Yaldabaoth - That Which Whets The Saccharine Palate review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

2 users:
7.50
Band: Yaldabaoth
Album: That Which Whets The Saccharine Palate
Release date: February 2020


01. Fecund Godhead Deconstruction
02. Megas Archon 365
03. Gomorrahan Grave Of The Sodomite
04. To Neither Rot Nor Decay
05. That Which Whets The Saccharine Palate
06. Mock Divine Fury


Alright then, Coronavirus. What jamz you got to throw my way?

In the midst of a global pandemic that has resulted in a city wide lockdown that's presented me with a hell of a lot of free time, it was just last week that I was roaming through Order ov the Black Arts, bored, stir crazy, and hungry for new black metal discoveries. A share of this Yaldabaoth album by a fellow group member, and particularly the artwork, caught my attention. Deciding to investigate further for the music, a cold, dissonant, and mechanical assault greeted me. Yaldabaoth, a (probably) one man black metal beast from Anchorage, Alaska, is just what I needed during these confusing and somewhat harrowing times: something sounding gritty, aggressive, and apocalyptic.

Sticking to a mostly midtempo approach throughout, on the debut That Which Whets The Saccharine Palate (say that five times fast) Yaldabaoth delivers a style of black metal equal parts frenetic, hypnotic, and engaging. There's a very riff heavy approach across the whole album that, while not exactly deserving of the "catchy" label, certainly keeps things interesting and easy to pay attention to, and there's very little (if anything) on this release that could be dubbed as "filler" in any way. Additional sprinkles of melody and atmosphere here and there hint at deeper layers of a more ethereal, hypnotic approach as well, but largely stay as mere hints, as it's mostly the brooding, pounding black metal sound that dominates.

Throughout my listen to That Which Whets The Saccharine Palate, the fact that Yaldabaoth hails from Alaska kept coming to mind. I think there's definitely a bit of parallel with the sound of Icelandic black metal here, because with Alaska you have the same sort of situation where a cold, desolate, unforgiving landscape yields a similarly dark, brooding, and quasi-atmospheric take on black metal. While I wish Yaldabaoth had gone just a wee bit deeper into the melody and ambiance with this release, it still has far more going for it than what it lacks. Hopefully this project sees a little refinement and maturation in the songwriting department in the future, but with this debut things are definitely off to a pretty strong start.

Probably my favorite thing black metal this year along with Zalmoxis. Go whet your palate.



 



Written on 26.03.2020 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 18   Visited by: 63 users
26.03.2020 - 20:46
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Isn't Yalbadabadoo that shit that Fred Flinstone said?

Alaskan black metal sounds dope, I'm surprised there isn't as much of a scene gaining traction there
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
26.03.2020 - 21:23
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 26.03.2020 at 20:46

Alaskan black metal sounds dope, I'm surprised there isn't as much of a scene gaining traction there

Same, like I said here the environment seems to be really similar to Iceland and Scandinavia so there are plenty grim and frostbitten vibes to go around. Plus so much interesting shit to write about.... I'm surprised we haven't been getting more Alaskan BM concept albums about Eskimo and moose and shit. This needs to happen.
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
26.03.2020 - 22:32
Bad English
Masterchief
Think positive about Alaska, you dont need be in isolation, Closer nsibour is one day walk away.
I dont like such bands what hides members
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
26.03.2020 - 22:58
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Bad English on 26.03.2020 at 22:32

I dont like such bands what hides members

You said the same thing on my Vengeful Spectre review a few weeks ago. Who gives a fuck? Stop spamming my reviews with your incessant whining about this shit.
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
26.03.2020 - 23:47
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Apothecary on 26.03.2020 at 22:58

You said the same thing on my Vengeful Spectre review a few weeks ago. Who gives a fuck? Stop spamming my reviews with your incessant whining about this shit.

