Rating:
5.7
Tankard - R.I.B.
20 June 2014


01. War Cry
02. Fooled By Your Guts
03. R.I.B. (Rest In Beer)
04. Riders Of The Doom
05. Hope Can't Die
06. No One Hit Wonder
07. Breakfast For Champions
08. Enemy Of Order
09. Clockwise To Deadline
10. The Party Ain't Over 'Til We Say So


Well...It's time to party. I guess. Tankard - when at their best - should inspire you to drink a lot and destroy someone's property. Destruction and violence delivered in a cheeky, endearing way is what Tankard is usually about...Usually. This party is about as wild as a Kelly Clarkson music video.

R.I.B.? I sure hope that's not some kind of swansong title, because this would be an incredibly sad way to bring an end to Tankard. It's a tired, frustratingly repetitive, going-through-the-motions, contractual obligation type of album. There's nothing drastically different from the regular Tankard brew here; charging riffs, lyrically satirical themes delivered by the rambunctious voice of Gerre, and a few uber-melodic guitarmonies splashed here and there. This album just continuously feels lackadaisical, put together by a band who sound completely uninterested in what they're creating.

Is it awful? No. In fact, R.I.B. shows signs of being resuscitated multiple times throughout the album. "Riders Of The Doom" and "Enemy Of Order" both jump back into the spastic, catchy, fun German thrash we've all come to adore...Then, sigh, it's back to more songs drawn out in painful repetition, Gerre sounding a bit apathetic, while the riffs, hooks, and chorus' go back to being flat-out unremarkable.

Every party hits that stage, usually at around 3:24AM, where there's only a few stragglers left; too tired and drunk to stumble home, left sitting on the couch staring at their feet. Every once in a while someone cracks a beer and a joke to get some life in the room again, to no avail. It happened to Municipal Waste, and it's happening to Tankard with R.I.B..

"Party Ain't Over 'Til We Say So"? I Think it's about time for last call, Tankard.


Band profile: Tankard
Album: R.I.B.


 



Written on 06.08.2014 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 114  
Search this topic:  


Lit. - 06.08.2014 at 13:48  
Quote:

Every party hits that stage, usually at around 3:24AM, where there's only a few stragglers left; too tired and drunk to stumble home, left sitting on the couch staring at their feet. Every once in a while someone cracks a beer and a joke to get some life in the room again, to no avail. It happened to Municipal Waste, and it's happening to Tankard with R.I.B.


I'd say that happened a long time ago with Tankard, starting after maybe The Morning After or even Stone-Cold Sober if you're feeling generous.

I can also say with unabated certainty that I would take MW over Tankard any day.
Ozman - 06.08.2014 at 14:21  
Written by Lit. on 06.08.2014 at 13:48



I'd say that happened a long time ago with Tankard, starting after maybe The Morning After or even Stone-Cold Sober if you're feeling generous.


You're being very generous yourself, good sir. I'd say that it happened after Chemical Invasion.

Quote:

I can also say with unabated certainty that I would take MW over Tankard any day.


Certainly would take MW over Tankard any day, as well.
Truemetaljope - 06.08.2014 at 18:02  
Not their best, not their worst but definitely better than an average Tankard album.
Doc Godin - 06.08.2014 at 19:07  
Written by Lit. on 06.08.2014 at 13:48

I'd say that happened a long time ago with Tankard, starting after maybe The Morning After or even Stone-Cold Sober if you're feeling generous.

I can also say with unabated certainty that I would take MW over Tankard any day.


Written by Ozman on 06.08.2014 at 14:21

You're being very generous yourself, good sir. I'd say that it happened after Chemical Invasion.

Well, I did thoroughly enjoy Beast Of Bourbon and Beauty And The Beer. Even with their other stuff I've heard, even if it wasn't very good, at least came across as a little more energetic than this.

As for MW, Fatal Feast wasn't bad, but they definitely hit a wall with Massive Aggressive and really haven't been nearly as good since. I think it's going to be a patchwork of "bad" and "just ok" albums from them here on out.
ManiacBlasphemer - 06.08.2014 at 19:55  
Funny, the best shit Tankard ever released in their entire career was after The Chemical Invasion and surely after The Meaning Of Life. Beast of Bourbon and The Beauty And The Beer, despie their terribly cliched titles, were thrash metal anthemic works. I think some people here are just too hateful towards this band for their tongue-in-cheek approach on most of their works.

Shit started to go down ever since Thirst. And seriously, The Morning After is 10 times better than The Chemical Invasion.

Municipal 'Waster' over Tankard? With their latest offerings they hit the same low as much as Tankard, and their previous ones are far behind the 2004-2006 Tankard material. Tankard for me any day.
deadone - 08.08.2014 at 02:52  
No surprises here then.

IMO Tankard were always at best mediocre and at worst, pretty shit.

Quote:
Every party hits that stage, usually at around 3:24AM, where there's only a few stragglers left; too tired and drunk to stumble home, left sitting on the couch staring at their feet.


It's like sometimes when you only linger at a party at 3:42 am just in case something memorable happens and 99% of the time it doesn't. That's what I think of Tankard.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Phosphorus - Assassinat 4.5 22.11.2014 by SilentScream
Reviews Wolf - Ravenous 4.5 25.07.2010 by vezzy
Reviews The Sorrow - Origin Of The Storm 4.5 23.10.2010 by Bodom81
Reviews Arkona - Goi, Rode, Goi! 4.5 02.12.2009 by ItalktotheWind
Reviews Krokmitën - Omicron-Omega 4.5 25.07.2014 by mz



Hits total: 1594 | This month: 40