Platitude - Nine review


7 users:
Band: Platitude
Album: Nine
Release date: April 2004

01. Dark Mind
02. Trust
03. Oblivion
04. Halcyon Days
05. Catch 22
06. Avalon Farewell
07. Skies Of Xenon
08. Falling
09. Aeronautica
10. Endless
11. Starlight
12. Supernova [Japanese bonus]

Last year Platitude released their debut album , a fairly good album full of nice melodies and neoclassical interludes reminiscent of Yngwie Malmsteen and Symphony X, now one year after, they bring us their second effort, strangely entitled "Nine".
It may ruin the review to reveal the outcome at the beginning, but I'm really disappointed at these guys, this album is not what I expected, and doesn't top their debut, not by a chance.

First of all, the neoclassical influences are almost gone, replaced by some Progressive touches in the compositions, this makes the music quite boring and pretty uninteresting. The band now relies in the synth utilization, which is excellent, but not enough to save this record from mediocrity.

While song are not that bad, I can't think of one that stands up from the rest, at least in their previous release there were songs that could qualify as my favorites.
This new change of direction won't take Platitude anywhere, except if they add more elements to their sound, because frankly, I know million of bands that sound just like these young Swedes.

Ok, maybe I'm being a little rough here, but that's my reaction when I'm disappointed, I remember being excited to hear this one, to hear the improvement in the sound of the band, sadly that didn't go well.
Of course Platitude are still better than many, many of the other Power Metal bands coming from Italy and Scandinavia, but they didn't find what it takes to make it on this, their second album, I hope in their next album the do it, because, strike 3, and you're out.

Written by Undercraft | 14.06.2004



Comments: 1   Visited by: 7 users
10.03.2012 - 01:29
Account deleted
I did not like their debut, but I like this one a lot , strange and amazing how tastes differ. The keyboards are great indeed, the album is a lot of fun to listen to, although hardly original.

Hits total: 2422 | This month: 26