Rating:
8.5
While Heaven Wept - Of Empires Forlorn
2003


01. The Drowning Years
02. Of Empires Forlorn
03. Voice In The Wind [Jane cover]
04. Soulsadness
05. Epistle No. 81 [Candlemass cover]
06. Sorrow Of The Angels
07. From Empires To Oceans


True doom metal: people either love it or loathe it. If you belong to the second category, don't read further, because that's exactly what While Heaven Wept is doing. They are trying to ressuscitate old memories full of eerie names like Candlmass, St Vitus... And the result is simply excellent.

This band is led by the exceptional and powerful voice of Tom Phillips, who could perfectly fit in any heavy metal band, but has chosen to put his vocal abilities at the service pf genuine lamentations instead. And it's a very good idea, for the guy is able to provide us with wonderful vocal melodies, like on 'Epistle No.81'. For once I'm even glad the vocals have been mixed louder than the music. It is undoubtedly their strongest feature. Phllips can be lyrical, charming and growl sometimes... Goo job man!

The music itself is quite common but absolutely not unpleasant. It is slow-paced, very heavy but still extremely melodic, with keyboards here and there to enhance the impression of serenity that surround Of Empires Forlorn. Far from the vociferations of doom/death, they even have the luxury to give us a beutiful ballad ['Voices In The Wind']. To sum up, these Americans are well-inspired, and they know how to spread their sadness.

Doom metal is here to make people share the band's feelings, and in this point of view, this album is a success, one of those that stay in your mind long after you removed the cd from your stereo. Actually I only reproach the short length of Of Empires Forlorn: 7 songs, 41 minutes, minus 7 minutes of boring atmospheric stuff... It's enough to lower the final rating. Beyond that, doom fans, you know what oyu have to do...

Highlights: Voice In The Wind, Epistle No.81


Band profile: While Heaven Wept
Album: Of Empires Forlorn


 


written by Collin | 02.02.2004

Staff review by
Undercraft

Rating:
8.5
When I receive records, I classify them, to see which one I'm going to hear/review first, when they're albums that I've been expecting, I listen to them immediately , but when they're unfamiliar bands I classify them. How classify them? Simply, the nicer cover arts go on the top, and the ugly ones goes on the bottom. When I received While Heaven Wept - Of Empires Forlorn I went straight to the top.

Read more ››
published 02.10.2003 | Comments (0)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 56  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 26.12.2007 at 22:21  
Reading back on this review. I guess you do know that Epistle No. 81 is a Candlemass cover right?
Collin - 03.01.2008 at 19:59  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 26.12.2007 at 22:21

Reading back on this review. I guess you do know that Epistle No. 81 is a Candlemass cover right?


I guess I'd look very cool if I said yes, of course I knew it. Unfortunately I'm a lame person, so no, I didn't know that I don't know Candlemass evry well and I guess I did not do my homework before writing this review
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.01.2008 at 20:17  
Written by Collin on 03.01.2008 at 19:59

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 26.12.2007 at 22:21

Reading back on this review. I guess you do know that Epistle No. 81 is a Candlemass cover right?


I guess I'd look very cool if I said yes, of course I knew it. Unfortunately I'm a lame person, so no, I didn't know that I don't know Candlemass evry well and I guess I did not do my homework before writing this review


If I am not mistaken I think it even said so in the booklet Or did it just say; "Doom traditional"or something along thos eline? I can't remember, and I don't have the cd at hand. Ah, well, no harm done.
Collin - 03.01.2008 at 20:18  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.01.2008 at 20:17

Written by Collin on 03.01.2008 at 19:59

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 26.12.2007 at 22:21

Reading back on this review. I guess you do know that Epistle No. 81 is a Candlemass cover right?


I guess I'd look very cool if I said yes, of course I knew it. Unfortunately I'm a lame person, so no, I didn't know that I don't know Candlemass evry well and I guess I did not do my homework before writing this review


If I am not mistaken I think it even said so in the booklet Or did it just say; "Doom traditional"or something along thos eline? I can't remember, and I don't have the cd at hand. Ah, well, no harm done.


