Jucifer - District Of Dystopia review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
4.0

11 users:
5.91
Band: Jucifer
Album: District Of Dystopia
Release date: December 2014


01. Non Gratum Anus Rodentum
02. It Can't Be Helped
03. Narcissist
04. Red Summer
05. Ratified
06. Decapitating The Regime
07. WarStartDemo
08. Justice
09. The Object Of Power


I hate this kind of album, it makes me sound as if I were complaining about the inherent characteristics of style the band is playing.

The thing is, Jucifer never chose a genre and stuck to it. Many bands suffer from the same "affliction" *cough*Faith No More*cough* and we love some of them for just that. I've known Jucifer for a while, it's always been hard to live with their brutal mood swings, but I've gotten used to it. Little did I know that I would actually regret the schizophrenic genre-hopping and general weirdness of their records. Their new album, District Of Dystopia, is basically a political DIY twenty-minute long inconsistent, sludgy, noisy, powerviolency punk thing of a record. Recorded in an RV. Walter White style.



Don't get me wrong, we've already heard this side of the band's complex personality. But a whole "album" of it is hard to digest. This is the kind of stuff you try for one song on Bandcamp and move on. Gimme Jucifer back, the band whose albums you listen to once and never forget - whether you hated or loved it. Not a cute and funny jam session that sounds like a hundred other demos from obscure crust bands. Who the hell cares if it has that legitimate, original punk attitude. If I listened to music only for the attitude I'd be listening to this crap.

If you're still interested, go ahead, listen to the whole thing here. I personally couldn't shake the impression this is what a Jimmy/Timmy demo tape would sound like.



Also, I'm not explaining who these guys are, if you don't know South Park, you have no business being on the internet in the first place.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 5
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 2
Production: 5


 



Written on 31.12.2014 by I like music.


Comments

Comments: 12   Visited by: 143 users
31.12.2014 - 08:10
Sznc
Listening to this album as i'm writing.
First impression: it certainly isn't that kind of mindless "chaotic" crust punk/noise/black metal jam. The production, whilst DIY, is certainly audible and perfectly fine, so giving a 5 is a bit harsh. On performance and songwriting, the band certainly knew what they were doing, and this isn't some meandering, being-edgy-for-the-sake-of-being-edgy stuff either. I think it's some well-written sludge metal, in fact. Originality-wise, hell, metalstorm users are really fond of throwing the word "solid" around, so let's not talk about it.
In other words, this isn't as bad as bad as you made it. I'm enjoying it right now, and will enjoy it again.
Loading...
31.12.2014 - 11:38
Ilham
Giant robot
Written by Sznc on 31.12.2014 at 08:10

Listening to this album as i'm writing.
First impression: it certainly isn't that kind of mindless "chaotic" crust punk/noise/black metal jam. The production, whilst DIY, is certainly audible and perfectly fine, so giving a 5 is a bit harsh. On performance and songwriting, the band certainly knew what they were doing, and this isn't some meandering, being-edgy-for-the-sake-of-being-edgy stuff either. I think it's some well-written sludge metal, in fact. Originality-wise, hell, metalstorm users are really fond of throwing the word "solid" around, so let's not talk about it.
In other words, this isn't as bad as bad as you made it. I'm enjoying it right now, and will enjoy it again.


I'll let go of the comment on MS and originality, since I don't really get it. There is no group "policy", and that's only your impression. But otherwise I understand how one could enjoy it more than I do.
I still don't think it's bad sludgy crust punk. But it is rated the way it is because it's unidimensional, sounds exactly like the others, doesn't display some things I like in Jucifer's music, is inconsistent in songwriting and production (that's still the best thing in this), and the sum of all the flaws I personally find in it don't make me want to go back to it at all. (Of course I had to listen to it numerous times for the review, but it'll be the last time).

Edit: Yeah okay I was a little harsh. But what was speaking was honest disappointment, not being mean for the sake of it. So I still stand by that review.
Loading...
31.12.2014 - 13:46
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Lel, I must hear this.
Loading...
31.12.2014 - 13:47
Frudd
Account deleted
Man, this should be horrible, gonna give it a listen.
Loading...
31.12.2014 - 13:50
Ilham
Giant robot
Written by Guest on 31.12.2014 at 13:47

Man, this should be horrible, gonna give it a listen.

