Rating:
10
Lost Horizon - A Flame To The Ground Beneath
2003


01. Transdimensional Revelation
02. Pure
03. Lost In The Depths Of Me
04. Again Will The Fire Burn
05. The Song Of Earth
06. Cry Of A Restless Soul
07. Think Not Forever
08. Highlander (The One)
09. Deliverance


With this new album the Gods Lost Horizon are able to reach again the maximum musical level they reached in their first release, Awakening The World. Again we have the first an the last track missed, I mean, the album has 9 tracks, but the first and the last one are just galactic sounds of disintegration, not songs, we can not consider them songs at all, so we have actually a 7 songs album. Anyway, the album has a total playtime of 53 minutes, which means we have songs from 6 to 13 minutes long, so the album is not a fake at all in this sense. With this new album the band's sound has matured a lot, and the arrival of new members have helped to give the band their own sound and sign.

Musically, the album is brilliant, the 7 songs are all real masterpieces of heavy metal music. Their style is still very influenced by Manowar, but in this new album I can appreciate new more melodic influences. This new album is like a mix between Manowar, Edguy and Kamelot, all of them at their best moment. The guitars always beating first, the drums structuring the melody, the bass accompanying well and the voice at his perfect tone always. The lyrics are remarkable too, very epic ones, referring to the power of will oriented and inspired in medieval ages warriors time.

I give them a ten over ten. This album really deserves it.


Band profile: Lost Horizon
Album: A Flame To The Ground Beneath


 


written by Satariel | 17.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 144  
Search this topic:  


ThunderAxe1989 - 24.11.2006 at 23:51  
Wow! I don't own this album but I have all the songs on my Itunes/Ipod........Much better than the 1st effort! FUCK! This album is too damn great! They are the only Heavy/Power Metal band I've heard with a keyboardist, it truly adds a different dimension tot he sound. But the aspect I like msot of all about the abnd by far is DANIEL HEIMAN! He is pretty much my alltime favourite vocalist! . The way he hits that High D note so professionally! Agggh! And the lyrics are like my bible! I LOVE THE LYRICS! So inspiring! So truthful! Shit, but he left the band, I will probably never listen to these guys again .

But this album is amazing! I like best "Cry Of A Restless Soul" and "Highlander (The One)"
Bitch Boy - 25.11.2006 at 01:43  
This album is excellent, and if I have to be fair, I should say that this one has better quality than "Awakening the world", but my favorite Lost Horizon songs are in "Awakening the world". Anyway, very few albums deserve a 10 (or a 9.9), and "A flame to the ground beneath" is one of them.
Talvi - 10.12.2006 at 16:44  
Yeah, don't think if the album deserves a 10 or not. If not, at least a 9.9999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 xD
Marcus - 23.05.2007 at 06:10  
I believe that this album was decent at best, but deserves the rating simply for the song pure, i have spent many classes listening to that song on repeat, my record is 17 times in one class.
doosh - 13.06.2007 at 00:52  
Lost Horizon is amazing. that's all i have to say, really. i can't even get into how talented this band is. it's hard to believe music this great exists.



Infurnace - 25.07.2008 at 00:31  
Brilliant band, and absolutely fantastic album. Daniel has an amazing voice. It's probably one of the best voices I've ever heard in metal.
Malaghost - 11.05.2009 at 12:04  
For me, best Power metal album ever, only competition could be Avantasia with their Metal opera Pt.I. This is pure Power at its best, no more to say...
Powerslavex - 24.05.2009 at 12:12  
This album is magnificent 10/10 i love it especially the song Highlander i cant wait for their next release
Kasper - 15.06.2009 at 00:36  
I really.. REALLY don't know how I missed these guys. I mean, I've seen their cd's everywhere, but I thought. "Bahh, probably some Paradise Lost-shit" - I should be ashamed of myself.

Anyway, out of nowhere I saw this review with Lost Horizon mentioned in the title, and just had to peak. And this whole thing got me interested.

And boy, I was suprised when the intro faded away and "Pure" started to blast my room. Such, such a great song - all of them are acutally great songs. Really, I can only recommend this hell of an album!

At work I even get this feeling that I need to listen to these guys. His voice is just so fucking great - and the riffs are just amazing. The drums are just blasting aswell.. Just pure power!
Ag Fox - 16.10.2009 at 15:59  
The vocalist reminds me of Elisa C Martin somehow(?)
Valaskjalf - 18.10.2009 at 14:20  
Best...powermetal....band....EVER - fact. Everything about this band (or how they were before heiman left) spoke of talent and supreme skill both in their instrumentation and songwriting. In my opinion the best PowerMetal band of the last decade
MeTalRea|istiK - 20.09.2010 at 16:40  
Great!!this band is fucking rules!!
peiman - 10.01.2012 at 15:40  
This Album is good but isn't comparable with "Awakening The World".

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Lost Horizon - A Flame To The Ground Beneath 10.5 17.02.2012 by The Norseman
Reviews Lost Horizon - Awakening The World 9 14.02.2010 by Mountain King
Albums Lychgate - Beneath The Horizon [Demo] 4.5 11.05.2013 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Who Dies In Siberian Slush - Bitterness Of The Years That Are Lost 4 19.02.2011 by MechanisT
Albums Lost Soul - Scream Of The Mourning Star 3 26.09.2013 by Deadmeat



Hits total: 4879 | This month: 9