Bandcamp music player

Rating:
9.1
Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails
22 July 2014


01. Starlit Path
02. Carved From Stone
03. The Night Reveals
04. The Flesh Prevails
05. Levitation
06. Alone With You
07. Allure
08. Sapphire
09. Chemical Cave


Fallujah have undergone quite the evolution since their debut EP. Beginning life as an out-and-out deathcore band with nothing more than inventive riffs and a few blackened passages to set them apart, they have introduced more progressive and atmospheric elements with each release. The Flesh Prevails marks a true change in Fallujah, from better-than-average players in a populous scene to innovators of a rising and complex one.

Fallujah's riffs melt over each other like butter one minute and grind each other into a fine paste the next. Their solos waltz in and out like they own the place, dripping warm, full-bodied notes over landscapes that alternate between scorching tech death and synth-borne atmospheres. Aggression is well-placed - tempered without being confined, indulged without being reckless. Fallujah know how to effectively employ heart-stopping technicality without bulldozing through these nine songs; their combination of brutal heaviness and thoughtful atmospherics makes this album not only unique but a magnificent work of art.

The Flesh Prevails superimposes forceful growls and destructive drumming over a flowing, spacey blanket of reflective dream sounds; the impeccable solos bridge the gap, effortlessly dancing from chilled-out noodling to metallic fret domination as if nothing truly separated the two. With the ease, grace, and poise of a ballet-dancing neurosurgeon, Fallujah flit and slide and catapult from note to note, sound to sound in a waterfall of sweet-smelling luxury. This album is a rainbow cascade of cold, hard metal and sublime, cool synthscapes all in perfect balance.

The Flesh Prevails exhibits a mature, graceful Fallujah - a Fallujah that knows exactly what it wants to sound like and how to achieve it. This album succeeds all the way through, from "Starlit Path" to "Chemical Cave"; not a note out of place, not one more or less than is needed. By far, this is Fallujah's best release thus far.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Fallujah
Album: The Flesh Prevails


 



Written on 22.07.2014 by
ScreamingSteelUS
I'm only in this for the money, fame, glory, power, and personal satisfaction.

In my spare time, I fight dragon-pig-C.H.U.D.s in space.

I feel obligated to use up all of my allotted space, so... nah, I'm out of stuff to say.
More reviews by ScreamingSteelUS ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 308  
Search this topic:  


Zaphod - 22.07.2014 at 13:07  
Great review, the band seems to be maturing indeed. I liked the first album, but this one easily beats that.
JayMo4 - 22.07.2014 at 14:53  
I love tech death, but there are too many bands in the genre that are doing little more than imitating each other. The artists that are able to break that barrier and really create something unique are the ones that most pique my interest. Great to hear Fallujah doing exactly that.
oshgar - 22.07.2014 at 15:45  
Really enjoyed this more than I expected to. I agree, a good mixture of aggression and atmosphere, which is hard to find without one sounding too forced. Definitely a contender for death metal album of the year for me
UnknownCheese - 22.07.2014 at 15:51  
What's with deathcore bands these days going "progressive" with all the keyboards and atmospherics? This is too close to BoO territory for me.
LascaillesShroud - 22.07.2014 at 16:53  
This album has brilliant songs but is INSANELY fucking loud. I almost couldn't believe how loud this album was
Troy Killjoy - 22.07.2014 at 19:19  
Written by UnknownCheese on 22.07.2014 at 15:51
What's with deathcore bands these days going "progressive" with all the keyboards and atmospherics? This is too close to BoO territory for me.

Because that's what's in right now. I'm not saying all deathcore bands are trend-hoppers, but some of them definitely are. When you look around and see the success of some of these progressive deathcore bands and how they go on all these tours backed by big labels and they sell a lot of merch, and then all of a sudden the scene explodes with all these wannabe carbon copies...

I'm not saying it's limited to deathcore. Every genre of music has these vulture types. Although, from what I understand Fallujah have somewhat of a big following already and probably shouldn't be considered as trend-hoppers.
LeKiwi - 22.07.2014 at 19:44  
Written by UnknownCheese on 22.07.2014 at 15:51

What's with deathcore bands these days going "progressive" with all the keyboards and atmospherics? This is too close to BoO territory for me.

Doesn't sound anything like BoO though...
UnknownCheese - 22.07.2014 at 20:13  
Written by LeKiwi on 22.07.2014 at 19:44

Written by UnknownCheese on 22.07.2014 at 15:51

What's with deathcore bands these days going "progressive" with all the keyboards and atmospherics? This is too close to BoO territory for me.

Doesn't sound anything like BoO though...


Have you ever heard The Discovery? This is the same sort of synth heavy, sweepy quasi death metal.
Zaphod - 22.07.2014 at 20:40  
Written by JayMo4 on 22.07.2014 at 14:53

I love tech death, but there are too many bands in the genre that are doing little more than imitating each other. The artists that are able to break that barrier and really create something unique are the ones that most pique my interest.

True for almost every genre I'd say.
JayMo4 - 22.07.2014 at 20:58  
Written by Zaphod on 22.07.2014 at 20:40
True for almost every genre I'd say.


It is. I guess it stands out in tech death right now because it's one of the hot genres at the moment. But you're certainly right.
oshgar - 22.07.2014 at 21:30  
Written by UnknownCheese on 22.07.2014 at 20:13

Written by LeKiwi on 22.07.2014 at 19:44

Written by UnknownCheese on 22.07.2014 at 15:51

What's with deathcore bands these days going "progressive" with all the keyboards and atmospherics? This is too close to BoO territory for me.

Doesn't sound anything like BoO though...


Have you ever heard The Discovery? This is the same sort of synth heavy, sweepy quasi death metal.


I can definitely see the comparison between the two, but I find this to be a much better mixture of synth and the death metal. BoO always sounded like the synths were kind of tacked-on and never gelled to well with the rest of the music.
Zaphod - 22.07.2014 at 22:08  
Written by JayMo4 on 22.07.2014 at 20:58

I guess it stands out in tech death right now because it's one of the hot genres at the moment.

Yes, that makes a lot of sense
LeKiwi - 22.07.2014 at 22:46  
Written by UnknownCheese on 22.07.2014 at 20:13

Have you ever heard The Discovery? This is the same sort of synth heavy, sweepy quasi death metal.

I've heard it. First deathcore record that I actually enjoyed. This album and TD sound nothing alike though barring the fact that they use similar tones and whatnot.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails 6 28.05.2014 by LeKiwi
Reviews Savage Messiah - The Fateful Dark 4.5 01.05.2014 by Ag Fox
Reviews Necrodeath - The 7 Deadly Sins 4.5 18.09.2014 by Ilham
Reviews Dark Forest (UK) - The Awakening 4.5 21.01.2014 by theembryo
Reviews Hail Of Bullets - III: The Rommel Chronicles 4.5 10.03.2014 by LascaillesShroud



Hits total: 3684 | This month: 15