Kirk Windstein - Dream In Motion review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

32 users:
7.34
Band: Kirk Windstein
Album: Dream In Motion
Release date: January 2020


01. Dream In Motion
02. Hollow Dying Man
03. Once Again
04. Enemy In Disguise
05. The World You Know
06. Toxic
07. The Healing
08. Necropolis
09. The Ugly Truth
10. Aqualung [Jethro Tull cover]


Crowbar frontman Kirk Windstein is the one artist I never knew I needed a solo album from.

I have somewhat of a complicated relationship with Crowbar and especially with Kirk Windstein's voice. As much as I enjoy their music, out of the classic sludge bands like Down, Eyehategod, Acid Bath and Melvins, Crowbar is the one I'm least likely to spin or rank above the others. And even my enjoyment of their music is somewhat closer to respect and admiration rather than actual enjoyment, part of that is due to Kirk's vocals. So it would seem quite counter-intuitive that I would enjoy an album that strips away the wall of distorted guitars that I do like about Crowbar and that leaves Kirk's vocals that I do not really like about Crowbar. I know, unexpected for me as well.

This album didn't really convince me that Kirk's vocals are more enjoyable than I thought they were, but it did prove their power in transmuting some emotional depth that was already present on Crowbar, but that shows more versatility here. There's obviously still traces of Crowbar-ish sludge, but if that was all there was to Dream In Motion, it wouldn't be worth releasing as a solo album, nor worth a review. Dream In Motion is a hazy, psychedelic and slow burning meditative set of ballads, with plenty of 90s alt rock feelings that put Kirk's voice and the emotion it shows in a new light.

The brooding vocals might be at the centerpiece of the record, but the guitar playing deserves a nod here, showing his knack for writing moody and memorable lines without the need for bludgeoning sledgehammers of riffs. Dialing back the distortion more often than not, but also keeping it when necessary creates a much more complete listening experience, much more than something like an acoustic album would've shown from Kirk. For an artist with so many years of activity, it's so refreshing seeing them explore outside of their usual sound, honoring his influences, keeping some roots in the usual sound, and most importantly showing honesty.

The "Aqualung" cover is unnecessary, but still a pretty cool listen.

I do have some newfound appreciation for Kirk Windstein and Crowbar, though I'm still quite likely to want to spin Dream In Motion rather than Odd Fellows Rest, but who knows, the latter is due for a revisiting too.



 



Written on 03.02.2020 by My opinion is objective, sorry if you don't agree, but you're wrong.


Comments

Comments: 10   Visited by: 105 users
03.02.2020 - 15:09
Bad English
Masterchief
Good work man, i love crowbar more as other, only sludge band, i can say i love... Soon i hope i will have beard as he
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
04.02.2020 - 00:17
Metal Junky
Holy Fuck Kirk!
Good job on this album man. I really like it!
----
Free your mind, eat your television!
Loading...
04.02.2020 - 01:58
nikarg
Old Nick
Quote:
Crowbar frontman Kirk Windstein is the one artist I never knew I needed a solo album from.

This statement definitely applies to Starvynth as well.
Loading...
04.02.2020 - 11:24
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by nikarg on 04.02.2020 at 01:58

This statement definitely applies to Starvynth as well.

Yes but im pretty sure he still doesnt need it
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
04.02.2020 - 11:39
nikarg
Old Nick
I listened to it and I am afraid I don't need it either. I relate to the post below so much.

Written by Starvynth on 12.05.2019 at 13:47

Back then, Crowbar was the first band to combine two genres I just didn't get: sludge and stoner. I believe they took the worst of both genres to create something that was not just the summary of two "bad" influences but a product of multiplication.

Furthermore, you just couldn't ignore them.
There was no internet, no YouTube, no bandcamp - just radio, magazines and MTV's Headbangers Ball to discover new music.
And there he was: Kirk Windstein of Crowbar. Cover stories in Metal Hammer, interviews for Rock Hard magazine, videos on VIVA's Metalla, studio and tour reports for MTV, radio airplay.
Above that, they've been touring Europe in 1994, together with one of my favorite bands of that time. Crowbar sucked so hard that I couldn't even enjoy Paradise Lost anymore. What a stupid idea to let Crowbar support them...
Not to forget Kirk Windstein of Down: same guy, same story, twice the annoyance. He was literally everywhere.
Loading...
04.02.2020 - 11:43
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by nikarg on 04.02.2020 at 11:39

Furthermore, you just couldn't ignore them.

Then that's even more incentive for me to keep covering them.
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
04.02.2020 - 11:46
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by nikarg on 04.02.2020 at 11:39

I listened to it and I am afraid I don't need it either. I relate to the post below so much.

Written by Starvynth on 12.05.2019 at 13:47

Back then, Crowbar was the first band to combine two genres I just didn't get: sludge and stoner. I believe they took the worst of both genres to create something that was not just the summary of two "bad" influences but a product of multiplication.

Furthermore, you just couldn't ignore them.
There was no internet, no YouTube, no bandcamp - just radio, magazines and MTV's Headbangers Ball to discover new music.
And there he was: Kirk Windstein of Crowbar. Cover stories in Metal Hammer, interviews for Rock Hard magazine, videos on VIVA's Metalla, studio and tour reports for MTV, radio airplay.
Above that, they've been touring Europe in 1994, together with one of my favorite bands of that time. Crowbar sucked so hard that I couldn't even enjoy Paradise Lost anymore. What a stupid idea to let Crowbar support them...
Not to forget Kirk Windstein of Down: same guy, same story, twice the annoyance. He was literally everywhere.


Well in some way only band what mix 2 genres i like and acid bath, i did in old days, now well only this band, but not as I play it often, when do i talk about sludge or stoner. Few bands maybe...
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
04.02.2020 - 13:42
Starvynth
i c deaf people
Uhh, have I ever confessed my totally unfounded but deep and unbounded aversion towards Kirk Windstein in public?
I guess I did...

Sorry, but I really hate his vocals and his guitar sound.
This album is a nightmare come true.
----
signatures = SPAM
Loading...
04.02.2020 - 15:16
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Starvynth on 04.02.2020 at 13:42

Uhh, have I ever confessed my totally unfounded but deep and unbounded aversion towards Kirk Windstein in public?
I guess I did...

Sorry, but I really hate his vocals and his guitar sound.
This album is a nightmare come true.
that story about paradise lost is sad, thats Why often i hate such genre mixture in live one good band one bad, like ozzfest in us bls and oo plus bunch nu metal bands, no thsnks
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
04.02.2020 - 18:39
ThomasBryant
I got into Crowbar a while ago and I stared getting into more and more of their stuff as I listened to them. I honestly think Kirks vocal is unique in a way and sounds really good when he does stuff like this. I can see why not everyone can get into them especially in Crowbar, but I like them. And their pretty much my favorite Sludge metal band above Acid Bath. Thanks to me remembering them being in Bevies and Butthead I'm glade I found them. Some of my favorites from Crowbar is. Existence Is Punishment,Through A Wall Of Tears, Time Heals Nothing,Nothing, It's All In The Gravity, and Song Of The Dunes. I liked this album, Kirk's voice is really good in this to me. Reminds me of some of the softer songs in the Crowbar albums like Odd Fellows Rest. Good review by the way.
Loading...

Hits total: 1272 | This month: 1272