Haunter - Sacramental Death Qualia review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

12 users:
7.50
Band: Haunter
Album: Sacramental Death Qualia
Release date: September 2019


01. Dispossessed Phrenic Antiquity
02. Spoils Vultured Upon Sole Deletion
03. Abdication
04. Subversion Of A Heathen Tongue
05. Sacramental Death Qualia


Once again, the artwork of Elijah Tamu has been responsible for luring me into another awesome band discovery.

Hey, I can't help it, the guy makes some amazing stuff. Anyway, the recent recipient of his gorgeous album art would be the Americans in Haunter. This year's Sacramental Death Qualia sees the band somewhat stepping away from the crusty black metal style of their debut album, instead focusing on a chunky, melodious black/death combination. The underscores of melody in particular are what really seem to make the music of Haunter a lot more dynamic here than it was previously, as with the greater variation in mood and atmosphere it seems to have matured a bit more and as though the band have really started coming into their own songwriting-wise. Opener "Dispossessed Phrenic Antiquity" is as good an example as any of this evolved sense of composition: meaty and riff heavy, but also with an underlying sense of ambiance that helps give the music a much more emotive edge.

Indeed, with Sacramental Death Qualia Haunter really seem to have upped the ante with both the diversity of their songwriting as well as the pacing of their compositions. The transitions from the heavier to the more relaxed and airy parts of their songwriting feel smooth, coordinated, and well planned. The increased focus on atmosphere really seems to be the key here, as it even resulted in a track that's almost entirely ambient-ish with none of the heavier, riff driven elements featured ("Abdication"). Additionally, the sense of production here is a good step up from that of the debut as well, feeling a lot crisper and more polished and as though it allows for a more comprehensive take in of all layers of the songwriting than before.

With Sacramental Death Qualia, Haunter have taken a formula that was already quite enjoyable with their debut album and made it more dynamic and engaging with a better sense of flow and an increased variation in tempo and mood delivery. The result is a well written, attention grabbing album that deserves a listen from fans of moody, atmosphere driven black and death metal.

Have a taste.


 



Written on 09.10.2019 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 89 users
09.10.2019 - 21:14
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Indeed some great cover arts so far done by this fella.

Thankfully the music is at least on par. Still I think I would've liked it crustier.
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
10.10.2019 - 01:21
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
The artist really gets around. He also did the cover for Midnight Odyssey's latest album that I'm reviewing.

I've never heard of this band until now but it sounds like this would be more up my alley than the debut. I've been growing less enamored with the raw, lo-fi crusty side of black metal.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
10.10.2019 - 03:37
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.10.2019 at 01:21

The artist really gets around. He also did the cover for Midnight Odyssey's latest album that I'm reviewing.

He's the front man for Panegyrist, some really good proggy black metal. Didn't know he did the new Midnight Odyssey too, will have to have a look now!
----
Life was a commercial for itself, endlessly replayed.
Nothing changed, it just spread out farther and farther in the form of neon ooze.
Loading...
10.10.2019 - 14:21
Bad English
Masterchief
When i was kid i watched tv series the hunter
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
10.10.2019 - 15:23
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Bad English on 10.10.2019 at 14:21

When i was kid i watched tv series the hunter

Thanks for sharing Mr. Irrelevant
----
Life was a commercial for itself, endlessly replayed.
Nothing changed, it just spread out farther and farther in the form of neon ooze.
Loading...
10.10.2019 - 16:42
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Apothecary on 10.10.2019 at 03:37

He's the front man for Panegyrist, some really good proggy black metal. Didn't know he did the new Midnight Odyssey too, will have to have a look now!

Panegyrist is a name I'm more familiar with, I had no idea he was a visual artist as well as a vocalist though. Maybe I should bump this up closer to the top of the list of new things to check out...
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
10.10.2019 - 22:32
It was the name that got me into it.

Had my Pokeball ready and everything, goddamnit.
Loading...
11.10.2019 - 03:33
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by The Witchfinder on 10.10.2019 at 22:32

It was the name that got me into it.

Had my Pokeball ready and everything, goddamnit.

It would be really cool if there was a trio of black metal bands including this one and a Ghastly and Gengar too
----
Life was a commercial for itself, endlessly replayed.
Nothing changed, it just spread out farther and farther in the form of neon ooze.
Loading...
11.10.2019 - 06:53
Malignar
Fred Dryer!!!

I can't decide if I like this or not. I appreciate the guitarist's abilities. I don't like the Opeth sounding songs. And some of their death metal parts leave something to be desired.
Loading...

Hits total: 887 | This month: 887