Human Cull - Stillborn Nation
31 March 2014

01. Teeth For Revenge
02. The Sentence Is Death
03. Jackals
04. Bomb Gripper
05. Global Furnace
06. Stillborn Nation
07. Unwelcome Methods
08. Death Rituals
09. Superstitious Disease
10. Barely Hominid
11. Sick With Hate
12. Entombed By Progress
13. Point Of No Return
14. Grey Planet
15. Chemical Lobotomy
16. Obliterated
17. Free To Suffer
18. Apathy Advocate
19. You Can't Disappear
20. Anger Inferno
21. Unwilling Martyrs
22. Only Ashes
23. Echoing Silence
24. Euhemerization [digital bonus]
25. Dogma [digital bonus]
26. Worship Nothing [digital bonus]
27. Pre-Emptive Bombardment [digital bonus]
28. Will To Submission [digital bonus]
29. Familicide [digital bonus]
30. Ignoring Fact [digital bonus]
31. Shitstorm [digital bonus]
32. Disgusted [digital bonus]
33. Assassinated [digital bonus]
34. Abandonment [digital bonus]

Human Cull are a grindcore band who formed in 2007 in the United Kingdom (Insert tea and crumpets joke here). Since their conception, 7 years ago, the band has put out a few EP's and split albums; however Stillborn Nation is the band's first full length album. Clocking in at a marathon 25 (ish) minutes, the album is over before you even realize the damage it has done.

The music is fast, with 22 of 23 songs being under the 2-minute mark, therefore the album goes by very quickly. The low-end heavy sound is pummeling and extremely dense. Imagine being locked in a pitch black closet while body boxing Mike Tyson; and boom, you have this album. Vicious vocal snaps and continuous blasting drums together with down-tuned guitars and thick chunky bass; what's not to love about this album?

The short song lengths keep the listener from passing out in this all out audio onslaught (as well as keep the more hardened listener from losing interest). The album is well written and concise; nothing feels out of place or over extended. The driving crust-infused grindcore sound is tight and very well produced. Nothing is too loud or too quiet, and everything is audible.

So, the album is fast, pummeling and dense… what else Mr. Reviewer man?
Well that's about it, the album isn't out to set new standards in music, and frankly that is alright; it doesn't need to. The grindcore aesthetic, combined with a thick crust punk tone, is enough to make this album a winner.

It may not be the best of the year, but it's definitely one that this reviewer thinks you should damage your hearing with. Check it out over at the WOOAARGH Bandcamp page.

Stay crusty

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 8

Band profile: Human Cull
Album: Stillborn Nation


written by Boxcar Willy | 15.03.2014


‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 2  
Users visited: 84  
Search this topic:  

Boxcar Willy - 15.03.2014 at 17:53  
Lots of cool merch with this one. http://www.wooaaargh.com/epages/64574534.sf/de_DE/?ObjectPath=/Shops/64574534/Categories/warp/bands/human-cull
tea[m]ster - 16.03.2014 at 18:18  
"Clocking in at a marathon 25 (ish) minutes"

Lol, awesome!

Advertise on Metal Storm

Login or register to post here.

Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Chron Goblin - Life For The Living 5 09.09.2013 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Derelict Earth - Below The Empty Skies 4.5 30.12.2012 by Susan
Reviews Bloodmoon - Voidbound 4.5 30.12.2013 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Baptized In Blood - Baptized In Blood 4.5 05.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Falloch - Where Distant Spirits Remain 4.5 24.06.2012 by Troy Killjoy

Hits total: 2253 | This month: 3