Grin - Translucent Blades review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

20 users:
7.60
Band: Grin
Album: Translucent Blades
Release date: January 2020


01. Helix
02. Orbital Grace
03. Translucent Blades
04. Husk
05. Electric Eye
06. Holy Grief
07. Antares
08. Reviver


Bass has always been a pretty important instrument of sludge and stoner metal, but holy shit do Grin go up to 11 with it.

You may not yet be familiar with Grin themselves, but you may have heard of Earth Ship (or Earthship as they used to be called) and their connection to The Ocean. Grin themselves no longer really have a direct connection to The Ocean, so their goes their shot at association, but the duo that is Grin is two thirds of Earth Ship, so you'll find similarly fuzzy sludge in both bands. But you might ask yourself how exactly does a duo make sludge? Don't you need at least three people? Well you throw away the guitar, that's how you do it!

Well now Translucent Blades does have some guitar, performed by drummer/vocalist Jan, with the bass being in the hands of Sabine. Their previous albums seems to rely solely on the bass without any guitars but there are some moments on this here album where guitars themselves do have a bit of a presence. The good part? They never eclipse the bass. The bass rules strong all throughout. The Baizley-like (it fooled me at first that was his) cover art may lead you to believe this is less fuzzy than it actually is, but do not be deceived, this is equally heavy as it is spacey.

There is more to it that just a really heavy and bassy piece of psychedelic sludge. It does take that psychedelic part a bit seriously and does provide some damn good soudscapes, including the percussion-driven "Husk" that barely has any of that fuzz, as well as plenty of moments that slowly reveal themselves to deviate from the formula as the album goes into the latter half, even including a flute of all things. But whenever it goes back on throttle, it's full of muscle and Sleep worship, down to the clean reverb-full vocals. Definitely a fucking trip.

Deceptively simple at first, the full of bass and muscle reveals itself to cover a lot of ground, from psychedelic floating in space to getting crushed by a meteor stuff, it's 35 minutes that showcase just how much two people can do when they add a bit more to the core of bass and drums.



 



Written on 23.01.2020 by My opinion is objective, sorry if you don't agree, but you're wrong.


Comments

Comments: 15   [ 1 ignored ]   Visited by: 97 users
23.01.2020 - 14:58
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
This is really pretty awesome, may unseat Tortuga as my favorite doom-related thing so far this year after a few more spins. Great review and great find.

Artwork by the Baroness dude? Looks very similar to his work.
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
23.01.2020 - 15:25
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Apothecary on 23.01.2020 at 14:58

Artwork by the Baroness dude? Looks very similar to his work.

I thought so as well, turns out it's someone else.
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
23.01.2020 - 15:29
VIG
Viggg
Damn I'm gonna have to listen to this fo' shizzle
Loading...
23.01.2020 - 16:55
Bad English
Masterchief
No guitars to me its just like kebab whit vegan meat
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
23.01.2020 - 17:58
Ansercanagicus
The cover isn't from Baizley? that's forgery then.

no BE, it's a kebab with meat and meat extra and spicy sauce and a wholesome of fries and it's actually the salad which is lacking.
----
2019
2020
Loading...
23.01.2020 - 20:07
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Ansercanagicus on 23.01.2020 at 17:58

The cover isn't from Baizley? that's forgery then.

no BE, it's a kebab with meat and meat extra and spicy sauce and a wholesome of fries and it's actually the salad which is lacking.

Metal band must have guitars in line up
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
23.01.2020 - 20:23
Ansercanagicus
Written by Bad English on 23.01.2020 at 20:07

Metal band must have guitars in line up


I don't know what to answer:

"bass is a guitar" - "Entwistle would be upset" - "Botanist? oh yeah you don't like Botanist" - "Lingua Ignota?" - "Gnaw Their Tongues?"...
or "Grin a is crushing metal band whatever your opinion is"
----
2019
2020
Loading...
23.01.2020 - 20:36
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Bad English on 23.01.2020 at 20:07

Metal band must have guitars in line up

Why
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
23.01.2020 - 21:55
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by RaduP on 23.01.2020 at 20:36

Written by Bad English on 23.01.2020 at 20:07

Metal band must have guitars in line up

Why

Guitar is main metal instrument och its How we judge a style or genre
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
23.01.2020 - 21:57
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Bad English on 23.01.2020 at 21:55

Guitar is main metal instrument och its How we judge a style or genre

So what would you call Grin if not metal?
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
23.01.2020 - 23:30
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by RaduP on 23.01.2020 at 21:57

Written by Bad English on 23.01.2020 at 21:55

Guitar is main metal instrument och its How we judge a style or genre

So what would you call Grin if not metal?

Jan Oberg - drums, vocals, noise
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
23.01.2020 - 23:31
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by RaduP on 23.01.2020 at 21:57

Written by Bad English on 23.01.2020 at 21:55

Guitar is main metal instrument och its How we judge a style or genre

So what would you call Grin if not metal?

Jan Oberg - drums, vocals, noise
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
23.01.2020 - 23:33
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Bad English on 23.01.2020 at 23:31

Written by RaduP on 23.01.2020 at 21:57

So what would you call Grin if not metal?

Jan Oberg - drums, vocals, noise

Thank you, now I completely understand what genre Grin are
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
30.01.2020 - 06:43
Opethian
A great find on Bandcamp!
Loading...
31.01.2020 - 01:40
Crème fraiche
Really digging it. I feel I'm finally getting sick of a lot of the stoner/doom bands I used to love and just can't seem to find any interesting bands lately in the genre. Def heavy as fuck; loving the fuzz and mix of harsh vocals and the cleans. Cover art is a total Baizely rip-off though haha.
Loading...

Hits total: 1356 | This month: 423