Reverorum Ib Malacht - De Mysteriis Dom Christii review



Reviewer:
8.2

2 users:
6.50
Band: Reverorum Ib Malacht
Album: De Mysteriis Dom Christii
Release date: September 2014


01. I
02. II
03. III
04. IV
05. V
06. VI
07. VII
08. IIX
09. IX
10. X
11. XI


The cold glimpse of a church. Exactly 20 years after Satan's mysteries were revealed to us, Christ came down and showed us his path. A path which is just as dark and terrifying.

The references to Mayhem's magnificent debut can't be just a coincidence. This is more or less were the similarities stop though. Whether they are real or not, the tales of Reverorum Ib Malacht have always intrigued me. A tale of Satanists who displayed their beliefs through music but suddenly saw God's forgiving light once again. Embracing and expressing it in the only way they know how: through insane sonic rituals. This is akin to what I sometimes imagine when I set foot in an old church and contemplate the vast and imposing architecture.

Their 2005 demo left a mark on me, as I was still very young in my extreme metal journey. I remember how scared and confused I was while listening to the cacophony of riffs and blastbeats juxtaposed with the choirs deep in the background. Years passed by with a couple of ambient-based demos here and there. Finally, in 2011, they released their debut. The old sound was back. I was honestly quite ecstatic about it but, while good, it left me craving for more.

This serves as a proper follower with some twists of its own. A maelstrom of riffs, chaotic drumming and choirs played through an extremely bassy production. Vocals that somewhat resemble Attila's operatic cries appear here and there, hinting even more to the classic black metal debut. The ambient intros and interludes set the mood just right before the madness sets in yet again. Low, deep and unsettling sounds creep their way through while whisperings and prayers are on top.

The songwriting feels more varied than what I remembered from their previous releases, specially the drumming that displays some interesting fillers every now and then. Reverorum Ib Malacht keep the pace of the drums and riffs slower this time around, resulting in more hypnotic tracks. It's a calmer sound than expected but when the fast tempo reappears, it does come back with a vengeance and it's easy to get lost in the storm.

All in all, I'm left satisfied with the result. It's worth commenting that there are apparently two different versions of this album. The other one features two long tracks instead and the music is different as well, which I haven't heard unfortunately. Other than that, there's not much left to say. For those who already know and enjoy this band, this will certainly provide the needed fix. For the uninitiated: if ambient, lo-fi black metal and the occult are up your alley... Let the light come to you and cleanse your soul!


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 14.08.2014 by An extremely lazy reviewer but he's so cute you'd forgive him for it.


Comments

Comments: 30   Visited by: 163 users
14.08.2014 - 15:31
Ilham
Giant robot
Looks like I won't like this one either .
Loading...
14.08.2014 - 15:41
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
I can deal with it.



*snif*
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
14.08.2014 - 15:43
Karlabos
Weirdo of MS
This sounds like it's gonna be fun. I still haven't found it among the sea though.
What about the production? It would be a bit better if the production wasn't that bad like in Urkaos
----
2016

2017
Loading...
14.08.2014 - 15:53
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Karlabos on 14.08.2014 at 15:43

This sounds like it's gonna be fun. I still haven't found it among the sea though.
What about the production? It would be a bit better if the production wasn't that bad like in Urkaos


Hmmmm... You can try this one anyways since the slower and quieter moments makes it much clearer for the ears by comparison. But they haven't really changed their bassy lo-fi production.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
14.08.2014 - 17:02
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Yeah this sounds like it'll suck just as much as the previous releases. Truly a shit band
Loading...
14.08.2014 - 17:16
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Alex F on 14.08.2014 at 17:02

Yeah this sounds like it'll suck just as much as the previous releases. Truly a shit band


----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
14.08.2014 - 17:28
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Never understood why Lucas raved about this band. Still though, good review, even if I'm unlikely to agree with
Loading...
14.08.2014 - 17:30
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 14.08.2014 at 17:28

Never understood why Lucas raved about this band.


Lucas also raved about Lady GaGa and Bruce Springsteen, and actually enjoyed H.I.M. immensely, so....
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
14.08.2014 - 17:33
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.08.2014 at 17:30

Lucas also raved about Lady GaGa and Bruce Springsteen, and actually enjoyed H.I.M. immensely, so....

Yep, true, but I would probably find more enjoyment in those than this. I can think of at least one song of HIM and Gaga I quite like haha.
Loading...
14.08.2014 - 21:49
InnerSelf
proofread free
Great review as always Rod ... And oh my good you guys, stop bitching about Lucas (and others) liking this band, it's apparent by now that there's something about their sound that we like and you don't :| bunch of whiners
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
14.08.2014 - 22:36
Karlabos
Weirdo of MS
Yeah, RiM is too complex for them to understand
----
2016

2017
Loading...
15.08.2014 - 01:00
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I listened to a song by these guys - or is it this guy, doesn't matter - on Youtube once and laughed. I remember Lucas gave one of their albums or demos or something a 9+ before and I was like... no.

