Veil Of Secrets - Dead Poetry review



Reviewer:
6.9

19 users:
7.00
Band: Veil Of Secrets
Album: Dead Poetry
Release date: November 2020


01. The Last Attempt
02. Sear The Fallen
03. Remorseful Heart
04. The Lie Of Her Prosperity
05. Fey
06. Bryd
07. Meson
08. Entirety


"Why this is not revieved here?" - Bad English
That's an excellent question. Let's change that, shall we?

To be honest I'm conflicted on this one (hence why this review took a bit longer to make). There's a lot of potential in this project. On paper, we have two extremely capable musicians working together on a gothic doom record. So, that should result in a great record, right? Right?

Unfortunately it's a bit more complicated than that. And look no further than the first track on Dead Poetry. Good instrumental work and very good vocals, however, I feel like this song is a perfect example of what the album does exactly right and what it does wrong. Like I said, the performances are good, but often I had the feeling that they were performing next to each other, rather than with each other: vocal melodies that don't seem to fit 100% with the music itself, and music that overrules the delicate and beautiful vocals of Vibeke Stene. Compare it to a songbird who is chirping a beautiful melody while a bulldozer is running circles around the tree in which it is sitting. That's what my first impression was, but then the song softens up a bit, and at that moment everything clicks. You get nice moody vibes in the music combined with tender vocals. Great stuff!

The impression that the first song gave continued through the whole album, which leaves me (like I mentioned in the intro) conflicted. On one hand, it feels like a lot of potential is wasted; on the other hand, there are the moments that do absolutely hit their mark. In general, the softer parts of this record work better with Vibeke's vocals, and I feel like they kind of realized that too, because some of the heavier parts are accompanied by harsh vocals. Now, again on paper that's a good idea. You can have some nice contrasts between soft and harsh vocals. However, in reality those harsher vocals don't really add too much to the record. As for the lyrics, they are good throughout the record and definitely add to the doom vibe, so I have got nothing to remark on those.

What about the production? Honestly, there's not that much to say about it either. I really like the production on the guitars and drums. Bass is also audible in the mix. Only the aforementioned softer vocals could sometimes use a bit of a boost to be more prominent in the mix.

So yeah, most of the elements that are present in Dead Poetry are good, and I really wished they had been blended more nicely because this has potential. Right now though, it just sounds too disjointed at times. This isn't an unenjoyable record, but it does lack a bit an "engagement factor". A bit more chemistry between the music and the vocals would have done wonders. I would say that the second part of the album is slightly better than the first, mostly because the heaviness gets turned down a bit and that suits Vibeke more. Overall though, this record felt like a missed opportunity, one that still has some good in it, but ultimately doesn't fully deliver on that potential.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Production: 8


 



Written on 13.12.2020 by You know I'm right, you just haven't realised it yet...


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 65 users
13.12.2020 - 13:10
Hyamendacil1450
Pretty much my thoughts that I expressed a few days ago in the album comment section. Both the vocal performance (with the exception of the harsh ones) and the instrumental are great, but only standalone. They simply don't blend in most songs. When the music becomes more melodic and slower, such as on track 7, they blend in tremendously well and Vibeke's vocals show their potential.

I am a bit conflicted about the opening statement of the review though. I am not a musician, yet it took me one single listen to realize that the instrumental and Vibeke's vocals are disjointed in most songs. The first few songs were a chore to listen to. Excellent musicians not being able to realize that they are playing/singing on different tunes is a bit ridiculous. Either they did not care and went for a quick buck, or both have gone tone deaf over the years.
Loading...
13.12.2020 - 14:12
tominator
At best deranged
Written by Hyamendacil1450 on 13.12.2020 at 13:10

Pretty much my thoughts that I expressed a few days ago in the album comment section. Both the vocal performance (with the exception of the harsh ones) and the instrumental are great, but only standalone. They simply don't blend in most songs. When the music becomes more melodic and slower, such as on track 7, they blend in tremendously well and Vibeke's vocals show their potential.

I am a bit conflicted about the opening statement of the review though. I am not a musician, yet it took me one single listen to realize that the instrumental and Vibeke's vocals are disjointed in most songs. The first few songs were a chore to listen to. Excellent musicians not being able to realize that they are playing/singing on different tunes is a bit ridiculous. Either they did not care and went for a quick buck, or both have gone tone deaf over the years.


