Rating:
6.0
Behemoth - The Satanist
3 February 2014


Disc I
01. Blow Your Trumpets Gabriel
02. Furor Divinus
03. Messe Noire
04. Ora Pro Nobis Lucifer
05. Amen
06. The Satanist
07. Ben Sahar
08. In The Absence Ov Light
09. O Father O Satan O Sun!
10. Ludzie Wschodu [Siekiera cover] [Australian bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [deluxe box set version]
01. Live Barbarossa
    1 - Intro
    2 - Ov Fire And The Void
    3 - Demigod
    4 - Moonspell Rites
    5 - Conquer All
    6 - Christians To The Lions
    7 - The Seed Ov I
    8 - Alas, Lord Is Upon Me
    9 - Decade Of ΘΕΡΙΟΝ
    10 - At The Left Hand Ov God
    11 - Slaves Shall Serve
    12 - Chant For ΕΣΧΗΑΤΟΝ 2000
    13 - 23 (The Youth Manifesto)
    14 - Lucifer
02. The Satanist: Oblivion


Not too many bands could throw a spoken-word, Kenny G sax muzak thing into the middle of a song called "In The Absence Ov Light" and not get laughed away into obscurity. Behemoth can get away with shit like that. They're just too cool to be dismissed. They sound cool and, with a theatrical sense that rivals well over half a Lady Gaga, they LOOK cool. I mean, I'm not gay, but I'd let Nergal and Orion double team me if they still want to.

The Satanist hasn't changed any of that. The already slightly precarious balance between their style and the substance of their music has changed. Since Thelema they've been making some of the most vicious and furious blackened, anti-Christian death metal around, all with an extravagant dramatic flair. With Evangelion they started emphasizing the evil mood creation bits and the ambient bits of their tunes more than they had before. And that wasn't necessarily a bad thing when it came down to it, but the sheer testosterone of what they'd done on their earlier discs did feel a little watered down.

They did what they do and made it work on Evangelion. "Lucifer" is boring, but goddamn is "Shemhamforash" a neck breaker. That balance is almost completely gone here. The Satanist feels a lot like a bunch of "Lucifer"s. Sure, there's still some DM fury, but it seems to come secondary to all the build-ups. And while the build-ups can sound juicy, they never lead to any kind of exploding that's to be expected from the band that gave us The Apostasy not too long ago.

The extreme bits on this get boring quick. Every time you think, "shit, this is about to get good," songs will peter out and fall back into "just wait for it" mode. It either goes back to what feels a lot like filler, or the faster riffs are bland and melodramatic enough that you'll pine for any of their earlier albums, even the overrated ones like Demigod.

None of this is to say these guys are sounding bad necessarily. The mix is robust and the guys still play tightly; Inferno is still distractingly good at what he does and now the bass gets accented more, so Orion's chops are more audible, Nergal's voice is as powerful as ever, and so on. What they've put together here is tedious enough to surprise even their casual fans, in other words. It sounds like the kind of stuff made for expensive music videos, not the other way around.

Highlight: "Amen"


Band profile: Behemoth
Album: The Satanist


 



Written on 12.02.2014 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments page 4 of 5

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5
Comments: 214  
Users visited: 810  
Search this topic:  


mz - 17.02.2014 at 19:12  
Written by blackmamba on 17.02.2014 at 04:47


I don't care if someone likes or doesn't like the album as long as what they say is reasonable, but the review is a joke...

Why this review is a joke?
Winterthrone - 17.02.2014 at 20:50  
I have nothing to say about the rating because it's an opinion, but this review is just really bad: Not well written (no real intro, overall it looks like a review written by an elementary school kid when you read it), containing a lot of unexplained remarks. Overall the author only makes one negative point (the point about build ups and atmospheric side) but repeats over and over for the rest of the review. I did a french review of THe Satanist for Ondes Chocs and I always listen to the albums I review at least 10 times to be sure I haven't missed anything and take time to explain each of my statements...Some have not the same work ethic.
Winterthrone - 17.02.2014 at 20:59  
Anyway it seems to me that MS has become a shelter for frustrated hipsters that only love being pretentious and take a shit on what real metal fans love. It is true to say that being high on the charts doesn't mean you are good, but when a vast majority of Metal fans agree on an album well it surely means there is at least one thing that's good about that album that makes it above average. You have to leave a part of your personal tastes aside to be a good reviewer and you have to know what will please Metal fans in general.
Winterthrone - 17.02.2014 at 21:05  
Your site reviewers gave 7,6 to some really average speed metal and 6 to Behemoth's most accomplished album to date. Ridiculous. You have to rethink your concept.
-+
Karlabos - 17.02.2014 at 21:11  
Written by Winterthrone on 17.02.2014 at 21:05

