Rating:
8.5
Hatriot - Dawn Of The New Centurion
21 February 2014


01. From My Cold Dead Hands
02. Your Worst Enemy
03. The Fear Within
04. Honor The Rise And Fall
05. Superkillafragsadisticactsaresoatrocious
06. Silence In The House Of The Lord
07. World Funeral
08. Dawn Of The New Centurion
09. Consolation For The Insane


"Dawn Of The New Centurion" will also be available as limited edition digipak with exclusive bonus track as well as limited edition vinyl LP in gatefold sleeve (500 hand-numbered units).


Just like their debut Heroes Of Origin, Hatriot's Dawn Of The New Centurion has Exodus's Tempo Of The Damned written all over it - same sound, different band. It might be no surprise, then, to hear the legendary Steve "Zetro" Souza belting out these driving, unrelenting songs in his cutting, gravelly whine. The obvious similarity is a double-edged sword, as Hatriot can be either a welcome extra dose of Tempo or a mere copycat, depending on your inclination.

Hatriot's music often echoes the sounds of Zetro's past life - ironic, as lead guitarist Kosta Varvatakis (not Zetro) writes all the music, but at the same time perhaps perfectly reasonable to expect. The non-Zetro part of Hatriot consists of a much younger cadre of players, all of whom probably grew up listening to Exodus. Testament influence shines through on occasion as well, particularly on "Silence In The House Of The Lord." Though they aren't affiliated with Zetro, it sounds as though Overkill have had a hand in this (though maybe inasmuch as I find Tempo Of The Damned very similar, but less catchy and more thrashy).

"Superkillafragsadisticactsaresoatrocious" (which I'm only going to type out once) might be one hell of a ridiculous mouthful, but it fades out to a chorus of "Free Pussy Riot," so it isn't entirely nonsensical. In fact, lyrically, Dawn Of The New Centurion is a pretty serious indictment of violence and injustice in the modern world. Zetro's anger translates well into these vicious sonic assaults, and his familiar voice melds with the youthful aggression and intensity of a younger generation of thrashers. While Dawn Of The New Centurion might be slightly less ambitious than Heroes Of Origin, it still holds some powerful songs. "The Fear Within" is a chilling, haunting tale of desperation, and "Honor In The Rise And Fall" and "Your Worst Enemy" are both fantastic thrashers.

Dawn Of The New Centurion delivers the same crushing thrash that Hatriot did so well on Heroes Of Origin, which itself is basically the same thing Exodus did with Zetro in the olden days. Of course, with his newly-announced return to Exodus, Zetro might well be doing this stuff with two bands concurrently, but it is good to know that he has another place to explore this great sound.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 10.06.2014 by
ScreamingSteelUS
I'm only in this for the money, fame, glory, power, and personal satisfaction.

In my spare time, I fight dragon-pig-C.H.U.D.s in space.

I feel obligated to use up all of my allotted space, so... nah, I'm out of stuff to say.
More reviews by ScreamingSteelUS ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 111  
Search this topic:  


Coolingsrock - 10.06.2014 at 17:40  
Sounds promising
Lit. - 10.06.2014 at 20:16  
Sounded like a rubbish rip-off of Bonded By Blood to me, albeit with better vocals. Probably go 3.5 full points lower.

Glad at least Zetro is back with Exodus, where he might actually be able to do some good work.
DelightfulJim - 10.06.2014 at 23:33  
Hat...riot?
!J.O.O.E.! - 10.06.2014 at 23:33  
Written by DelightfulJim on 10.06.2014 at 23:33

Hat...riot?

In my head that is what this band is called. Always will be.
Daniell - 11.06.2014 at 14:39  
Written by Lit. on 10.06.2014 at 20:16

Sounded like a rubbish rip-off of Bonded By Blood to me, albeit with better vocals.


More of less what I think. A huge disappointment,.
Daggon - 16.06.2014 at 23:40  
I think their debut (yes, that one with the awful Manowar-esque "artwork"), was stronger than this one, but then again, to each his own, maybe I didn't give this one a proper chance.
deadone - 17.06.2014 at 02:08  
Didn't like it at all. More mindless modern Thrash with no soul. The only thing I found interesting was some of the guitar leads.
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.06.2014 at 02:29  
Written by deadone on 17.06.2014 at 02:08

Didn't like it at all. More mindless modern Thrash with no soul. The only thing I found interesting was some of the guitar leads.


Modern thrash? Pure unadultered Bay Area Thrash this is. Way better than anything Exodus ever released after Souza left/got kicked out.
deadone - 17.06.2014 at 03:13  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.06.2014 at 02:29

Written by deadone on 17.06.2014 at 02:08

Didn't like it at all. More mindless modern Thrash with no soul. The only thing I found interesting was some of the guitar leads.


Modern thrash? Pure unadultered Bay Area Thrash this is. Way better than anything Exodus ever released after Souza left/got kicked out.


Modern as in released in the 21st century!

I especially hated the production/sound on this - it's thick and dull and has that modern sterile sheen to it. Song writing was typical too and there weren't many hooks that stuck in my mind.

I was also never a Zetro fan so it has to be really awesome for me to enjoy it.
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.06.2014 at 03:15  
Zetro best work was still with Testament when they were called Legacy and that is still Testament/Legacy's best work by miles and miles.
deadone - 17.06.2014 at 03:33  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.06.2014 at 03:15

Zetro best work was still with Testament when they were called Legacy and that is still Testament/Legacy's best work by miles and miles.



Did Zetro record anything with Testament?
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.06.2014 at 03:38  
Written by deadone on 17.06.2014 at 03:33

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.06.2014 at 03:15

Zetro best work was still with Testament when they were called Legacy and that is still Testament/Legacy's best work by miles and miles.



Did Zetro record anything with Testament?


Well they weren't called Testament at the time but Legacy but had to change their name due to some other band having therights to name, but three of the four demo songs he recorded the vocals for ended up on Testament's debut album and later on he did record Reign Of Terror with them on a rerecorded compilation album and he is still regarded as the Original Testament vocalist and rightly so.
deadone - 17.06.2014 at 03:42  
I'll have to check out the demo.


I do like Chuck's vox on Legacy.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Hatriot - Dawn Of The New Centurion 9 04.03.2014 by Daggon
News Wolfheart - Debut Album Details And New Teaser 4.5 19.08.2013 by BloodJuNkie
News Before The Dawn - Entire New Album Streaming Online 4.5 20.02.2011 by Justicelust
News Before The Dawn - New Album Streaming Online 4.5 20.04.2012 by Troy Killjoy
News Before The Dawn - New Album Teaser Online And Bonus Tracks Unveiled 4.5 09.02.2012 by



Hits total: 1628 | This month: 98