Agreed on track 7. That and track 6 are probably the best on the record imo.

As for the opening statement, it was not so much about the disjointed parts. It was more about me being conflicted about how there's clearly a lot of potential and some really good moments (like track 6 and 7). It's not like with lots of records where I can say this particular thing isn't good because all the elements themselves are rock solid (apart from the harsher vocals which are kind of "meh").

I give most albums 2 listens before I write a review about it. Reasoning being that the first is to get a solid impression of the album and the second one is more of a "deep dive". However, with this one I gave it 3 listens. I did that because the first listen was just like with other albums a first impression. And because I noticed how disjointed it was, I decided to give it 2 more spins. One in which I would try to focus solely on the music and the other with a bigger focus on the vocals. I say "tried" because that wasn't always easy especially in the case of the vocals during the first part of the album.

I basically wanted something more substantial to say besides the disjointed nature of this record. In hindsight that 3rd listen wasn't really necessary. But I rather give a listen extra to avoid realizing afterwards that I missed something.
Loading...
13.12.2020 - 16:18
Lanthros
I can definitely understand where you're coming from. However personally I highly enjoyed this album. I may be biased though because of vibeke. I'm just extremely excited to have her back.
Loading...
13.12.2020 - 18:20
tominator
At best deranged
Written by Lanthros on 13.12.2020 at 16:18

I can definitely understand where you're coming from. However personally I highly enjoyed this album. I may be biased though because of vibeke. I'm just extremely excited to have her back.


I'm really glad to have her back as well. Hopefully it will click a bit more with future records because as a vocalist she is simply excellent.
Loading...
13.12.2020 - 23:30
Lanthros
Written by tominator on 13.12.2020 at 18:20

Written by Lanthros on 13.12.2020 at 16:18

I can definitely understand where you're coming from. However personally I highly enjoyed this album. I may be biased though because of vibeke. I'm just extremely excited to have her back.


I'm really glad to have her back as well. Hopefully it will click a bit more with future records because as a vocalist she is simply excellent.

She definitely is. The first time I heard that voice absolutely blew me away. And with so many female fronted symphonic metal bands that sound the exact same these days, it's very refreshing to have someone back that stands apart, even if it's a different subgenre.
Loading...
14.12.2020 - 08:43
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
I mean whit asking for review that there are few what follows old scene as I, Nik and Starvynth , new people are more yes but they likes more modern things

Anyway this is good and bad, bad is that Vibeke was to way long away from metal. They boat could be 15 years younger, this would be a bit better killer IMO.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
14.12.2020 - 14:11
tominator
At best deranged
Written by Bad English on 14.12.2020 at 08:43

I mean whit asking for review that there are few what follows old scene as I, Nik and Starvynth , new people are more yes but they likes more modern things

Anyway this is good and bad, bad is that Vibeke was to way long away from metal. They boat could be 15 years younger, this would be a bit better killer IMO.


I see. To be honest I was glad you posted that comment. I was looking for an intro text and it helped me quite a bit.

I think the case with this album is that they need to get a bit more in tune with each other. Like I mentioned in the review there's potential in this project. Age isn't really a problem, I think. The energy is there. However, I do agree that it's kind of unfortunate that we have missed Vibeke's vocals for almost 15 years in the genre. We might have missed some possibly excellent records in those 15 years. But again, I'm glad to hear her again.
Loading...
14.12.2020 - 14:15
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by tominator on 14.12.2020 at 14:11

Written by Bad English on 14.12.2020 at 08:43

I mean whit asking for review that there are few what follows old scene as I, Nik and Starvynth , new people are more yes but they likes more modern things

Anyway this is good and bad, bad is that Vibeke was to way long away from metal. They boat could be 15 years younger, this would be a bit better killer IMO.


I see. To be honest I was glad you posted that comment. I was looking for an intro text and it helped me quite a bit.

I think the case with this album is that they need to get a bit more in tune with each other. Like I mentioned in the review there's potential in this project. Age isn't really a problem, I think. The energy is there. However, I do agree that it's kind of unfortunate that we have missed Vibeke's vocals for almost 15 years in the genre. We might have missed some possibly excellent records in those 15 years. But again, I'm glad to hear her again.