Your site reviewers gave 7,6 to some really average speed metal and 6 to Behemoth's most accomplished album to date. Ridiculous. You have to rethink your concept.
-+

"Average" is a relative concept. "Accomplished" also is relative. Some people will think some things are average, some will think the same is awesome.
I guess you mean that the official reviewers should have ranked this higher because it's on top lists on everywhere else? Well, there are some sites/magazines that indeed overrate the most popular bands, where often there's money involved and stuff, but here on this site one can see that the reviewers prefer to point out their true opinion.
Personally, I'd stick with this site's concept.

Written by Winterthrone on 17.02.2014 at 20:59

Anyway it seems to me that MS has become a shelter for frustrated hipsters that only love being pretentious and take a shit on what real metal fans love.

define "real" metal fans.

Written by Winterthrone on 17.02.2014 at 20:59

It is true to say that being high on the charts doesn't mean you are good, but when a vast majority of Metal fans agree on an album well it surely means there is at least one thing that's good about that album that makes it above average.

So basically we should listen to what everyone else does... Because they say it's good?

Written by Winterthrone on 17.02.2014 at 20:59

You have to leave a part of your personal tastes aside to be a good reviewer and you have to know what will please Metal fans in general.

There are some places where reviews are made in an impartial way, and that's actually pretty cool, not everyone could review like that. But here on this site, the personal opinion is taken in concern when reviewing. And I disagree with the part "you have to know what will please Metal fans in general", no one is trying to sell anything here, so no need for merchandising. If most metal fans disagree with the reviewers opinion, then what? It just means the reviewer has a different opinion than most metal fans.
zwitek - 17.02.2014 at 21:20  
Written by Nick_3f on 14.02.2014 at 15:07

Never mind. I found the reason of this review.
http://www.metalinjection.net/latest-news/behemoths-nergal-thinks-the-majority-of-u-s-death-metal-bands-are-boring-and-generic

No need to complain anymore. You can support US bands with more effort and leave the Polish guy sell in Europe.
Sorry for being cruel. Business is business. I didnt know.

Fully agree with this. The fact that Nergal said this must have got stuck like a peg in a Yankee's arse
BitterCOld - 17.02.2014 at 22:38  
This thread is increasingly hilarious.

amazing how many people confuse their opinion (or mass/popular opinion) with fact. music is objective. individual mileage will vary. someone's opinion doesn't match yours. it's hilarious to see people fly off the handle.

pathetic.
zwitek - 17.02.2014 at 23:15  
"Not too many bands could throw a spoken-word, Kenny G sax muzak thing into the middle of a song called "In The Absence Ov Light" and not get laughed away into obscurity. Behemoth can get away with shit like that. They're just too cool to be dismissed. They sound cool and, with a theatrical sense that rivals well over half a Lady Gaga, they LOOK cool. I mean, I'm not gay, but I'd let Nergal and Orion double team me if they still want to. :"

If you call this a accurate review than you most probably should stand in front of your mirror and start to squeeze spots of your immaturity. What a fuss...
And yes, it is not your fold. This review just couldn't be done different as the album simply defends itself and really withstands any constructive critic.

This is an example of "to the point" review:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5pfUULxVoSU
This guy could review it badly, but at least I'm sure he would do it accurate. Learn from smarter people.
@gent_-_orange - 17.02.2014 at 23:58  
Nothing wrong with injecting a bit of humor into a review and that seems to be what he was going for with that paragraph, IMO you shouldn't really judge his review based on that. Throughout the rest of the review he said why he didn't really dig the album and explained himself well.

