Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.3
Chaos Moon - Resurrection Extract
2 July 2014


01. Seeing Through One I
02. Bloodfall
03. Altar
04. Barrow
05. Dreams Scattered Over An Infinite Mirror
06. Asemic Weakness
07. Hymn To Iniquity, Part II - Exsequiae
08. Empty Fissure
09. Exordium Of Exile


Artwork by Derek Setzer.


One man bands have more or less always caught my attention, mostly due to the inspiring testaments to individual potential that lurk within them. Many of metal's repeat offenders within this realm of solidarity have kept relatively quiet this year, but now the silence is being broken once more by the little known, though highly accomplished Chaos Moon, beloved offspring of America's very own Alexander "Esoterica" Poole.

Resurrection Extract, the third full length from Esoterica's project, continues to follow along the path that the previous Chaos Moon releases laid down. A raw black metal core reigns supreme: dirty, abrasive, and in your face, such as on "Asemic Weakness" and "Exordium Of Exile." The tempo thankfully variates, however, striking a nice balance between blitzkrieg-esque deliveries and some relaxed, trace-like moments more typical of Wolves In The Throne Room and early Drudkh.

This hypnotizing nature of Chaos Moon is really owed to the atmospheric elements of the band, which are without question the defining factor on Resurrection Extract, and indeed, the project's past efforts as well. A heavy keyboard element weaves its way in and out of the album, helping to give it its signature edge, that "extra push," so to speak, that engages the listener on a level much deeper than a first listen might initially let onto. A little can sometimes go a long way, and in this case, although Resurrection Extract is far from being a full blown ambient black metal album, on tracks like "Empty Fissure" and especially "Dreams Scattered Over An Infinite Mirror," Esoterica certainly gets the job done with these sound effects.

Although Chaos Moon may not lean too far towards the creative end of the musical spectrum, it's pretty hard to deny that the songwriting the project embarks upon is nothing short of excellent, and Resurrection Extract is a fine example. In regards to one man black metal, this isn't Botanist or Penseés Nocturnes by any means. But in complete honesty, it really doesn't need to be. As ironic as it may sound, with Chaos Moon Esoterica is putting his own identity on an traditionally orthodox sound, and it's working out just fine. If you simply can't get enough of keyboard-soaked black metal, here's one that you do not want to allow yourself to pass up.

Listen here

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 26.07.2014 by
Apothecary
"Show me a sane man, and I will cure him for you"
-Carl Jung
More reviews by Apothecary ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 102  
Search this topic:  


Erik M. - 26.07.2014 at 15:44  
Nice review. Sounds like something I would definitely enjoy, which is something you would agree with for sure I'd say.
Apothecary - 26.07.2014 at 19:02  
Written by Erik M. on 26.07.2014 at 15:44

Nice review. Sounds like something I would definitely enjoy, which is something you would agree with for sure I'd say.

Yeah, if you enjoyed the new Spectral Lore, I definitely see you liking this. Completely different sounds, maybe, but same basic composition principles.
Erik M. - 26.07.2014 at 20:59  
Written by Apothecary on 26.07.2014 at 19:02

Yeah, if you enjoyed the new Spectral Lore, I definitely see you liking this. Completely different sounds, maybe, but same basic composition principles.


Listened to the first few songs just now and it's great. It could very well end up as one of my favourites from this year. Highly enjoyable stuff.
Mr. Doctor - 26.07.2014 at 21:22  
Written by Erik M. on 26.07.2014 at 20:59

Written by Apothecary on 26.07.2014 at 19:02

Yeah, if you enjoyed the new Spectral Lore, I definitely see you liking this. Completely different sounds, maybe, but same basic composition principles.


Listened to the first few songs just now and it's great. It could very well end up as one of my favourites from this year. Highly enjoyable stuff.


Listen to the previous one then. I personally think it's the best stuff he's done so far.
Erik M. - 27.07.2014 at 00:56  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.07.2014 at 21:22

Listen to the previous one then. I personally think it's the best stuff he's done so far.


Will do.
Erik M. - 28.07.2014 at 21:32  
"keyboard-soaked black metal"

Sorry, but I fail to hear what you described. Nothing "keyboard-soaked" about this at all, I'd say. You know what's keyboard-soaked BM? This is. (One of my all-time favourite albums, if you didn't know already )
Karlabos - 28.07.2014 at 21:34  
^ I thought you would post a Dimmu link
Mr. Doctor - 28.07.2014 at 21:50  
Written by Erik M. on 28.07.2014 at 21:32

"keyboard-soaked black metal"
Sorry, but I fail to hear what you described. Nothing "keyboard-soaked" about this at all, I'd say.


Keys are used virtually on every track on their previous album and it's not that different on this one. The fact that they are played tastefully in the background for deeper effect on the riffs and not right in your face as the link you posted doesn't change the fact that Chaos Moon is very key-driven.
Erik M. - 28.07.2014 at 22:30  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 28.07.2014 at 21:50

Keys are used virtually on every track on their previous album and it's not that different on this one. The fact that they are played tastefully in the background for deeper effect on the riffs and not right in your face as the link you posted doesn't change the fact that Chaos Moon is very key-driven.


