Primitive Man - Caustic review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
7.0

18 users:
7.67
Band: Primitive Man
Album: Caustic
Release date: October 2017


01. My Will
02. Victim
03. Caustic
04. Commerce
05. Tepid
06. Ash
07. Sterility
08. Sugar Hole
09. The Weight
10. Disfigured
11. Inevitable
12. Absolutes


Primitive Man - Caustic. The name alone flies in the face of all that is pretentious, and yes, their music does too. Despite that, it's the type of album that leaves you unsure as to whether you're too dumb to understand it, or just dumb enough to try and find a deeper album below the surface.

Caustic is a paradox. On one hand, it's a quintessential sludge metal album. If I had no prior knowledge what "sludge metal" was, and was forced to write a book report on it, I'd probably end up describing Primitive Man. It's a filthy ooze that just pours from your speakers. A slow, heavy pounding on the bottom, paired with fuzzed-out, abrasive guitar noise rounding off the top end. The vocals match the guitars in their imperfectly perfect delivery; throaty, gutteral cracking, somewhere in the ballpark of a more cavernous sounding Martin Van Drunen.

In that sense, Caustic is a perfect sludge metal album.

Here's where things get conflicting; the album gets pretty dull, pretty fast. Yes, they execute their craft flawlessly. Grab any track off this album and, standing on it's own, it will blow your proverbial dick off. Looking at the big picture though, Caustic is tediously monotonous. Nearly eighty minutes of glacial noise with little noticeable change is a bit hard to justify praising.

...Bringing us back to the whole "paradox" thing. Caustic could just be a dumb, boring, albeit fleetingly entertaining album, but considering how well Primitive Man do what they do, thinking "Maybe I'm just a moron for not getting this" is also reasonable consideration.


 



Written on 24.10.2017 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 76 users
24.10.2017 - 13:45
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Honestly I'm kind of feeling the same way about this one, as much as I love the band, 70 straight minutes of this type of material is a bit too much. Scorn worked so well because it was just over half that, more like 40 minutes. Not bad, but there's definitely a max dose with these guys past which their formula starts to lose its impact. Still solid 7 - 8 material though
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
24.10.2017 - 15:10
nikarg
Old Nick
Me too. At times I feel this is a masterpiece, while other times it bores me to death. It is definitely too long for its own good.
----
on and on south of heaven

Loading...
24.10.2017 - 18:01
Kuroboshi
Fourth that opinion.
Loading...
30.10.2017 - 10:44
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
Ewww bummer. Album still sitting on my hard drive - unrared. Scorn is so good. Might be a let down.
----
rekt
Loading...
30.10.2017 - 13:45
Daniell
_爱情_
Quite a boring album, sadly.
----
Now loving:
Hour of Penance - Cast the First Stone
Hate - Indestructible Pillar
Cradle of Filth - Heartbreak and Seance
Dark Tranquillity - Nothing To No One
Immolation - Swarm of Terror
Loading...
14.11.2017 - 05:23
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
I don't get the hype.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
14.11.2017 - 15:56
VIG
Eraserhead
Written by Boxcar Willy on 14.11.2017 at 05:23

I don't get the hype.

There is no hype here..
Loading...
17.11.2017 - 01:14
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by VIG on 14.11.2017 at 15:56

There is no hype here..

Even the first album doesn't really do anything for me.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
17.11.2017 - 05:28
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Boxcar Willy on 17.11.2017 at 01:14

Written by VIG on 14.11.2017 at 15:56

There is no hype here..

Even the first album doesn't really do anything for me.


but then again you like shitty hipster mysic such as Sunbather ;-)
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
17.11.2017 - 08:09
Paz
News Man
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.11.2017 at 05:28

but then again you like shitty hipster mysic such as Sunbather ;-)


You feel the same way.. Let me quote you

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 23.07.2013 at 19:07

Would personally rate it a 7.5

Btw there's quite a lot of post-metal in this release as well.
----
Follow me on Instagram:

Loading...
Today - 05:01
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.11.2017 at 05:28

but then again you like shitty hipster mysic such as Sunbather ;-)

Wow, you sure showed me.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...

Hits total: 1425 | This month: 624