Well I enjoyed this album, Maybe its a bit generic at times but for the most part I was into it, but this is far away quality wise to something like Satanica or Zos Kia Cultus.
wormdrink414 - 18.02.2014 at 00:38  
Written by Winterthrone on 17.02.2014 at 20:59

Anyway it seems to me that MS has become a shelter for frustrated hipsters that only love being pretentious and take a shit on what real metal fans love. It is true to say that being high on the charts doesn't mean you are good, but when a vast majority of Metal fans agree on an album well it surely means there is at least one thing that's good about that album that makes it above average. You have to leave a part of your personal tastes aside to be a good reviewer and you have to know what will please Metal fans in general.

I have a big Vice marathon to finish before my trust funds come in the mail today (yeah, I support post offices), don't have time to argue! You clearly are the voice of real metal fans, so I yield.
Troy Killjoy - 18.02.2014 at 05:07  
Written by zwitek on 17.02.2014 at 23:15
Learn from smarter people.

I love irony.
Boxcar Willy - 18.02.2014 at 05:16  
Written by Winterthrone on 17.02.2014 at 20:59

Anyway it seems to me that MS has become a shelter for frustrated hipsters that only love being pretentious and take a shit on what real metal fans love. It is true to say that being high on the charts doesn't mean you are good, but when a vast majority of Metal fans agree on an album well it surely means there is at least one thing that's good about that album that makes it above average. You have to leave a part of your personal tastes aside to be a good reviewer and you have to know what will please Metal fans in general.

Everything about this is so wrong to the point where I'm actually giggling here.
deadone - 18.02.2014 at 07:08  
Some ancient wisdom to put things into perspective:

"Opinions are like arseholes - everyone's got one."
mz - 18.02.2014 at 07:59  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.02.2014 at 05:07

I love irony.

Was about to say more or less the same thing.
Apothecary - 18.02.2014 at 17:27  
Written by Winterthrone on 17.02.2014 at 21:05

Your site reviewers gave 7,6 to some really average speed metal and 6 to Behemoth's most accomplished album to date. Ridiculous. You have to rethink your concept.
-+

For the LAST time, because this is really turning into beating a dead horse now: our reviews are not objective. What would be the point of having a Staff with different individual tastes if we can't review albums to our own liking? We're not robots, it's not a matter of "oh, this album's getting great press in circles on other sites, so Metal Storm should praise it lavishly too." We're our own people, and we do our own thing. And you can't please everybody, somebody's always going to be pissed off at a rating, especially if it's a popular band.
Apothecary - 18.02.2014 at 17:40  
People's minds are so driven by numbers. My only complaint here with what Georgie did was give it a score at all. Seriously, I think if you had just given this N/A, you would've saved yourself a lot of shit
Fritillaria - 18.02.2014 at 17:49  
I had lots of fun reading all the comments even more fun than listening to the album I suppose ! Those pissed off die hard fans of Behemoth are awesomely funny !
Winterthrone - 18.02.2014 at 19:53  
What MS staff does not understand is that everyone has a different opinion so it is not useful to rate and review albums based on sole opinions because it leads nowhere. You can had your personal tastes but you have to explain theses tastes and not state 'em like if they were universal and you also have to stick to some objective points to make your review useful for everyone. Comparing Behemoth to Lady Gaga and making shit comments like sounds like Kenny G because there is a saxophone in the background of narration really is completely stupid.
Winterthrone - 18.02.2014 at 20:01  
I never said that one should like what the masses like, I just said you had to recognize the objective qualities of an album when you are a reviewer and not be guided only by your personal preferences. If you do not you are just bashing an album or raving...Which is not useful for anybody.
Cynic Metalhead - 18.02.2014 at 20:34  
Someone should really send a tweet to Nergal with link of this review. He must be waiting for feedback[new album].
Lethrokai - 18.02.2014 at 20:37  
Written by Winterthrone on 18.02.2014 at 19:53

What MS staff does not understand is that everyone has a different opinion so it is not useful to rate and review albums based on sole opinions because it leads nowhere. You can had your personal tastes but you have to explain theses tastes and not state 'em like if they were universal and you also have to stick to some objective points to make your review useful for everyone. Comparing Behemoth to Lady Gaga and making shit comments like sounds like Kenny G because there is a saxophone in the background of narration really is completely stupid.


