Yuri Gagarin - The Outskirts Of Reality review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

24 users:
7.92
Band: Yuri Gagarin
Album: The Outskirts Of Reality
Release date: January 2020


01. QSO
02. Oneironaut
03. Crystal Dunes
04. Laboratory 1
05. The Outskirts Of Reality


[The following were taken from a recently declassified recording of transmissions between ground control and Vostok-1 on the 12th of April 1961, originally in Russian and translated into English]

"Cedar, this is NRZB-I, are you hearing me well? Over."

"NRZB-I, this is Cedar, roger, I can hear you but very distorted and fuzzy. Over."

"Cedar, it was 4 minutes ago we traced you to the Strait of Magellan but we cannot trace you anymore. Over."

"NRZB-I, you must have counted the minutes wrong, it has been much longer since. Over."

"Cedar, that is impossible, what does your board clock say? Over."

"NZRB-I, it says precisely 16:20. Over."

"Cedar, there must be a malfunction on board. Do you see the Earth? Over."

"NRZB-I, I am afraid not, my vzor is clouded in thick fumes. Over."

"Cedar, this is an emergency, please do not panic and follow protocol. Over."

"NZRB-I, I am very chilled out, no need to panic, I can start seeing the planet through the vzor. Over."

"Cedar, can you identify where on Earth you are? Over."

"NRZB-I, I am not on Earth. Over."

"Cedar, what are you saying? Over."

"NRZB-I, I see a planet but the lifeforms on it are indescribable and the atmosphere is hazy, it feels like a world beyond human comprehension that only belongs on the outskirts of reality. Over."

"Cedar, are you playing a prank on us? Over."

"NRZB-I, no, I think you are playing a prank on us. Did you put any LSD in this vodka? Over."

"Cedar, LSD doesn't work like that. Over."

"NRZB-I, I know, but the writer of this review doesn't have a comprehensive experience with drugs and thinks it can. Over."

"Cedar, I can see. He also somehow thinks that NRZB-I would be able to transmit that much further from the Baikonur. Over."

"NRZB-I, he even wrote it wrong a few times. Is he the one who placed this Hawkwind record on board? Over."

"Cedar, this is 1961, psychedelic rock wasn't invented yet. Over."

"NRZB-I, I care not, I am swimming through modular riffs and elongated guitar solos and buzzing synths. Over."

"Cedar, this better not be a description of the music inspired by this flight. Over."

"NRZB-I, no, I would also have to mention that the album has a much better flow than this review. Over."

"Cedar, do you mean that it is much more immersive and the layers constantly build upon one another with great performances mostly in the guitars and drums departments, but that wouldn't be the same without those sci-fi sounding synths? Over."

"NRBI-I, precisely, but also it changes paces quite effectively too. It even has a song full of seemingly actual space noises. Over."

"Cedar, doesn't it feel a bit like post-metal too? Over."

"NRZB-I, what the fuck is post-metal? Over."

"Cedar, no idea. Over"

"NRZB-I, I would love to continue, but it seems like I have to embed a Bandcamp player in our conversation. Poyekhali!"



 



Written on 16.03.2020 by My opinion is objective, sorry if you don't agree, but you're wrong.


Comments

Comments: 12   Visited by: 124 users
16.03.2020 - 19:08
Paradoxical
Oh man! Color me intrigued! You should turn this into a book. I would definitely read it.
Loading...
16.03.2020 - 20:45
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Ah, stealing my "turn the review into a story" idea, are you? Well.... no worries if so, as I kind of stole the idea from Rod anyway

Good review, like the creativity behind it. I quite enjoy this album and have spun it a good number of times. Reminds me of bands like Naxatras, Weedpecker, and Wo Fat who sort of skate that line between stoner metal and psychedelic rock. This definitely leans more toward the latter though, very spacey and jam oriented.
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
16.03.2020 - 21:18
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Apothecary on 16.03.2020 at 20:45

Ah, stealing my "turn the review into a story" idea, are you? Well.... no worries if so, as I kind of stole the idea from Rod anyway

Good review, like the creativity behind it. I quite enjoy this album and have spun it a good number of times. Reminds me of bands like Naxatras, Weedpecker, and Wo Fat who sort of skate that line between stoner metal and psychedelic rock. This definitely leans more toward the latter though, very spacey and jam oriented.

The genre's specific name is space rock, which indeed is really really fit for this band. But obviously it's not that far off from usual psych rock. Being on acid and being in space is probably fairly similar.
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
16.03.2020 - 22:45
Starvynth
i c deaf people
Well done Radu, that was a highly enjoyable read!


Written by Apothecary on 16.03.2020 at 20:45

Ah, stealing my "turn the review into a story" idea, are you? Well.... no worries if so, as I kind of stole the idea from Rod anyway

I can't get enough of these alternative reviews, but maybe it's about time to dignify the originator: Deadsoulman, © 2004
----
signatures = SPAM
Loading...
16.03.2020 - 22:53
nikarg
Mod
Am I to understand that this is some mix of psychedelic, post-, Hawkwind?
Loading...
17.03.2020 - 12:56
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by nikarg on 16.03.2020 at 22:53

Am I to understand that this is some mix of psychedelic, post-, Hawkwind?

Nah hawkwind was way better, this is modern boring band, image like life whit out booze n metal... This is even worst
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
17.03.2020 - 13:52
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Starvynth on 16.03.2020 at 22:45

I can't get enough of these alternative reviews

My favorite is still probably Lucas's review of the Bloody Panda debut where he wrote it as if readers were doing a recipe with him
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
17.03.2020 - 18:44
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by nikarg on 16.03.2020 at 22:53

Am I to understand that this is some mix of psychedelic, post-, Hawkwind?

Pretty much, yeah
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
17.03.2020 - 19:38
nikarg
Mod
Written by RaduP on 17.03.2020 at 18:44

Written by nikarg on 16.03.2020 at 22:53

Am I to understand that this is some mix of psychedelic, post-, Hawkwind?

Pretty much, yeah

Listening now, third track playing. It does sound like some psychedelic, post-, Hawkwind thingy. Quite nice, but I can't listen to more than 10-15 minutes of this music without weed and I have ran out atm.
Loading...
17.03.2020 - 19:58
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by nikarg on 17.03.2020 at 19:38

Listening now, third track playing. It does sound like some psychedelic, post-, Hawkwind thingy. Quite nice, but I can't listen to more than 10-15 minutes of this music without weed and I have ran out atm.

Just stand up very suddenly and you'll feel dizzy enough
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
18.03.2020 - 05:32
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Written by RaduP on 17.03.2020 at 19:58

Written by nikarg on 17.03.2020 at 19:38

Listening now, third track playing. It does sound like some psychedelic, post-, Hawkwind thingy. Quite nice, but I can't listen to more than 10-15 minutes of this music without weed and I have ran out atm.

Just stand up very suddenly and you'll feel dizzy enough


You got me interested.

How about trying in office tonite?
----
Loading...
18.03.2020 - 23:55
TheBigRossowski
Dudeist Priest'
Dope(throne), man! Sounds good, I'mma check it out.
----
That rug really tied the room together, did it not?
Loading...

Hits total: 1242 | This month: 18