Rating:
9.0
Bölzer - Soma [EP]
5 August 2014


01. Steppes
02. Labyrinthian Graves


There's no denying. The underground has been taken by storm. Bölzer has so far released material that barely scratches an hour in total, yet they have been recognized by almost everyone as a force to be reckoned with. How are they able to create so much with so little?

Songwriting, folks. Just brilliant songwriting and an understanding of the genre that goes way past what most bands do. Their interpretation of extreme metal, rooted in the old ways of death and black metal yet what can only be considered modern, is their very own. The way the riffs interact with each other like a writhing mass of snakes. The way they achieve a perfect mix of dissonance and melody. The imposing drums and thundering vocals, both harsh and clean. Everything is combined into a colossal result that is nothing short of intense and awe-inspiring.

Bölzer commented later about the fact that there's a duality between their EPs. Aura, as the title might suggest, deals more with the spiritual aspects of the band. Soma, on the other hand, explores the more earthly side of things. I hear that through the sound and composition of these two releases since Soma feels like a more direct and nature-empowered strike than its predecessor.

We only get two new tracks and it's clear that Bölzer can compose both short and long songs that intrigue the listener. The expectations have been surpassed and now we only have to wait for a full length. You all better make a mental note for these guys. We might have a modern classic on the rising.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Bölzer
Album: Soma


 


written by Mr. Doctor | 28.07.2014



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 221  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 28.07.2014 at 14:21  
Nicely said.

Now what I want from the band is full length. I want a quarter pounder with cheese to sink my teeth into, not just hors d'oeuvres.
Mr. Doctor - 28.07.2014 at 14:25  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 28.07.2014 at 14:21

Nicely said.
Now what I want from the band is full length. I want a quarter pounder with cheese to sink my teeth into, not just hors d'oeuvres.


Thank you kindly. :3
Also, in case people missed it in the review here's a link to a short interview where the band talks about the material they've released so far and also a small portion regarding the upcoming debut so we might get an idea of what to expect.
Ilham - 28.07.2014 at 14:29  
I was expecting more ass-kissing, but then I saw the scores .
No but seriously, great release. This one does feel more physical than Aura, you expressed something I had noticed but didn't put words on.
Mr. Doctor - 28.07.2014 at 14:33  
Written by Ilham on 28.07.2014 at 14:29

I was expecting more ass-kissing, but then I saw the scores .
No but seriously, great release. This one does feel more physical than Aura, you expressed something I had noticed but didn't put words on.

Yeah usually I can put my head on cold water when expressing myself with words. But with ratings I can get crazy if I love it too much.
Thanks though, while reading the interview I listened to both EPs on one good and realised the guys were right. there was a pretty clear difference in the approaches.
Rulatore - 28.07.2014 at 19:53  
A very good review for a very good ep. well said
Apothecary - 28.07.2014 at 20:02  
This "material that barely scratches an hour in total" that you mention gives me mixed feelings. On the one hand, like Joe said, I want to see more from these guys, both EPs are terrific but haven't quite sated my appetite. However, I'm not sure whether or not a full length would make the band lose that "less is more" type vibe or not. I'd like to think not. Anyway, great review and EP, it may be brief, but I'd rather be begging for more than begging for it to stop
Alex Fenger - 28.07.2014 at 20:03  
Yeah great review for a fantastic ep.
Lit. - 28.07.2014 at 20:16  
I actually like this enough to give the previous EP another shot.
Boxcar Willy - 28.07.2014 at 20:43  
I dig the "Only Ep" approach, and tbh I can't remember if I've listened to the first one, so maybe I'll make a double header today.
Mr. Doctor - 28.07.2014 at 20:47  
Nah, that would be a stupid waste of opportunity. Their music clearly works for long formats as well as short. So a chance of a full length shouldn't be missed at all.
On that interview they talked about albums not being longer than 40 mins. I personally think that's a perfect length for their albums

So you've completed the conceptual pairing with the two EPs. Where does that leave you for the full-length you're working on now?
Quote:
We started writing new material over the last year or so. We write really slowly—well,I do. I like to give the material a lot of time to gestate and grow on its own terms, so it's important for me to start playing around with an idea and then put it on the backburner for however long until it rises of its own accord. The end result is usually a lot better that way. I don't like to force things. So we're working on a third song now. They're not all complete, but it's starting to take form. The intention is to make a not very long full-length. For me a perfect album length is like 40 minutes. We're not going to make an hour-long record. No way. It'll be around the six or seven song mark. And there will be an exciting cover in there as well.
Zaphod - 29.07.2014 at 20:34  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 28.07.2014 at 20:47

On that interview they talked about albums not being longer than 40 mins. I personally think that's a perfect length for their albums

Couldn't agree more.
Lit. - 29.07.2014 at 22:07  
^What they said.
Hallford9000 - 27.08.2014 at 13:24  
The wait will be long. Better go play Dark Souls 2.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Bölzer - Soma 4.5 15.04.2014 by Alex Fenger
Reviews Age Of Woe - Inhumanform 3.5 23.08.2013 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Sonne Adam - Transformation 3 29.12.2011 by psykometal
Reviews Stormnatt - Omega Therion 3 25.07.2014 by Ilham
Reviews Reverorum Ib Malacht - De Mysteriis Dom Christii 3 14.08.2014 by Ilham



Hits total: 2121 | This month: 142