Sigh - Heir To Despair review



Reviewer:
N/A

72 users:
8.07
Band: Sigh
Album: Heir To Despair
Release date: November 2018


01. Aletheia
02. Homo Homini Lupus [feat. Phil Anselmo]
03. Hunters Not Horned
04. In Memories Delusional
05. Heresy I: Oblivium
06. Heresy II: Acosmism
07. Heresy III: Sub Species Aeternitatis
08. Hands Of The String Puller
09. Heir To Despair


Engaging with a new Sigh album is a lot like being presented with a gigantic trash bag filled with candy. You're not quite sure what's inside, but past experiences have taught you that whatever's in there, it'll probably be pretty sweet.

Sigh are a band who retain a core aesthetic across their discography despite crafting something entirely distinct each time around. While new releases will more or less adhere to their pre-established Avant-garde formula, they are always unique creations unto themselves as well. In this regard, while 2018's Heir To Despair unquestionably has the Sigh mark stamped all over it, it also feels considerably different from the past three or four albums we've gotten out these wacky experimentalists. Seeming to embrace themes of depression and mental instability, it's darker (see the "Heresy" tracks), much more crunchy and catchy in an almost classic heavy metal kind of way ("Hunters Not Horned"), and feels more reflective of the band's cultural background than perhaps ever, with lyrics now in Japanese and more folk instrumentation than usual, notably Taishogoto use from Mirai.

As usual with a Sigh album, it's difficult to really pinpoint the exact sound of Heir To Despair down to a T due to the fact that there are simply so many different influences at play both within and between its tracks. Drawing particular attention is the presence of flute on this album, at times following along with the riffs laid down by the guitar, and at times wandering off into its own melodies as well (this makes Sigh evolve into Fligh, in case you were wondering). Keyboard exploitation, beautiful vocal harmonization, and a whole range of bizarre audio samples abound to help reinforce the album's psychological undertones. And oddly or not, the trademark saxophone of Dr. Mikkanibal is a lot less utilized on Heir To Despair than it was on some of Sigh's previous efforts, which comes as slightly disappointing, but given the sheer quality of the other aspects of the music here gets a pass from this reviewer as forgivable.

A lot of times I like to think of Sigh as something like the metal genre's Frank Zappa, because the overall atmosphere they conjure with their music is very much the same: playful, blatantly out of line with conventional songwriting, and enjoyable from a wide range of perspectives. With its puzzling but memorable fusion of folk, black metal, electronics, and heavy metal type riffage all served in varying doses throughout its tracks, Heir To Despair has something to offer for fans of the lighter aspects of metal, the heavier ones, and everything in between. Sigh have triumphed yet again with this album, and it's simply one more worthy addition to their ever expanding, multidimensional, and fun-as-all-hell saga.

Well don't just sit right there, go get the despair.


 



Written on 09.12.2018 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 184 users
09.12.2018 - 20:26
ScreamingSteelUS
Editor-in-Chief
My all-time favorite studio update from a band was Mirai saying (in about as many words), "Sorry, guys, the album's going to take a little longer because I have to learn how to play the flute."

I'm probably going to wait to listen until I have a physical copy (which will probably be after Santa visits my home), but this makes me as excited as I feel entitled to be for a new Sigh album.
----
Row, row, fight the power
Djently down the stream

I'm the Agent of Steel.
Loading...
09.12.2018 - 21:27
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 09.12.2018 at 20:26

My all-time favorite studio update from a band was Mirai saying (in about as many words), "Sorry, guys, the album's going to take a little longer because I have to learn how to play the flute."

You really just gotta love the whole attitude he takes to his work, you can tell he's a guy who does it more for the fun than anything, doesn't take himself too seriously, and doesn't really care how fans get ahold of his music, legally or not. You can see it in the Sigh Facebook posts, all the ones like "please don't pretend to like our new album after just one spin," "this new one is our worst yet," and the "which album do you hate more?" polls they do now and then
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
10.12.2018 - 01:56
Lanthros
Ita an excellent album. The insanity of it is much like the paranoia inducing (if youre really fucking high) In Somniphobia. I absolutely love the guitar tone on it.
Loading...
10.12.2018 - 03:14
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Lanthros on 10.12.2018 at 01:56

Ita an excellent album. The insanity of it is much like the paranoia inducing (if youre really fucking high) In Somniphobia. I absolutely love the guitar tone on it.

It's a bit black 'n roll-ish in a way, the way it sounds black metal-ish but also gives off a bit of a heavy metal/retro hard rock vibe as well. That's something several bands have done but that I really love Sigh's take on the most
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
10.12.2018 - 03:19
VIG
Viggg
Che is the type of nigga to find a trash bag filled with candy on the side of the road and eat all of it

Honestly, this sounded a little disappointing. Mirai had my hopes up. I understood that "Homo Homini Lupus" was really supposed to be the heaviest and most metal song on the album, but listening to this as a whole still feels really inconsistent. I mean it's good, and I even like it more than Graveward, but I think maybe he could evolve on this Asian sound even more with future material. Maybe after listening to this a few more times it will grow on me. "Homo Homini Lupus" is one of my all-time favorite Sigh tracks though, the day it came out I listened to it five times.
Loading...
10.12.2018 - 03:28
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by VIG on 10.12.2018 at 03:19

Che is the type of nigga to find a trash bag filled with candy on the side of the road and eat all of it

I do not necessarily deny that accusation

Written by VIG on 10.12.2018 at 03:19

Honestly, this sounded a little disappointing. Mirai had my hopes up, but listening to this as a whole still feels really inconsistent

Boiiii we may have to throw punches if you're telling me you can't get down with "Hunters Not Horned." That's one of the most fun, bouncy tracks they've probably ever done.
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
10.12.2018 - 03:42
VIG
Viggg
Written by Apothecary on 10.12.2018 at 03:28

Boiiii we may have to throw punches if you're telling me you can't get down with "Hunters Not Horned." That's one of the most fun, bouncy tracks they've probably ever done.

No, I liked that song. Actually I've been listening to this right now and I am also enjoying Heresy I and Hands Of The String Puller more than I did originally as well.
Loading...
10.12.2018 - 16:16
Bad English
Masterchief
Vov mona lisa on cover
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
10.12.2018 - 16:26
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Bad English on 10.12.2018 at 16:16

Vov mona lisa on cover

Just stop, please
----
This is the water, and this is the well
Drink full and descend
The horse is the white of the eyes, and dark within
Loading...
12.12.2018 - 02:50
tiny dog ghosts
It's an extremely good album, best since Sonicscape imho
Loading...
13.12.2018 - 17:51
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
The Zappa comparison is on-point. I've always felt that way, especially about the way the albums are mixed. Like on their last album,

"Yeah, we went out of our way to hire a symphony and record tracks for the album, but let's go out of our way to make those tracks sound like shit and have a goofy, over-bearing synth solo drown it out."
----
You do you, brozzio.
Loading...

Hits total: 2736 | This month: 298