Lost Horizon - A Flame To The Ground Beneath review



Reviewer:
10

287 users:
8.76
Band: Lost Horizon
Album: A Flame To The Ground Beneath
Release date: 2003


01. Transdimensional Revelation
02. Pure
03. Lost In The Depths Of Me
04. Again Will The Fire Burn
05. The Song Of Earth
06. Cry Of A Restless Soul
07. Think Not Forever
08. Highlander (The One)
09. Deliverance


With this new album the Gods Lost Horizon are able to reach again the maximum musical level they reached in their first release, Awakening The World. Again we have the first an the last track missed, I mean, the album has 9 tracks, but the first and the last one are just galactic sounds of disintegration, not songs, we can not consider them songs at all, so we have actually a 7 songs album. Anyway, the album has a total playtime of 53 minutes, which means we have songs from 6 to 13 minutes long, so the album is not a fake at all in this sense. With this new album the band's sound has matured a lot, and the arrival of new members have helped to give the band their own sound and sign.

Musically, the album is brilliant, the 7 songs are all real masterpieces of heavy metal music. Their style is still very influenced by Manowar, but in this new album I can appreciate new more melodic influences. This new album is like a mix between Manowar, Edguy and Kamelot, all of them at their best moment. The guitars always beating first, the drums structuring the melody, the bass accompanying well and the voice at his perfect tone always. The lyrics are remarkable too, very epic ones, referring to the power of will oriented and inspired in medieval ages warriors time.

I give them a ten over ten. This album really deserves it.

Written by Satariel | 17.09.2003


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 153 users
24.11.2006 - 23:51
ThunderAxe1989
Irreligious
Wow! I don't own this album but I have all the songs on my Itunes/Ipod........Much better than the 1st effort! FUCK! This album is too damn great! They are the only Heavy/Power Metal band I've heard with a keyboardist, it truly adds a different dimension tot he sound. But the aspect I like msot of all about the abnd by far is DANIEL HEIMAN! He is pretty much my alltime favourite vocalist! . The way he hits that High D note so professionally! Agggh! And the lyrics are like my bible! I LOVE THE LYRICS! So inspiring! So truthful! Shit, but he left the band, I will probably never listen to these guys again .

But this album is amazing! I like best "Cry Of A Restless Soul" and "Highlander (The One)"
Loading...
25.11.2006 - 01:43
Bitch Boy
XD
This album is excellent, and if I have to be fair, I should say that this one has better quality than "Awakening the world", but my favorite Lost Horizon songs are in "Awakening the world". Anyway, very few albums deserve a 10 (or a 9.9), and "A flame to the ground beneath" is one of them.
Loading...
10.12.2006 - 16:44
Talvi
Yeah, don't think if the album deserves a 10 or not. If not, at least a 9.9999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 xD
----
My account on other musical pages:
http://www.last.fm/user/Pozito/
http://rateyourmusic.com/~Talvi
Loading...
23.05.2007 - 06:10
Marcus
Doit Like Bernie
I believe that this album was decent at best, but deserves the rating simply for the song pure, i have spent many classes listening to that song on repeat, my record is 17 times in one class.
Loading...
13.06.2007 - 00:52
doosh
Account deleted
Lost Horizon is amazing. that's all i have to say, really. i can't even get into how talented this band is. it's hard to believe music this great exists.



Loading...
25.07.2008 - 00:31
Infurnace
Brilliant band, and absolutely fantastic album. Daniel has an amazing voice. It's probably one of the best voices I've ever heard in metal.
Loading...
11.05.2009 - 12:04
Malaghost
For me, best Power metal album ever, only competition could be Avantasia with their Metal opera Pt.I. This is pure Power at its best, no more to say...
Loading...
24.05.2009 - 12:12
Powerslavex
Alexskywalker
This album is magnificent 10/10 i love it especially the song Highlander i cant wait for their next release
Loading...
15.06.2009 - 00:36
Kasper
I really.. REALLY don't know how I missed these guys. I mean, I've seen their cd's everywhere, but I thought. "Bahh, probably some Paradise Lost-shit" - I should be ashamed of myself.

Anyway, out of nowhere I saw this review with Lost Horizon mentioned in the title, and just had to peak. And this whole thing got me interested.

And boy, I was suprised when the intro faded away and "Pure" started to blast my room. Such, such a great song - all of them are acutally great songs. Really, I can only recommend this hell of an album!

At work I even get this feeling that I need to listen to these guys. His voice is just so fucking great - and the riffs are just amazing. The drums are just blasting aswell.. Just pure power!
----
"An open mind is like a fortress with it's gates unbarred and unguarded"
Loading...
16.10.2009 - 15:59
Ag Fox
Angel No More
The vocalist reminds me of Elisa C Martin somehow(?)
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
18.10.2009 - 14:20
Valaskjalf
TheImperturbable
Best...powermetal....band....EVER - fact. Everything about this band (or how they were before heiman left) spoke of talent and supreme skill both in their instrumentation and songwriting. In my opinion the best PowerMetal band of the last decade
----
IF THE MILK IS SOUR...I AINT THE KINDA PUSSY TO DRINK IT
Loading...
20.09.2010 - 16:40
MeTalRea|istiK
Great!!this band is fucking rules!!
Loading...
10.01.2012 - 15:40
peiman
This Album is good but isn't comparable with "Awakening The World".
Loading...

Hits total: 6508 | This month: 64