Zalmoxis - A Nocturnal Emanation review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

8 users:
7.25
Band: Zalmoxis
Album: A Nocturnal Emanation
Release date: January 2020


01. A Nocturnal Emanation


When I first saw the album cover for A Nocturnal Emanation about 3 weeks ago, something about the misty mountain dragon and crescent moon on it led me to suspect that it was going to end up being one hell of a majestic listening experience. My hypothesis turned out to be correct.

German black metal has long had a penchant for being very epic, atmospheric, and all around transcendent, but boy does Zalmoxis really take those qualities up to 11 with this release. The one man project of an individual going only by "Entheogen," with A Nocturnal Emanation Zalmoxis offers a single, 25 minute track, but to say it brings a lot to the table would be an understatement. Here a midtempo, highly hypnotizing black metal approach dominates, reinforced by a superb sense of melody, phenomenal drumming, and quite the impressive vocal delivery, that pleasantly alternates between traditional black metal shrieks and deep, imposing clean howls.

What makes A Nocturnal Emanation so enjoyable is probably the fact that it's the first black metal release in a while where every aspect of the instrumentation is on fucking point. Neither the bass, the vocals, the drums, nor the guitars really ever seem to overshadow each other, each being delightfully audible and well mixed in the overall production. Far from any one of these compositional ingredients dominating the others, they all seem to complement and back each other up effectively, propelling the composition ever forward to a beautiful, emotionally intense climax.

A brief though highly satisfying listen, the only real complaint that can be leveled against A Nocturnal Emanation is that it isn't longer and ends too quickly. But I think the fact that it's more likely to make listeners beg for more than it is to make them scream for it to end is definitely a good sign. Here's hoping more comes from Entheogen within the near future, because I most definitely need it.

A Nocturnal Emanation is quite possibly the best thing black metal released up to this point in the year. Immerse yourself with a good pair of headphones.



 



Written on 01.02.2020 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 91 users
01.02.2020 - 20:48
VIG
Viggg
Oooo yummy, this looks. Inspect, I must
Loading...
01.02.2020 - 20:54
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by VIG on 01.02.2020 at 20:48

Oooo yummy, this looks. Inspect, I must

Like it, you will
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
01.02.2020 - 22:07
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Wish this was just a bit longer
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
01.02.2020 - 22:10
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 01.02.2020 at 22:07

Wish this was just a bit longer

Hard same my dude
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
01.02.2020 - 23:03
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Apothecary on 01.02.2020 at 22:10

Written by RaduP on 01.02.2020 at 22:07

Wish this was just a bit longer

Hard same my dude

This week in things you can say about a Zalmoxis EP but also about your penis
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
03.02.2020 - 00:15
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Also fuck you, it's not every day that a band gets its name for my country's most important ancient diety and you don't even mention that
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
03.02.2020 - 00:19
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 03.02.2020 at 00:15

Also fuck you, it's not every day that a band gets its name for my country's most important ancient diety and you don't even mention that

Submit your own review and do it yourself
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
03.02.2020 - 00:24
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Apothecary on 03.02.2020 at 00:19

Written by RaduP on 03.02.2020 at 00:15

Also fuck you, it's not every day that a band gets its name for my country's most important ancient diety and you don't even mention that

Submit your own review and do it yourself

No
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...

Hits total: 977 | This month: 977