His issue is that without it, the profile will remain invisible. I'm not sure precisely how much this affects the visibility other than that the "Show invisible bands" tick isn't automatically ticked as it should be when browsing bands or albums.
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
26.03.2020 - 23:49
TheBigRossowski
Dudeist Priest'
When its cold...and when it's dark...the Alaskan moon will obsess you
----
That rug really tied the room together, did it not?
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 00:24
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by TheBigRossowski on 26.03.2020 at 23:49

When its cold...and when it's dark...the Alaskan moon will obsess you

The Alaskan *Aurora borealis
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 02:42
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 26.03.2020 at 23:47

His issue is that without it, the profile will remain invisible. I'm not sure precisely how much this affects the visibility other than that the "Show invisible bands" tick isn't automatically ticked as it should be when browsing bands or albums.

Profiles remaining invisible to me is an extremely minor issue, the band in question will still be featured on site and they'll still come up in search results. At the day's end that's really all that matters. I do, however, feel as though we should have some sort of criteria for revising the invisible policy with regards to bands who simply don't disclose their lineups, such as Yaldabaoth, Vengeful Spectre, Gaerea, etc.
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 09:54
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Apothecary on 27.03.2020 at 02:42

I do, however, feel as though we should have some sort of criteria for revising the invisible policy with regards to bands who simply don't disclose their lineups, such as Yaldabaoth, Vengeful Spectre, Gaerea, etc.

You're goddamn right
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 10:31
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by RaduP on 27.03.2020 at 09:54

Written by Apothecary on 27.03.2020 at 02:42

I do, however, feel as though we should have some sort of criteria for revising the invisible policy with regards to bands who simply don't disclose their lineups, such as Yaldabaoth, Vengeful Spectre, Gaerea, etc.

You're goddamn right


I prefer old way when we need have original bio
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 10:32
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Bad English on 27.03.2020 at 10:31

I prefer old way when we need have original bio

God, I'm so fucking glad we no longer need that
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
27.03.2020 - 10:35
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by RaduP on 27.03.2020 at 10:32

Written by Bad English on 27.03.2020 at 10:31

I prefer old way when we need have original bio

God, I'm so fucking glad we no longer need that


yes and no
We tock away it because way to many popular, good bands had no chance be active
Yes - many bands are just no to go, its double thoughts about it
best what we can do is take away rule that NA canb not be in current line up
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
28.03.2020 - 09:09
Bad English
Masterchief
Well same time mot many of people csres about anonymous bands , only you 2 and Johan. So its small thing here, just saying
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
28.03.2020 - 10:38
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Bad English on 28.03.2020 at 09:09

Well same time mot many of people csres about anonymous bands , only you 2 and Johan.

What an incredibly stupid statement. MS needs a thumbs down button.

Loads more care about them than us three. Just because you don't see people going out of their way to say so doesn't mean that they don't.
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
28.03.2020 - 11:02
Bad English
Masterchief
You be surprised How many ppl are here who dislike such bands, so numbers are equal.
As rewiev i enjoy your reviews, but article are cool as well, but band and principle, if band like be anonymous, why they play music, Let play for private forest party to 19 people , unles its irsni band what can be exicuted.
Wanna be anonymous use a, 6 or similar pseudonym, even some weird dots, n signs are anoying as well. I hope ms wont drop rules to make band visible, we need harder rules.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
28.03.2020 - 17:53
Karlabos
Weirdo of MS
For an instant I thought it was a new Jaldaboath album
----
2016 - 2017
2018 - 2019
Loading...
28.03.2020 - 18:16
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Karlabos on 28.03.2020 at 17:53

For an instant I thought it was a new Jaldaboath album

Crazy how a review with this many comments only has two comments actually talking about the music. One of them is a reply from the reviewer.
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
28.03.2020 - 22:24
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 28.03.2020 at 18:16

Crazy how a review with this many comments only has two comments actually talking about the music.

Welcome to Metalstorm.net
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...

Hits total: 488 | This month: 488