Bölzer - Soma review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.0

55 users:
8.05
Band: Bölzer
Album: Soma
Release date: August 2014


01. Steppes
02. Labyrinthian Graves


There's no denying. The underground has been taken by storm. Bölzer has so far released material that barely scratches an hour in total, yet they have been recognized by almost everyone as a force to be reckoned with. How are they able to create so much with so little?

Songwriting, folks. Just brilliant songwriting and an understanding of the genre that goes way past what most bands do. Their interpretation of extreme metal, rooted in the old ways of death and black metal yet what can only be considered modern, is their very own. The way the riffs interact with each other like a writhing mass of snakes. The way they achieve a perfect mix of dissonance and melody. The imposing drums and thundering vocals, both harsh and clean. Everything is combined into a colossal result that is nothing short of intense and awe-inspiring.

Bölzer commented later about the fact that there's a duality between their EPs. Aura, as the title might suggest, deals more with the spiritual aspects of the band. Soma, on the other hand, explores the more earthly side of things. I hear that through the sound and composition of these two releases since Soma feels like a more direct and nature-empowered strike than its predecessor.

We only get two new tracks and it's clear that Bölzer can compose both short and long songs that intrigue the listener. The expectations have been surpassed and now we only have to wait for a full length. You all better make a mental note for these guys. We might have a modern classic on the rising.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 9


 



Written on 28.07.2014 by An extremely lazy reviewer but he's so cute you'd forgive him for it.


Comments

Comments: 16   Visited by: 243 users
28.07.2014 - 14:21
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Nicely said.

Now what I want from the band is full length. I want a quarter pounder with cheese to sink my teeth into, not just hors d'oeuvres.
Loading...
28.07.2014 - 14:25
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 28.07.2014 at 14:21

Nicely said.
Now what I want from the band is full length. I want a quarter pounder with cheese to sink my teeth into, not just hors d'oeuvres.


Thank you kindly. :3
Also, in case people missed it in the review here's a link to a short interview where the band talks about the material they've released so far and also a small portion regarding the upcoming debut so we might get an idea of what to expect.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
28.07.2014 - 14:29
Ilham
Giant robot
I was expecting more ass-kissing, but then I saw the scores .
No but seriously, great release. This one does feel more physical than Aura, you expressed something I had noticed but didn't put words on.
Loading...
28.07.2014 - 14:33
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Ilham on 28.07.2014 at 14:29

I was expecting more ass-kissing, but then I saw the scores .
No but seriously, great release. This one does feel more physical than Aura, you expressed something I had noticed but didn't put words on.

Yeah usually I can put my head on cold water when expressing myself with words. But with ratings I can get crazy if I love it too much.
Thanks though, while reading the interview I listened to both EPs on one good and realised the guys were right. there was a pretty clear difference in the approaches.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
28.07.2014 - 19:53
Rulatore
A very good review for a very good ep. well said
Loading...
28.07.2014 - 20:02
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
This "material that barely scratches an hour in total" that you mention gives me mixed feelings. On the one hand, like Joe said, I want to see more from these guys, both EPs are terrific but haven't quite sated my appetite. However, I'm not sure whether or not a full length would make the band lose that "less is more" type vibe or not. I'd like to think not. Anyway, great review and EP, it may be brief, but I'd rather be begging for more than begging for it to stop
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
28.07.2014 - 20:03
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Yeah great review for a fantastic ep.
Loading...
28.07.2014 - 20:16
Lit.
Account deleted
I actually like this enough to give the previous EP another shot.
Loading...
28.07.2014 - 20:43
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
I dig the "Only Ep" approach, and tbh I can't remember if I've listened to the first one, so maybe I'll make a double header today.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
28.07.2014 - 20:47
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Nah, that would be a stupid waste of opportunity. Their music clearly works for long formats as well as short. So a chance of a full length shouldn't be missed at all.
On that interview they talked about albums not being longer than 40 mins. I personally think that's a perfect length for their albums

So you've completed the conceptual pairing with the two EPs. Where does that leave you for the full-length you're working on now?
Quote:
We started writing new material over the last year or so. We write really slowly—well,I do. I like to give the material a lot of time to gestate and grow on its own terms, so it's important for me to start playing around with an idea and then put it on the backburner for however long until it rises of its own accord. The end result is usually a lot better that way. I don't like to force things. So we're working on a third song now. They're not all complete, but it's starting to take form. The intention is to make a not very long full-length. For me a perfect album length is like 40 minutes. We're not going to make an hour-long record. No way. It'll be around the six or seven song mark. And there will be an exciting cover in there as well.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
29.07.2014 - 20:34
Zaph
The Nothingth
Written by Mr. Doctor on 28.07.2014 at 20:47

On that interview they talked about albums not being longer than 40 mins. I personally think that's a perfect length for their albums

Couldn't agree more.
----
Wubba Lubba Dub Dub
Loading...
29.07.2014 - 22:07
Lit.
Account deleted
^What they said.
Loading...
27.08.2014 - 13:24
Hallford9000
The wait will be long. Better go play Dark Souls 2.
Loading...
27.09.2016 - 15:40
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Mr. Doctor on 28.07.2014 at 20:47


On that interview they talked about albums not being longer than 40 mins.


Funny thing is that 'Hero' is 46 minutes
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
27.09.2016 - 17:52
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 27.09.2016 at 15:40

Written by Mr. Doctor on 28.07.2014 at 20:47


On that interview they talked about albums not being longer than 40 mins.

Funny thing is that 'Hero' is 46 minutes


That's one more thing they left me down on.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
26.03.2017 - 22:01
VIG
Written by Mr. Doctor on 28.07.2014 at 20:47

On that interview they talked about albums not being longer than 40 mins.

That's how long most albums should be. IMO An album shouldn't be longer than an hour and a half. But, it really doesn't matter, as long as the music is great.
----
I've got good news. That gum you like is going to come back in style.

MY 2017 ALBUMS LIST THATS BETTER THAN YOURS
Loading...

Hits total: 3604 | This month: 37