Succumb - Succumb review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.0

11 users:
5.45
Band: Succumb
Album: Succumb
Release date: May 2017


01. The Initiate
02. Destroyer II
03. Bedchambers
04. Survival
05. Seedling
06. Coal Dark Earth
07. The Flood


Death metal has made quite the impressive comeback in the 2010s. Though still present, the wave of grandpa metaller bands trying to replicate what worked for the genre 20 years ago, as well as the widdly diddly tech death wankers, are finally starting to die down. In their place we're now seeing a slew of bands that... are just better, really. Bands that either smash down every conceivable boundary in their way, like Chaos Echs, or even ones that might not be all that original but still deliver a hard hitting sound with an unquestionably modern update (Obliteration, Gatecreeper, etc). Bands like Succumb.

Boy, has this band hit the ground running. Hailing from San Francisco, this four piece beast only just awakened from the grimy pits of R'lyeh this year, and they've already got a full length debut under their belts. The youngins in Succumb employ a chaotic, noisey, and all around dirty brand of death metal, drenched in a disgusting, gritty layer of black metal for good measure. Overall the music may not be that original in terms of new things being brought to the table, but the songwriting is considerably on point. Snaking its way through various tempos and alternating amounts of death and black metal influence, the music here shifts between frantic barrages one second, groovy bangers another moment, and slow, painfully crushing segments the next. Succumb's slower moments especially are those that bring out their black metal side the most, making the music approach borderline blackened doom vibes on occasion as well.

A summary of Succumb's self titled debut would of course be incomplete, however, without mentioning the impressively distinct vocals of Cheri Musrasrik. This charismatic frontwoman knows how to make clean vocals work for death metal. With her high energy, yelling-like approach, that's mixed very well to the point of sort of blending into the music rather than overpowering it, the music of Succumb only becomes more shadowy and ensnaring than it already is. I'm honestly reminded a bit of Urfaust here, in terms of how surprisingly well Succumb have made clean vocals work in a genre in which they're rather atypical. To make things even better, growls are indeed present as well from bassist Kirk Spasseff. The trick though is that they're often delivered quietly under Cheri, to sort of create this ominous, imposing atmosphere bubbling underneath the rest of the music, that certainly leaves a powerful impact.

This first effort from Succumb may not be the most original in terms of bringing new ideas to the table, but it certainly is with regards to its combination of different, at times unexpected songwriting techniques. The band may not be blending every possible genre into their formula and creating postmodern death metal or something like that, but that's fine, because their music still packs a punch and is all around meaner, more memorable, and just better written than that of many of their contemporaries. Keep your eye on this pack, as they're one to watch.

Easy candidate for debut of the year. Succumb to Succumb.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


 



Written on 08.06.2017 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 24   Visited by: 118 users
08.06.2017 - 21:52
RaduP
Noob
SUCCumb
----
Headbutt yourself!
Loading...
09.06.2017 - 06:14
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Glad that you're a fan of the vocals as well. I've seen a bit of negative reception regarding them online and I just don't understand it. They seem to fit so well and I personally find them great
Loading...
09.06.2017 - 09:47
Maratha
Looking at the label who's promoted Succumb, one would imagine it will definitely be a difficult listen. Very well put out description to justify the vocals. Yes, Succumb is unique only because of Cheri's vocals.
Loading...
09.06.2017 - 14:04
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Maratha on 09.06.2017 at 09:47

Very well put out description to justify the vocals. Yes, Succumb is unique only because of Cheri's vocals.

I wouldn't say only. Like I said here, the band also has a good blend of death and black metal influences and they mix their tempo up very well, unlike a lot of other bands do. Not saying they're the most original or forward thinking band on the block, but let's just say you could probably name more bands that DON'T sound like them than ones that do
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
09.06.2017 - 15:11
nikarg
Old Nick
Nice review in terms of describing the music and especially the vocals. But man, I listened to this once and it was the last time too. There's a few nice riffs here and there, but nothing extraordinary and I really can't stand the lady's vocals.
----
on and on south of heaven

Loading...
09.06.2017 - 16:49
Maratha
Quote:
Let's just say you could probably name more bands that DON'T sound like them than ones that do

Yes they sound different and cool blend of black and death, maybe thats why they opted for Flenser. But to be really honest with you, I am still stuck up with albums like Exuvia, Rlc, All Bitches Die, Cloak of Skies, Gravity Works by Vinnum Sabbathi to return to this.
Loading...
09.06.2017 - 17:13
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by nikarg on 09.06.2017 at 15:11

nothing extraordinary

You're nothing extraordinary
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
09.06.2017 - 18:53
qnick90
Uhhh, those vocals ruined everything for me... Reminds me of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUxOnM0daAk
Loading...
10.06.2017 - 04:23
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by qnick90 on 09.06.2017 at 18:53

Uhhh, those vocals ruined everything for me... Reminds me of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUxOnM0daAk

1. Assuming you're joking because no, nothing alike
2. Your link embedding sucks and you should feel bad
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
10.06.2017 - 09:25
qnick90
Written by Apothecary on 10.06.2017 at 04:23

Written by qnick90 on 09.06.2017 at 18:53

Uhhh, those vocals ruined everything for me... Reminds me of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUxOnM0daAk