Don't tell anyone, but I don't have the cd
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.01.2008 at 20:20  
Written by Collin on 03.01.2008 at 20:18

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.01.2008 at 20:17

Written by Collin on 03.01.2008 at 19:59

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 26.12.2007 at 22:21

Reading back on this review. I guess you do know that Epistle No. 81 is a Candlemass cover right?


I guess I'd look very cool if I said yes, of course I knew it. Unfortunately I'm a lame person, so no, I didn't know that I don't know Candlemass evry well and I guess I did not do my homework before writing this review


If I am not mistaken I think it even said so in the booklet Or did it just say; "Doom traditional"or something along thos eline? I can't remember, and I don't have the cd at hand. Ah, well, no harm done.


Don't tell anyone, but I don't have the cd


I didn't expect that of you, young man.
Lucas - 03.01.2008 at 21:44  
Is it a Swedish traditional, but not per sé a Candlemass song?
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.01.2008 at 21:53  
Written by Lucas on 03.01.2008 at 21:44

Is it a Swedish traditional, but not per sé a Candlemass song?


no it is a Candlemass original, I guess that's why they called is a Doom Traditional
Lucas - 14.01.2008 at 17:23  
I must get this thing. Damn.
Collin - 14.01.2008 at 17:49  
Written by Lucas on 14.01.2008 at 17:23

I must get this thing. Damn.


It's definitely worth it A great traditional doom piece.
Marcel Hubregtse - 05.06.2008 at 02:10  
Reading the review again and only now do I notice that your highlights are actually the two covers on the album
Collin - 05.06.2008 at 11:12  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.06.2008 at 02:10

Reading the review again and only now do I notice that your highlights are actually the two covers on the album


Excellent. That shows I could get away with it for years without knowing what I was talking about
Marcel Hubregtse - 05.06.2008 at 11:22  
Written by Collin on 05.06.2008 at 11:12

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.06.2008 at 02:10

Reading the review again and only now do I notice that your highlights are actually the two covers on the album


Excellent. That shows I could get away with it for years without knowing what I was talking about


Yes, sir, apparently, so that is a job well done, you little French conman.
Collin - 03.02.2009 at 22:16  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.06.2008 at 02:10

Reading the review again and only now do I notice that your highlights are actually the two covers on the album


After listening to the original and the cover again, I must admit I like the cover much better. The vocals of Tom Phillips and the organ are so emotional on this song. The Candlemass version is good, but While Heaven Wept transcend it.
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.02.2009 at 22:22  
Written by Collin on 03.02.2009 at 22:16

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.06.2008 at 02:10

Reading the review again and only now do I notice that your highlights are actually the two covers on the album


After listening to the original and the cover again, I must admit I like the cover much better. The vocals of Tom Phillips and the organ are so emotional on this song. The Candlemass version is good, but While Heaven Wept transcend it.


I agree. I also prefer this cover to the original version.
Aeox - 23.01.2010 at 13:49  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.02.2009 at 22:22

Written by Collin on 03.02.2009 at 22:16

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.06.2008 at 02:10

Reading the review again and only now do I notice that your highlights are actually the two covers on the album


After listening to the original and the cover again, I must admit I like the cover much better. The vocals of Tom Phillips and the organ are so emotional on this song. The Candlemass version is good, but While Heaven Wept transcend it.


I agree. I also prefer this cover to the original version.



That makes three of us, the cover kind of gives it new 'life' in my opinion... very good review, Collin.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews While Heaven Wept - Vast Oceans Lachrymose 7 09.05.2011 by EvT1991
Reviews While Heaven Wept - Vast Oceans Lachrymose 7 21.01.2010 by annodomini
News While Heaven Wept - Ink Deal With Nuclear Blast 6.5 16.11.2010 by Marcel Hubregtse
News While Heaven Wept - Issue New Album Update 6 28.11.2013 by Rodney
News While Heaven Wept - Entire Live Album And DVD Clips Streaming 6 09.11.2010 by Enemy of Reality



Hits total: 3095 | This month: 1