Rating:
8.0
Abruptum - In Umbra Malitae Ambulabo, In Aeternum In Triumpho Tenebrarum
April 1994


01. In Umbra Malitae Ambulabo, In Aeternum In Triumpho Tenebrarum


I think Euronymous put it best when he said "Abruptum is the audial essence of Pure Black Evil" during an interview conducted by Faust after signing them to his infamous label Deathlike Silence Productions. They are arguably the most twisted, deranged and obscure band to surface from the Scandinavian black metal movement of the early 90's and remain legendary today for their bizarre form of "black noise". To listen to a mid era Abruptum album completely through is an experience to say the least. This piece in particular is a single hour long anthem of utter darkness and terror.

If most black metal were comparable to a punch in the face, Abruptum would be like someone creeping up behind you, slowly drilling a hole in your brain and pouring acid in it as it proceeds to vomit blood all over you. The music is painful, slow and disjointed with the only semi consistent part being the drum beat. While they are slowly pounding away on the drums seemingly random guitar sounds, feedback and horror-esque keyboards jump in and out of the music. On occasion down tuned guitars will play along with the drums in a more 'musical' sense, which is seemingly the last trace of their earlier demo material that appears on these mid-era albums, comparable in certain respects to extreme doomsters Khanate. As all of this is happening their vocalist, the aptly named IT, wails, moans, cries, grunts and shrieks some of the most tortured, desperate and just plain unsettling sounds I have ever heard come from a human beings throat. He is one of those special vocalists who has a completely inhuman and insane way of using his voice. If someone were to lower a microphone into the bowels of hell and press the record button, I'm sure the result would sound very much like Abruptum.

As much as I love this album, there are certain aspects of it which I don't like. Firstly, for this type of "anti-music" which is heavily focused on atmosphere, I think it would benefit from being produced a bit better. I suppose this could be their intention, but when listening to the CD it sounds as if it were recorded in a tunnel. However that is just a minor inconvenience and can not bring down the album. The only other part which can be a slight annoyance is that this music requires a very particular mood to listen to. This is just one of those albums that you listen to at 2 in the morning by yourself with all the lights off when you know there won't be any distractions. This isn't a CD you would put in your car while driving to work or listen to with some friends in your basement.

Despite its flaws, this album is absolutely phenomenal. Not quite perfect, but very far above being average and definitely refreshing. If you're looking for blast beat driven "in your face" styled black metal I would not recommend this album to you. However, if you are into the more abstract and experimental side of things, I think you will quite enjoy this album.


Band profile: Abruptum
Album: In Umbra Malitae Ambulabo, In Aeternum In Triumpho Tenebrarum


 


written by Zombie, M.D. | 08.08.2005


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 50  
Search this topic:  


jizzlord - 31.03.2008 at 12:42  
i picked up this album probably 4 years back. at the time i had no idea who abruptum were, but it was for sale for a few euro and i spotted that it was a deathlike silences release. i've only listened to it a few times as it's obviously not a crowd pleaser
but it's amazing for what it is.
Cuca Beludo - 06.12.2011 at 00:19  
OMG this is the most evil sounding sound I've ever heard! The first scream made my heart... My eyes, My mind just... But, well, like you said, this sounds like the hell! But great music, perfect for listen while playing this game I brought a month ago: Silent Hill - Origins I would like to listen all this 60 min of pure evil, looking forward to it!
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.12.2011 at 00:30  
Written by Guest on 06.12.2011 at 00:19

OMG this is the most evil sounding sound I've ever heard! The first scream made my heart... My eyes, My mind just... But, well, like you said, this sounds like the hell! But great music, perfect for listen while playing this game I brought a month ago: Silent Hill - Origins I would like to listen all this 60 min of pure evil, looking forward to it!