IMO that what was missing, seems come beck was to huge, they could come beck whit EP and work for album a bit longer
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
14.12.2020 - 15:48
tominator
At best deranged
Written by Bad English on 14.12.2020 at 14:15

IMO that what was missing, seems come beck was to huge, they could come beck whit EP and work for album a bit longer


An EP might have been a better idea so that she could have rolled back in a bit more gently. But I don't think it would have solved the main issue that I have with this record. Namely, its disjointed sound.
Loading...
14.12.2020 - 15:51
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by tominator on 14.12.2020 at 15:48

Written by Bad English on 14.12.2020 at 14:15

IMO that what was missing, seems come beck was to huge, they could come beck whit EP and work for album a bit longer


An EP might have been a better idea so that she could have rolled back in a bit more gently. But I don't think it would have solved the main issue that I have with this record. Namely, it's disjointed sound.


Maybe its their idea?
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
14.12.2020 - 19:49
tominator
At best deranged
Written by Bad English on 14.12.2020 at 15:51

Maybe its their idea?


The disjointed sound? I hope not, because that would be kind of disappointing. At least to me it would be.
Loading...
28.12.2020 - 23:13
AnGina--
Dark Phoenix
I agree wholeheartedly with the review, sadly I guess. I had such high hopes for this one. I, for one, am still a big fan of pre-Ashes Tristania (like the albums afterwards also, though) and was so delighted, to finally get the news Vibeke is back. Having this collaborationt seemed dreamy to me, but as soon as I heard the first single, my thoughts were - as many of you also say - the harmony between vocals and music is so out of equlibrium. After a few listenes, I kind of feel the vibe of the album a bit more, but it's just me getting accustomed to the sound of it. The music is superb and Vibeke's vocal work is flawless, especially when combined with grunts. The album depicts nice, melancholid soundwaves and creates very dolesome atmosphere, but that same atmosphere seems so disconnected from time to time. I do too hope this was just the beginning and that they will offer more music, hopefully in time their talents will collide in a more proper work of art....
----
You think darkness is your ally? You merely adopted the dark. I was born in it. Molded by it. I didn't see the light until I was a man. But it was nothing to me but blinding.
Loading...
28.12.2020 - 23:54
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by AnGina-- on 28.12.2020 at 23:13

I agree wholeheartedly with the review, sadly I guess. I had such high hopes for this one. I, for one, am still a big fan of pre-Ashes Tristania (like the albums afterwards also, though) and was so delighted, to finally get the news Vibeke is back. Having this collaborationt seemed dreamy to me, but as soon as I heard the first single, my thoughts were - as many of you also say - the harmony between vocals and music is so out of equlibrium. After a few listenes, I kind of feel the vibe of the album a bit more, but it's just me getting accustomed to the sound of it. The music is superb and Vibeke's vocal work is flawless, especially when combined with grunts. The album depicts nice, melancholid soundwaves and creates very dolesome atmosphere, but that same atmosphere seems so disconnected from time to time. I do too hope this was just the beginning and that they will offer more music, hopefully in time their talents will collide in a more proper work of art....

Nice words, imo 2 problems they are old cant creat art as young people in their needs, life is fixed life is well. Ypu dont need to try so gard.
Other Vibeke was long away from music buisness
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
29.12.2020 - 11:38
AnGina--
Dark Phoenix
Written by Bad English on 28.12.2020 at 23:54

Nice words, imo 2 problems they are old cant creat art as young people in their needs, life is fixed life is well. Ypu dont need to try so gard.
Other Vibeke was long away from music buisness


Well, that isn't necessarily a bad thing, experience can bring a lot over the years and sometines a long break is needed to find yourself and your creativity again and so on. I really don't know much about Vibeke outside Tristania (an aspect of hers which I also very much like - she keeps her life private), from what I know she became a teacher and had worked in theatre. Also, she never had any creative input in sense of composing and songwritting in Tristania and if I recall correctly, she did the lyrics and vocal lines for Dead Poetry, again not having much experience in it. She is in my opionion a tremendeous vocalis, she really has that theatrical approach, knowing how to depict a wide array of atmosphere with her voice, but that was mainly what she provided with Tristania. So I'm looking this as her start in songwriting and music it's not all about just having a talent and creative ideas, sadly. There's a lot of hard work and experience that need to be brought in to deliver.
----
You think darkness is your ally? You merely adopted the dark. I was born in it. Molded by it. I didn't see the light until I was a man. But it was nothing to me but blinding.
Loading...

Hits total: 1275 | This month: 111