Green Carnation - Leaves Of Yesteryear review



Reviewer:
8.0

130 users:
8.19
Band: Green Carnation
Album: Leaves Of Yesteryear
Release date: May 2020


01. Leaves Of Yesteryear
02. Sentinels
03. My Dark Reflections Of Life And Death
04. Hounds
05. Solitude [Black Sabbath cover]


As far as the wave of prog comeback efforts go, Leaves Of Yesteryear is more bite-sized than most.

When Tool released their first album in 13 years, they couldn't fit the full tracklist on one CD. In comparison, Green Carnation, who also last released an album in 2006, have put together something that is almost half the length of Fear Inoculum. What's more, of the 5-song tracklist, only 3 are original songs, with the remainder comprised of a re-recording of a song from their first album, Journey To The End Of The Night, and a cover of Black Sabbath's "Solitude". As such, Leaves Of Yesteryear almost feels like an EP. Hopefully the band will continue to be active and release a more substantial effort in the future, as the music that does make it onto Leaves Of Yesteryear serves as a satisfying reminder of why this record was so anticipated.

When we last heard anything from Green Carnation, they had stripped down their sound for The Acoustic Verses. Nothing from that particular venture has carried over to here, as Leaves Of Yesteryear feels closest to A Blessing In Disguise out of any of their previous records, albeit with a proggier and more modern approach. This more modern approach makes the re-envisioning of "My Dark Reflections Of Life And Death" a resounding success. Those who are more partial to Journey To The End Of The Night may disagree, but as someone who never particularly clicked with that album, I feel like "My Dark Reflections…" greatly benefits from the maturation of the band's style, the cleaner production and the presence of Kjetil Nordhus on vocals, who only joined the band in time for the following year's classic Light Of Day, Day Of Darkness. Only founding member Tchort also featured on the previous incarnation of this song, and the current version of Green Carnation have justified the decision to offer their own take on the song here.

As far as the original songs go, "Leaves Of Yesteryear" immediately ranked amongst my favourite Green Carnation songs from the moment it was released a couple of months ago; between the rich atmosphere, moving and memorable vocal melodies, and the anthemic keyboard work, it serves as a tremendously strong introduction to the album it shares a name with. "Sentinels" and "Hounds" haven't impressed me quite so much after my first few playthroughs of Leaves Of Yesteryear, but both have the distinctive Green Carnation sound that makes for such pleasant listening, and both contain a number of great moments, particularly the lengthier "Hounds", with its memorable chorus and classic-sounding guitar solo. "Hounds" would make a satisfying end to a 4-song EP; unfortunately, the closing minutes of Leaves Of Yesteryear are reserved for an adequate but somewhat redundant cover of Black Sabbath's "Solitude", a track that has been covered to greater effect by Ulver amongst others.

Leaves Of Yesteryear won't challenge Light Of Day, Day Of Darkness as the band's best effort, but fans of Green Carnation should still be suitably satisfied by this comeback effort, and whilst Disillusion's The Liberation still holds the title of the best follow-up to a 2006 album, Leaves Of Yesteryear allows Green Carnation to join Disillusion, Tool, Pure Reason Revolution, Conception and more in returning after 10+ years away and demonstrating their relevance. Now I can only hope that they will stay active long enough to release another album after this.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 08.05.2020 by Hey chief let's talk why not


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 122 users
08.05.2020 - 15:19
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
What a long way they've come

----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
08.05.2020 - 15:22
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Great writeup. I'm already disappointed in terms of the quantity on offer, but looking forward to being assuaged by the quality.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
08.05.2020 - 15:55
Witchslayer
Written by Troy Killjoy on 08.05.2020 at 15:22

Great writeup. I'm already disappointed in terms of the quantity on offer, but looking forward to being assuaged by the quality.


You should be. Minus the cover it runs somewhere around 37 minutes, so it feels like a shorter album or a longer EP.

However quality is still there. Maybe not 'Light of Day...' level, but quite good nonetheless. Personally hid the last cover song in the Spotify album, since it didn't quite fit the mood of the record.

Rated it 9 so far, will see how rating matures with time.

Btw a good review.
Loading...
08.05.2020 - 20:32
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
I remember getting convinced by Rod to check these guys out at Roadburn, 15 or 16, can't remember exactly. As you could probably guess I'm not too inclined to either prog or gothic metal but I do recall quite enjoying their set and especially the vocalist's energy.

It may be time to attempt getting more into the band. Where would you recommend starting?
----
Go tell that long tongue liar
Go and tell that midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
08.05.2020 - 20:39
musclassia
Written by Apothecary on 08.05.2020 at 20:32

I remember getting convinced by Rod to check these guys out at Roadburn, 15 or 16, can't remember exactly. As you could probably guess I'm not too inclined to either prog or gothic metal but I do recall quite enjoying their set and especially the vocalist's energy.

It may be time to attempt getting more into the band. Where would you recommend starting?


We've talked about this before - they played in '16, and them doing their album Light of Day, Day of Darkness in full was one of the reasons I travelled over to Roadburn, and is probably a big reason of why they're still relatively well known these days, so that would be my recommendation, particularly if you liked the show. However, it is a single 60-minute epic; for something more manageable and broken-up into songs, A Blessing In Disguise is probably their second best album, whilst The Acoustic Verses was a nice attempt at going unplugged. Their debut is more doomy gothic; I don't personally care for it but others probably rate it second to LoDDoD.
Loading...
08.05.2020 - 20:41
Daniell
_爱情_
Written by Apothecary on 08.05.2020 at 20:32

It may be time to attempt getting more into the band. Where would you recommend starting?

Light of Day, Day of Darkness. 60 minutes and 6 seconds of one song brilliance.
Loading...
09.05.2020 - 00:23
Batlord666
I got into these guys recently with Light of Day, Day of Darkness. I heard the title track to Leaves and was greatly anticipating this release. But today on my listen, I felt really underwhelmed. I dunno, I'll give it another listen, but only the title track and the re-recording stuck out.
Loading...
09.05.2020 - 16:18
MetalManic
I'm not too well versed in the Black Sabbath back catalogue. After listening to the album I said to a friend that I believe that the final track was a cover song....perhaps of Ulver or something. I didn't know Ulver did this cover too. Interesting comparison. Perhaps it was a blended influence (and that Norwegian connection) that resulted in the song feeling the way it did.
----
MetalManic
www.MetalManic.com
Loading...
09.05.2020 - 20:11
tiny dog ghosts
It's a really great album. But it is somewhat short. I am also a bit saddened by the lack of upbeat, shorter tracks like that of The Quiet Offspring/A Blessing In Disguise, but it's still great. So glad to have them back! Hope the next album drops before 2034...
Loading...

Hits total: 1345 | This month: 1345