Rating:
N/A
Trioscapes - Digital Dream Sequence
19 August 2014


01. Digital Dream Sequence
02. Stab Wounds
03. From The Earth To The Moon
04. Hysteria
05. The Jungle


When can a band you really don't care for yield one that you do? Why, when the band in question has a member who forms another band that's overall better and more enjoyable, of course. Enter the case of Dan Briggs' Trioscapes.

The side project of the Between The Buried And Me bassist is a curious jazz fusion of sorts. Horns and intricate bass lines abound, in complex, off beat rhythms similar to what you'd hear of modern prog metal. At some points throughout Digital Dream Sequence, Briggs' bass makes use of some heavy distortion (see the opening title track) to sound a bit like an extremely fuzzy, down tuned guitar and make the music feel a little bit more metal-like.

There's a lot going on on this album musically: some might be overwhelmed, and others who like a wide variety of instrumentation will surely be pleased. Whether it's flute ("Stab Wounds"), xylophone ("From The Earth To The Moon"), or the sax and bass that really form the core of the album, Digital Dream Sequence is a clever layering of various sounds and an excellent testament to the composing abilities of Dan Briggs, a pleasing alternative to BTBAM that perhaps shows us his true potential more than the aforementioned band.

Listening to Trioscapes, there's no denying that Dann Briggs is a well accomplished and potent musician. But there's something more enjoyable here than with BTBAM, perhaps in the fact that this project is purely instrumental, lacking the potential distraction of vocals and allowing each player's skills to really shine. Is this "jazz metal"? Not really, even if some of the rhythms executed may sound a little metal-ish. But at the end of the day, who really cares, as long as it's good? If you're like me, a sucker for jazz, or just complex music in general, you'd be doing yourself a solid by giving Digital Dream Sequence a spin or two.


 



Written on 29.08.2014 by
Apothecary
Your friend the witch doctor.
More reviews by Apothecary ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 103  
Search this topic:  


mz - 29.08.2014 at 22:50  
Seems like something I'd like.
Rupert - 30.08.2014 at 02:19  
Written by mz on 29.08.2014 at 22:50

Seems like something I'd like.

Same.
R'Vannith - 30.08.2014 at 05:40  
I'm interested in the notion that this brings out the best in a musician. Not the biggest fan of BTBAM and I don't know much about Briggs aside from him being well regarded, but if this project sees him at the top of his game it's something I need to hear, I think.
Apothecary - 30.08.2014 at 06:36  
Written by R'Vannith on 30.08.2014 at 05:40

Not the biggest fan of BTBAM and I don't know much about Briggs aside from him being well regarded, but if this project sees him at the top of his game it's something I need to hear, I think.

Mhmm, it really does I think, particularly excellent if you love good bass
Unhealer - 30.08.2014 at 19:10  
This album is really good indeed! A bit crazier than the previous one, sax is just pure noise sometimes. It requires an extra effort from the listener
BloodTears - 30.08.2014 at 19:46  
Still haven't had the chance to listen to this one but I want to, badly! Pretty sure I'll enjoy it judging by your description and the singles I listened to.

Btw, BTBAM is really good, I don't get why you wouldn't like it, especially their heavier stuff.
Apothecary - 30.08.2014 at 20:02  
Written by BloodTears on 30.08.2014 at 19:46

BTBAM is really good, I don't get why you wouldn't like it, especially their heavier stuff.

The vocals just put me off. For the longest time I always thought "man, BTBAM would be so much better if it was just an instrumental project," which is probably why I'm enjoying this album so much.
DelightfulJim - 01.09.2014 at 14:01  
To be fair, I'm a BTBAM fan and I agree with the vocals being the worst part. But that's mostly because I find it difficult to listen to the same growl for 10 minutes on end. The music itself was always stellar, even the bass.

I'll definitely be giving this a spin

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Trioscapes - Digital Dream Sequence 7.5 06.10.2014 by bleak
Reviews Acacia - Tills Döden Skiljer Oss Åt 3 11.08.2013 by Merchant of Doom
Reviews Bong - Stoner Rock 3 28.04.2014 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Zemial - Nykta 3 27.01.2014 by Reaper_Redeamer
Reviews The Fall Of Every Season - Amends 3 06.03.2013 by DelightfulJim



Hits total: 1462 | This month: 45