Bandcamp music player

Rating:
N/A
Los Random - Pidanoma
24 January 2014


01. Corto Normal
02. Ojota Y Media
03. Mee Chango
04. Mia Gato Está Solo En La Oscuridad
05. Guri Guri Tres Piñas


I was almost starting to get disappointed in the fact that there hadn't really been any particularly bizarre releases thus far this year to satisfy my inner experimental whore. Thankfully, Random's sophomore album has proven me wrong. Dead wrong.

At first glance, one might assume that these Argentines are playing a simple imitation of modern prog metal. And that guess wouldn't be too far off, for Pidanoma does indeed kick off with "Corto Normal," plunging the listener into some heavily off-beat rhythms, vocals (in Spanish) reminiscent of Mastodon during their more mellow moments, and a pleasantly audible bass tone that roars along throughout under the guitar riffs. Nothing too new and fancy, right?

Well guess again, dear listener, because Random are, above all, here to deceive and surprise you. All of the tracks that follow more or less have a way of beginning with this typical modern prog style, but then degenerating into pure (for lack of a better word) randomness the further they go on, becoming a lot more outlandish and avantgarde in the process. "Mia Gato Esta Solo En La Oscuridad" for example, starts with some casual guitar riffage, but soon takes a sharp turn for the unconventional. A strange use of effects sneaks in, and before you even know what happened, you're plunged into an atmosphere devoid of the previous familiarity, where bass and percussion carry the song, with an eerie layer of synths and spoken word to make the journey even more unusual. And things just spiral even more out of control from there.

It's easy to call Random's Pidanoma progressive metal, but even that label doesn't entirely do the album justice, and somewhat misleads as to the level of peculiarity lurking deep within it. With a wide array of musical structure and techniques, and a good attention to production detail to help bring them all out to a T, Pidanoma is a real gem of an album, that somewhat restores my faith progressive metal, while also transcending many of its common clichés. It's certainly "out there" enough to be considered genuinely avantgarde at many points, and only raises hopes ever higher for the band to experiment and push boundaries in the future. Random may be outclassed later in the year on the weirdness level by a certain someone, but for now, their level of craziness is pretty damn satisfying.

Get on the randomness!


 



Written on 19.03.2014 by
Apothecary
"Show me a sane man, and I will cure him for you"
-Carl Jung
More reviews by Apothecary ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 29  
Users visited: 199  
Search this topic:  


bleak - 19.03.2014 at 19:25  
Great album! More bizarre and weird than it's predecesor!
Random is one of the best Argentinian band nowadays... this is the proof!
Apothecary - 19.03.2014 at 19:28  
Written by bleak on 19.03.2014 at 19:25

More bizarre and weird than it's predecesor!

Haven't listened to the debut yet, but from reviews I've read, yes, it's not as strange as this. I'd bet it's still pretty good though(?)
bleak - 19.03.2014 at 19:35  
Written by Apothecary on 19.03.2014 at 19:28

Written by bleak on 19.03.2014 at 19:25

More bizarre and weird than it's predecesor!

Haven't listened to the debut yet, but from reviews I've read, yes, it's not as strange as this. I'd bet it's still pretty good though(?)


Yeah... it's pretty good too. Their EP is my favourite though... Expressive Logic and The Most Pleasent Nightmare are insanely good!
Check it out!
Mr. Doctor - 19.03.2014 at 19:48  
Written by Apothecary on 19.03.2014 at 19:28

Written by bleak on 19.03.2014 at 19:25

More bizarre and weird than it's predecesor!
Haven't listened to the debut yet, but from reviews I've read, yes, it's not as strange as this. I'd bet it's still pretty good though(?)


I really liked their previous album. This one feels kind of dark while the other one has a fun feeling to it. The artworks for the respective albums match perfectly.
Unhealer - 19.03.2014 at 19:49  
Best thing so far this year. Progressive metal was more fitting for their previous album, this one really goes deep into avant territories after the interlude.
It's worth noting that the ex-Mars Volta Adrián Terrazas is playing sax on the third track as a guest
Apothecary - 19.03.2014 at 21:03  
Written by Unhealer on 19.03.2014 at 19:49

It's worth noting that the ex-Mars Volta Adrián Terrazas is playing sax on the third track as a guest

Yep, I saw that note on the Bandcamp. Totally cool
Apothecary - 19.03.2014 at 21:05  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.03.2014 at 19:48

The artworks for the respective albums match perfectly.

Yeah, that cover with the girl flying with the rainbow banner. I was reading a review for it on MA and someone called it "the most unmetal album cover ever"
-DC-002- - 20.03.2014 at 04:40  
Great stuff. Most definitely a highlight of the year I'd say.
R'Vannith - 20.03.2014 at 05:21  
Their previous one was a promised visit to the psych ward, this one sounds like a guarantee from what you've said. Thanks for the review.
Monolithic - 20.03.2014 at 10:29  
Dat bass...dat music...