I have to ask then...
What are the objective facts when it comes down to this album?

Saying this album is good is subjective.
Saying the direction this album took was good is subjective.
You could say it changed up the direction that Behemoth took their music in slightly... oh wait, the guy already did that.

In the end, whether this album was "good" or not is ENTIRELY subjective. There is no rating that is ever given by anyone that is objective. And if someone ever wrote an entirely objective review of anything, then there would be nothing interesting to say about it at all. What makes a review interesting and actually worth reading is seeing how the reviewers OPINIONS compare to yours. They may be entirely different, but they still hold the exact same validity.
!J.O.O.E.! - 18.02.2014 at 20:48  
Written by Winterthrone on 18.02.2014 at 20:01

I never said that one should like what the masses like, I just said you had to recognize the objective qualities of an album when you are a reviewer and not be guided only by your personal preferences. If you do not you are just bashing an album or raving...Which is not useful for anybody.

Seeing as he may not see this, here's BitterCOld's sample review of what an "objective" review would look like:

Quote:

In 1991 Metallica released their self-titled fifth album. The cover art features the band's logo and a coiled snake derived from the Gadsden Flag. Done in all black, it has caused this album to be also known as "the Black Album" and has drawn comparisons to the imaginary Spinal Tap album Smell The Glove.

At this point in their career Metallica featured Kirk Hammett on guitar, James Hetfield on guitar and vocals, Jason Newsted on bass guitar and backing vocals, and Lars Ulrich on drums.

Metallica consists of 12 songs and lasts over an hour. The band opted to have Bob Rock produce the album after his work on Motley Crue's Dr. Feelgood. Metallica spent four consecutive weeks at number one on Billboard 200, has sold more than 15,000,000 copies, and was certified 15x platinum (diamond) by the RIAA.

The songs are music with electric guitar played with distortion, bass and drums. There are guitar solos in all 12 songs. Hetfield plays an acoustic guitar on "The Unforgiven", "Wherever I May Roam", and "Nothing Else Matters".

Five of the dozen songs were released as singles and received radio play. They were "Enter Sandman", "The Unforgiven", "Nothing Else Matters", "Wherever I May Roam", and "Sad But True". Videos were also made for these five songs.

The song "Don't Tread On Me" features the motto of the Gadsden Flag, whose snake image was also found on the album cover.


This highlights how retarded your notion of "objective reviews" is, because all they are is extended summaries.
Lethrokai - 18.02.2014 at 20:51  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 18.02.2014 at 20:48

This highlights how retarded your notion of "objective reviews" is, because all they are is extended summaries.


Hammer. Meet nail.
Nail. Meet head.
Darth Revan - 18.02.2014 at 21:34  
Jeeeeesus the amount of pointless demagogy (and hilarity) ensuing over here. Especially funny is the comment about MS being a haven for hipsters who hate what most metal fans like... Might I direct you to the top 200? Topping said list are Metallica when they made thrash metal, Megadeth, Opeth (Which I dislike by the way, still a popular band) Judas Priest and Led Zepplin, among others. What a haven of hipsters. The name should be changed to that actually, I like the alliteration.
Apothecary - 18.02.2014 at 22:37  
Written by Winterthrone on 18.02.2014 at 20:01

I never said that one should like what the masses like, I just said you had to recognize the objective qualities of an album when you are a reviewer and not be guided only by your personal preferences.

Recognizing the objective qualities of an album is not a review, it is a description. A review is literally "a formal assessment or examination of something," and to assess is to evaluate the quality, which is purely subjective. And besides, no one wants to read an objective review. How boring is reading something like "Album X was released by Band X in Year X. It features member A on guitar, member B on bass/vocals, and member C on drums. It sounds a lot heavier compared to their previous album. Other sites have been giving it good reviews, so we think it's great too." Come on man, that's just stale as fuck.
Daniell - 18.02.2014 at 23:30  
Written by Winterthrone on 18.02.2014 at 20:01

I never said that one should like what the masses like, I just said you had to recognize the objective qualities of an album when you are a reviewer and not be guided only by your personal preferences. If you do not you are just bashing an album or raving...Which is not useful for anybody.