1. Assuming you're joking because no, nothing alike
2. Your link embedding sucks and you should feel bad


Yes, I was joking.... But still, this is some great DM and these vocals destroyed it all...btw. I am more than Ok, that someone might actully like this ;-)
Loading...
10.06.2017 - 15:02
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by qnick90 on 10.06.2017 at 09:25

Yes, I was joking.... But still, this is some great DM and these vocals destroyed it all...btw. I am more than Ok, that someone might actully like this ;-)

Yeah man, no hard feelings. It's actually very interesting to me how much of a "make it or break it" thing vocals can be for some people with bands. I'm reminded a lot of The Body here. I personally love that band, but I've seen scores of people just being like "yeah, it's some great industrial dark ambient noise or whatever, but Chip King's screechy rooster vocals fucking ruin everything"
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
10.06.2017 - 20:03
qnick90
Yeah, I would rather be not so sensitive about this, but I am, which is so annoying... There are many great bands, that I just cannot listen to, just because of vocals, yet I acknowledge and admire their music.
Loading...
11.06.2017 - 16:54
DeliciousDishes
Reminded me a lot of Circle of Ouroborus in terms of vocals (at least this production).
Loading...
11.06.2017 - 17:50
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by DeliciousDishes on 11.06.2017 at 16:54

Reminded me a lot of Circle of Ouroborus in terms of vocals (at least this production).

The vocals aren't as buried in the mix as with that band, but kind of, I can see why you'd say that. Interesting comparison
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
12.06.2017 - 00:46
nikarg
Old Nick
The vocals change everything. Dio, Halford and Dickinson are proof of how the vocals can turn into the most important instrument in music. But you don't have to have a divinely potent voice such as the aforementioned; it's enough to just blend nicely with the music. Attila is a good example of this. Cheri on the other hand, even though she is trying hard and is definitely quite original, sounds extraordinarily annoying and impossible to bear. Damn, your taste is weird sometimes
----
on and on south of heaven

Loading...
12.06.2017 - 00:56
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by nikarg on 12.06.2017 at 00:46

Cheri on the other hand, even though she is trying hard and is definitely quite original, sounds extraordinarily annoying and impossible to bear

Not everyone can deal with different
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
13.06.2017 - 16:49
Bad English
Masterchief
I would not sya year when DM come back but somehow in last few years TM veterans put decent albums, new bands are like silent, DM well some old ones and many new bands come whit good peaces, but DM is genre where you need good studio mixing and mastering.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
14.06.2017 - 16:17
VIG
So, is this actually good or does it suck
----
I've got good news. That gum you like is going to come back in style.

MY 2017 ALBUMS LIST THATS BETTER THAN YOURS
Loading...
14.06.2017 - 18:54
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by VIG on 14.06.2017 at 16:17

So, is this actually good or does it suck

It's really good, people are just bitching about the vocals because they're very atypical for death metal
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
16.06.2017 - 18:28
LuciferOfGayness
Happy fucker
How anyone can dislike the vocals is beyond me. But then again this forum surprises me every day with its narrow mindedness.

And another thing, Im not specially fond of the retorics here. Its a decent album in my ears but its not good enough to replace the "old granpa stuff" and the "technical wankery".
Loading...
16.06.2017 - 19:01
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by LuciferOfGayness on 16.06.2017 at 18:28

I'm not specially fond of the retorics here. Its a decent album in my ears but its not good enough to replace the "old granpa stuff" and the "technical wankery".

Every art form needs to evolve, otherwise it just stagnates and degenerates into stale redundancy (see thrash and power metal). I like some tech death or bands that pay homage to the 90s sound but at the end of the day there's too much of it and it can't hold a candle to the freshness of bands like Succumb, Chaos Echoes, Tribulation, Bolzer, etc
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
16.06.2017 - 19:13
LuciferOfGayness
Happy fucker
Written by Apothecary on 16.06.2017 at 19:01

Written by LuciferOfGayness on 16.06.2017 at 18:28

I'm not specially fond of the retorics here. Its a decent album in my ears but its not good enough to replace the "old granpa stuff" and the "technical wankery".

Every art form needs to evolve, otherwise it just stagnates and degenerates into stale redundancy (see thrash and power metal). I like some tech death or bands that pay homage to the 90s sound but at the end of the day there's too much of it and it can't hold a candle to the freshness of bands like Succumb, Chaos Echoes, Tribulation, Bolzer, etc

Thats a truism in a place like this. What I was saying was this: Succumb, Chaos Echoes, Tribulation, Bolzer.

And I am not sure that the retorics of evolution is well suited for metal. In my metal world dinosaurs can live happily side by side with newer lifeforms.
Loading...
16.06.2017 - 19:29
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by LuciferOfGayness on 16.06.2017 at 19:13

In my metal world dinosaurs can live happily side by side with newer lifeforms.

Sure they can. I'm just saying that too many dinosaurs ruins the progression of the gene pool
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
19.06.2017 - 11:39
nikarg
Old Nick
This dinosaur here enjoys Tribulation and Bolzer's Aura a lot (Hero was a big let down) and can live happily side by side with newer lifeforms. However, calling narrow mindedness the fact that someone doesn't like something is nothing more than a narrow minded generalization. Like saying "oh you don't like chocolate syrup on your sausages, you have such backward taste buds". Being original or different does not necessarily mean good. But I agree with Che when he says that every art form needs to evolve, in order to avoid stagnation.
----
on and on south of heaven

Loading...

Hits total: 1871 | This month: 1871