It's not horrible at all for crust punk lovers. I know you will hate it though. But it's just that, a 20 min fun thing.
Loading...
31.12.2014 - 14:18
Frudd
Account deleted
Written by Ilham on 31.12.2014 at 13:50

Written by Guest on 31.12.2014 at 13:47

Man, this should be horrible, gonna give it a listen.

It's not horrible at all for crust punk lovers. I know you will hate it though. But it's just that, a 20 min fun thing.

I actually enjoyed it, would give it 6 or 6.5. But maybe that's because I'm unfamiliar with their backlog and I dont listen to a lot of crust.
Loading...
31.12.2014 - 14:31
Ilham
Giant robot
Written by Guest on 31.12.2014 at 14:18

I actually enjoyed it, would give it 6 or 6.5. But maybe that's because I'm unfamiliar with their backlog and I dont listen to a lot of crust.

If it had been another band it could have gotten maybe a point and a half more. As much as I want to detach myself from what I know of the band, you can't ignore the context, relevance and backcatalog as you say. This is the last thing I expected from them. The album just before this one is delicious noisy heavy as fuck sludge for example. And around 2007 they used to play nice sludgy and gloomy pop with clean vocals. They're always done different things and very well. Everything they did that I have heard always had a very specific edge.
Loading...
31.12.2014 - 16:30
M C Vice
Ex-polydactyl
So, since I ordered this when it came out, I shouldn't look forward to the cd arriving now? And only 20 mins? I thought this was a full length, not an ep?
----
"Another day, another Doug."
"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
" 'Tis a lie! Thy backside is whole and ungobbled, thou ungrateful whelp!"
Loading...
31.12.2014 - 16:33
Ilham
Giant robot
Written by M C Vice on 31.12.2014 at 16:30

So, since I ordered this when it came out, I shouldn't look forward to the cd arriving now? And only 20 mins? I thought this was a full length, not an ep?

I think I've seen you comment a lot on the Jucifer threads. You're a fan right? Well, you might like it if you like the crust bits we've heard from them in other albums. That's the only thing you'll get though, that's my main complaint. Yeah it's only 20 minutes, still released as an album, not an EP, that I know of. But you might react the way I did as well .
Loading...
31.12.2014 - 17:48
ManiacBlasphemer
Black Knight
Ok, I listened this one a couple of times and I still do not see what is wrong with it. I liked their previous works, my favorite opus they made is L'Autrichienne, and though this is more abbrassive and minimalistic, I still like it. While I am not really interested in the rating (as it is subjective), I do think it is worth listening. It would've been bad if they prolonged the album with more length as it gets kinda tiring. But the 25 minute length is ideal.

P.S. I ain't that big of a crust punk fan, but I still like this opus.
Loading...
31.12.2014 - 20:16
Totenlieder
I've never even heard of these guys
But I listened to this album and I like it.
----
Blut & Krieg
Loading...
01.01.2015 - 02:36
M C Vice
Ex-polydactyl
Written by Ilham on 31.12.2014 at 16:33

Written by M C Vice on 31.12.2014 at 16:30

So, since I ordered this when it came out, I shouldn't look forward to the cd arriving now? And only 20 mins? I thought this was a full length, not an ep?

I think I've seen you comment a lot on the Jucifer threads. You're a fan right? Well, you might like it if you like the crust bits we've heard from them in other albums. That's the only thing you'll get though, that's my main complaint. Yeah it's only 20 minutes, still released as an album, not an EP, that I know of. But you might react the way I did as well .

Yeah, I prefer their style(s) on the 1st 4 albums than the single sound on most of the last 2. After listening to this on bandcamp, I'd put this somewhere between the last 2.
----
"Another day, another Doug."
"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
" 'Tis a lie! Thy backside is whole and ungobbled, thou ungrateful whelp!"
Loading...

Hits total: 3632 | This month: 22