, but it seems to come secondary to all the build-ups. And while the build-ups can sound juicy, they never lead to any kind of exploding that's to be expected from the band that gave us The Apostasy not too long ago.

The extreme bits on this get boring quick. Every time you think, "shit, this is about to get good," songs will peter out and fall back into "just wait for it" mode. It either goes back to what feels a lot like filler, or the faster riffs are bland and melodramatic enough that you'll pine for any of their earlier albums, even the overrated ones like Demigod.

None of this is to say these guys are sounding bad necessarily. The mix is robust and the guys still play tightly; Inferno is still distractingly good at what he does and now the bass gets accented more, so Orion's chops are more audible, Nergal's voice is as powerful as ever, and so on. What they've put together here is tedious enough to surprise even their casual fans, in other words. It sounds like the kind of stuff made for expensive music videos, not the other way around.

Highlight: "Amen"


 



Written on 12.02.2014 by Wormdrink's real name is George and he's an American.

Guest review by
flightoficarus
Rating:
10
What's my favorite scary movie? The Shining. With its subtle, psychological terror and slow-build that only Kubrick can pull off, it's a masterpiece. Sure, I get down with the gore-ridden creature features too. Everything from Evil Dead to Friday the 13th is cool in my book. Why is this relevant? Aliens. Okay, now you are more confused. Let me elaborate further. I think a lot of long-time fans come to a Behemoth album expecting a certain level of violence. Demigod, Thelema.6, Zos Kia Cultus; these classics are the "Aliens" of the Behemoth discography. Explosions, flame-throwers, disembowelment, "Game over man, game over!" I'm right with you, popcorn ready. The Satanist, on the other hand, is "Alien." Swarms of xenomorphs are replaced with a single, lurking threat in the shadows. The emphasis is on tension as each innocent is picked off one by one and dragged to their grim (and unseen) demise. While both styles are equally valid, I find the imagination to be a far darker place than anything directly fed to my senses.

Read more ››
published 09.02.2015 | Comments (42)


Comments page 4 / 8

Comments: 214   Visited by: 916 users
13.02.2014 - 20:01
Mad Arab666
93 comments. What this all about then?
----
One does not simply rock into Blashyrkh
Loading...
13.02.2014 - 20:08
blackmamba
Written by Mattybu on 13.02.2014 at 05:09

Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 01:50

It doesn't matter if it's well written or not. When you rate an album, the purpose of the review is to justify that rating, and if the reviewer happens to have a poor taste in music, the least important thing is how well he writes. You can have the best writing ability in the world, but if you rate an album like The Satanist a 6.0, maybe you shouldn't be writing reviews.


Who are you to decide who has a good or bad taste in music?

On another note, threads like this are what make me lean towards no numbers... Even if people read a negative review they disagree with (I would bargain a good bunch of the whiners got to whining straight after seeing the score though) if there's no number to disagree with I would think it would foster more interesting conversation about the album itself rather than just "wow only a 6 i would have giveing this album like 10 million points of score reviewer u are dumb and have bad tastes". People would still bitch though don't get me wrong.



And who is the reviewer to state: "Lucifer is boring" It's the same thing, that's a subjective appreciation.
Loading...
13.02.2014 - 20:09
blackmamba
Written by deadone on 13.02.2014 at 02:57

Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 02:39


Then don't rate the albums, describe the songs, give opinions about the production values, compare the album to the artist's older material, do what you want, but don't rate it, don't give it a number, because like you said it's all subjective. However, there are some albums that are praised by most, and that is the case here, so when you find a guy who rates an album a 6 and practically every other serious reviewer and the majority of fans rate it from 8 to 9.5, you definitely can see something is not clicking.



"Majority of fans" would include all the fanboys/girls who pick up the album at release.

This happens to all bands (e.g. I picked up new Iced Earth as soon as I could cause I'm an IE fanboy).

Fanboys/girls also tend to rate everything highly at release - the excitement of new album by their favourite band obscures any objective assessment of the album.


Next you'll get the people who are into Behemoth to lesser degrees and then casual listeners. The votes will then settle down.

Also once initial hype comes down, the fanboys/girls will also reevaluate their own experience of the album and re-rate it accordingly.

IMO a quality of an album can only truly be assessed about a year after you first heard it:

a.) Initial hype or even initial negative hype has been exhausted.
b.) One should've discovered and explorted all nuances of an album to find their true opinion of album.
c.) Album will prove itself as either a repeat listen or something that was just a fad at the time.



OK they should post the reviews a year later then.
Loading...
13.02.2014 - 21:02
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
We all know that blackmamba wouldn't be having a hissy fit if the album got a good score, just like we all know that if this album was reviewed a year from now he'd whine about it all the same.
Loading...
13.02.2014 - 21:03
Monolithic
♠♠♠
Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 20:09

OK they should post the reviews a year later then.

1 year from now and there will be people who would prefer to forget it and there will be people who prefer it over everything released this year so that won't be much of a change.

