Septicflesh - Titan review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.5

509 users:
8.24
Band: Septicflesh
Album: Titan
Release date: June 2014


01. War In Heaven
02. Burn
03. Order Of Dracul
04. Prototype
05. Dogma
06. Prometheus
07. Titan
08. Confessions Of A Serial Killer
09. Ground Zero
10. The First Immortal
11. Dogma Of Prometheus [orchestral version] [deluxe edition bonus]
12. A Prototype In Heaven [orchestral version] [deluxe edition bonus]
13. The First Immortal [orchestral version] [deluxe edition bonus]
14. Order Of A Serial Killer [orchestral version] [deluxe edition bonus]
15. The Burning [orchestral version] [deluxe edition bonus]

[Live In Toulouse - collector's edition bonus CD]
01. The Vampire From Nazareth
02. We, The Gods
03. Pyramid God
04. A Great Mass Of Death
05. Anubis
06. Persepolis
07. Five-Pointed Star


Ever had a burger so good it ruined every other burger for you? I have. In fact, I'm a goddam burger connoisseur. Those who have had the pleasure of eating at Kuma's in Chicago or watch How I Met Your Mother know what I am talking about. Well, for many, The Great Mass was that burger. It was just so juicy and flavorful in its mastery of death/goth fusion and amazing symphonics. Three years have passed now, with the fond memories of that burger only growing every day. So it came as little surprise when Septicflesh's latest meaty outing garnered mixed reviews.

In essence, all of the ingredients are still here: incredible orchestrations, pummeling drums, haunting choirs, punishing death growls, and simple guitar hooks. In fact, I argue that this burger is every bit as delicious as its predecessor. The main problem likely lies in a lack of notable progression. I can still walk into a Red Robin and enjoy a meal, but I have to somewhat leave my expectations at the door. The same can be said of this album. My first bite left me somewhat disappointed, but subsequent ones led me to appreciate it more and more for the atmospheric masterpiece that it is.

Take the warring good and evil of "Prometheus" with its absolutely stunning final minutes, the gothic vibe of "Burn," or the crushing drums and vocals of the title track: there is no lack of garnish here. In fact, I find myself enjoying every track pretty equally. If there is one thing that Septicflesh have stepped up with this release, it's the incredibly dense and complex level of classical orchestration. You will be hard pressed to find another release so rich in atmosphere, and in 2014 no one else in the genre could even hold a match to it.

In the end, the best advice I can give is to give this another taste, only this time considering what it means to the year and where its strengths lie. You may still decide that this burger just isn't for you, but we can at least agree that it makes plenty of others look like McDonald's drive-through in comparison. Bring ketchup.

Enjoyability=10
Musicianship=9
Innovation=7


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 10

Written by flightoficarus | 09.02.2015


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 136 users
09.02.2015 - 18:10
LeKiwi
High Fist Prog
Sure, this album excels in its atmospheric nature, but it lacks the memorability and emotive dynamics of Communion. The Great Mass suffered in a similar sense. Seeing as you gave Communion a 7 and The Great Mass a 10, your perspective isn't that surprising. Each to their own
Loading...
09.02.2015 - 18:15
flightoficarus
Stamp Tramp
Written by LeKiwi on 09.02.2015 at 18:10

Sure, this album excels in it's atmospheric nature, but it lacks the memorability and emotive dynamics of Communion. The Great Mass suffered in a similar sense. Seeing as you gave Communion a 7 and The Great Mass a 10, your perspective isn't that surprising. Each to their own


And everyone's opinion is valid. My problem with Communion is simply that it is extremely top-heavy. The first half has some of my favorite SF tracks of all time, but the second half is downright painful for me, especially "Sangreal," which I think is just terrible. I prefer Sumerian Daemons.
----
Daily underground metal recommendations at Metal Trenches.
Loading...
09.02.2015 - 18:19
LeKiwi
High Fist Prog
Written by flightoficarus on 09.02.2015 at 18:15

And everyone's opinion is valid. My problem with Communion is simply that it is extremely top-heavy. The first half has some of my favorite SF tracks of all time, but the second half is downright painful for me, especially "Sangreal," which I think is just terrible. I prefer Sumerian Daemons.

I didn't say otherwise did I?

Top heavy? The second half focused far more on the melodic aspect and the variety was refreshing. Every second of that album is dear to me
Loading...
09.02.2015 - 20:13
garmling
Another good and justifiable review! Keep it up man! This album is great in every sense.... It has it all Septicflesh is known for and even more, but as you said, the expectations are too high after The Great Mass, so it was at first disappointing... I was disappointed too, but after awhile I started to appreciate this album more and more, and now I enjoy it as much as The Great Mass, Communion and Summerian Daemons!
Loading...
09.02.2015 - 20:50
Zaph
The Nothingth
I'm gonna need a lot of ketchup if I want to enjoy this, but great review nonetheless.
----
Wubba Lubba Dub Dub
Loading...
10.02.2015 - 12:42
s_t_s
Nice review tho I'm not sure you actually reviewed a new burger or SF's latest album. Anyway I don't quite agree with you here since to me The Great Mass IS the perfect balance between symphony and death (or whatever) metal. Here it's a bit too much, hence a bit messy. Yet I love this album but would surely not rate it 9.5
Loading...
13.02.2015 - 23:24
LeKiwi
High Fist Prog
What made you change your rating from 10 to 9.5 in reference to your MA review?
Loading...
13.02.2015 - 23:33
flightoficarus
Stamp Tramp
Written by LeKiwi on 13.02.2015 at 23:24

What made you change your rating from 10 to 9.5 in reference to your MA review?


Just wanted to put it a touch below The Great Mass, I guess. I'm not entirely sure. Felt right when I wrote the new review.
----
Daily underground metal recommendations at Metal Trenches.
Loading...
28.04.2015 - 23:28
Sunny Pagliaccio
Staff's PITA
----
I wish, I wish I was a fish. With wings. And long mane. And maybe a halo. Possibly shape-shifting.
Loading...

Hits total: 1999 | This month: 58