Sunken - Livslede review



Reviewer:
8.7

28 users:
7.71
Band: Sunken
Album: Livslede
Release date: September 2020


01. Forlist
02. Ensomhed
03. Foragt
04. Delirium
05. Dødslængsel


Capturing the essence of melancholia in grandiose fashion is a task frequently sought after, yet rarely achieved.

Having renamed themselves and undergone significant lineup changes, Sunken's journey to releasing their full-length debut back in 2017 was a more tumultuous one than most would have the misfortune of experiencing, especially with how quietly their initial notable steps onto the scene were received. Not to be stowed away and forgotten in the dark corners of the internet, however, vocalist Martin Skyum Thomasen took a hands-on approach and engaged with the community in order to ensure this small Danish outfit had the opportunity to be heard this time around, and Livslede is definitely an album worth hearing. Moreover, it deserves to be felt.

Gentle resonating strokes of a piano set to the backdrop of running water acts as an introduction to the beginnings of a harrowing emotional undertaking, simultaneously establishing a depressive tone and symbolic representation of the oncoming cascading waves of sorrow and angst immediately. The intensity is exacerbated by massive haunting keyboard passages that engulf the listener in a wall of despair, drowning out the accompanying blast beats like heavy rainfall masking the tormented screams of a disturbed mind in the night, buoyed by daunting melodies and crashing cymbals for full immersive effect. Sharply executed leads sashay through oceans of guilt and remorse, eventually landing on the jagged shore rocks riddled with ghosts of the past and mangled dreams of hope, contorted by the oppressive onslaught of relentless waters beating down on them. This is atmospheric black metal, but not as you know it. It's ferocious and spiteful, crushing and manipulative, but it also feels beautiful and comforting in its own way.

Subtle mid-paced gazing sessions slither and snake their way into the fold seamlessly, taking the reigns momentarily to assuage the pain of this extreme self-loathing session, recurring throughout the rest of the experience when the intensity simply becomes too much to bear. These built up breaks prove Sunken's decision to add a second guitarist to the equation was necessary, as the songwriting dynamics benefit immensely from it, particularly with how readily they transition between which emotions they want to convey. At times traversing grief by means of forcefully stripping you down until you have nowhere to run, other times providing space to gather yourself and prepare for the next round, the lulling harmonies are careful not to ever let you stray from the course at hand. Rather than letting you watch silently from a distance, you're made to share and endure the process in its entirety -- every discomfort, every regret, every agonizing step to the bottom of the ocean, where Livslede resides.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 10


 



Written on 19.11.2020 by I'm total pro; that's what I'm here for.


Comments

Comments: 10   Visited by: 91 users
19.11.2020 - 10:15
Skyum
Thank you so much! I've been on MS for ten years, always dreamed of having my own music reviewed here.
Loading...
19.11.2020 - 10:25
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Skyum on 19.11.2020 at 10:15

Thank you so much! I've been on MS for ten years, always dreamed of having my own music reviewed here.

Keep making good music and it just might happen again.
----
Father: How can a picture of a field be sad without a sad person looking sad in the field?
Young Woman: That's an interesting problem. Yeah, I struggle with that.
Loading...
19.11.2020 - 11:06
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by Skyum on 19.11.2020 at 10:15

Thank you so much! I've been on MS for ten years, always dreamed of having my own music reviewed here.

Du måste köpa ett öl åt Troy
You need to buy a beer to him.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
19.11.2020 - 11:07
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Dark corners of the internet,


Well i doubt anybody has used and will use such frase on review.... So youre in darknet
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
19.11.2020 - 16:25
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Skyum on 19.11.2020 at 10:15

Thank you so much! I've been on MS for ten years, always dreamed of having my own music reviewed here.

Thank you too. I had put off listening to this for some time as I was expecting another generic atmoblack album that I'd have to find creative ways to say nice things about while dropping a 7 on it but the tone of this really resonated with me. Needless to say, I was pleasantly surprised. I look forward to what you all come up with next, whether it's more of the same or a shift in style.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
19.11.2020 - 16:26
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by RaduP on 19.11.2020 at 10:25

Keep making good music and it just might happen again.

I mean I'm no stranger to reviewing bad music too lol
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
19.11.2020 - 16:26
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Bad English on 19.11.2020 at 11:06

You need to buy a beer to him.

I'll take a diet Coke instead.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
19.11.2020 - 16:27
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.11.2020 at 16:26

Written by RaduP on 19.11.2020 at 10:25

Keep making good music and it just might happen again.

I mean I'm no stranger to reviewing bad music too lol

You more than any of us (except omne metallum lately)
----
Father: How can a picture of a field be sad without a sad person looking sad in the field?
Young Woman: That's an interesting problem. Yeah, I struggle with that.
Loading...
22.11.2020 - 17:16
Czerny Reiter
This album is great. Love how the music's harshness coalesces into a celebratory and life-affirming whole. Reminded me of Woods of Desolation and especially Ethereal Shroud.
Loading...
22.11.2020 - 17:41
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Czerny Reiter on 22.11.2020 at 17:16

This album is great. Love how the music's harshness coalesces into a celebratory and life-affirming whole. Reminded me of Woods of Desolation and especially Ethereal Shroud.

Agreed 100%. Considering I also gave Woods a green rating, I feel obligated to check out Ethereal Shroud now, so thanks for the suggestion.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...

Hits total: 971 | This month: 971