I'm sorry but I fail to comprehend why all people should think the same about something OR take something too seriously without even knowing what it's all about. If you're going to let media, reviews, people or even the band decide for you to choose your music, you'd pretty much end up without a grip on what you really yearn for in music. I'm not implying it's wrong to follow external sources but it's clearly different from what the people or at least the reviewer thinks here. The principle of reviewing isn't just to wrap up an objective point of view and feed it into anyone's mind, but the presentation of a perspective which is more or less shared or opposed by fellow MSers, occasionally ending up in heated discussions and "u suck" chants to no avail.
Loading...
13.02.2014 - 21:42
Schnabeltier 24
Everyone (excepted blackmamba maybe) knows that a review is necessarily subjective...
I mean, the reviewer doesn't have to write "in my opinion" at the end of each sentence !

That's the opinion of a person about an album, nobody will kill you if you don't have the same opinion
----
Hey there, tiny wench !
Loading...
13.02.2014 - 21:51
mz
Jup's review for My Dying Bride is happening all over again.
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...
13.02.2014 - 22:20
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Well this exploded
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
13.02.2014 - 22:23
Mattybu
Written by blackmamba on 13.02.2014 at 20:08

"Lucifer is boring" - that's a subjective appreciation.


Duh. What you are having trouble understanding is that (revelation here) different people like different things. Saying someone has "bad taste" is a subjective opinion on your own part, and an opinion which holds no merit because it is founded on you getting your panties in a bunch because someone else doesn't like your favourite album. Talking smack about an experienced reviewer on top just makes you look like a douchebag.
Loading...
13.02.2014 - 22:34
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Hex_Omega on 12.02.2014 at 21:40

Everything that is on this album was on previous albums.

Which is why I really don't understand why people are fellating it so much, but different strokes I guess.
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
13.02.2014 - 23:20
Himedal
For Satan's sake... 6?
----
What goes by is life to be taken
The doom calls upon the forsaken
Loading...
13.02.2014 - 23:23
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Himedal on 13.02.2014 at 23:20

For Satan's sake... 6?


Yeah, I know, too high
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
13.02.2014 - 23:37
Neoxx07
Some people like their black metal days, other the blackened days, and the actual days. i like the actual albums more, is far better and more interesting to hear.

if i wanna listen blackened stuff, i have belphegor and his sadistic/evil works, that blows behemoth discography any day.
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 07:24
HumanSpirit
This is why I dont write reviews, I may end up looking like an idiot and pretencious to others.

This album is awesome, in everyway. I dont think it deserves a mere "6" and lot of shit comments, I totally understand that everyone is entitled to their opinion but come on...


On the other hand, they are Behemoth and they can (and will) be the target of mixed comments and manage to keep making awesome music.
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 07:26
HumanSpirit
Written by Neoxx07 on 13.02.2014 at 23:37

Some people like their black metal days, other the blackened days, and the actual days. i like the actual albums more, is far better and more interesting to hear.

if i wanna listen blackened stuff, i have belphegor and his sadistic/evil works, that blows behemoth discography any day.



Truth spoken.


My favorite album is Pandemonic, so this one actually made me happy
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 09:15
NikolaFranquelli
Account deleted
Have a listen to the album again after a week or two. It looks to me that you haven't heard the album at all, otherwise you would talk about it, not about older material. I respect other peoples oppinions, but The Satanist is a very good album. Verzy far from what you wrote here.
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 09:40
wormdrink414
Written by HumanSpirit on 14.02.2014 at 07:24

This is why I dont write reviews, I may end up looking like an idiot and pretencious to others.

This album is awesome, in everyway. I dont think it deserves a mere "6" and lot of shit comments, I totally understand that everyone is entitled to their opinion but come on...

Basically everyone is entitled to their opinions but, come on, no they aren't.
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 10:04
Big-Al
Written by HumanSpirit on 14.02.2014 at 07:24

This is why I dont write reviews, I may end up looking like an idiot and pretencious to others.

This album is awesome, in everyway. I dont think it deserves a mere "6" and lot of shit comments, I totally understand that everyone is entitled to their opinion but come on...


On the other hand, they are Behemoth and they can (and will) be the target of mixed comments and manage to keep making awesome music.

^yip.

I rate it 10.
----


I drink moosepiss
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 10:36
Svneatr
Vitharr
This is certainly a Behemoth review from a death metal fan. I like that this album is more varied in tempo. There are plenty of bands who just unleash blast beats for 45 minutes and can make it work. I don't think that Behemoth is that band.

I personally enjoy all of Behemoth's albums and while some are definitely better than others, it doesn't make this one less enjoyable to me in anyway. It is a highlight in Behemoth's history, not a black mark.
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 10:58
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Written by HumanSpirit on 14.02.2014 at 07:24

This is why I dont write reviews, I may end up looking like idiot and pretencious to others.

This album is awesome, in everyway. I dont think it deserves a mere "6" and lot of shit comments, I totally understand that everyone is entitled to their opinion but come on...


On the other hand, they are Behemoth and they can (and will) be the target of mixed comments and manage to keep making awesome music.