In that case you should check out The Axis Of Perdition who make music in the same ballpark (i.e. fucking evil) and they partially base themselves on the Silent Hill franchise. They quite often use samples from the games.
Cuca Beludo - 06.12.2011 at 00:33  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.12.2011 at 00:30

Written by Guest on 06.12.2011 at 00:19

OMG this is the most evil sounding sound I've ever heard! The first scream made my heart... My eyes, My mind just... But, well, like you said, this sounds like the hell! But great music, perfect for listen while playing this game I brought a month ago: Silent Hill - Origins I would like to listen all this 60 min of pure evil, looking forward to it!

In that case you should check out The Axis Of Perdition who make music in the same ballpark (i.e. fucking evil) and they partially base themselves on the Silent Hill franchise. They quite often use samples from the games.


Thanks! I will check this now.
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.12.2011 at 00:34  
Written by Guest on 06.12.2011 at 00:33



Thanks! I will check this now.

Cool beans, 'Deleted Scenes From The Transition Hospital' and 'Physical Illucinations In The Sewer Of Xuchilbara (The Red God)' are probably the closest to Abruptum and has many Silent Hill samples. The first and last albums are more black metal based (the first one is amazing though).
Cuca Beludo - 06.12.2011 at 00:51  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.12.2011 at 00:34

Written by Guest on 06.12.2011 at 00:33



Thanks! I will check this now.

Cool beans, 'Deleted Scenes From The Transition Hospital' and 'Physical Illucinations In The Sewer Of Xuchilbara (The Red God)' are probably the closest to Abruptum and has many Silent Hill samples. The first and last albums are more black metal based (the first one is amazing though).


I listened to some songs on youtube: In The Hallway Of Crawling Filth , Isolation Cubicle 312 and This, Then, Is Paradise. Really disturbing songs and great. But can you help me? Can you suggest some songs more... "ambient", less instruments, like Isolation Cubicle 312, my favorite?
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.12.2011 at 01:00  
Written by Guest on 06.12.2011 at 00:51



I listened to some songs on youtube: In The Hallway Of Crawling Filth , Isolation Cubicle 312 and This, Then, Is Paradise. Really disturbing songs and great. But can you help me? Can you suggest some songs more... "ambient", less instruments, like Isolation Cubicle 312, my favorite?

Have you checked out Gnaw Their Tongues before? More or less everything he's does is that kind of chaotic blackened ambient. Maybe also Black Seas Of Infinity (the AMRITA album is great and weird), and if you haven't already look into Blut aus Nord's 'MoRT' album and the Lurker of Chalice s/t, might not be exactly what you're looking for but you might like it anyhoo. Also Nahvalr is a bit good too but might be too instrument based.
Cuca Beludo - 06.12.2011 at 01:21  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.12.2011 at 01:00

Written by Guest on 06.12.2011 at 00:51



I listened to some songs on youtube: In The Hallway Of Crawling Filth , Isolation Cubicle 312 and This, Then, Is Paradise. Really disturbing songs and great. But can you help me? Can you suggest some songs more... "ambient", less instruments, like Isolation Cubicle 312, my favorite?

Have you checked out Gnaw Their Tongues before? More or less everything he's does is that kind of chaotic blackened ambient. Maybe also Black Seas Of Infinity (the AMRITA album is great and weird), and if you haven't already look into Blut aus Nord's 'MoRT' album and the Lurker of Chalice s/t, might not be exactly what you're looking for but you might like it anyhoo. Also Nahvalr is a bit good too but might be too instrument based.


Gonna check them soon. Thanks!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Zombie Destrüktion - Tales Of Morbid Mummification 2.5 22.05.2007 by
Reviews Umbra Et Imago - Imago Picta 2.5 31.05.2006 by Herzebeth
Reviews Deathspell Omega - Fas - Ite, Maledicti, In Ignem Aeternum 2.5 04.08.2010 by Uirapuru
Reviews Opera IX - Strix Maledictae In Aeternum 2.5 06.02.2012 by Kuroboshi
Events USA, Council Bluffs, IA - Rob Zombie + Anthrax 1.5 09.07.2006 by



Hits total: 6452 | This month: 51