Behemoth - Thelema.6 review



Reviewer:
8.0

472 users:
8.09
Band: Behemoth
Album: Thelema.6
Release date: November 2000


01. Antichristian Phenomenon
02. The Act Of Rebellion
03. Inflamed With Rage
04. ΠΑΝ ΣΑΤΥΡΟΣ
05. Natural Born Philosopher
06. Christians To The Lions
07. Inauguration Of Scorpio Dome
08. In The Garden Of Dispersion
09. The Universe Illumination (Say 'Hello' To My Demons)
10. VINVM SABBATI
11. 23 (The Youth Manifesto)
12. The End
13. Untitled [bonus]
14. Malice [bonus]
15. Satanas [Sarcófago cover] [bonus]
16. Hello Space Boy [David Bowie cover] [bonus]
17. From The Pagan Vastlands [bonus]


"We are unworthy of the gift of life. Your god is dead now."

After enduring nearly a decade of existing as a fairly unremarkable and forgettable black metal outfit, Behemoth brainchild Nergal decided to change things up drastically and head in a death metal direction that ultimately brought about two decades (and counting) of mainstream extreme metal success. It took a complete stylistic overhaul, including a makeover of the rest of the lineup aside from drummer Inferno, but what we know of this band today is precisely a result of these early groundbreaking decisions, personnel be damned.

While the black metal foundation was never completely abandoned, even in these earlier transition times, it instead lingered like a haunting phantom that attached itself to whatever creation came out of Nergal's mind. The tone of the guitars and traditional black metal blastbeats remained staples of the band, but rather than taking a backseat, that initial black metal style sat up front beside the driver -- the kind of ride-along that plays around with the radio and tells you what they think is the best way to reach your destination. Death metal may have been the driver, but it fought tooth and nail to maintain dominance over its passenger, only barely coming out on top.

This album is not only a continuation of what its predecessor spewed forth on its unsuspecting victims at the time, but a perfection. Of course, tastes differ and are entirely subjective, but Thelema.6 took everything that made Satanica what it was, and gave it that extra notch up from 10 to 11. This time around, Behemoth were polished, they added more melodic guitar solos, they made plenty of room for drumming that dared venture into almost experimental territory without straying too far from its blastbeat base. In short, whatever they felt could be improved upon, they improved upon.

With all of that said, this album is not without its flaws. There are several tracks that can easily be considered filler, and it tends to drag at times, but the brevity of each song makes it easier for the listener to remain engaged for its ~50 minute run time, and you can count on some infused melodies scattered throughout to ease your time spent being bombarded by this rampaging monster. Though Thelema.6 represents Behemoth's transitional phase and shouldn't be held up to the same standard as future releases, it stands out as an incredibly solid death metal album on its own -- the kind of which you can mosh to in the pit or quietly headbang to while wearing headphones in your basement.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 9


 



Written on 05.09.2019 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 24 users
06.09.2019 - 15:09
s_t_s
And so it came... 19 years later!
Loading...
06.09.2019 - 18:56
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by s_t_s on 06.09.2019 at 15:09

And so it came... 19 years later!

Good things come to those who wait
Loading...
07.09.2019 - 06:43
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by s_t_s on 06.09.2019 at 15:09
And so it came... 19 years later!

It was deserving of at least one review on this site considering its popularity, time be damned.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
07.09.2019 - 23:18
s_t_s
Written by Troy Killjoy on 07.09.2019 at 06:43

Written by s_t_s on 06.09.2019 at 15:09
And so it came... 19 years later!

It was deserving of at least one review on this site considering its popularity, time be damned.


I was afraid I had fallen into some time pit!
Loading...
15.09.2019 - 21:09
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Satanica - Zos Kia Cultus is more or less the highlight period of Behemoth for me, so Thelema.6 falls right in there. Good album and good review, I haven't really listened to it in quite a while so actually can't say how well I recall it. I kinda got into Behemoth in my late teens and then dropped off of them a few years later. Might be time to pay this one a revisit

Also I wouldn't say their early black metal albums were "unremarkable and forgettable." Find myself coming back to Grom in particular every now and then...
----
Now who should I call? Should I call Mr. Strawberry?
No, I don't think I'll call Mr. Strawberry. I don't think he's taking calls.
Loading...
15.09.2019 - 21:18
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Apothecary on 15.09.2019 at 21:09
Satanica - Zos Kia Cultus is more or less the highlight period of Behemoth for me, so Thelema.6 falls right in there. Good album and good review, I haven't really listened to it in quite a while so actually can't say how well I recall it. I kinda got into Behemoth in my late teens and then dropped off of them a few years later. Might be time to pay this one a revisit

Also I wouldn't say their early black metal albums were "unremarkable and forgettable." Find myself coming back to Grom in particular every now and then...

Agreed with that first part 100%. Even though I enjoy their recent stuff, I find modern Behemoth albums are weak overall but always have one or two tracks that stand out. The era you mention is when their albums felt more full and every song seemed like a standout. I suppose a lack of inspiration or time and the results of aging all have their adverse affects on content creation so we likely won't get the same quality as featured on these albums, but at least they're always here to come back to.

I hadn't actually listened to this in a couple years but from the moment I hit play and heard the opening line to "Antichristian Phenomenon", it all came back immediately. I was just searching for popular albums without any reviews to see what was out there. I think Satanica is in need of one as well come to think of it.

I respect anyone who can stomach and willingly listens to their early black metal releases. I can handle about one song before the compulsion to change albums or bands overtakes me.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
15.09.2019 - 22:14
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.09.2019 at 21:18

I find modern Behemoth albums are weak overall but always have one or two tracks that stand out. The era you mention is when their albums felt more full and every song seemed like a standout.

I think Demigod is quite good honestly, and there were even a few great tracks on Evangelion too if I recall correctly. But yeah, mostly agree with you. I honestly haven't listened to their most recent one though, which a lot of people on here seem to have raved about so might venture there soon out of sheer curiosity.
----
Now who should I call? Should I call Mr. Strawberry?
No, I don't think I'll call Mr. Strawberry. I don't think he's taking calls.
Loading...
15.09.2019 - 22:20
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Apothecary on 15.09.2019 at 22:14
I think Demigod is quite good honestly, and there were even a few great tracks on Evangelion too if I recall correctly. But yeah, mostly agree with you. I honestly haven't listened to their most recent one though, which a lot of people on here seem to have raved about so might venture there soon out of sheer curiosity.

The biggest downside to leaving the site/scene for a few years is not even knowing there was a new Behemoth album out.

Added to the list...
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...

Hits total: 303 | This month: 303