Rating:
9.0
Cinderella - Night Songs
1986


01. Night Songs
02. Shake Me
03. Nobody's Fool
04. Nothin' For Nothin'
05. Once Around The Ride
06. Hell On Wheels
07. Somebody Save Me
08. In From The Outside
09. Push Push
10. Back Home Again


One of the best and most personal bands to come out of the 80s glam/sleaze hard rock scene were, without a second thought, Cinderella! Good buddies of Bon Jovi back then and this friendship was definitely a strong card they had, but only for a beginning, because they played their dirty music the way they wanted and in the most wonderful way, which means high quality, inspiration, glam and emotion as well!

"Night Songs" was their debut album and came out during 1986 and shook the foundations of the glam metal scene with its fresh and dynamic air. What someone may notice is the fact that Cinderella are a dirty band indeed, but they incorporate emotions as well in their music, something that became more obvious on their second album, "Long Cold Winter", their best and most complete album in my opinion. But let's see "Night Songs" for now.

The album consists of ten compositions and most of them are mid-to-up tempo, really groovy and powerful for sure, having their soloing outbursts where all hell breaks loose as well. And believe me, their solos are really inspired, high quality and you feel entranced by the final outcome, you remain stunned feeling like rolling all over the place! The riffing is wonderful and inspired as well, the guitar work is just fabulous, having that American saloon/bad-cowboy oriented kitsch feeling at times, keeping the interest of the listener to the highest levels! That western feeling is being enriched at times by some slight keyboard melodies etc that make their appearance from time to time, not intense references, but they do exist. Well, the keyboard may evoke a more emotional atmosphere like they do on "Nobody's Fool".

The rhythm section is imposing, as much as it has to be. What someone may notice on the drumming is that its sound varies, something really good since you don't have to listen to the same drumming sound all the time, it makes the outcome more complex and affected along with the really good technique and tempo changes. Tom Keifer is one of the most charismatic glam metal interpreters, he has that accent that can never be forgotten once you listen to him singing, a really good and recognizable singer, sounding dirty or emotional, interpreting each option of his vocal abilities in the most appropriate way. Worth mentioning is that Jon bon Jovi did some backing vocals on this album.

In "Night Songs" someone can find some 80s gems like the groovy and rolling "Night Songs", "Shake Me" (what a hymn!), "Somebody Save Me" and "Once Around The Ride", the dynamite "Hell On Wheels" and the emotional "Nobody's Fool".

This album made huge success and it really deserved the panic around its name simply because Cinderella knew what they wanted to offer and how to do it! Don't pass by this album without buying it!


Band profile: Cinderella
Album: Night Songs


 



Written on 07.01.2006 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 49  
Search this topic:  


Doc Godin - 11.06.2007 at 08:26  
Great album indeed, definitly one of the best glam metal groups from the 80s, this being there best album. Great review.
Jonnz of Steel - 22.09.2008 at 18:39  
Great review of a great album
Mountain King - 02.02.2009 at 03:52  
Nobody's Fool is enough to make u buy this album!of course other songs as well, the review says it all
and listen to Skid Row, in my opinion, their debut album is even better
JohnDoe - 02.02.2009 at 18:21  
Written by Mountain King on 02.02.2009 at 03:52

Nobody's Fool is enough to make u buy this album!of course other songs as well, the review says it all
and listen to Skid Row, in my opinion, their debut album is even better


Skid Row's debut is ok, but to me Cinderella's debut is better (maybe just a matter of taste) and stood the test of time better than Skid Row's debut (the way I see it).
Those who enjoy Night Songs should definitely check out their second album - Long Cold Winter, a really good album.
Mountain King - 02.02.2009 at 19:36  
Written by JohnDoe on 02.02.2009 at 18:21

Written by Mountain King on 02.02.2009 at 03:52

Nobody's Fool is enough to make u buy this album!of course other songs as well, the review says it all
and listen to Skid Row, in my opinion, their debut album is even better


Skid Row's debut is ok, but to me Cinderella's debut is better (maybe just a matter of taste) and stood the test of time better than Skid Row's debut (the way I see it).
Those who enjoy Night Songs should definitely check out their second album - Long Cold Winter, a really good album.


yeah as u said it's a matter of taste, but youth gone wild is such an amazing piece of metal that it melts ur ass not to mention 18 and life and i remember you! the main reason i guess is that Sebastian Bach is a better vocalist!
i know Long Cold Winter, it's a good album. cheers
Milena - 05.07.2011 at 11:03  
Heeey, didn't know this band was featured at all! I listened to some glam metal back when I was 13, 14 years old (no Motley and Poison and stuff like that ofc), and still adore to hear it every once in a while. This album is aweeeeeeesome.
BoxCar Willy - 08.02.2012 at 02:47  
Written by Milena on 05.07.2011 at 11:03

Heeey, didn't know this band was featured at all! I listened to some glam metal back when I was 13, 14 years old (no Motley and Poison and stuff like that ofc), and still adore to hear it every once in a while. This album is aweeeeeeesome.

SHAKE ME! AAAALLLLLLLLL NIIIIGHT! SHE SAID SHAKE ME!!!!!!!!!

I also listened to a lot of Glam rock :3
Milena - 08.02.2012 at 11:19  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 08.02.2012 at 02:47

SHAKE ME! AAAALLLLLLLLL NIIIIGHT! SHE SAID SHAKE ME!!!!!!!!!

I also listened to a lot of Glam rock :3

She took the last traaaaaaiiiiiiin outta my heaaaaaart *fist bump*
This is one of the better glam bands for sure.
Bitchy Angel - 08.02.2012 at 13:57  
Written by Milena on 08.02.2012 at 11:19

Written by BoxCar Willy on 08.02.2012 at 02:47

SHAKE ME! AAAALLLLLLLLL NIIIIGHT! SHE SAID SHAKE ME!!!!!!!!!

I also listened to a lot of Glam rock :3

She took the last traaaaaaiiiiiiin outta my heaaaaaart *fist bump*
This is one of the better glam bands for sure.


Night song album is just slightly above average to me. Long cold winter is a classic. Very similar to look what the cat dragged in vs. open up and say ahhh....to me
JCJen7 - 24.11.2012 at 01:41  
Written by Milena on 05.07.2011 at 11:03

Heeey, didn't know this band was featured at all! I listened to some glam metal back when I was 13, 14 years old (no Motley and Poison and stuff like that ofc), and still adore to hear it every once in a while. This album is aweeeeeeesome.

Heh, I really like early Motley. They're probably my favorite glam band.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Ashes You Leave - Songs Of The Lost 4.5 12.05.2011 by dismaleuphony
Reviews Desire - Locus Horrendus - The Night Cries Of A Sullen Soul... 4.5 08.10.2010 by Damnated_Soul
Reviews Remembrance - Fall, Obsidian Night 4.5 20.09.2010 by Thanntos
Reviews ShamRain - Deeper Into The Night 4.5 24.09.2006 by
Reviews Forgotten Tomb - Songs To Leave 4.5 15.12.2010 by Marcus



Hits total: 3521 | This month: 51