No matter how many more posts you add to this review thread, all your words will boil down to five words: "I don't like the rating".
siyah - 18.02.2014 at 23:39  
I think that the ones who talk about different tastes, reviewers opinion etc. would join the bashing crew against a review i.e. that rates Lulu an 8 or something.
!J.O.O.E.! - 18.02.2014 at 23:44  
Written by siyah on 18.02.2014 at 23:39

I think that the ones who talk about different tastes, reviewers opinion etc. would join the bashing crew against a review i.e. that rates Lulu an 8 or something.

Well what you think is clearly a load of nonsense then: http://metalstorm.net/pub/review.php?review_id=11930
siyah - 19.02.2014 at 01:10  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 18.02.2014 at 23:44

Written by siyah on 18.02.2014 at 23:39

I think that the ones who talk about different tastes, reviewers opinion etc. would join the bashing crew against a review i.e. that rates Lulu an 8 or something.

Well what you think is clearly a load of nonsense then: http://metalstorm.net/pub/review.php?review_id=11930


Well, thank you for proving me right? I guess?
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.02.2014 at 01:12  
Written by siyah on 19.02.2014 at 01:10

Well, thank you for proving me right? I guess?

I dunno, people there look pretty reasonable. The disagreements tend to be with the opinion, not the review his / herself. No one is bringing up bizarre logic to bring the review down or trying to suggest that review shouldn't exist in the first place.
HumanSpirit - 19.02.2014 at 10:29  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 14.02.2014 at 10:58

Written by HumanSpirit on 14.02.2014 at 07:24

This is why I dont write reviews, I may end up looking like idiot and pretencious to others.

This album is awesome, in everyway. I dont think it deserves a mere "6" and lot of shit comments, I totally understand that everyone is entitled to their opinion but come on...


On the other hand, they are Behemoth and they can (and will) be the target of mixed comments and manage to keep making awesome music.


That's your hypocrisy, man. No one forcing you to write reviews and becoming an idiot. Matter of fact if you're an idiot, we welcome that.

Anyway, you just one of flying-fuck blind fanboys who wants to escalates the score neglecting the level of drowsiness this record went in.

Oh, that's my opinion. I'm entitled to do that.


lol calm yo tits, man! you dont even know me and already making very poor statments about nothing :p smoke a joint, dude.
Karlabos - 19.02.2014 at 14:42  
Have our arguments gotten so low that we must completely abandon them and appeal to profile stalking and pointing out random things which we think are funny?
Next step probably is grammar correcting, I guess?
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.02.2014 at 14:54  
Written by Karlabos on 19.02.2014 at 14:42

Have our arguments gotten so low that we must completely abandon them and appeal to profile stalking and pointing out random things which we think are funny?
Next step probably is grammar correcting, I guess?

Yeah haha. Such comments only serve to highlight the insecurity of the person saying it, not the person the "insult" is aimed at.
Himedal - 19.02.2014 at 20:33  
Written by Guest on 14.02.2014 at 09:15

Have a listen to the album again after a week or two. It looks to me that you haven't heard the album at all, otherwise you would talk about it, not about older material. I respect other peoples oppinions, but The Satanist is a very good album. Verzy far from what you wrote here.