That's your hypocrisy, man. No one forcing you to write reviews and becoming an idiot. Matter of fact if you're an idiot, we welcome that.

Anyway, you just one of flying-fuck blind fanboys who wants to escalates the score neglecting the level of drowsiness this record went in.

Oh, that's my opinion. I'm entitled to do that.
----
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 12:03
Nick_3f
After the rating I didn't even tried to read the review. You must be a special one.
Anyone giving less than 10 on this album should be crucified backwards or remake the ''Blow your trumpets Gabriel'' video clip as the victim.
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 13:14
Lethrokai
Written by Nick_3f on 14.02.2014 at 12:03

After the rating I didn't even tried to read the review. You must be a special one.
Anyone giving less than 10 on this album should be crucified backwards or remake the ''Blow your trumpets Gabriel'' video clip as the victim.

Wow... you're really something.

How is it that so many people don't seem to get the idea that "subjectivity" is a thing? There is no such thing as an objectively rated album. Even "legendary" albums may not be for everyone; I definitely know a few that I largely dislike.
----
Sometimes you just need to roll the dice and look away.
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 13:24
Nick_3f
Written by Lethrokai on 14.02.2014 at 13:14

Written by Nick_3f on 14.02.2014 at 12:03

After the rating I didn't even tried to read the review. You must be a special one.
Anyone giving less than 10 on this album should be crucified backwards or remake the ''Blow your trumpets Gabriel'' video clip as the victim.

Wow... you're really something.

How is it that so many people don't seem to get the idea that "subjectivity" is a thing? There is no such thing as an objectively rated album. Even "legendary" albums may not be for everyone; I definitely know a few that I largely dislike.


When you make a review, you should not care about your taste or how positive or negative you are with a band. You should give the general idea to the people if the album worths buying.
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 13:31
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Nick_3f on 14.02.2014 at 13:24

When you make a review, you should not care about your taste or how positive or negative you are with a band. You should give the general idea to the people if the album worths buying.

What a load of bollocks. Whether or not he thinks the album is worth people buying is precisely to do with his taste. Seriously, stop being a crybaby and trying to rationalise this review to mend your bruised ego.
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 13:37
NikolaFranquelli
Account deleted
Http://mulj.net/index.php/recenzije/3520-behemoth-the-satanist

Use google translate, but be ready at a shitty translation.
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 14:26
Nick_3f
BEHEMOTH U.S. Chart Numbers:
Billboard Top 200 - #34
Top Overall Albums - #34
Independent Albums - #6
Current Hard Music - #4
Overall Hard Music - #4
Overall Core Rock - #8
Top Current Rock - #9
iTunes Metal - #3
iTunes Rock - #4
iTunes Top Albums - #24

AND YOU F***ERS RATE IT 6! YOU F***IN KIDDING ME!? AND YOU STILL SUPPORT THIS F***IN REVIEW?
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 14:47
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Nick_3f on 14.02.2014 at 14:26

BEHEMOTH U.S. Chart Numbers:
Billboard Top 200 - #34
Top Overall Albums - #34
Independent Albums - #6
Current Hard Music - #4
Overall Hard Music - #4
Overall Core Rock - #8
Top Current Rock - #9
iTunes Metal - #3
iTunes Rock - #4
iTunes Top Albums - #24

AND YOU F***ERS RATE IT 6! YOU F***IN KIDDING ME!? AND YOU STILL SUPPORT THIS F***IN REVIEW?


Justin Bieber and Britney SPears has topped many charts, so US chart positions, or position on any other chart form any other country doesn't say a thing. It doesn't say how good an album is, just how well it sold. That's it.

And tbh I don't support this review for imo this review is way too positive about this Behemoth album.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
14.02.2014 - 14:49
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Please give some unadulterated milk to Nick to bring down his blood pressure.
----
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 14:52
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Written by Nick_3f on 14.02.2014 at 14:26

BEHEMOTH U.S. Chart Numbers:
Billboard Top 200 - #34
Top Overall Albums - #34
Independent Albums - #6
Current Hard Music - #4
Overall Hard Music - #4
Overall Core Rock - #8
Top Current Rock - #9
iTunes Metal - #3
iTunes Rock - #4
iTunes Top Albums - #24

AND YOU F***ERS RATE IT 6! YOU F***IN KIDDING ME!? AND YOU STILL SUPPORT THIS F***IN REVIEW?

If we use your methodology for rating albums then every Justin Bieber album should be getting a 10 on Metal Storm. Seriously, when are people going to learn that reviews are basically the equivalent of an opinion-based article. If you don't like the score, explain why and move on.
Loading...
14.02.2014 - 15:07
Nick_3f
Never mind. I found the reason of this review.
http://www.metalinjection.net/latest-news/behemoths-nergal-thinks-the-majority-of-u-s-death-metal-bands-are-boring-and-generic

No need to complain anymore. You can support US bands with more effort and leave the Polish guy sell in Europe.
Sorry for being cruel. Business is business. I didnt know.
Loading...

Hits total: 14840 | This month: 78