Advertise on Metal Storm
Various Artists - Sign Of The Hammer review


1 user:
Band: Various Artists
Album: Sign Of The Hammer
Release date: October 2000

Disc I
01. Thyrfing - Mjolner
02. Primordial - Gods To The Godless
03. Necronomicon - Heavens Of Hate, Fields Of Fire
04. Havayoth - Mirrors
05. The Ravenous - Perverted Before God
06. Rebaelliun - Bringer Of War
07. Alas - Absolute Purity
08. Defleshed - Beaten, Loved And Eaten
09. Aeternus - Under The Eternal Blackened Sky
10. Solstice - To Ride With Tyr
11. Aura Noir - Mirage
12. Severe Torture - Baptized In Virginal Liquid
13. Thanatos - Sincere Chainsaw Salvation
14. Skyfire - Skyfire
15. Hypnosia - Circle Of The Flesh
16. Corona Borealis - Canrus Paganus

Disc II
01. Dimmu Borgir - Master Of Disharmony
02. Ancient - Det Glemte Riker
03. Tulus - Salme
04. Avrigus - Dark Angels
05. Hades Almighty - Ballad Of Death And Obsession
06. Trelldom - Vendermeg Mot Et Kommende
07. Dead Head - Sawn In Two
08. Cruachan - Middle Kingdom
09. Old Man's Child - The Old Man's Child
10. Dead Silent Slumber - Raising The Suicide Chalice
11. Die Apokalyptischen Reiter - Licked By The ...
12. Infestdead - Re-Resurrection
13. Ivasion - Conquered
14. Carpe Tenebrum - Void Dress
15. Kampfar - Norse
16. Haglaz' Runedance - On Wings Of Rapture

Here we have a new and huge compilation from the Dutch Hammerheart Records.
Huge indeed, because the songs, divided into 2 CDs are a total of 32 for 32 different bands.

The Label, founded in 1995, have interests in the Black, Death, Doom sections mainly, but we find also folkish bands in its roster. The songs that we con find in the compilation ranges indeed from the Black Metal of Tulus to the Death of Ravenous to the folk metal of Cruachan.

The strong point of this double CD is the variety. Look at the tracklist above: 32 songs that presents us 32 bands is not bad, even if not all the bands are on the same level: if we can find great songs like Thyrfing's "Myölner" Rebaelliun's "Bringer Of War" or Tulus' "Salme" we find also bands that are absolutely not on the same level. Anyway, the 70% of the songs here is worth of a good listening:)

I cannot frankly suggest you to buy this double CD even if it's surely a compilation of a good Label, with some really good songs, able to give you a large view of the production of it's bands.

Written by Sephiroth | 09.11.2003



Comments: 2   Visited by: 43 users
08.10.2008 - 21:47
Valentin B
i actually thought this was a manowar tribute album
Sing me a song, you're a singer
Do me a wrong, you're a bringer of evil.
13.09.2009 - 10:18
Heaven Knight
Same here

but the tracklist of those cds is looking quite nice
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Hits total: 4286 | This month: 23