I double what you say. Frankly, I don't care at all about this review since I find it irrelevant.
Winterthrone - 20.02.2014 at 01:50  
So if I read the comments by the staff here, we should never say a review is badly written and full of unexplained shit comments because all the reviewers here are perfect. My first comments were: The review is badly written, seems rushed. The comments on the quality of the album are unexplained and therefore nothing but bashing for the sake of bashing and one argument is repeated over and over. The rating I feel is not logical. If the ones who pretend to evaluate the work of others don't want to be evaluated too there is a fucking problem with you guys.
Winterthrone - 20.02.2014 at 01:56  
One is entitled to his/her opinions, but when someone writes them down and present it as a review, one must follow some quality criteria. If not it's nothing more than bullshit commentaries like the ones on Metal Archives. Then every average trooll on the internet writes review. You can't justify the bad quality of a review by saying: Oh, but this is his or her opinion.
Troy Killjoy - 20.02.2014 at 02:24  
Written by Winterthrone on 20.02.2014 at 01:50
So if I read the comments by the staff here, we should never say a review is badly written and full of unexplained shit comments because all the reviewers here are perfect. My first comments were: The review is badly written, seems rushed. The comments on the quality of the album are unexplained and therefore nothing but bashing for the sake of bashing and one argument is repeated over and over. The rating I feel is not logical. If the ones who pretend to evaluate the work of others don't want to be evaluated too there is a fucking problem with you guys.

I'm not nearly as invested in this issue as you but I'll try to address some points here. None of us should have a problem with any user commenting on the quality of a review as it's every user's right to voice their opinion. You think a review is poorly written and that it seems rushed and that's fine. I think some Staff and Elite members had a problem with most of the other complaints that took on more of a flaming tone (you suck, Behemoth is the best ever, etc.)

As for the logic of a number attached to a review - don't read too much into that. The way some reviews are written you could swap a 6 for a 9 and it wouldn't make any difference. And lastly, as for being evaluated, I doubt any of us lose any sleep over one or two users - or hundreds for that matter - complaining about a review we wrote. I for one welcome constructive criticism, although most of the criticism in this thread is anything but constructive.
BitterCOld - 20.02.2014 at 21:03  
In regards to staff writers, go ahead and offer constructive criticism ... but when you post 7 times on just one page, often in succession, you just come across as an obsessed loon with their knickers in a twist because he didn't get the same throbbing erection from the album you did. even the a7x fanbois weren't so compulsive in responding to a far harsher review i did of one of their works.

numerical values - funny you mention those. the biggest problem with this site is far too many people rate everything either a 9/10... basically a bunch of knobs you could blindfold, turn loose in the record store, and would think whatever random album they picked up was top 10 all time. Scores of 8 (very good) are met by many posters as if you slagged the band, kicked their dog, and set fire to their childhood home.

undoubtedly calling something from a horribly popular act merely average is undoubted to release a shit storm.

but...

as a staff writer here, i'd much rather have someone like the author posting up reviews - someone who is not afraid to differ from the sheep-in-wolf clothing mentality (X-metal is good, Y-metal all sucks) and an amusing way of expressing himself. (I'd bet $100 those whining about what he said would be laughing if directed at another act.)

do i always agree with him or other writers?

no.

hell, in retrospect I don't even agree with my own reviews.

but i applaud their effort.

if you want professionally written ballwashing, i'm sure there are plenty of mags you can find where they are paid to say nice things about big bands you might like, so your delicate sensibilities won't be offended.
Malignar - 20.02.2014 at 23:59  
I enjoy the album. I've never been a huge Behemoth fan. I found their earlier albums filled with vocals that were way too high in the mix and indiscernible guitar riffs. The previous album started to go a bit more black metal which I appreciated. This album has some great build ups without the payoff that I would have expected and some of the rock bits are pretty unoriginal. Overall, it is a good album that falls a bit short of what I expected after seeing their Gabrielle video.
NikolaFranquelli - 21.02.2014 at 08:32  
Guys, I do not agree with the review, and I said so. There's people who think otherwise. OK. Although some things are evident, this endless discussion is absolutely pointless. Do you understand that it is your ego talking, not you, yourselves. Just think. - In the end, it is music that matters.
Maco - 21.02.2014 at 18:15  
Best thread ever.
zwitek - 21.02.2014 at 21:12  
Great review of a perfect album.
enumaelis - 21.02.2014 at 21:50  
Just listened to the album a couple of times. Not even close to what Satanica, Thelema.6 and Zos Kia Cultus were back in the day. I more or less agree with the reviewer. The album is just one more with some moments that reminded me to those 3 albums more than the last ones from the band. It would be a great album in 1998, but today it's just "enjoyable" for a while and nothing else. Just better than the mediocre and overrated Evangelion.
Zaphod - 22.02.2014 at 23:45  
Written by Apothecary on 18.02.2014 at 17:40