Not gonna bother with this. It was so bad I actually didn't even read the review before commenting.

(Sorry Rod. I know how long it takes you to write them.)
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
15.08.2014 - 01:03
mz
Ok as for now, I couldn't find this one yet.

I quiet like the name, "outlook" and what these guys are aiming for but the final product hadn't been that good.
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...
15.08.2014 - 01:05
mz
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.08.2014 at 01:00

I listened to a song by these guys - or is it this guy, doesn't matter - on Youtube once and laughed. I remember Lucas gave one of their albums or demos or something a 9+ before and I was like... no.

Not gonna bother with this. It was so bad I actually didn't even read the review before commenting.


Yeah the best parts of that demo were sth like 10 seconds of form-free noise tbh. At least that was the part I enjoyed the most.
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...
15.08.2014 - 01:09
mz
Written by Karlabos on 14.08.2014 at 22:36

Yeah, RiM is too complex for them to understand

Yeah they should totally make an split with Deathspell Omega.
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...
15.08.2014 - 01:43
Ilham
Giant robot
Mz plis laeve Dso alon dis is crap
Loading...
15.08.2014 - 01:48
Vombatus
Potorro
Niiiiiiiiice, I'll check this out. Really like their previous stuff (despite all the hate over here haha)
Loading...
15.08.2014 - 12:49
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.08.2014 at 01:00
(Sorry Rod. I know how long it takes you to write them.)

Bitch this is my first review post-moving out of my folks so you better read it. You would at least say that it's your favorite thing about this album.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
15.08.2014 - 22:14
Erik M.
Funny, but also a bit sad, to hear that almost anyone here seems to hate this band.

Never even heard of it before, but I'm going to give it a chance anyway. Also, that album title? No, just no. Way too obvious.
Loading...
16.08.2014 - 01:59
Lit.
Account deleted
I didn't even know this band still existed after that flimsy demo.
Loading...
16.08.2014 - 12:40
Scathach666
Christian scum
Loading...
16.08.2014 - 14:13
Ilham
Giant robot
What?
Loading...
16.08.2014 - 14:25
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Ilham on 16.08.2014 at 14:13

What?



He probably called them Christian scum because both band members converted to Catholicism in 2009 and took the mickey out of Mayhem with the album cover and album title.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
16.08.2014 - 14:31
Ilham
Giant robot
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 16.08.2014 at 14:25
He probably called them Christian scum because both band members converted to Catholicism in 2009 and took the mickey out of Mayhem with the album cover and album title.

I didn't know about the conversion, thank you. I was wondering if the title/cover was enough to justify calling them "Christian scum".
Loading...
16.08.2014 - 15:10
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Ilham on 16.08.2014 at 14:31
I didn't know about the conversion, thank you.

Glad to see people read my reviews.... Not.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
16.08.2014 - 15:24
Ilham
Giant robot
Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.08.2014 at 15:10
Glad to see people read my reviews.... Not.

I just didn't take what you said about God's forgiving light very seriously, I thought it was a stylistic thing.
Loading...
16.08.2014 - 22:59
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 16.08.2014 at 14:25

He probably called them Christian scum because both band members converted to Catholicism in 2009 and took the mickey out of Mayhem with the album cover and album title.

I find it quite hilarious to be honest. But the music still probably sucks donkey ass
Loading...
16.08.2014 - 23:16
Karlabos
Weirdo of MS
You'd think looking down upon bands because of their beliefs is something only the more radical fans did on the 90s... Guess such discrimination is not overcomed yet
----
2016

2017
Loading...
18.08.2014 - 20:21
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.08.2014 at 15:41

*snif*


Doccie, how would you compare it to the demo? As good, or almost as good? In other words, should I bother checking it out or can I just stick to the demo?
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
19.08.2014 - 14:05
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Lucas on 18.08.2014 at 20:21

Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.08.2014 at 15:41

*snif*

Doccie, how would you compare it to the demo? As good, or almost as good? In other words, should I bother checking it out or can I just stick to the demo?


Well after the couple of pure-ambient demos they did return back to their BM sound but with less harsh noises so to speak and with some ambient interludes here and there. Urkaos is pretty good if you haven't heard it. This goes is a bit slower and more hypnotic than Urkaos though (and of course much slower than their demo).

I think you should give it a try. Some of the ambient interludes could be better but the BM parts are nice if you ask me.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...

Hits total: 3404 | This month: 34