Keyboard-soaked implies the overall sound relies a lot on keyboards as well as that they're clearly/overly present, I'd say. This surely isn't the case here. The guitar is often responsible for creating a melodic sound in case of this album. Key-driven this might be, since they're used on every track (according to you... I can't say I heard them on every track), but calling this "keyboard-soaked" is totally wrong in my opinion.
Erik M. - 28.07.2014 at 22:33  
Written by Karlabos on 28.07.2014 at 21:34

^ I thought you would post a Dimmu link


Nah, I'd rather just post one of my personal favourites.
Apothecary - 28.07.2014 at 22:41  
Written by Erik M. on 28.07.2014 at 22:30

Keyboard-soaked implies the overall sound relies a lot on keyboards as well as that they're clearly/overly present, I'd say. This surely isn't the case here. The guitar is often responsible for creating a melodic sound in case of this album. Key-driven this might be, since they're used on every track (according to you... I can't say I heard them on every track), but calling this "keyboard-soaked" is totally wrong in my opinion.

I never fail to find humor in the fact that the difference between one word and another can bring so much muddafuckin ruckus (if you got that reference)

It's definitely "keyboard soaked" by your definition. The sound does rely a lot on them, and they are clearly present. They don't have to be appearing at every second, or be the primary instrument at use, for the album to be "keyboard soaked."
Erik M. - 28.07.2014 at 22:51  
Written by Apothecary on 28.07.2014 at 22:41

I never fail to find humor in the fact that the difference between one word and another can bring so much muddafuckin ruckus (if you got that reference)

It's definitely "keyboard soaked" by your definition. The sound does rely a lot on them, and they are clearly present. They don't have to be appearing at every second, or be the primary instrument at use, for the album to be "keyboard soaked."


Yeah, I find myself to be very good at creating discussion over things that don't matter a whole lot.

Well, seeing as I listen to a lot more keyboard-driven music than you (pretty sure of this actually), I won't call something very keyboard-soaked that easily. I mean, I listen to lots of symphonic/melodic BM, doom and gothic stuff that's all WAY more keyboard-driven than this. You listen to a lot more rough/raw music in general than me, which is the reason I think you would view this as keyboard-soaked while it really isn't in comparison to pretty much every symphonic/melodic black/doom/gothic or whatever band.
Apothecary - 28.07.2014 at 23:17  
Written by Erik M. on 28.07.2014 at 22:51

Well, seeing as I listen to a lot more keyboard-driven music than you (pretty sure of this actually), I won't call something very keyboard-soaked that easily. I mean, I listen to lots of symphonic/melodic BM, doom and gothic stuff that's all WAY more keyboard-driven than this. You listen to a lot more rough/raw music in general than me, which is the reason I think you would view this as keyboard-soaked while it really isn't in comparison to pretty much every symphonic/melodic black/doom/gothic or whatever band.

Yeah, that first sentence.... your lovely ego stroking at work again
Anyway, I definitely listen to a lot of keyboard and electronic effects-driven music, remember dude, I'm BIG into drone and ambient bands, so it's not really like I'm new to those types of things. I don't think it's necessarily the best method to look at this in terms of other bands and genres, because there are plenty of ways that an instrument (in this case, keyboards) can take prominence in music. As Rod kind of already said, just because the keyboards here don't necessarily take such an up front approach that some other bands may employ, doesn't still mean that they have a significant presence and still form a crucial part of the music.
ChaosMoon - 28.07.2014 at 23:19  
Thanks everyone for the positive comments. Probably won't believe this, but not a single synthesizer or anything of that nature was used on this album. All guitar with way too many effects.
Erik M. - 28.07.2014 at 23:21  
Written by ChaosMoon on 28.07.2014 at 23:19

Thanks everyone for the positive comments. Probably won't believe this, but not a single synthesizer or anything of that nature was used on this album. All guitar with way too many effects.


Haha, good to know I was right (about the guitars creating the melodic sound and it not being keyboard-driven let alone keyboard-soaked). Oh, and great album, man. I'm enjoying it a lot.
Apothecary - 28.07.2014 at 23:26  
Written by ChaosMoon on 28.07.2014 at 23:19

Thanks everyone for the positive comments. Probably won't believe this, but not a single synthesizer or anything of that nature was used on this album. All guitar with way too many effects.

Wow, that's pretty impressive. As a musician myself, I know how much of a trial and error process it can be to get those specific sounds you want, so kudos to you man. Excellent work!
Mr. Doctor - 28.07.2014 at 23:34  
Written by ChaosMoon on 28.07.2014 at 23:19

Thanks everyone for the positive comments. Probably won't believe this, but not a single synthesizer or anything of that nature was used on this album. All guitar with way too many effects.


Wow, thanks for stopping by! Thank you so much for your work. I absolutely loved your previous album and this one met my expectations!
Alex Fenger - 29.07.2014 at 00:16  
Written by ChaosMoon on 28.07.2014 at 23:19

Thanks everyone for the positive comments. Probably won't believe this, but not a single synthesizer or anything of that nature was used on this album. All guitar with way too many effects.

Thanks for the clarification! Cool of you to stop by

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Chaos Moon - Resurrection Extract 7.5 28.05.2014 by Karlabos
Reviews Chaos Moon - Languor Into Echoes, Beyond 5.5 14.01.2010 by -DC-002-
Albums Chaos Moon - Origin Of Apparition 4.5 22.06.2010 by InnerSelf
Albums Chaos Moon - Languor Into Echoes, Beyond 4.5 03.07.2014 by mz
Albums Chaos Moon - Movimentum [Compilation] 4.5 18.07.2010 by InnerSelf



Hits total: 1383 | This month: 78