People's minds are so driven by numbers. My only complaint here with what Georgie did was give it a score at all. Seriously, I think if you had just given this N/A, you would've saved yourself a lot of shit

Exactly the reason why I don't rate albums. Does the rating 7.5 really say anything about how much I like something? No. It could mean that I enjoy it a lot, but see a lot of flaws that I choose to ignore when I listen to it, but not when I rate it. It could mean that I don't like it, but see that it is a groundbreaking album, so I rate it semi-objectively. It could mean it's an above-average album, but not quite reaching that level of greatness. Etc.
If people would just pay attention to what someone has to say about an album instead of what score out of ten they give it, the internet would be a better place.

By the way, I don't mean that rating is completely useless. A lot of people feel like the score they give an album reflects their opinion of it. That's fine, it's just very hard for me because I want to take all factors into account which makes it extremely hard.
Ajay Singh - 23.02.2014 at 12:23  
A 6 is definitely a 10 in the satanist terms \m/
Hellcult - 23.02.2014 at 21:51  
Very good album but not a fantastic one, some song are really amaizing when others only good and this album is a 8/10 to me, i prefer older records because i love all kind of death metal from technical to brutal and this album is not as fast and heavy as the others(some songs are) but it still keeps top quality record and u can say whatever u want but Behemoth as a band is a top 5 in the world at the moment.
deadone - 24.02.2014 at 03:04  
Written by BitterCOld on 20.02.2014 at 21:03

In regards to staff writers, go ahead and offer constructive criticism ... but when you post 7 times on just one page, often in succession, you just come across as an obsessed loon with their knickers in a twist because he didn't get the same throbbing erection from the album you did. even the a7x fanbois weren't so compulsive in responding to a far harsher review i did of one of their works.

numerical values - funny you mention those. the biggest problem with this site is far too many people rate everything either a 9/10... basically a bunch of knobs you could blindfold, turn loose in the record store, and would think whatever random album they picked up was top 10 all time. Scores of 8 (very good) are met by many posters as if you slagged the band, kicked their dog, and set fire to their childhood home.

undoubtedly calling something from a horribly popular act merely average is undoubted to release a shit storm.

but...

as a staff writer here, i'd much rather have someone like the author posting up reviews - someone who is not afraid to differ from the sheep-in-wolf clothing mentality (X-metal is good, Y-metal all sucks) and an amusing way of expressing himself. (I'd bet $100 those whining about what he said would be laughing if directed at another act.)

do i always agree with him or other writers?

no.

hell, in retrospect I don't even agree with my own reviews.

but i applaud their effort.

if you want professionally written ballwashing, i'm sure there are plenty of mags you can find where they are paid to say nice things about big bands you might like, so your delicate sensibilities won't be offended.



A great post and one I agree with 100%.

This is why I like Metalstorm - the staff have the balls to hold their own and it's not just about whitewashing the flavour of the month.
Darth Revan - 24.02.2014 at 06:19  
For all those complaining... album's rated 8.6 currently by users, whether or not the review rates it lower. If it bothers you so much that the staff didn't like it, there's plenty other people willing to circle jerk over it.
Daniell - 24.02.2014 at 19:31  
Written by Darth Revan on 24.02.2014 at 06:19

If it bothers you so much that the staff didn't like it,


The staff don't meet and decide on ratings. The rating is what the reviewer thinks.
Troy Killjoy - 25.02.2014 at 15:35  
Written by Daniell on 24.02.2014 at 19:31
The staff don't meet and decide on ratings.

Could you imagine what that process would be like?

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Behemoth - The Satanist 6 31.05.2013 by Cronomaster
Articles USA, Portland, OR - Behemoth + Watain: The Decibel Magazine Tour 2012 5 28.04.2012 by BlueMobius
Reviews Nader Sadek - In The Flesh 4.5 16.07.2011 by JD
Reviews Rhyme - The Seed And Sewage 4.5 12.12.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Albums Behemoth - And The Forests Dream Eternally [EP] 4.5 25.10.2013 by Boxcar Willy



Hits total: 10818 | This month: 21