BloodTears - 20.03.2014 at 11:42  
Now this is random... Okay, that was too easy. I'm definitely checking out this out, even though I think Che's taste in prog leaves much to be desired. (You know I love you )
Apothecary - 20.03.2014 at 14:33  
Written by BloodTears on 20.03.2014 at 11:42

I think Che's taste in prog leaves much to be desired. (You know I love you )

Who can't love a lovable, huggable Avantgardist such as myself?
By the way, I do have a pretty intense love for some classic prog rock (eg 70s era stuff) that I'd be more than happy to share with you anytime
mz - 20.03.2014 at 19:59  
Sounds like something I'd enjoy. Definitely checking this ASAP.
Thanks for the review.
Mr. Doctor - 20.03.2014 at 22:38  
Written by Apothecary on 20.03.2014 at 14:33
I'd be more than happy to share with you anytime

Back off, bitch.
Written by BloodTears on 20.03.2014 at 11:42
(You know I love you )

And you... We'll talk later.
psykometal - 20.03.2014 at 23:17  
Lulz. Rod so cute. His mane must have stood on end reading that.
Apothecary - 21.03.2014 at 01:39  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.03.2014 at 22:38

Written by Apothecary on 20.03.2014 at 14:33
I'd be more than happy to share with you anytime

Back off, bitch.

Don't be a jelly belly, or I might just have to eat you
!J.O.O.E.! - 21.03.2014 at 18:25  
Enjoyable stuff. Not as weird or random (given the name) as I expected it to be (aside from the dissonant part at the very end) but I liked the noise-rock and ambient influence going on. The latter half gave me some Skullflower and Aluk Todolo listening urges.
Mr. Doctor - 21.03.2014 at 18:44  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 21.03.2014 at 18:25
Skullflower and Aluk Todolo listening urges.

I knew I wasn't going to be the only one who thought about those guys while listening to the second half. One of the reasons to why I ended up liking it so much.
!J.O.O.E.! - 21.03.2014 at 18:47  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.03.2014 at 18:44

I knew I wasn't going to be the only one who thought about those guys while listening to the second half. One of the reasons to why I ended up liking it so much.

It's because you're awesomely cultured.

( ¬‿¬)
Mr. Doctor - 21.03.2014 at 18:51  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 21.03.2014 at 18:47
It's because you're awesomely cultured.
( ¬‿¬)

I haven't been able to sit properly after so much culture.
!J.O.O.E.! - 21.03.2014 at 18:52  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.03.2014 at 18:51

I haven't been able to sit properly after so much culture.

My urine turned blue many years ago from all the culture.
K†ulu - 21.03.2014 at 22:49  
Oh, what a surprise! Will check this out. Their debut was very interesting. Thanks for sharing!
mz - 22.03.2014 at 00:30  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 21.03.2014 at 18:25

I liked the noise-rock and ambient influence going on. The latter half gave me some Skullflower and Aluk Todolo listening urges.

Exactly how I felt about it.
Also, it reminds me of tool at some points, which I know you are a big fan of.
!J.O.O.E.! - 22.03.2014 at 00:32  
Written by mz on 22.03.2014 at 00:30

Exactly how I felt about it.
Also, it reminds me of tool at some points, which I know you are a big fan of.

Yeah, love 'em =P
mz - 22.03.2014 at 00:36  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 22.03.2014 at 00:32

Yeah, love 'em =P

Good for you. That's quiet an achievement itself ;p
Darkside Momo - 22.03.2014 at 21:14  
Nice weird stuff here. Not sure they're totally to my tastes, but they're definitely interesting
Lethrokai - 23.03.2014 at 11:17  
We finally have some good movement in the avant-garde/prog scene!
Apothecary - 23.03.2014 at 16:16  
Written by Lethrokai on 23.03.2014 at 11:17

We finally have some good movement in the avant-garde/prog scene!

Watchu talkin bout, Willis? There's always been good movement in the Avant scene, just gotta dig deep for it
But I would definitely call this album the first great release within the genre for the year, I haven't really seen much else this weird for 2014 yet.
Lethrokai - 23.03.2014 at 16:39  
Written by Apothecary on 23.03.2014 at 16:16

Written by Lethrokai on 23.03.2014 at 11:17

We finally have some good movement in the avant-garde/prog scene!

Watchu talkin bout, Willis? There's always been good movement in the Avant scene, just gotta dig deep for it
But I would definitely call this album the first great release within the genre for the year, I haven't really seen much else this weird for 2014 yet.

Whoops! I was actually talking about the scene in this particular year. I guess I was just excited and forgot to leave it out. My bad

But yeah, this is definitely a standout for 2014.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Random - Pidanoma 4.5 03.03.2014 by Unhealer
Reviews Atriarch - Ritual Of Passing 3 17.12.2012 by
Reviews Nocte Obducta - Umbriel (Das Schweigen Zwischen Den Sternen) 3 11.04.2013 by Susan
Reviews Nachtmystium - The World We Left Behind 3 03.08.2014 by Ilham
Reviews Ihsahn - Das Seelenbrechen 3 23.10.2013 by K†ulu



Hits total: 2478 | This month: 89