Fluisteraars - Bloem review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

68 users:
7.97
Band: Fluisteraars
Album: Bloem
Release date: February 2020


01. Tere Muur
02. Nasleep
03. Eeuwige Ram
04. Vlek
05. Maanruïne


What could possibly be more Dutch than flower-themed black metal?

Maybe just being the last successful invaders of Britain. But other than that, Fluisteraars, whose band name to this day I have to copy-paste, embody both what I think of the Netherlands usually, and what I think of the Dutch black metal scene as of late. You can read more about the latter in these two reviews, so how about we talk about the former.

I admittedly don't have that much experience with the Dutch culture, other than me going there once for Roadburn and being subsequently asked by my friends whether I indulged in prostitutes or weed. And me being there for a festival instead of a usual quotidian Dutch lifestyle might have had me biased, but I damn enjoyed my time there. I had trouble figuring out what souvenirs to take home to my relatives who weren't into music, so I settled for some wooden tulips. And while I listened to and enjoyed a lot of Dutch black metal, it wasn't until Bloem (coincidentally meaning "flower[s?]" in Dutch) that I felt a déjà vu for it.

Fluisteraars make atmospheric black metal, but they could quite fool you that it isn't really because of how direct it is. But there is a lot of atmosphere-building repetition and hushed layers of instrumentation that do complete the picture and create some warm hazy black metal. There's some really triumphant sounding trumpets and timpanis at times that work much better than expected without sounding corny under those hazy but raw guitars, creating that pastoral feel that you don't often get in black metal. But it still is black metal, it's raw like black metal, and feels like black metal, but black metal doesn't usually feel like this, and there's the beauty in Bloem: their subversion of black metal doesn't feel dishonest or provocative, but showing love and appreciation both for the grittiest of black metal and the haziest of psych/alt rock.

Indeed, the latter element of this sound could be traced back to a lot of places, some late 60s psychedelic rock, some 90s shoegaze, some folk melodies, some electronica, some epic choir folk, but usually just something to make the black metal feel like it drowned out in the sun. Like black metal in a warm summer day in a field of poppies. And how deceptively simple and straightforward it sometimes feels. It works so well not only in its experimentation in sound, but due to how well they master these sounds and how well written these melodies are, even if they are more often than not fairly simple. But everything feels natural and flows so well.

I really wish history would treat this album rightly and make it more than just "one of those great Dutch black metal albums from 2020", because it really doesn't feel like just another of anything.



 



Written on 09.03.2020 by My opinion is objective, sorry if you don't agree, but you're wrong.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 124 users
09.03.2020 - 16:01
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Seems band composed and specially drove artwork when they ate space cace , did drugs and get hooker and prostitute same time .... Radu keep on this way, Holland is good for you
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
09.03.2020 - 18:13
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Bad English on 09.03.2020 at 16:01

Seems band composed and specially drove artwork when they ate space cace , did drugs and get hooker and prostitute same time .... Radu keep on this way, Holland is good for you

Some Holland is good for anybody
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
09.03.2020 - 21:10
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by RaduP on 09.03.2020 at 18:13

Written by Bad English on 09.03.2020 at 16:01

Seems band composed and specially drove artwork when they ate space cace , did drugs and get hooker and prostitute same time .... Radu keep on this way, Holland is good for you

Some Holland is good for anybody

Remember about cheese as well
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
09.03.2020 - 22:09
Magere Tijn
Quote:
What could possibly be more Dutch than flower-themed black metal?

Stroopwafel-themed black metal.

Quote:
(coincidentally meaning "flower[s?]" in Dutch)

Singular, just a single flower. It could also mean flour, the stuff you bake cakes with, but seeing the cover of this album, I'm sticking with the colored stuff on green sticks.
With some creativity, you may also translate 'Fluisteraars' not as 'whisperers', which they probably meant it, but as 'whisper butthole'. I'm telling you people, the best thing about The Netherlands is not the weed, the hookers, windmills, pretty flowers or whatever the fuck any tourism guide is telling you. It's the language. It is messed up and you can do so much stupid shit with it, totally amazing. I can recommend reading the wikipedia page on Dutch profanity (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dutch_profanity) to anyone who can use a few 'Jesus Christ, what the fuck is up with these people?' moments.

Having praised this little swat of reclaimed swamp for the greater glory of my heritage, I agree with the review completely. Though I like their album Dromers better for now, this one is damn cool.
Loading...
09.03.2020 - 23:05
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Magere Tijn on 09.03.2020 at 22:09

Quote:
What could possibly be more Dutch than flower-themed black metal?

Stroopwafel-themed black metal.

Quote:
(coincidentally meaning "flower[s?]" in Dutch)

Singular, just a single flower. It could also mean flour, the stuff you bake cakes with, but seeing the cover of this album, I'm sticking with the colored stuff on green sticks.
With some creativity, you may also translate 'Fluisteraars' not as 'whisperers', which they probably meant it, but as 'whisper butthole'. I'm telling you people, the best thing about The Netherlands is not the weed, the hookers, windmills, pretty flowers or whatever the fuck any tourism guide is telling you. It's the language. It is messed up and you can do so much stupid shit with it, totally amazing. I can recommend reading the wikipedia page on Dutch profanity (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dutch_profanity) to anyone who can use a few 'Jesus Christ, what the fuck is up with these people?' moments.

That was immensely entertaining. I shall call my friends "sphincter musketeers" from now on.
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
10.03.2020 - 00:16
DeliciousDishes
doesn't use salt
I wasn't expecting this to be so good when I checked it out. Really love the subtle winds and guitar tone on here. Feels weirdly warm and really does convey a tulip. Or whispering buttholes I guess. Need more sunny day black metal.
----
You are the hammer, I am the nail
building a house in the fire on the hill
Loading...
29.04.2020 - 01:06
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
I think you enjoy this a little more than I do but it's still pretty solid in my book. Very nice melodies and the last track is pretty great. Good review, Dutch black metal definitely seems to be the next national scene to really pay attention to.
----
Check out Apothecary's Favorite Bands Playlist, brotendo. One track per band.
Loading...
05.07.2020 - 21:36
tintinb
Nasleep is a treat to the ears.
Loading...

Hits total: 2203 | This month: 73